DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 02/06/2026 has been considered and entered. The amendment overcomes the rejections in view of Caruso et al. (WO 2014/186151A1) and in view of Mortimer et al. (CN 107108855 A) for failing to teach the claimed filler. Therefore, the previous rejections are withdrawn and new grounds of rejections are made as necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 – 12, 14, 16, 17, 20, 23 – 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2012-512312A which is hereinafter referred to as JP’312
In regards to claims 1 – 8, JP’312 recites homogeneous composition comprising epoxy resin etc., useful as curable composition for electrolaminates (abstract). The composition comprises epoxy resin including one or more materials such as oxirane (i.e., polybutadiene polyepoxide which is an ethylene oxide polymer), diglycidyl ether of bisphenol A, diglycidyl ether of bisphenol F, phenolic novalac epoxy resin etc., curing agents such as 4,4’-diaminodiphenyl sulfone (44DDS) etc., toughener, and fillers such as graphite, polytetrafluoroethylene, molybdenum disulfide, boron nitride etc. which can be in the form of fibers or powders, fiber reinforcing fillers such as glass fibers, carbon fibers etc., and wherein the composition includes a molding composition and is useful as an adhesive composition, coating composition etc. (specification).
In regards to claims 9 – 11, 25, JP’312 teaches the composition comprising tougheners but does not recite the claimed limitation. Schmitt et al. (US 2021/0230421) teaches toughening agents for epoxy resin composition similar to JP’312 (abstract). The tougheners can be polyhydroxyether with hydroxy pendant linkage groups which provides the thermoplastic polyhydroxyether of the claims. It would have been obvious for persons of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claims were filed to have used the tougheners of Schmitt in the composition of JP’312, as JP’312 allows for the use of conventional tougheners for epoxy resins such as those recited by Schmitt. The tougheners would be expected to provide similar bonds and properties as recited in claim 11.
In regards to claims 12, 14, 16, 17, JP’312 teaches the composition having the claimed limitations as previously stated. The composition comprises the same ingredients and thus provide the moldable and/or machinable composition as claimed.
In regards to claims 20, 23 – 25, JP’312 teaches the composition having the claimed limitations as previously stated.
In regards to claim 26, JP’312 teaches the composition comprising fillers but does not particularly recite the presence of zinc oxide. Lebediev et al. (UA 75634 U) similarly teaches epoxy resin curable composition that is useful as adhesives and which can comprise a filler such as zinc oxide (abstract, specification). Thus, it would have been obvious for persons of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claims were filed to have used the fillers of Lebediev as fillers in the composition of JP’312, as JP’312 allows for the use of fillers in the composition.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is allowed.
Claims 15, 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: JP’312 recites similar composition as claimed but fails to teach the presence of ptfe that is treated with a sodium naphthalene etch as recited in claims 15, 19, 21. While OU et al (CN 101790566B) teaches the compound for use in pipe adhesive it does not teach that the ptfe are in the form of fibers. Nelson (4,744,857) teaches ptfe fibers with sodium naphthalene etch but does not teach their use in similar compositions as JP’312.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771