Pro Se Application Notice
It appears the inventor filed the current application pro se (i.e., without the benefit of representation by a registered patent practitioner). While inventors named as applicants in a patent application may prosecute the application pro se, lack of familiarity with patent examination practice and procedure may result in missed opportunities in obtaining optimal protection for the invention disclosed. The inventor may wish to secure the services of a registered patent practitioner to prosecute the application, because the value of a patent is largely dependent upon skilled preparation and prosecution. The Office cannot aid in selecting a patent practitioner.
A listing of registered patent practitioners is available at https://oedci.uspto.gov/OEDCI/. Applicants may also obtain a list of registered patent practitioners located in their area by writing to Mail Stop OED, Director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, VA 22313-1450.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: 1.1-1.4, 2.1-2.5, 3.1-3.4, and 4.1-4.5. These seem to be in the claims and not in the specification.
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Photographs, including photocopies of photographs, are not ordinarily permitted in utility and design patent applications. The Office will accept photographs in utility and design patent applications, however, if photographs are the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(1). In this case, the drawings may also appear to be photocopies of a photographs and is not the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention.
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Content of Specification
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION: See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606. The title of the invention should be placed at the top of the first page of the specification unless the title is provided in an application data sheet. The title of the invention should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive, preferably from two to seven words. It may not contain more than 500 characters.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS: See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 et seq.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT: See MPEP § 310.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT. See 37 CFR 1.71(g).
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM: The specification is required to include an incorporation-by-reference of electronic documents that are to become part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application. See 37 CFR 1.77(b)(5) and MPEP § 608.05. See also the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System posted on the USPTO website (https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2019LegalFrameworkPES.pdf) and MPEP § 502.05
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR. See 35 U.S.C. 102(b) and 37 CFR 1.77.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(c). The specification should set forth the Background of the Invention in two parts:
(1) Field of the Invention: A statement of the field of art to which the invention pertains. This statement may include a paraphrasing of the applicable U.S. patent classification definitions of the subject matter of the claimed invention. This item may also be titled “Technical Field.”
(2) Description of the Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98: A description of the related art known to the applicant and including, if applicable, references to specific related art and problems involved in the prior art which are solved by the applicant’s invention. This item may also be titled “Background Art.”
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(d). A brief summary or general statement of the invention as set forth in 37 CFR 1.73. The summary is separate and distinct from the abstract and is directed toward the invention rather than the disclosure as a whole. The summary may point out the advantages of the invention or how it solves problems previously existent in the prior art (and preferably indicated in the Background of the Invention). In chemical cases it should point out in general terms the utility of the invention. If possible, the nature and gist of the invention or the inventive concept should be set forth. Objects of the invention should be treated briefly and only to the extent that they contribute to an understanding of the invention.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S): See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74.
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(g). A description of the preferred embodiment(s) of the invention as required in 37 CFR 1.71. The description should be as short and specific as is necessary to describe the invention adequately and accurately. Where elements or groups of elements, compounds, and processes, which are conventional and generally widely known in the field of the invention described, and their exact nature or type is not necessary for an understanding and use of the invention by a person skilled in the art, they should not be described in detail. However, where particularly complicated subject matter is involved or where the elements, compounds, or processes may not be commonly or widely known in the field, the specification should refer to another patent or readily available publication which adequately describes the subject matter.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS: See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(i) - (p).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE: See 37 CFR 1.72 (b) and MPEP § 608.01(b). The abstract is a brief narrative of the disclosure as a whole, as concise as the disclosure permits, in a single paragraph preferably not exceeding 150 words, commencing on a separate sheet following the claims. In an international application which has entered the national stage (37 CFR 1.491(b)), the applicant need not submit an abstract commencing on a separate sheet if an abstract was published with the international application under PCT Article 21. The abstract that appears on the cover page of the pamphlet published by the International Bureau (IB) of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the abstract that will be used by the USPTO. See MPEP § 1893.03(e).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING: See 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 and MPEP §§ 2421 - 2431. The requirement for a sequence listing applies to all sequences disclosed in a given application, whether the sequences are claimed or not. See MPEP § 2422.01.
The spacing of the lines of the specification is such as to make reading difficult. New application papers with lines 1 1/2 or double spaced (see 37 CFR 1.52(b)(2)) on good quality paper are required.
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it should be a single paragraph on a separate sheet and should avoid implied language such as “This invention serve”. It appears applicant’s abstract is two paragraphs and seems to have paragraph numbers [003] and [004]. A suggestion is to delete the paragraph numbers, delete the implied language, and form the abstract into a single paragraph.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 in line 1 recites “the dialysis machine” and should be “ a dialysis machine” since this is the first instance the limitation was introduced in the claim.
Claim 1 in line 3 recites “souce” and should be “source”.
Claim 2 in line 1 recites “the dialysis machine” and should be “ a dialysis machine” for the same reasons above for claim 1.
Claim 3 in line 1 recites “the dialysis machine” and should be “ a dialysis machine” for the same reasons above for claim 1.
Claim 4 in line 1 recites “the dialysis machine” and should be “ a dialysis machine” for the same reasons above for claim 1.
Claims 1-4 respectively in line 1 recite “The method” and should be “ A method” since these are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “with all the components of the invention, which includes:” which is unclear if “all the components” are more than or only what follows after “includes:” and the claim lacks a proper transitional phrase such as “comprising” or “consisting of”. See MPEP 2111.03 with regard to proper transitional phrases. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “The method for connecting to a dialysis machine wherein the method comprises:” such that the limitation has a proper transitional phrase and the intended components to be claimed follows after “comprises:” instead of being ambiguous.
Claim 1 recites “1.1 Water…1.2 Faucet Adapter…1.3 Garden Hose Adapter…1.4 Garden Hose Quick Release Adapter” which appears to use the reference numerals in the drawings and recite features in title format which both are unclear of what additional features may or may not be implied. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “ a water… a faucet adapter… a garden hose adapter… a garden hose quick release adapter” to avoid ambiguous language and to properly introduce each limitation.
Claim 1 recites “(female 55/64”-27 to male 3/4” hose)…(3/4” GHT Female x 3/4” NPT Male Connector)” which is unclear if what is parenthesis was intended to be included or not. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “a faucet adapter or a faucet adapter having a female threaded end with a diameter of 55/64 inch and 27 inch per thread and a male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch or a garden hose adapter having a standard GHT female threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch and a standard NPT male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch
Claims 2-4 are unclear for the same reasons above for claim 1.
Claims 2-4 either includes more than one period or do not end in a period which is unclear. See MPEP 608.01(m) with regard to the form of the claims such that each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period.
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. This claim is an omnibus type claim. See MPEP 2173.05(r) with regard to omnibus claims.
Claim 1 recites “[006] Figure 2…for the dialysis machine.”. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as
Claims 2-3 are unclear for the same reasons above for claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
The following are how the claims will be interpreted in light of the above claim objections and claim rejections under 112(b):
Claim 1:
“A method for connecting to a dialysis machine, wherein the method comprises:
a water source connector for the dialysis machine;
a faucet adapter or a faucet adapter having a female threaded end with a diameter of 55/64 inch and 27 inch per thread and a male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch;
a garden hose adapter or a garden hose adapter having a standard GHT female threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch and a standard NPT male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch; and
a garden hose quick release adapter.”.
Claim 2:
“A method for connecting to a dialysis machine, wherein the method comprises:
a water source connector for the dialysis machine;
a swivel faucet adapter or a swivel faucet adapter having a female threaded end with a diameter of 55/64 inch and 27 inch per thread and a male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch;
a first garden hose adapter or a first garden hose adapter having a standard GHT female threaded first end with a diameter of 3/4 inch and a standard GHT female threaded second end with a diameter of 3/4 inch;
a second garden hose adapter or a second garden hose adapter having a standard GHT male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch and a standard NPT male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch; and
a garden hose quick release adapter.”.
Claim 3:
“A method for connecting to a dialysis machine, wherein the method comprises:
a water source connector for the dialysis machine;
a swivel faucet adapter or a swivel faucet adapter having a female threaded end with a diameter of 55/64 inch and 27 inch per thread and a male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch;
a garden hose adapter or a garden hose adapter having a standard GHT female threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch and a standard NPT female threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch; and
a garden hose quick release adapter.”.
Claim 4:
“A method for connecting to a dialysis machine, wherein the method comprises:
a water source connector for the dialysis machine;
a non-swivel faucet adapter or a non-swivel faucet adapter having a female threaded end with a diameter of 55/64 inch and 27 inch per thread and a male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch;
a first garden hose adapter or a first garden hose adapter having a standard GHT female threaded first end with a diameter of 3/4 inch and a standard GHT female threaded second end with a diameter of 3/4 inch;
a second garden hose adapter or a second garden hose adapter having a standard GHT male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch and a standard NPT male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch; and
a garden hose quick release adapter.”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Francisco Javier et al. (WO 2020229716 A2, hereinafter “Javier”).
In regard to claim 1, Javier discloses a method for connecting to a dialysis machine (Fig. 4 shows at least a method for connecting various adapters to a faucet which is capable of connecting to a faucet for a dialysis machine similar to applicant’s invention. See note below with regard to “for connecting to a dialysis machine”.), wherein the method comprises:
a water source connector for the dialysis machine (Fig. 4, faucet at 1 defines a water source connector which is capable of deliver fluid to a dialysis machine. Also, see note below with regard to “for the dialysis machine”.);
a faucet adapter (Fig. 4, the part 800 defines at least a faucet adapter);
a garden hose adapter (Fig. 4, the part 300 defines at least a garden hose adapter and in paragraph [0008] of the English translation discloses the invention relates to at least connecting to garden hoses. See note below with regard to the term “garden”.); and
a garden hose quick release adapter (Fig. 4, the parts 500 and 600 define at least a garden quick release adapter and in paragraph [0008] of the English translation discloses the invention relates to at least connecting to garden hoses. See note below with regard to the term “garden”.).
It is noted that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647. See MPEP § 2114. In this case, the recitation of “for connecting to a dialysis machine” and “for the dialysis machine” are recitations of intended use which do not structurally differentiate the claimed apparatus from Javier.
Additionally, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See MPEP § 2114. The recitation “faucet” and “garden” are nominal recitations of the intended manner of operation of the system, and does not add any further structure than the “adapter". Therefore, little patentable weight is given to “faucet” and “garden”.
In regard to claim 3, Javier discloses a method for connecting to a dialysis machine, wherein the method comprises:
a water source connector for the dialysis machine (See claim 1 above for the same reasons such that Javier discloses “A method…for the dialysis machine”. See the same notes for claim 1 as well.);
a swivel faucet adapter (Fig. 4, the part 300 is a swivel type connector as shown);
a garden hose adapter (Fig. 4, the part 800 can be reasonably interpreted as a garden hose adapter); and
a garden hose quick release adapter (See claim 1 above for the same reasons such that Javier discloses “a garden hose quick release adapter”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Javier (WO 2020229716 A2).
In regard to claim 1, Javier discloses a method for connecting to a dialysis machine, wherein the method comprises:
a water source connector for the dialysis machine;
a faucet adapter;
a garden hose adapter; and
a garden hose quick release adapter (See claim 1 above under the section Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 such that Javier discloses all the features of “A method for connecting…release adapter.”).
Javier does not expressly disclose a faucet adapter having a female threaded end with a diameter of 55/64 inch and 27 inch per thread and a male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch; and a garden hose adapter having a standard GHT female threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch and a standard NPT male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch.
However, the specifically claimed dimensioned adapters are standard, well-known, and commercially available in the field of garden hose connectors. With regard to a female threaded end with a diameter of 55/64 inch and 27 inch per thread and a male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch, see https://www.amazon.com/NEOPERL-5408705-Female-Adapter-chrome/dp/B07RX15VV4 and https://www.homedepot.com/p/NEOPERL-55-64-in-x-3-4-in-Solid-Brass-Female-x-Male-Hose-Adapter-37-0112-98/202243063?MERCH=REC-_-pipsem-_-202243065-_-0-_-n/a-_-n/a-_-n/a-_-n/a-_-n/a. With regard to a garden hose adapter having a standard GHT female threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch and a standard NPT male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch, see https://www.amazon.com/ZKZX-Adapter-Connector-Fitting-Connect/dp/B07PKF3DGN?th=1 and https://www.homedepot.com/p/Dyiom-3-4-in-GHT-Female-x-3-4-in-NPT-Male-Brass-Hose-Connector-2-Pack-B07MVK22VT/321312798.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the adapters of Javier for standard, well-known, and commercially available adapters such as the ones in claim 1 with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of reliability of well-known and standard adapters and ease of availability since these adapters are commercially available. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) with regard to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Additionally, in paragraph [0073] of the English translation of Javier discloses at least one of the adapters can be a well-known and standard adapter. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art in view of Javier would reasonably consider using conventional and commercially available products for at least the advantage of reliability and availability.
In regard to claim 2, Javier discloses a method for connecting to a dialysis machine, wherein the method comprises:
a water source connector for the dialysis machine (See claim 1 above for the same reason such that Javier discloses “A method…for the dialysis machine”);
a swivel faucet adapter (Fig. 4, 400 is at least a swivel faucet adapter) or;
a first garden hose adapter (Fig. 4, 800 can be defined as a first garden hose adapter); and
a garden hose quick release adapter (See claim 1 above for the same reasons such that Javier discloses “a garden hose quick release adapter”).
Javier does not expressly disclose a swivel faucet adapter having a female threaded end with a diameter of 55/64 inch and 27 inch per thread and a male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch; a first garden hose adapter having a standard GHT female threaded first end with a diameter of 3/4 inch and a standard GHT female threaded second end with a diameter of 3/4 inch; and a second garden hose adapter or a second garden hose adapter having a standard GHT male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch and a standard NPT male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch.
However, similar to claim 1 above, claim 2 recites known standard, well-known, and commercially available in the field of garden hose connectors. With regard to a female threaded end with a diameter of 55/64 inch and 27 inch per thread and a male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch, see claim 1 above for the same reasons. With regard to a first garden hose adapter having a standard GHT female threaded first end with a diameter of 3/4 inch and a standard GHT female threaded second end with a diameter of 3/4 inch; and a second garden hose adapter or a second garden hose adapter having a standard GHT male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch and a standard NPT male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch, see https://www.amazon.com/Adapter-Connector-Fitting-Fittings-Connect/dp/B087GCQSTN?th=1.
Furthermore, claim 2 introduces extra adapters as compared to claim 1, however, the standards of GHT and NPT are well-known to a person of ordinary skill in the arts of hose adapters such that it is desired to match GHT threading with GHT and NPT to NPT.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adapters of Javier to include well-known, standard, and commercially available adapters and have the proper adapters that have proper GHT and NPT threading such as the ones in claim 2 with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of reliability of well-known and standard adapters and ease of availability since these adapters are commercially available and have proper GHT and NPT connections to connect a series of adapters.
It is noted that applicant’s invention of claim 2 appears to include an additional female to female GHT adapter and a male GHT to male NPT adapter in order to form the connection to the quick release adapter. However, claim 1 simply has a GHT female to NPT male adapter in order to connect to the quick release adapter. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably question why the two garden hose adapters of claim 2 cannot simply be replaced by a single GHT female to NPT male adapter. Applicant’s specification lacks any description of criticality and non-obviousness of the series of connected adapters for all the claims. Therefore, the selection of adapters for at least claim 2 appears to be arbitrary. A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably use the least amount of adapters or as many adapters to have the desired standard threading at one end such as GHT or NPT since these are known standards.
In regard to claim 3, Javier discloses a method for connecting to a dialysis machine, wherein the method comprises:
a water source connector for the dialysis machine;
a swivel faucet adapter;
a garden hose adapter; and
a garden hose quick release adapter (See claim 3 above such that Javier discloses all the features of “A method…a garden hose quick release adapter”).
Javier does not expressly disclose a swivel faucet adapter having a female threaded end with a diameter of 55/64 inch and 27 inch per thread and a male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch; and a garden hose adapter having a standard GHT female threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch and a standard NPT female threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch.
However, similar to claims 1 and 2 above, claim 3 recites known standard, well-known, and commercially available in the field of garden hose connectors. With regard to a swivel faucet adapter having a female threaded end with a diameter of 55/64 inch and 27 inch per thread and a male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch, see https://www.amazon.com/Faucet-Adapter-Swivel-Aerator-Connect/dp/B08HCTWT1G?th=1. With regard to a garden hose adapter having a standard GHT female threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch and a standard NPT male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch see claim 1 above for the same reasons.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adapters of Javier to include well-known, standard, and commercially available adapters such as the ones in claim 3 with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of reliability of well-known and standard adapters and ease of availability since these adapters are commercially available.
In regard to claim 4, Javier discloses a method for connecting to a dialysis machine, wherein the method comprises:
a water source connector for the dialysis machine (See claim 1 above for the same reason such that Javier discloses “A method…for the dialysis machine”);
a first garden hose adapter (Fig. 4, part 800 defines at least a first garden hose adapter); and
a garden hose quick release adapter (See claim 1 above for the same reasons such that Javier discloses “a garden hose quick release adapter”).
Javier does not expressly disclose a non-swivel faucet adapter or a non-swivel faucet adapter having a female threaded end with a diameter of 55/64 inch and 27 inch per thread and a male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch; a first garden hose adapter having a standard GHT female threaded first end with a diameter of 3/4 inch and a standard GHT female threaded second end with a diameter of 3/4 inch; and a second garden hose adapter or a second garden hose adapter having a standard GHT male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch and a standard NPT male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch.
However, similar to claims 1-3 above, claim 4 recites known standard, well-known, and commercially available in the field of garden hose connectors. With regard to a non-swivel faucet adapter or a non-swivel faucet adapter having a female threaded end with a diameter of 55/64 inch and 27 inch per thread and a male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch, see https://www.amazon.com/NEOPERL-5408705-Female-Adapter-chrome/dp/B07RX15VV4 and https://www.homedepot.com/p/NEOPERL-55-64-in-x-3-4-in-Solid-Brass-Female-x-Male-Hose-Adapter-37-0112-98/202243063?MERCH=REC-_-pipsem-_-202243065-_-0-_-n/a-_-n/a-_-n/a-_-n/a-_-n/a which are also recited for claim 1 such that these are non-swivel type adapters. With regard to a first garden hose adapter having a standard GHT female threaded first end with a diameter of 3/4 inch and a standard GHT female threaded second end with a diameter of 3/4 inch; and a second garden hose adapter or a second garden hose adapter having a standard GHT male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch and a standard NPT male threaded end with a diameter of 3/4 inch, see https://www.amazon.com/Adapter-Connector-Fitting-Fittings-Connect/dp/B087GCQSTN?th=1 which is also recited above for claim 2.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adapters of Javier to include well-known, standard, and commercially available adapters and have the proper adapters that have proper GHT and NPT threading such as the ones in claim 4 with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of reliability of well-known and standard adapters and ease of availability since these adapters are commercially available and have proper GHT and NPT connections to connect a series of adapters.
Additionally, see the same notes above for claim 2 since claim 4 appears to also include additional adapters.
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Dickey (US 3,776,577) disclose various threaded adapters that includes female-to-female threaded adapter connected to a male-to-female adapter in series to form a pipe coupling. Such technique is well-known to a person of ordinary skill in the art and appears to similar to applicant’s invention such that connecting a series of adapters, a user is able to have a desired coupling at the ends of the connected adapters.
Clark et al. (US 10,871,247 B2), Sullivan (US 3,400,952), Leonard (US 2,495,532), and Bjerke (US 5,926,868), also disclose a series of connected adapters to have a desired pipe joint similar to applicant’s invention. Therefore, connecting a series of threaded adapters is well-known to a person of ordinary skill in the art and utilizing known standard adapters are also within the knowledge of a person of ordinary skill in the art.
The prior arts above are also generally good examples of acceptable drawings.
/WILLIAM S. CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679