DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after June 27, 2023, claims 1-5, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be
the same under either status.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the two-tie system allows for the robe to be tied in the back instead of the front (claim 2), interior support prevents the robe from opening up when bending over (claim 3), and the sleeves can be unbuttoned to facilitate additional movement (claim 5)” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “interior support prevents the robe from opening up when bending over (claim 3), and the sleeves can be unbuttoned to facilitate additional movement (claim 5)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2-4, the claimed limitations do not end with a period.
Regarding claims 2-4, the limitation “The robe comprising of a two-tie system, interior support, and kimono design” lines: 1-2 is indefinite because it is unclear if what is after “comprising” is part of the preamble, or if Applicant is claiming an additional “two-tie system, interior support, and kimono design”. Examiner suggests having the preamble as solely “The robe” since it is before the transitional term “comprising”.
Regarding claim 5, the limitation “A robe comprising of a two-tie system, interior support, and kimono design as in A robe comprising of a two-tie system, interior support, and kimono design as in wherein the sleeves can be unbuttoned to facilitate additional movement” in lines: 1-2 is written in independent format, but depends from claim 1. It is unclear if claim 5 is supposed to depend from claim 1, or if claim 5 is supposed to have certain limitations of claim 1. Examiner assumes claim 5 depends from claim 1. In addition, since claim 5 is considered to depend from claim 1, which would encompass the limitation “unbuttonable sleeves” as best understood, it is unclear how the “unbuttonable sleeves” can be “unbuttoned” if they are “unbuttonable”. Examiner assumes the sleeves can be “unbuttoned” while in-use, and remain “unbuttonable” while not in-use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1) as being anticipated by Currier (US Patent 6,059,633).
Regarding claim 1, Currier discloses a robe (10, Fig. 1-5) comprising of a two-tie system (“tie belt” as disclosed in Col. 2, lines: 35-38 and shown around waist in Fig. 1. Examiner notes the “tie belt” is shown as a “two-tie system” because it comprises two ends tied together), interior support (40), unbuttonable sleeves (examiner notes “unbuttonable sleeves” shown in Fig. 1), and a kimono design (examiner notes “kimono” is defined as “a long robe with wide sleeves traditionally worn with a broad sash as an outer garment by the Japanese” as stated by Merriam-Webster. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the robe, 10, in Fig. 1-5 is of a “kimono design” since it’s shown as a long robe, with wide sleeves, and a sash (tie-belt)).
Regarding claim 2, Currier discloses the two-tie system (“tie belt” as disclosed in Col. 2, lines: 35-38 and shown around waist in Fig. 1) allows for the robe to be tied in the back instead of the front (“allows for…front” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function. Examiner notes the “tie belt” is fully capable of being tied in the back instead of the front since it’s well known in the art to be flexible and to accommodate different sized waists).
Regarding claim 3, Currier discloses interior support (40) prevents the robe (10) from opening up when bending over (“prevents the…over” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function. Examiner notes since interior support, 40, is stitched to robe (Col. 2 lines: 55-62, and Col. 3, lines: 6-10) and a tie is used, it is fully capable of preventing robe from opening when bending over, when in at least the configuration shown in Fig. 4
Regarding claim 4, Currier discloses the kimono design comes in a short and long length (examiner notes the sleeves are shown as “long length” in Fig. 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the sleeves can also take a “short length” configuration by being rolled up, since they are shown as loose fitting).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Currier in view of Christou-Kelly et al. “Christou-Kelly” (US PG Pub. 2010/0050315).
Regarding claim 5, Currier discloses the invention substantially as claimed above.
Currier does not disclose the sleeves can be unbuttoned to facilitate additional movement.
However, Christou-Kelly teaches yet another robe, wherein Christou-Kelly teaches a robe (as shown in Fig. 1A) with sleeves (30) that can be unbuttoned to facilitate additional movement (Par. 0045, examiner notes the sleeves, 30, are “unbuttonable” through elements 38 and 40 in Fig. 17. In addition, although in Par. 0045 it explains elements 38 and 40 are “hook and loop fasteners” Par. 0075, lines: 4-6 explains it can be replaced with “buttons”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sleeves as disclosed by Currier, by making the sleeves unbuttonable as taught by Christou-Kelly, in order to facilitate quicker removal of the robe (Par. 0045, lines: 6-10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent (See PTO-892) to applicant's disclosure.
/DAKOTA MARIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/KHALED ANNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732