Priority
The present application is a continuation of application 16/029,106, now US Patent 11,610,107.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term preferred in Claims 3, 10, and 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term preferred is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is thus unclear whether the inclusion of the word preferred modifies the claim scope or not. For the purpose of examination, the claim will be interpreted as if all predictions predict a preferred value inherently, as they are the outputs of the predictions.
Claim 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Each of the newly recited limitations in the dependent claims are already required by their respective parent. For example, wherein the prediction mapping is used to predict a preferred value for a knowledge data property in one or more knowledge data units is already required by the limitation updating the one or more knowledge data units … with one or more specific prediction values predicted by the prediction mapping.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 7; 8, 10-14; 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al., “Semantic Framework of Internet of Things for Smart Cities: Case Studies”.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang teaches a computer-implemented method comprising: … by an artificial intelligence (AI) knowledge data server … (Zhang, pg. 8, Section 4.1, “The experimental setup was a SPARK cluster comprising four machines”) from an internet-of-things (IOT) device over one or more computer networks, a specific computer message that includes a specific set of IOT device-generated data items (Zhang, pg. 3, last paragraph & pg. 4, Fig. 1, “physical entities collect raw data in real-time from social media and physical sensors … the data is received by the abstract entities layer” [of their computing system] “This layer hides the complexity of devices providing a standard format to represent data from all kinds of devices”); identifying, based at least in part on the specific set of IOT device-generated data items, one or more knowledge data units from among a plurality of knowledge data units maintained in a knowledge data repository (Zhang, pg. 6, 1st paragraph, “For each block of smart cities, knowledge fusion is aimed at aggregating multiple disperse resources” where all the data for a block is a knowledge data unit, i.e. 2nd paragraph, “facts such as (Blockid, Has Air Quality, Good)”) wherein the plurality of knowledge data units in the knowledge data repository is generated at least partially through machine learning with a machine learning model implemented by a computing device; using a plurality of sets of IOT device-generated items including the specific set of IOT device-generated items to generate a plurality of samples and a corresponding plurality of observed values; generating a prediction mapping that maps the plurality of samples to the corresponding plurality of observed values; updating the one or more knowledge data units in the knowledge data repository with one or more specific prediction values predicted by the prediction mapping (Zhang, pg. 6, last paragraph, “The task of transfer learning involves transferring knowledge from rich data regions to regions with sparse data … we adopt transfer-learning technologies to enrich the feature representation for regions experiencing the data sparsity problem … to construct a feature mapping from an original instance to a hidden representation” where populating sparse blocks with latent representations and learned reconstructions over time is updating and generating the knowledge data units using machine learning aby using samples and observed values, i.e. see Fig. 4 for inputs and reconstructed values to learn) and causing the one or more knowledge data units to be used by an AI knowledge data query processor implemented using one or more computer devices to knowledge data query requests from client computing devices (Zhang, pg. 4, 1st paragraph, “if the user requires a forecast of the traffic conditions
y
i
… of street block
i
, the traffic-related information … is fused into feature vectors through urban knowledge fusion, and this is used to train a model to predict the result
y
i
”).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang teaches the method of Claim 1 (and thus the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated). As noted in the 35 U.S.C. 112(d) rejection of Claim 3, as Claim 3 fails to further narrow the scope of Claim 1, Claim 3 is rejected for reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang teaches the method of Claim 3 (and thus the rejection of Claim 3 is incorporated). Zhang further teaches wherein the preferred value for the knowledge property is generated using one or more machine learning methods that comprise one or more of … classification-based machine learning methods (Zhang, pg. 4, 1st paragraph, “a forecast of the traffic conditions” where the forecast is one of Clear, SlowSpeed, and Jam is a classification into one of the three category labels).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang teaches the method of Claim 3 (and thus the rejection of Claim 3 is incorporated). Zhang further teaches wherein the preferred value of the knowledge data property is generated by minimizing an objective function measuring prediction accuracy (Zhang, pg. 8, last paragraph, “we adopt the root mean square error … where
y
^
i
is a prediction and
y
i
is the ground truth”).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhang teaches the method of Claim 1 (and thus the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated). Zhang further teaches wherein the prediction mapping is used to update an existing knowledge data unit in the knowledge data repository (Zhang, pg. 3, final paragraph, “collect raw data in real-time from social media and physical sensors … the data take the form of continuous stream” with pg. 4, Fig. 1 denotes that the knowledge is updated over time, including knowledge from the prediction mapping in order to make the traffic and pollution prediction).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang teaches the method of Claim 1 (and thus the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated). Zhang further teaches wherein the prediction mapping is used to generate a new knowledge data unit in the knowledge data repository (Zhang, pg. 4, 2nd paragraph, “if a user requests the air quality of a particular street block, a new entity is generated as a result of the aggregation of data from related sensor and social media”).
Claims 8 and 10-14 recite a non-transitory computer readable medium that stores computer instructions to perform precisely the methods of Claims 1 and 3-7, respectively. As Zhang performs their method on a computer (Zhang, pg. 8, Section 4.1, “The experimental setup was a SPARK cluster comprising four machines”) in which such a medium is inherent, Claims 8 and 10-14 are rejected for reasons set forth in the rejections of Claims 1 and 3-7, respectively.
Similarly, Claims 15 and 17-20 recite an apparatus comprising: one or more computing processors; and a non-transitory computer readable medium to perform precisely the methods of Claims 1, 3, and 5-7, respectively. As Zhang performs their method on a computer, Claims 15 and 17-20 are also rejected for reasons set forth in the rejections of Claims 1, 3, and 5-7, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le-Phuoc et al., “The Graph of Things: A step towards the Live Knowledge Graph of connected things”.
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang teaches the method of Claim 1 (and thus the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated). Zhang is silent regarding whether the plurality of samples and the corresponding plurality of observed values are maintained as historical data at the AI knowledge data server, but Le-Phuoc, in the analogous art of IoT knowledge graph data, teaches this limitation (Le-Phuoc, pg. 26, 3rd paragraph, “a scalable and elastic solution for ingesting, storing, exploring, and querying billions of dynamic IoT data points”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store the data streams of Zhang in a manner such as that of Le-Phuoc. The motivation to do so is to allow “the effective exploitation of Linked Stream Data from multiple sources” (Le-Phuoc, pg. 26, 3rd paragraph), which Zhang requires in order to operate.
Claim 9 recites a non-transitory computer readable medium that stores computer instructions to perform precisely the methods of Claim 2. As Zhang performs their method on a computer (Zhang, pg. 8, Section 4.1, “The experimental setup was a SPARK cluster comprising four machines”) in which such a medium is inherent, Claim 9 is rejected for reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 2.
Similarly, Claim 16 recites an apparatus comprising: one or more computing processors; and a non-transitory computer readable medium to perform precisely the methods of Claim 2. As Zhang performs their method on a computer, Claim 16 is also rejected for reasons set forth in the rejections of Claim 2.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7; 8, 10, 11, 13, 14; 15, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over their respective claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,610,107. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are strictly broader than the reference claims. See chart below.
Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over their respective claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,610,107, in view of Le-Phuoc et al., “The Graph of Things: A step towards the Live Knowledge Graph of connected things.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store the IoT data points, as does Le-Phuoc. The motivation to do so is to have them in storage for use in querying or other uses.
Claims 5, 12, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over their respective claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,610,107, in view of Zhang et al., “Semantic Framework of Internet of Things for Smart Cities: Case Studies”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use RMSE in particular to measure the “quality of predicted values.” The motivation to do so is that RMSE is a well-known measure of error.
Instant Application 18/116,675
Reference Patent 11,610,107
Claim 1: A computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, by an artificial intelligence (AI) knowledge data server from an internet-of-things (IOT) device over one or more computer networks, a specific computer message that includes a specific set of IOT device-generated data items;
identifying, based at least in part on the specific set of IOT device-generated data items, one or more knowledge data units from among a plurality of knowledge data units maintained in a knowledge data repository,
wherein the plurality of knowledge data units in the knowledge data repository is generated at least partly through machine learning with a machine learning model implemented by a computing device;
using a plurality of sets of IOT device-generated data items including the specific set of IOT device-generated data items to generate a plurality of samples and a corresponding plurality of observed values;
generating a prediction mapping that maps the plurality of samples to the corresponding plurality of observed values;
updating the one or more knowledge data units in the knowledge data repository with one or more specific prediction values predicted by the prediction mapping;
and causing the one or more knowledge data units to be used by an AJ knowledge data query processor implemented using one or more computer devices to generate knowledge data responses to knowledge data query requests from client computing devices.
Claim 1: A computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving a neural feedback from a client computing device over one or more computer networks … containing numeric measurement data of temperatures collected from one or more sensors
searching, based at least in part on a global neural schema and the one or more feedback keywords generated from the neural feedback, for one or more knowledge neurons in a repository of knowledge neurons
wherein the one or more knowledge neurons include knowledge artifacts learned … through machine learning with a machine learning model implemented by a computing device
using a plurality of neural feedbacks including the received neural feedback to generate a plurality of historic feedback datapoints comprising a plurality of samples and a corresponding plurality of observed values
generating a prediction mapping that maps the plurality of samples to the corresponding plurality of observed values;
updating at least one neuron in the repository of knowledge neurons with one or more specific prediction values predicted by the prediction mapping
and causing the one or more knowledge neurons to be used by a query processor in one or more computer devices to generate responses to query requests from client computing devices
Claim 2: The method of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of samples and the corresponding plurality of observed values are maintained as historical data
at the AJ knowledge data server.
Claim 2: wherein the neural feedback information as derived from the neural feedback, is recorded as one or more updated histories
Le-Phuoc, pg. 26, 3rd paragraph, storing dynamic IoT data
Claim 3. The method of Claim 1, wherein the prediction mapping is used to predict a preferred value for a knowledge data property in the one or more knowledge data units.
Obvious over Claim 1 of the reference patent as it fails to further narrow the scope the instant application’s Claim 1
Claim 4. The method of Claim 3, wherein the preferred value for the knowledge data property is generated using one or more machine learning methods that comprise one or more of: regression-based machine learning methods, classification-based machine learning methods, decision-tree-based machine learning methods, or random-forest-based machine learning methods.
Claim 4: The method of Claim 3, wherein the preferred value for the property is generated using one or more other machine learning methods[that] comprises one or more of: regression-based machine learning methods, classification-based machine learning methods, decision-tree- based machine learning methods, or random-forest-based machine learning methods.
Claim 5. The method of Claim 3, wherein the preferred value for the knowledge data property is generated by minimizing an objective function measuring
prediction accuracy.
Claim 5: herein the preferred value for the property is generated by minimizing an objective function measuring a quality of predicted values.
Zhang: pg. 8, RMSE
Claim 6. The method of Claim 1, wherein the prediction mapping is used to update an existing knowledge data unit in the knowledge data repository.
Claim 6: The method of Claim 1, wherein the neural feedback information derived from the neural feedback is used to update an existing knowledge neuron in the repository of knowledge neurons
Claim 7. The method of Claim 1, wherein the prediction mapping is used to generate a new knowledge data unit to be stored in the knowledge data repository.
Claim 7: The method of Claim 1, wherein the neural feedback information derived from the neural feedback is used to update an existing knowledge neuron in the repository of knowledge neurons
Claims 8-14 recite a non-transitory CRM to perform the methods of Claims 1-7. Claims 15-20 recite an apparatus to perform the methods of Claims 1-3 and 5-7.
The reference patent has corresponding CRM and apparatus comprising a processor claims 8-20
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Sheth et al., “kHealth: Proactive Personalized Actionable Information for Better Healthcare” teaches a knowledge graph with data obtained from IoT devices to answer queries about a person’s health.
/BRIAN M SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2122