DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13, 16-18, 24, 25, 29, and 30 are pending. Claims 29 and 30 have been withdrawn. Claims 14, 15, 19-23, 26-28, and 31-33 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 18 and 19 of the remarks, in regard to the rejection of claims under 35 USC §§ 102, 103, the applicant submits that the claim amendments overcome the AT&T reference. In particular, the applicant states that “one or more channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) occasions of a CSI-RS resource” is not anticipated by AT&T. The applicant furthers this point by noting that there is a recognized difference in the art between a CSI-RS and a CSI-RS occasion, as the occasion denotes where the CSI-RS is placed. Additionally, the applicant notes that AT&T fails to disclose the transport block. Based on this reasoning, the applicant submits that the claims are allowable.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner does acknowledge that CSI-RS and CSI-RS occasion are different terms within the art, but the examiner does not agree that the amended limitation overcomes AT&T. Notably, a CSI-RS occasion is a moment when a measurement is performed of a CSI-RS. AT&T additionally teaches in section 2, pg. 2 that the CSI-RS signals are transmitted on a periodic basis, for example, where a CSI-RS is placed every 5 slots. This teaching anticipates the amendment to the claims. Furthermore, a transport block is defined as a number of bits (which may be represented as slots), the periodic/semi-persistent nature of the reference signals within AT&T may alternatively be viewed as teaching this limitation. Since these limitations are coupled by an “or”, only one is needed to anticipate the claim. Therefore, the claim rejection has been maintained.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 9/24 be found allowable, claim 10/25 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
The examiner notes that claims 9/24 recite a CSI-RS. The examiner further notes that claims 10/25 recite a CSI-RS or a CSI-IM. If claims 10/25 are interpreted as reciting a CSI-RS, then the final “or” limitation of claims 9/24 and 10/25 may be reasonably construed to recite the same exact language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AT&T (NPL cited on IDS dated 08/11/2023, R1-1901910).
Note: For the sake of legibility, Fig. 5 of AT&T has been enlarged and reproduced below. This figure is relied upon in the detailed explanations of the prior art rejection.
Figure 1 Message sequence chart using DMRS based CSI estimation
As per claim 1, AT&T teach a method performed by a wireless communication device, the method comprising:
performing a measurement based on at least one of: one or more channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) occasions of a CSI-RS resource [AT&T, section 2.2, pg. 4, “Figure 5 shows the message sequence chart for DMRS based CSI computation. Note that for our method to work, we need CSI-RS transmission albeit less frequently for estimating the complete CSI”, The UE measures CSI-RS (see section 1, Opt. 1) to support CSI estimation (see section 2, pg. 1). The CSI-RS are transmitted on a periodic basis (e.g., every five slots) to allow for CSI reporting every five slots, which allows for periodic or semi-persistent reporting (see section 2, pg. 2). Periodic scheduling of CSI-RS functions as CSI-RS occasions, as they occur on an expected basis.], one or more channel state information interference measurement (CSI-IM) occasions of CSI-IM resource, or a transport block transmitted in a downlink transmission channel from a wireless communication node [AT&T, section 2.2, pg. 4, Fig. 5, The CSI-RS is sent from the gNB to the UE in a downlink direction. The periodic nature of CSI-RS may occur every X slots, which may be on a transport block basis (see section 2, pg. 2).];
generating at least one feedback related to channel state information (CSI) based on the measurement [AT&T, section 2.2, pg. 4, Fig. 5, “Feedback Channel (CSI)”, The UE returns channel state information (CSI) to the gNB via a feedback channel.]; and
transmitting the at least one feedback to the wireless communication node [AT&T, section 2.2, pg. 4, Fig. 5, “Feedback Channel (CSI)”, The UE returns channel state information (CSI) to the gNB via a feedback channel.].
As per claim 2, AT&T teach the method of claim 1. AT&T also teach further comprising: generating a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) message in response to a downlink transmission on the downlink transmission channel [AT&T, section 3.1, pg. 9, “In Release 15, HARQ is conveyed using PUCCH format 0-4. Formats 0 and 1 can convey information up to 2 bits. However with DMRS based CSI estimation, we can envision that format 0 and 1 can support more than 2 bits. As an example, consider PUCCH format 0. Since only ZC sequences with different phase shifts (m_cs) are used to differentiate between HARQ possibilities, we propose that RAN1 should study enhanced HARQ mechanisms such that different sequences can indicate HARQ+CSI information”, Section 2 discloses that CSI estimation is DMRS based. The uplink control channel contains feedback in for the form of CSI and HARQ information.], wherein: the at least one feedback is generated based on the HARQ-ACK message [AT&T, section 3.1, pg. 10, Table 3, The table outlines different message formats for ACK and NACK scenarios, respectively.], and/or the at least one feedback has a type that is selected from a plurality of types based on content of the HARQ-ACK message.
As per claim 3, AT&T teach the method of claim 2. AT&T also teach wherein: the at least one feedback has a first type when the HARQ-ACK message has a first content [AT&T, section 3.1, pg. 10, Table 3, The table outlines different message formats for ACK/NACK combinations with an offset level., respectively. In addition, the offset level (or content) is a differential CQI computed using CSI-RS CQI (see section 3.1, pg. 9).]; and the at least one feedback has a second type when the HARQ-ACK message has a second content [AT&T, section 3.1, pg. 10, Table 3, The table outlines different message formats for ACK/NACK combinations with an offset level., respectively. In addition, the offset level (or content) is a differential CQI computed using CSI-RS CQI (see section 3.1, pg. 9).].
As per claim 4, AT&T teach the method of claim 3. AT&T also teach wherein: the first content is acknowledgement (ACK) [AT&T, section 3.1, pg. 10, Table 3, The table outlines different message formats for ACK/NACK combinations with an offset level., respectively. In addition, the offset level (or content) is a differential CQI computed using CSI-RS CQI (see section 3.1, pg. 9). The differential CQI is a value compared to an absolute CQI value.]; and the second content is negative acknowledgement (NACK) [AT&T, section 3.1, pg. 10, Table 3, The table outlines different message formats for ACK/NACK combinations with an offset level., respectively. In addition, the offset level (or content) is a differential CQI computed using CSI-RS CQI (see section 3.1, pg. 9). The differential CQI is a value compared to an absolute CQI value.].
As per claim 5, AT&T teach the method of claim 3. AT&T also teach wherein the first type corresponds to at least one of the following feedbacks: a degree to which a decoding of the downlink transmission is correct; a recommended modulation coding scheme (MCS); a differential MCS between a recommended MCS and a scheduled MCS; a recommended channel quality indicator (CQI); a differential CQI between a recommended CQI and a scheduled CQI [AT&T, section 3.1, pg. 10, Table 3, The table outlines different message formats for ACK/NACK combinations with an offset level., respectively. In addition, the offset level (or content) is a differential CQI computed using CSI-RS CQI (see section 3.1, pg. 9). The differential CQI is a recommended CQI value compared to an absolute (or scheduled) CQI value.]; a recommended pre-coding matrix indicator (PMI); a differential PMI between a recommended PMI and the scheduled PMI; a recommended rank indicator (RI);a recommended beam index; a recommended transmission configuration indication (TCI) state; a recommended CSI-RS resource indicator; a recommended synchronization signal block (SSB) index; a recommended frequency domain index; or an indication indicating whether to trigger a new CSI feedback by the wireless communication node.
As per claim 6, AT&T teach the method of claim 3. AT&T also teach wherein the second type corresponds to at least one of the following feedbacks: a degree to which a decoding of the downlink transmission is incorrect; a recommended modulation coding scheme (MCS); a differential MCS between a recommended MCS and a scheduled MCS; a recommended channel quality indicator (CQI);a differential CQI between a recommended CQI and a scheduled CQI [AT&T, section 3.1, pg. 10, Table 3, The table outlines different message formats for ACK/NACK combinations with an offset level., respectively. In addition, the offset level (or content) is a differential CQI computed using CSI-RS CQI (see section 3.1, pg. 9). The differential CQI is a recommended CQI value compared to an absolute (or scheduled) CQI value.]; a recommended pre-coding matrix indicator (PMI); a differential PMI between a recommended PMI and a scheduled PMI; a recommended rank indicator (RI); a recommended beam index; a recommended transmission configuration indication (TCI) state; a recommended CSI-RS resource indicator; a recommended synchronization signal block (SSB) index; or a recommended frequency domain index.
As per claim 11, AT&T teach the method of claim 1. AT&T also teach wherein: the at least one feedback is generated based on a scheduling type of downlink control information (DCI) triggering the at least one feedback [AT&T, section 1, pg. 1, Op1 1, Alt 2, The CSI report may be sent based on PDCCH measurement using DMRS signalling.].
As per claim 16, AT&T teach a method performed by a wireless communication node, the method comprising:
performing a downlink transmission on a downlink transmission channel to a wireless communication device [AT&T, section 2.2, pg. 4, Fig. 5, The CSI-RS is sent from the gNB to the UE in a downlink direction.]; and
receiving, from the wireless communication device, at least one feedback related to channel state information (CSI) [AT&T, section 2.2, pg. 4, Fig. 5, “Feedback Channel (CSI)”, The UE returns channel state information (CSI) to the gNB via a feedback channel.], wherein the at least one feedback is generated based on at least one of: one or more channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) occasions of a CSI-RS resource [AT&T, section 2.2, pg. 4, “Figure 5 shows the message sequence chart for DMRS based CSI computation. Note that for our method to work, we need CSI-RS transmission albeit less frequently for estimating the complete CSI”, The UE measures CSI-RS (see section 1, Opt. 1) to support CSI estimation (see section 2, pg. 1). The CSI-RS are transmitted on a periodic basis (e.g., every five slots) to allow for CSI reporting every five slots, which allows for periodic or semi-persistent reporting (see section 2, pg. 2). Periodic scheduling of CSI-RS functions as CSI-RS occasions, as they occur on an expected basis.], one or more channel state information interference measurement (CSI-IM) occasions of CSI-IM resource, or a transport block transmitted in a downlink transmission channel from a wireless communication node [AT&T, section 2.2, pg. 4, Fig. 5, The CSI-RS is sent from the gNB to the UE in a downlink direction. The periodic nature of CSI-RS may occur every X slots, which may be on a transport block basis (see section 2, pg. 2).].
As per claim 17, AT&T teach the method of claim 16. AT&T also teach wherein: the at least one feedback is generated based on a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) message in response to the downlink transmission [AT&T, section 3.1, pg. 10, Table 3, The table outlines different message formats for ACK/NACK combinations with an offset level., respectively. In addition, the offset level (or content) is a differential CQI computed using CSI-RS CQI (see section 3.1, pg. 9).]; and/or the at least one feedback has a type that is selected from a plurality of types based on content of the HARQ-ACK message [AT&T, section 3.1, pg. 10, Table 3, The table outlines different message formats for ACK/NACK combinations with an offset level., respectively. In addition, the offset level (or content) is a differential CQI computed using CSI-RS CQI (see section 3.1, pg. 9).].
As per claim 18, AT&T teach the method of claim 17. AT&T also teach wherein: the at least one feedback has a first type when the HARQ-ACK message has a first content [AT&T, section 3.1, pg. 10, Table 3, The table outlines different message formats for ACK/NACK combinations with an offset level., respectively. In addition, the offset level (or content) is a differential CQI computed using CSI-RS CQI (see section 3.1, pg. 9). The differential CQI is a value compared to an absolute CQI value.]; and the at least one feedback has a second type when the HARQ-ACK message has a second content [AT&T, section 3.1, pg. 10, Table 3, The table outlines different message formats for ACK/NACK combinations with an offset level., respectively. In addition, the offset level (or content) is a differential CQI computed using CSI-RS CQI (see section 3.1, pg. 9). The differential CQI is a value compared to an absolute CQI value.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AT&T (NPL cited on IDS dated 08/11/2023, R1-1901910) in view of Chen et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0195627).
As per claim 7, AT&T teach the method of claim 2. AT&T do not explicitly teach wherein when the HARQ-ACK message corresponds to one transport block transmitted in physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), the at least one feedback is one feedback generated based on the transport block transmitted in PDSCH corresponding to the HARQ-ACK message.
However, in an analogous art, Chen et al. teach wherein when the HARQ-ACK message corresponds to one transport block transmitted in physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), the at least one feedback is one feedback generated based on the transport block transmitted in PDSCH corresponding to the HARQ-ACK message [Chen, ¶ 0102, “In the above, the scheduling order of the PDSCH mentioned here may be a scheduling order of the first PDSCH in at least one PDSCH, wherein the at least one PDSCH is all PDSCHs that need to transmit NACK/ACK on the target PUCCH resource at present, and the spatial relation information used by PDSCHs with different scheduling orders for sending their corresponding feedback information may be different”, A PUCCH may contain information on multiple received streams (see ¶s 0030 and 0070). For instance, CSI reporting is based on per spatial stream (see ¶ 0085). A PDSCH is recognized as having transport blocks, as it is a shared data channel.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the HARQ messaging of Chen et al. into AT&T. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating HARQ into a system with CSI reporting and PDSCH transmission allows for improved data communications with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 8, AT&T teach the method of claim 2. AT&T do not explicitly teach wherein when the HARQ-ACK message corresponds to a plurality of PDSCHs associated with a HARQ-ACK codebook, the at least one feedback comprises one of: one feedback generated based on a ACK or NACK, in the HARQ-ACK message, corresponding to a last transport block transmitted in PDSCH corresponding to the HARQ- ACK codebook; one feedback generated based on a ACK or NACK, in the HARQ-ACK message, corresponding to a transport block transmitted in PDSCH last among the plurality of transport blocks corresponding to the HARQ-ACK codebook before transmitting the at least one feedback; one feedback generated based on a last NACK corresponding to the HARQ-ACK codebook, in the HARQ-ACK message, when the HARQ-ACK message comprises NACK; one feedback generated based on a NACK, in the HARQ-ACK message, corresponding to a transport block transmitted in PDSCH last among the plurality of transport blocks corresponding to the HARQ-ACK codebook before transmitting the at least one feedback, when the HARQ-ACK message comprises NACK; one feedback generated based on a last ACK corresponding to the HARQ-ACK codebook, in the HARQ-ACK message, when the HARQ-ACK message comprises no NACK; one feedback generated based on an ACK, in the HARQ-ACK message, corresponding to a transport block transmitted in PDSCH last among the plurality of transport blocks corresponding to the HARQ-ACK codebook before transmitting the at least one feedback, when the HARQ-ACK message comprises no NACK; one feedback generated based on a transport block transmitted in PDSCH having a worst CSI among the plurality of transport blocks, when the HARQ-ACK message comprises no NACK; one feedback generated based on a transport block transmitted in PDSCH having a worst CSI among the plurality of transport blocks corresponding to all NACKs in the HARQ- ACK message, when the HARQ-ACK message comprises multiple NACKs; one feedback generated based on an average CSI of transport blocks transmitted in PDSCHs corresponding to all NACKs in the HARQ-ACK message, when the HARQ-ACK message comprises multiple NACKs; or a plurality of feedbacks each of which corresponds to a respective transport block transmitted in PDSCH among the plurality of PDSCHs and is generated based on a ACK or NACK, in the HARQ-ACK message, corresponding to the respective PDSCH.
However, in an analogous art, Chen et al. teach wherein when the HARQ-ACK message corresponds to a plurality of PDSCHs associated with a HARQ-ACK codebook [Chen, ¶ 0032, “Optionally, types of different pieces of control information of the at least one piece of control information mentioned in implementation of the present application may be different. For example, one may be ACK/NACK information and the other may be CSI (Channel State Information). Or, one may be CSI based on a type I codebook, and the other may be CSI based on a type II codebook”, The CSI reporting (see also ¶s 0081-0096) may be performed concurrently with HARQ (i.e., ACK/NACK) operations according to type I/type II codebooks (see ¶ 0096).], the at least one feedback comprises one of:
… or
a plurality of feedbacks each of which corresponds to a respective transport block transmitted in PDSCH among the plurality of PDSCHs and is generated based on a ACK or NACK, in the HARQ-ACK message, corresponding to the respective PDSCH [Chen, ¶ 0102, “n the above, the scheduling order of the PDSCH mentioned here may be a scheduling order of the first PDSCH in at least one PDSCH, wherein the at least one PDSCH is all PDSCHs that need to transmit NACK/ACK on the target PUCCH resource at present, and the spatial relation information used by PDSCHs with different scheduling orders for sending their corresponding feedback information may be different”, Multiple PDSCH transmissions may be received (e.g., from spatial multiplexing). The PUCCH contains ACK/NACK for correspondingly received PDSCH transmissions.]
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the HARQ messaging of Chen et al. into AT&T. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating HARQ into a system with CSI reporting and PDSCH transmission allows for improved data communications with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AT&T (NPL cited on IDS dated 08/11/2023, R1-1901910) in view of Babaei (US PG Pub 2023/0361926).
As per claim 12, AT&T teach the method of claim 11. AT&T do not explicitly teach further comprising: determining whether the DCI is a unicast scheduling DCI or a multicast or broadcast scheduling DCI, based on at least one of: a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) scrambling the DCI, a DCI format of the DCI, a DMRS of the DCI, or a pre-determined field of the DCI; when the DCI is a unicast scheduling DCI, selecting a first configuration for the at least one feedback from CSI feedback configurations for unicast, based on an indication of a CSI feedback triggering field in the DCI; and when the DCI is a multicast or broadcast scheduling DCI, selecting a second configuration for the at least one feedback from CSI feedback configurations for multicast or broadcast, based on an indication of a CSI feedback triggering field in the DCI, wherein the CSI feedback configurations for unicast, multicast or broadcast are determined based on a semi-static configuration by the wireless communication node or based on a system pre-definition.
However, in an analogous art, Babaei teaches determining whether the DCI is a unicast scheduling DCI or a multicast or broadcast scheduling DCI, based on at least one of: a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) scrambling the DCI, a DCI format of the DCI [Babaei, ¶ 0176, “In an example embodiment as shown in FIG. 23, a UE may receive a logical control channel (e.g., a multicast control channel (MCCH)) associated with MBS services. The UE may receive the logical control channel via a physical downlink data channel (e.g., a PDSCH). The downlink data channel associated with the MBS services may be associated with a first RNTI (e.g., a SC-RNTI)”, Fig. 23 shows a PDSCH, which has a RNTI for unicast (implied, as PDSCH is readily understood as supporting unicast) and MBMS (multicast/broadcast, see ¶ 0117).], a DMRS of the DCI, or a pre-determined field of the DCI;
when the DCI is a unicast scheduling DCI, selecting a first configuration for the at least one feedback from CSI feedback configurations for unicast, based on an indication of a CSI feedback triggering field in the DCI [Babaei, ¶ 0177, “The CSI configuration parameters may comprise second CSI configuration parameters for measuring second CSI reference signals and/or reporting second CSI reports associated with one or more unicast services”, The RNTI is used to indicate what kind of channel is used. The CSI report is based on the CSI configuration, which itself is based on unicast.]; and
when the DCI is a multicast or broadcast scheduling DCI, selecting a second configuration for the at least one feedback from CSI feedback configurations for multicast or broadcast, based on an indication of a CSI feedback triggering field in the DCI [Babaei, ¶ 0177, “In an example embodiment as shown in FIG. 24, a UE may receive one or more messages (e.g., one or more RRC messages, one or more broadcast messages, etc.) comprising CSI configuration parameters. The CSI configuration parameters may comprise first CSI configuration parameters for measuring first CSI reference signals and/or reporting first CSI reports associated with MBS services”, The RNTI is used to indicate what kind of channel is used. The CSI report is based on the CSI configuration, which itself is based on MBMS.],
wherein the CSI feedback configurations for unicast, multicast or broadcast are determined based on a semi-static configuration by the wireless communication node [Babaei, ¶ 0114, “n some examples, the UE 1500 and the base station 1505 are included in a system for mobile communication. The base station may be configured to or programmed to transmit, to the UE, CSI configuration parameters. The CSI configuration parameters may include first CSI configuration parameters associated with MBS, and second CSI configuration parameters associated with unicast services. In this system, the UE may be configured to or programmed to measure one or more first reference signals based on the first CSI configuration parameters and one or more second reference signals based on the second CSI configuration parameters”, The base station configures the CSI configuration parameters for the UE.] or based on a system pre-definition.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the MBS support for CSI reporting and HARQ reporting of Babaei into AT&T. One would have been motivated to do this because modifying a cellular system to include group based RNTIs for group communications allows for a greater variety of services with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 13, AT&T teach the method of claim 11. AT&T do not explicitly teach further comprising: determining whether the DCI is a unicast scheduling DCI or a multicast or broadcast scheduling DCI, based on at least one of: a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) scrambling the DCI, or a pre-determined field of the DCI; when the DCI is a unicast scheduling DCI, determining a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for transmitting the at least one feedback, based on a first method; and when the DCI is a multicast or broadcast scheduling DCI, determining a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for transmitting the at least one feedback, based on a second method different from the first method.
However, in an analogous art, Babaei teaches determining whether the DCI is a unicast scheduling DCI or a multicast or broadcast scheduling DCI, based on at least one of: a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) [Babaei, ¶ 0176, “In an example embodiment as shown in FIG. 23, a UE may receive a logical control channel (e.g., a multicast control channel (MCCH)) associated with MBS services. The UE may receive the logical control channel via a physical downlink data channel (e.g., a PDSCH). The downlink data channel associated with the MBS services may be associated with a first RNTI (e.g., a SC-RNTI)”, Fig. 23 shows a PDSCH, which has a RNTI for unicast (implied, as PDSCH is readily understood as supporting unicast) and MBMS (multicast/broadcast, see ¶ 0117).], scrambling the DCI, or a pre-determined field of the DCI;
when the DCI is a unicast scheduling DCI, determining a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for transmitting the at least one feedback, based on a first method [Babaei, ¶ 0131, “The UE may determine a PUCCH resource set according to the size of UCI information. In some examples, by using a PUCCH resource indicator field of a DCI that schedules the PDSCH carrying MBS data, the UE may determine a PUCCH resource from the resource set. In some examples, the gNB may perform unicast based retransmissions based on the feedbacks on each UE's PUCCH resource, or the gNB may perform a multicast-based retransmission if the gNB receives at least one NACK feedback”, PUCCH resources are utilized differently for unicast vs. MBMS (multicast/broadcast).]; and
when the DCI is a multicast or broadcast scheduling DCI, determining a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for transmitting the at least one feedback, based on a second method different from the first method [Babaei, ¶ 0131, “The UE may determine a PUCCH resource set according to the size of UCI information. In some examples, by using a PUCCH resource indicator field of a DCI that schedules the PDSCH carrying MBS data, the UE may determine a PUCCH resource from the resource set. In some examples, the gNB may perform unicast based retransmissions based on the feedbacks on each UE's PUCCH resource, or the gNB may perform a multicast-based retransmission if the gNB receives at least one NACK feedback”, PUCCH resources are utilized differently for unicast vs. MBMS (multicast/broadcast).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the MBS support for CSI reporting and HARQ reporting of Babaei into AT&T. One would have been motivated to do this because modifying a cellular system to include group based RNTIs for group communications allows for a greater variety of services with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 24, and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Paul H. Masur/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2417