DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kokubo (US 20180236883).
Regarding claim 1, Kokubo teaches a vehicle fuel cell control system (figure 1 item 100 defined as a fuel-cell vehicle with a control system item 180)
comprising: a gradient identification unit configured to identify a gradient range of an expected traveling route of a vehicle (figure 1 [0028] wherein a navigation device 170 and map storage unit 174 identify gradients as roads with uphills, heights and mountains. Paragraph [0010] teaches wherein the gradient of the uphill determined as a range greater than or equal to a predetermined gradients of a first limit and an upper limit. Paragraphs [0036] and [0039] teaches wherein an expected travel route or predicted travel of the vehicle is determined) ; and
a control unit (figure 1 item 180 defined as an ECU) configured to control charging and discharging of a vehicle battery and a degree of power generation by a fuel cell of the vehicle in advance (paragraph [0029] teaches wherein the ECU controls the power of the fuel cell 110 and the charging and discharging of the battery 130), before the vehicle enters the gradient range, according to whether the gradient range of the expected traveling route identified by the gradient identification unit is uphill or downhill (figure 2 and paragraph [0033] teaches wherein the control unit, ECU 180 controls the charging and discharging by charging or discharging the battery to maintain a certain range, upon detecting that the vehicle will travel on an uphill road. Paragraph [0038] teaches wherein power is generated from the fuel cell to charge the battery, upon determining a road with a gradient is expected to be traveled on).
Kokubo figure 2 shows a flow chart determining an uphill travel and charging the battery based on this gradient.
Regarding claim 2, Kokubo teaches the vehicle fuel cell control system of claim 1, wherein the gradient identification unit is further configured to identify the gradient range based on expected vehicle traveling path information with reference to a navigation map and current vehicle position information with reference to a global positioning system (GPS) sensor (shown in figure 1 shows a navigation device 170. Paragraph [0027] teaches a position information detecting unit 172 and a map storage unit 174).
Regarding claim 11, Kokubo teaches a vehicle fuel cell control method (figure 1 item 100 defined as a fuel-cell vehicle with a control system item 180)
comprising: identifying, by a gradient identification unit, a gradient range of an expected traveling route of a vehicle (figure 1 [0028] wherein a navigation device 170 and map storage unit 174 identify gradients as roads with uphills, heights and mountains. Paragraph [0010] teaches wherein the gradient of the uphill determined as a range greater than or equal to a predetermined gradients of a first limit and an upper limit. Paragraphs [0036] and [0039] teaches wherein an expected travel route or predicted travel of the vehicle is determined);
and controlling, by a control unit (figure 1 item 180 defined as an ECU), a degree of charging and discharging of a vehicle battery and a degree of power generation by a fuel cell of the vehicle in advance (paragraph [0029] teaches wherein the ECU controls the power of the fuel cell 110 and the charging and discharging of the battery 130), before the vehicle enters a gradient range, according to whether the gradient range of the expected traveling route identified by the gradient identification unit is uphill or downhill (figure 2 and paragraph [0033] teaches wherein the control unit, ECU 180 controls the charging and discharging by charging or discharging the battery to maintain a certain range, upon detecting that the vehicle will travel on an uphill road. Paragraph [0038] teaches wherein power is generated from the fuel cell to charge the battery, upon determining a road with a gradient is expected to be traveled on).
Regarding claim 12, Kokubo teaches the vehicle fuel cell control method of claim 11, wherein the gradient identification unit is configured to identify the gradient range based on expected vehicle traveling path information with reference to a navigation map and current vehicle position information with reference to a global positioning system (GPS) sensor (shown in figure 1 shows a navigation device 170. Paragraph [0027] teaches a position information detecting unit 172 and a map storage unit 174).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 3, 4, 6– 10,13, 14, and 16 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kokubo (US 20180236883) in view of Gaither (US 20210394622)
Regarding claim 3, Kokubo teaches the vehicle fuel cell control system of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the control unit is further configured to determine a weight of the vehicle during traveling of the vehicle and to control a degree of the charging and the discharging of the vehicle battery based on a difference between the determined weight and a curb weight of the vehicle.
Gaither teaches wherein the control unit is further configured to determine a weight of the vehicle during traveling of the vehicle and to control a degree of the charging and the discharging of the vehicle battery based on a difference between the determined weight and a curb weight of the vehicle (defined in paragraph [0036] teaches wherein the weight of the vehicle is determined and the energy usage based on the weight is calculated. Paragraph [0053]-[0055] teaches wherein the weight is measured and compared to another weight such as a curb weight, interpreted as when the vehicle has attachments).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kokubo reference with the charging system of the Gaither reference so that an accurate amount of required driving energy is determined.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in Gaither reference in paragraph [0018] wherein energy usage is determined.
Gaither Figure 3 shows a flow chart for a charging batteries and fuel cell based on the expected travel plan
Regarding claim 4, Kokubo teaches the vehicle fuel cell control system of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein, when the gradient range of the expected traveling route is uphill, the control unit is further configured to determine energy required by the vehicle before entering an uphill range, and to compare the determined energy required by the vehicle with energy corresponding to a dischargeable amount of the vehicle battery, controlling the degree of power generation by the fuel cell.
Gaither teaches wherein, when the gradient range of the expected traveling route is uphill, the control unit is further configured to determine energy required by the vehicle before entering an uphill range, and to compare the determined energy required by the vehicle with energy corresponding to a dischargeable amount of the vehicle battery, controlling the degree of power generation by the fuel cell (paragraph [0018] teaches energy required for entering an uphill range, is interpreted as changes in energy requirements for different route changes is determined. Paragraphs [0023]- [0024] teaches wherein a terrain event such as hill will be used to determined the energy requirement for the vehicle. Paragraph [0047] teaches wherein a vehicle travel plan is implemented and the power requirements for the vehicle to travel on a hill is determined. Paragraphs [0059] and [0062] teaches wherein energy requirements for travel is determined).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kokubo reference with the charging system of the Gaither reference so that an accurate amount of required driving energy is determined.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in Gaither reference in paragraph [0018] wherein energy usage is determined.
Regarding claim 6, Kokubo teaches the vehicle fuel cell control system of claim 4, but does not explicitly teach wherein, when the determined energy required by the vehicle is greater than the energy corresponding to the dischargeable amount of the vehicle battery, the control unit is further configured to control the fuel cell to generate a maximum power thereof.
Gaither teaches wherein, when the determined energy required by the vehicle is greater than the energy corresponding to the dischargeable amount of the vehicle battery, the control unit is further configured to control the fuel cell to generate a maximum power thereof (figure 3 paragraph [0051] teaches wherein the travel plan and events are determined based on whether a short-term, medium-term or long-term travel event. If it is determined if the event is greater than the energy within the vehicle, or the event would drain the energy (item 314), the vehicle maximizes the fuel cell pre-charges the fuel-cell or battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kokubo reference with the charging system of the Gaither reference so that an accurate amount of required driving energy is determined.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in Gaither reference in paragraph [0018] wherein energy usage is determined.
Regarding claim 7, Kokubo teaches the vehicle fuel cell control system of claim 4, but does not explicitly teach wherein, when the gradient range of the expected traveling route is downhill, the control unit is further configured to determine a maximum possible regenerative braking energy of the vehicle before entering a downhill range, and to compare the determined maximum possible regenerative braking energy of the vehicle with energy corresponding to a chargeable amount of the vehicle battery after uphill traveling, controlling the degree of power generation by the fuel cell.
Gaither teaches wherein, when the gradient range of the expected traveling route is downhill, the control unit is further configured to determine a maximum possible regenerative braking energy of the vehicle before entering a downhill range, and to compare the determined maximum possible regenerative braking energy of the vehicle with energy corresponding to a chargeable amount of the vehicle battery after uphill traveling, controlling the degree of power generation by the fuel cell (paragraph [0049] teaches wherein a downhill or uphill event is determined and the charging plan is implemented based off these determinations. Paragraphs [0006] – [0007], [0047] and [0059] teaches wherein the maximum amount of regenerative energy is determined from travelling uphill, downhill or coasting).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kokubo reference with the charging system of the Gaither reference so that an accurate amount of required driving energy is determined.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in Gaither reference in paragraph [0018] wherein energy usage is determined.
Regarding claim 8, Kokubo teaches the vehicle fuel cell control system of claim 7, but does not explicitly teach wherein, when the determined maximum possible regenerative braking energy of the vehicle is greater than the energy corresponding to the chargeable amount of the vehicle battery, the control unit is further configured to control the fuel cell to stop generating power.
Gaither teaches wherein, when the determined maximum possible regenerative braking energy of the vehicle is greater than the energy corresponding to the chargeable amount of the vehicle battery, the control unit is further configured to control the fuel cell to stop generating power (defined in paragraphs [0023] – [0024] wherein vehicle stopping events configure the fuel cell to stop generating power or discharging).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kokubo reference with the charging system of the Gaither reference so that an accurate amount of required driving energy is determined.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in Gaither reference in paragraph [0018] wherein energy usage is determined.
Regarding claim 9, Kokubo teaches the vehicle fuel cell control system of claim 7, but does not explicitly teach wherein, when the determined maximum possible regenerative braking energy of the vehicle is smaller than the energy corresponding to the chargeable amount of the vehicle battery, the control unit is further configured to control the fuel cell to optimally generate power.
Gaither teaches wherein, when the determined maximum possible regenerative braking energy of the vehicle is smaller than the energy corresponding to the chargeable amount of the vehicle battery, the control unit is further configured to control the fuel cell to optimally generate power (figure 3 paragraph [0051] teaches wherein the travel plan and events are determined based on whether a short-term, medium-term or long-term travel event. If it is determined if the event is greater than the energy within the vehicle, or the event would drain the energy (item 314), the vehicle maximizes the fuel cell pre-charges the fuel-cell or battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kokubo reference with the charging system of the Gaither reference so that an accurate amount of required driving energy is determined.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in Gaither reference in paragraph [0018] wherein energy usage is determined.
Regarding claim 10, Kokubo teaches the vehicle fuel cell control system of claim 7, but does not explicitly teach but does not explicitly teach, wherein, after the vehicle enters the downhill range, the control unit is further configured to control a degree of the charging of the vehicle battery through regenerative braking.
Gaither teaches wherein, after the vehicle enters the downhill range, the control unit is further configured to control a degree of the charging of the vehicle battery through regenerative braking (paragraph [0055] teaches wherein the charging of the battery is controlled by the amount regenerative braking energy captured during travel. The regenerative braking is captured during a downhill or coasting event).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kokubo reference with the charging system of the Gaither reference so that an accurate amount of required driving energy is determined.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in Gaither reference in paragraph [0018] wherein energy usage is determined.
Regarding claim 13, Kokubo teaches the vehicle fuel cell control method of claim 11, but does not explicitly teach wherein the controlling the degree of charging and discharging of the vehicle battery includes: determining a weight of the vehicle during traveling of the vehicle; and controlling the degree of the charging and the discharging of the vehicle battery based on a difference between the determined weight and a curb weight of the vehicle.
Gaither teaches wherein the controlling the degree of charging and discharging of the vehicle battery includes: determining a weight of the vehicle during traveling of the vehicle; and controlling the degree of the charging and the discharging of the vehicle battery based on a difference between the determined weight and a curb weight of the vehicle (defined in paragraph [0036] teaches wherein the weight of the vehicle is determined and the energy usage based on the weight is calculated. Paragraph [0053]-[0055] teaches wherein the weight is measured and compared to another weight such as a curb weight, interpreted as when the vehicle has attachments).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kokubo reference with the charging system of the Gaither reference so that an accurate amount of required driving energy is determined.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in Gaither reference in paragraph [0018] wherein energy usage is determined
Regarding claim 14, Kokubo teaches the vehicle fuel cell control method of claim 11, but does not explicitly teach wherein the controlling the degree of power generation by the fuel cell includes: determining energy required by the vehicle before entering an uphill range when the gradient range of the expected traveling route is uphill; and comparing the determined energy required by the vehicle with energy corresponding to a dischargeable amount of the vehicle battery, controlling the degree of power generation by the fuel cell.
Gaither teaches wherein the controlling the degree of power generation by the fuel cell includes: determining energy required by the vehicle before entering an uphill range when the gradient range of the expected traveling route is uphill; and comparing the determined energy required by the vehicle with energy corresponding to a dischargeable amount of the vehicle battery, controlling the degree of power generation by the fuel cell (paragraph [0018] teaches energy required for entering an uphill range, is interpreted as changes in energy requirements for different route changes is determined. Paragraphs [0023]- [0024] teaches wherein a terrain event such as hill will be used to determined the energy requirement for the vehicle. Paragraph [0047] teaches wherein a vehicle travel plan is implemented and the power requirements for the vehicle to travel on a hill is determined. Paragraphs [0059] and [0062] teaches wherein energy requirements for travel is determined).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kokubo reference with the charging system of the Gaither reference so that an accurate amount of required driving energy is determined.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in Gaither reference in paragraph [0018] wherein energy usage is determined.
Regarding claim 16, Kokubo teaches the vehicle fuel cell control method of claim 14, but does not explicitly teach wherein, when the determined energy required by the vehicle is greater than the energy corresponding to the dischargeable amount of the vehicle battery, the control unit is configured to control the fuel cell to generate a maximum power thereof.
Gaither teaches wherein, when the determined energy required by the vehicle is greater than the energy corresponding to the dischargeable amount of the vehicle battery, the control unit is configured to control the fuel cell to generate a maximum power thereof (figure 3 paragraph [0051] teaches wherein the travel plan and events are determined based on whether a short-term, medium-term or long-term travel event. If it is determined if the event is greater than the energy within the vehicle, or the event would drain the energy (item 314), the vehicle maximizes the fuel cell pre-charges the fuel-cell or battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kokubo reference with the charging system of the Gaither reference so that an accurate amount of required driving energy is determined.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in Gaither reference in paragraph [0018] wherein energy usage is determined.
Regarding claim 17, Kokubo teaches the vehicle fuel cell control method of claim 11, in paragraph [0039] wherein the regenerative energy is used to provide power to the secondary battery but does not explicitly teach wherein the controlling the degree of power generation by the fuel cell includes: determining a maximum possible regenerative braking energy of the vehicle before entering a downhill range when the gradient range of the expected traveling route is downhill; and comparing the determined maximum possible regenerative braking energy of the vehicle with energy corresponding to a chargeable amount of the vehicle battery after uphill traveling, controlling the degree of power generation by the fuel cell.
Gaither teaches wherein the controlling the degree of power generation by the fuel cell includes: determining a maximum possible regenerative braking energy of the vehicle before entering a downhill range when the gradient range of the expected traveling route is downhill; and comparing the determined maximum possible regenerative braking energy of the vehicle with energy corresponding to a chargeable amount of the vehicle battery after uphill traveling, controlling the degree of power generation by the fuel cell (paragraph [0049] teaches wherein a downhill or uphill event is determined and the charging plan is implemented based off these determinations. Paragraphs [0006] – [0007], [0047] and [0059] teaches wherein the maximum amount of regenerative energy is determined from travelling uphill, downhill or coasting).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kokubo reference with the charging system of the Gaither reference so that an accurate amount of required driving energy is determined.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in Gaither reference in paragraph [0018] wherein energy usage is determined.
Regarding claim 18, Kokubo teaches the vehicle fuel cell control method of claim 17, (paragraph [0039] wherein the regenerative energy is used to provide power to the secondary battery) but does not explicitly teach wherein, when the determined maximum possible regenerative braking energy of the vehicle is greater than the energy corresponding to the chargeable amount of the vehicle battery, the control unit is configured to control the fuel cell to stop generating power.
Gaither teaches wherein, when the determined maximum possible regenerative braking energy of the vehicle is greater than the energy corresponding to the chargeable amount of the vehicle battery, the control unit is configured to control the fuel cell to stop generating power (defined in paragraphs [0023] – [0024] wherein vehicle stopping events configure the fuel cell to stop generating power or discharging).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kokubo reference with the charging system of the Gaither reference so that an accurate amount of required driving energy is determined.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in Gaither reference in paragraph [0018] wherein energy usage is determined.
Regarding claim 19, Kokubo teaches the vehicle fuel cell control method of claim 17, but does not explicitly teach, wherein, when the determined maximum possible regenerative braking energy of the vehicle is smaller than the energy corresponding to the chargeable amount of the vehicle battery, the control unit is configured to control the fuel cell to optimally generate power.
Gaither teaches wherein, when the determined maximum possible regenerative braking energy of the vehicle is smaller than the energy corresponding to the chargeable amount of the vehicle battery, the control unit is configured to control the fuel cell to optimally generate power
(figure 3 paragraph [0051] teaches wherein the travel plan and events are determined based on whether a short-term, medium-term or long-term travel event. If it is determined if the event is greater than the energy within the vehicle, or the event would drain the energy (item 314), the vehicle maximizes the fuel cell pre-charges the fuel-cell or battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kokubo reference with the charging system of the Gaither reference so that an accurate amount of required driving energy is determined.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in Gaither reference in paragraph [0018] wherein energy usage is determined.
Regarding claim 20, Kokubo teaches the vehicle fuel cell control method of claim 11, but does not explicitly teach wherein, further including: controlling the degree of the charging of the vehicle battery through regenerative braking by the control unit after the vehicle enters a downhill range.
Gaither teaches wherein, further including: controlling the degree of the charging of the vehicle battery through regenerative braking by the control unit after the vehicle enters a downhill range (paragraph [0055] teaches wherein the charging of the battery is controlled by the amount regenerative braking energy captured during travel. The regenerative braking is captured during a downhill or coasting event).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kokubo reference with the charging system of the Gaither reference so that an accurate amount of required driving energy is determined.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in Gaither reference in paragraph [0018] wherein energy usage is determined.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kokubo (US 20180236883) in view of Gaither (US 20210394622) as applied to claim 4 and in further view of Kitajima (US 20160265929 ).
Regarding claim 5, Kokubo in view of Gaither teaches the vehicle fuel cell control system of claim 4, but does not explicitly teach wherein the energy required by the vehicle is determined through an average gradient of the uphill range and an average velocity of the vehicle.
Kitajima teaches wherein the energy required by the vehicle is determined through an average gradient of the uphill range and an average velocity of the vehicle (paragraphs [0070] – [0072] teaches the average gradient and average velocity is used to determine the power required as a function of the energy required by the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kokubo and Gaither references with the charging system of the reference so that an accurate amount of required driving energy is determined during traveling.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in Kitajima reference in paragraph [0005] wherein energy usage is determined.
Regarding claim 15, Kokubo and Gaither teaches the vehicle fuel cell control method of claim 14, but do not explicitly teach wherein the energy required by the vehicle is determined through an average gradient of the uphill range and an average velocity of the vehicle.
Kitajima teaches wherein the energy required by the vehicle is determined through an average gradient of the uphill range and an average velocity of the vehicle (paragraphs [0070] – [0072] teaches the average gradient and average velocity is used to determine the power required as a function of the energy required by the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kokubo and Gaither references with the charging system of the reference so that an accurate amount of required driving energy is determined during traveling.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in Kitajima reference in paragraph [0005] wherein energy usage is determined.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20250108807 A1 Downhill Speed Control Of A Vehicle Bellinger; Steven M.
Us 20120316717 A1 Controlling And Powering A Vehicle Daum; Wolfgang Et Al.
Us 20220176832 A1 219-0150 Method For Estimating The Need For Electrical Energy Of A Motor Vehicle For A Predefinable Travel Route Espig; Markus Et Al.
Us 20230215225 A1 Electric Vehicle Simulation Filipowicz; Alexandre Et Al.
Us 11602999 B1 Predictive Control For Vehicles Flatland; Ryan O'leary
Us 20160190617 A1 Operating Method For A Fuel Cell System Haase; Stefan Et Al.
Us 20210206293 A1 Fuel Cell Vehicle Hasegawa; Takahiko Et Al.
Us 9079505 B1 Management Of A Fleet Of Vehicles Hyde; Roderick A. Et Al.
Us 11660981 B2 Fuel Cell Vehicle Ichikawa; Shinji
Us 20180164111 A1 Estimating Driving Information Jung; Daebong Et Al.
Us 20080087479 A1 Power System Of Hybrid Fuel Cell Kang; Ho Sung
Us 20120321917 A1 Fuel Cell System Kazuno; Shuichi Et Al.
Us 20210362620 A1 Fuel Cell System Matsuo; Junichi
Us 20180215283 A1 Output Prediction Device Matsusue; Masaaki Et Al.
Us 20150134174 A1 Extended Range Electric Vehicle Preece; Andrew
Us 20140288737 A1 Controlling Power Of Fuel Cell Vehicle Ryu; Seongpil Et Al.
Us 6428444 B1 Controlling A Vehicle Tabata; Atsushi
Us 20130096818 A1 Vehicle Range Analysis Vicharelli; Pablo A. Et Al.
Us 20180241099 A1 Fuel Cell Control Device Watanabe; Takao Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859