DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
This Office Action is in response to submission of documents on November 8, 2023.
Rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Rejection of claims 1-2 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Variyam.
Rejection of claims 3-14 and 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Variyam in view of Qin.
Rejection of claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Variyam in view of Qin and Sterczyk.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on March 2, 2023 and June 28, 2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exceptions without significantly more. The claims recite mental processes. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements that are recited in the claims are extra-solution activities that do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because courts have found that the steps of providing data and recitation of generic computer components are not significantly more than a judicial exception.
Claim 1
Step 1: The claim is directed to a process, falling under one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim 1 limitations include (bolded for abstract idea identification):
Claim 1
Mapping Under Step 2A Prong 1
A method of determining suitability of a wire bonding tool for a wire bonding application, the method comprising the steps of:
(a) providing specifications for a wire bonding tool; and
(b) determining if the wire bonding tool is acceptable for a wire bonding application using (i) a software tool and (ii) the specifications provided in step (a).
Abstract Idea: Mental Process
Determining whether a tool is suitable for a particular application is a mental process that can be performed in the human mind. For example, using observation, evaluation, opinion, and judgment, a person with knowledge of wire bonding tools and applications can determine that a tool is suitable for its intended use to perform wire bonding. See e.g., MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), Subsection III.
Abstract Idea: Mental Process
Determining whether a tool is suitable for a particular application is a mental process that can be performed in the human mind. For example, using observation, evaluation, opinion, and judgment, a person with knowledge of wire bonding tools and applications can review a set of specifications for the tool and, based on the requirements of the application, determine whether the tool is capable of properly performing the process. See e.g., MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), Subsection III.
Step 2A, Prong 2: The claim 1 limitations recite (bolded for additional element identification):
Claim 1
Mapping Under Step 2A Prong 2
A method of determining suitability of a wire bonding tool for a wire bonding application, the method comprising the steps of:
(a) providing specifications for a wire bonding tool; and
(b) determining if the wire bonding tool is acceptable for a wire bonding application using (i) a software tool and (ii) the specifications provided in step (a).
Providing data (i.e., transmitting data) is an extra-solution activity that does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The limitation does not recite, with specificity, how the data is provided and therefore does not improve the functioning of a computer. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Reciting generic computer components is the additional element of instructions to apply the recited judicial exception, which courts have found does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Step 2B: Regarding Step 2B, the inquiry is whether any of the additional elements (i.e., the elements that are not the judicial exception) amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception. Transmitting data is an extra-solution activity that courts have found does not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception. See Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network). See also, e.g., Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014), Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 70, 175 USPQ 673, 676 (1972), Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 112 USPQ2d 1750 (Fed. Cir. 2014); Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 119 USPQ2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
Accordingly, claim 1 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 2
Claim 2 recites wherein the specifications provided in step (a) include data related to dimensions of the wire bonding tool. The claim merely recites a type of data that is provided as a specification, a limitation that has already been identified as an additional element that does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, claim 2 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 3
Claim 3 recites wherein step (b) includes using the software tool, on a wire bonding machine, to determine if the wire bonding tool is acceptable for the wire bonding application. The claim recites using a generic computer component (i.e., a “software tool”) to perform the assessment of the wire bonding tool, which is mere instructions to apply a judicial exception. Using a tool to perform a final step is an additional element that courts have found is not significantly more than the recited judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2); In re Brown, 645 Fed. App'x 1014, 1017 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Accordingly, claim 3 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 4
Claim 4 recites wherein step (b) includes using the software tool on a computer offline from a wire bonding machine to determine if the wire bonding tool is acceptable for the wire bonding application. The claim recites using a generic computer component (i.e., a “software tool”) to perform the assessment of the wire bonding tool, which is mere instructions to apply a judicial exception. Using a tool to perform a final step is an additional element that courts have found is not significantly more than the recited judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2); In re Brown, 645 Fed. App'x 1014, 1017 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Accordingly, claim 4 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 5
Claim 5 recites wherein step (b) includes determining if there is at least one of actual interference between the wire bonding tool and other structures included in the wire bonding application, and potential interference between the wire bonding tool and other structures included in the wire bonding application. The claim recites the judicial exception of a mental process. A human can review, through observation, the result of executing a process and determine whether one or more wires of the target of the process interfere with the newly created wire bond. This can be performed through evaluation of the result and, through judgment, determine whether there is interference. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III. Accordingly, claim 5 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 6
Claim 6 recites wherein step (b) includes determining if there will be an acceptable level of clearance between the wire bonding tool and other structures included in the wire bonding application, during a wire bonding operation. The claim recites the judicial exception of a mental process. A human can review, through observation, the result of executing a process and determine whether one or more wires of the target of the process are a sufficient distance from the newly created wire bond. This can be performed through evaluation of the result and, through judgment, determine whether there is an acceptable distance. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III. Accordingly, claim 6 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 7
Claim 7 recites wherein the other structures include at least one of neighboring wire loops and other electronic components. The claim merely specifies a type of wire that may be identified from a step that has been previously identified as a mental process. Accordingly, claim 7 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 8
Claim 8 recites wherein step (b) includes determining if there will be an acceptable level of clearance between the wire bonding tool and other structures included in the wire bonding application, during at least one of (b1) formation of a first wire bond of a wire loop, (b2) formation of a second wire bond of the wire loop, and (b3) a trajectory of the wire bonding tool during formation of the wire loop between the first wire bond and the second wire bond. The claim merely recites types of actions that may be taken during a wire bonding process. The claim does not include additional elements and thus does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application. According, claim 8 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 9
Claim 9 recites wherein steps (a) and (b) are repeated for a plurality of wire bonding tools. The claim recites performing steps already identified as mental processes more than once. Each of the performances is a mental process and performing the mental process more than once is additionally a mental process. Accordingly, claim 9 is directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 10
Claim 10 recites wherein steps (a) and (b) are repeated for a plurality of wire bonding tools until an acceptable wire bonding tool is determined for the wire bonding application. The claim recites performing steps already identified as mental processes more than once. Each of the performances is a mental process and performing the mental process more than once is additionally a mental process. Accordingly, claim 10 is directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 11
Claim 11 recites further comprising a step of adjusting an aspect of the wire bonding application to account for potential interference with the wire bonding tool during a wire bonding operation. The recited limitation is an additional element of providing data by changing one or more parameters of a process that has been identified as an additional element that does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, claim 11 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 12
Claim 12 recites wherein the step of adjusting includes adjusting a wire bonding location in a wire bonding program. The recited limitation is an additional element of providing data by changing one or more parameters of a process that has been identified as an additional element that does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, claim 12 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 13
Claim 13 recites wherein the step of adjusting includes adjusting a trajectory of forming a wire loop in the wire bonding application. The recited limitation is an additional element of providing data by changing one or more parameters of a process that has been identified as an additional element that does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, claim 13 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 14
Claim 14 recites wherein the step of adjusting includes adjusting a shape of a wire loop in the wire bonding application. The recited limitation is an additional element of providing data by changing one or more parameters of a process that has been identified as an additional element that does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, claim 14 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 15
Claim 15 recites wherein the step of adjusting includes adjusting a sequence of forming a plurality of wire loops in the wire bonding application. The recited limitation is an additional element of providing data by changing one or more parameters of a process that has been identified as an additional element that does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, claim 15 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 16
Claim 16 recites wherein the step of adjusting includes adjusting at least one bonding parameter during formation of at least one wire bond in the wire bonding application. The recited limitation is an additional element of providing data by changing one or more parameters of a process that has been identified as an additional element that does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, claim 16 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 17
Claim 17 recites:
further comprising a step of providing package data for the wire bonding application, and wherein step (b) includes
The step is the additional element of providing data, which, as previously indicated, is an extra-solution activity that does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor improve the operation of a computer.
determining if the wire bonding tool is acceptable for the wire bonding application using the software tool, the specifications provided in step (a), and the package data.
The step is a mental process that can be accomplished in the human mind through observing the result of performing the process and evaluating whether it is acceptable using a generic computer component to perform the evaluation (mere exceptions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer).
According, claim 17 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 18
Claim 18 recites wherein the package data provided includes at least one of (i) CAD data related to the wire bonding application and (ii) package data derived using an online teaching reference system of a wire bonding machine. The claim merely recites a type of data that is provided by the additional element that, as previously indicated, does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, claim 18 is directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 19
Claim 19 recites wherein the package data provided includes at least one of a two-dimensional wire layout of a semiconductor package, a three- dimensional wire layout of the semiconductor package, a semiconductor element height, bonding locations of the semiconductor element, bonding locations of a substrate, relative distances between first bonding locations and second bonding locations, a wire diameter, and a wire type. The claim merely recites a type of data that is provided by the additional element that, as previously indicated, does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, claim 19 is directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 20
Claim 20 recites wherein the specifications provided in step (a) are integrated with the software tool. The claim merely indicates that the data that includes non-integrated abstract ideas is provided to a generic computer device. This does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because providing data is an extra-solution activity. Accordingly, claim 20 is directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Variyam (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2005/0133566).
Claim 1
Variyam discloses:
A method of determining suitability of a wire bonding tool for a wire bonding application, the method comprising the steps of:
As part of the same FEA analysis or as obtained from a separate analysis, a failure analysis of the chip or some component(s) of the chip (e.g., low-k layer(s) under bond pads) may be performed based on the simulated force, stress, and/or strain information from the FEA simulation of the wire bonding operation (block 112). Such analysis may require the incorporation of the chip layout specifications and design as an input (input data block 114), for example. Thus, a failure analysis of a proposed or current chip assembly process may be performed based on the chip design and based on a proposed or current set of wire bonding machine adjustment parameters. Variyam at [0039].
(a) providing specifications for a wire bonding tool; and
The capillary design (data block 44) (see e.g., FIG. 1) is also a simulation input, and typically will be held constant for each set of empirical equations developed. Variyam at [0025].
The “capillary design” is a specification related to the wire bonding tool.
(b) determining if the wire bonding tool is acceptable for a wire bonding application using (i) a software tool and (ii) the specifications provided in step (a).
Thus, a failure analysis of a proposed or current chip assembly process may be performed based on the chip design and based on a proposed or current set of wire bonding machine adjustment parameters. Variyam at [0039].
“Failure analysis” is analogous to determining the acceptability of the specified wire bonding tool to perform the process without failure.
Claim 2
Variyam discloses:
wherein the specifications provided in step (a) include data related to dimensions of the wire bonding tool.
FIG. 1 shows a schematic with labeled dimensions of a ball-tipped wire 20 and a capillary 22 of a wire bonding machine, which may be used in a two-dimensional axisymmetric finite element model for FEA. Variyam at [0018].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Variyam in view of Qin, et al., (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2012/0065761, hereinafter “Qin”).
Claim 3
Variyam does not appear to disclose:
wherein step (b) includes using the software tool, on a wire bonding machine, to determine if the wire bonding tool is acceptable for the wire bonding application.
Qin, which is analogous art to the claimed invention, discloses:
wherein step (b) includes using the software tool, on a wire bonding machine, to determine if the wire bonding tool is acceptable for the wire bonding application.
Thus, at Step 202 desirable looping control values (acceptable ranges, tolerances, etc.) for each of loop height, die edge clearance, and second bond clearance were provided to the wire bonding machine. Now, at Step 208, the actual wire loop formed at Step 206 is measured to determine the values of these actual looping control values. At Step 210 a determination is made as to whether the actual measured looping control values are within an acceptable range, specification and/or tolerance. Qin at [0028].
Qin is analogous art to the claimed invention because both are related to assessing performance of a wire bonding tool. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the simulation of a wire bonding tool, as disclosed by Variyam, with the testing of a wire binding tool, as disclosed by Qin, to result in a process for testing the actions of a wire bonding tool via a simulation instead of actual testing. Motivation to combine includes reduction in time and expense of running actual experiments to test the operation of the tool, whereas using a simulation requires less time to perform multiple simulated experiments and eliminates the need for materials to do the testing.
Claim 4
Variyam does not appear to disclose:
wherein step (b) includes using the software tool on a computer offline from a wire bonding machine to determine if the wire bonding tool is acceptable for the wire bonding application.
Qin discloses:
wherein step (b) includes using the software tool on a computer offline from a wire bonding machine to determine if the wire bonding tool is acceptable for the wire bonding application.
In connection with the derivation of the looping parameters at Step 204, the algorithm may utilize loop model data stored in the wire bonding machine to more closely approximate the looping parameters related to the desired wire loop. For example, through experimentation and testing, desirable looping parameters for various types of wire loops, using various wire types, may be derived and stored in the memory of the wire bonding machine (e.g., through look-up tables or the like)…. Qin at [0027].
Claim 5
Variyam does not appear to disclose:
wherein step (b) includes determining if there is at least one of actual interference between the wire bonding tool and other structures included in the wire bonding application, and potential interference between the wire bonding tool and other structures included in the wire bonding application.
Qin discloses:
wherein step (b) includes determining if there is at least one of actual interference between the wire bonding tool and other structures included in the wire bonding application, and potential interference between the wire bonding tool and other structures included in the wire bonding application.
For example, it may be desirable to establish the loop height of a wire loop as a looping control value, where the loop height is controlled to have a certain upper limit (i.e., a maximum acceptable value). It is understood that the loop height measurement may be measured with respect to a first bonding location (e.g., part of die 100 as shown in FIG. 1), a second bonding location (e.g., part of leadframe 102 as shown in FIG. 1), or another location of the semiconductor package or bonding machine. Further, loop height may refer to the highest wire loop height in a given package (e.g., in a stacked die package with wire loops positioned above one another). Qin at [0022].
Claim 6
Variyam does not appear to disclose:
wherein step (b) includes determining if there will be an acceptable level of clearance between the wire bonding tool and other structures included in the wire bonding application, during a wire bonding operation.
For example, it may be desirable to establish the loop height of a wire loop as a looping control value, where the loop height is controlled to have a certain upper limit (i.e., a maximum acceptable value). It is understood that the loop height measurement may be measured with respect to a first bonding location (e.g., part of die 100 as shown in FIG. 1), a second bonding location (e.g., part of leadframe 102 as shown in FIG. 1), or another location of the semiconductor package or bonding machine. Further, loop height may refer to the highest wire loop height in a given package (e.g., in a stacked die package with wire loops positioned above one another). Qin at [0028].
Claim 7
Variyam does not appear to disclose:
wherein the other structures include at least one of neighboring wire loops and other electronic components.
Qin discloses:
wherein the other structures include at least one of neighboring wire loops and other electronic components.
For example, it may be desirable to establish the loop height of a wire loop as a looping control value, where the loop height is controlled to have a certain upper limit (i.e., a maximum acceptable value). It is understood that the loop height measurement may be measured with respect to a first bonding location (e.g., part of die 100 as shown in FIG. 1), a second bonding location (e.g., part of leadframe 102 as shown in FIG. 1), or another location of the semiconductor package or bonding machine. Further, loop height may refer to the highest wire loop height in a given package (e.g., in a stacked die package with wire loops positioned above one another). Qin at [0028].
Claim 8
Variyam does not appear to disclose:
wherein step (b) includes determining if there will be an acceptable level of clearance between the wire bonding tool and other structures included in the wire bonding application, during at least one of (b1) formation of a first wire bond of a wire loop, (b2) formation of a second wire bond of the wire loop, and (b3) a trajectory of the wire bonding tool during formation of the wire loop between the first wire bond and the second wire bond.
Qin discloses:
wherein step (b) includes determining if there will be an acceptable level of clearance between the wire bonding tool and other structures included in the wire bonding application, during at least one of (b1) formation of a first wire bond of a wire loop, (b2) formation of a second wire bond of the wire loop, and (b3) a trajectory of the wire bonding tool during formation of the wire loop between the first wire bond and the second wire bond.
For example, it may be desirable to establish the loop height of a wire loop as a looping control value, where the loop height is controlled to have a certain upper limit (i.e., a maximum acceptable value). It is understood that the loop height measurement may be measured with respect to a first bonding location (e.g., part of die 100 as shown in FIG. 1), a second bonding location (e.g., part of leadframe 102 as shown in FIG. 1), or another location of the semiconductor package or bonding machine. Further, loop height may refer to the highest wire loop height in a given package (e.g., in a stacked die package with wire loops positioned above one another). Qin at [0028].
Claim 9
Variyam does not appear to disclose:
wherein steps (a) and (b) are repeated for a plurality of wire bonding tools.
Qin discloses:
wherein steps (a) and (b) are repeated for a plurality of wire bonding tools.
This process is repeated until the actual measured looping control value(s) are within an acceptable range, specification and/or tolerance as defined at Step 202. Qin at [0028].
Claim 10
Variyam does not appear to disclose:
wherein steps (a) and (b) are repeated for a plurality of wire bonding tools until an acceptable wire bonding tool is determined for the wire bonding application.
Qin discloses:
wherein steps (a) and (b) are repeated for a plurality of wire bonding tools until an acceptable wire bonding tool is determined for the wire bonding application.
This process is repeated until the actual measured looping control value(s) are within an acceptable range, specification and/or tolerance as defined at Step 202. Qin at [0028].
Claim 11
Variyam does not appear to disclose:
further comprising a step of adjusting an aspect of the wire bonding application to account for potential interference with the wire bonding tool during a wire bonding operation.
Qin discloses:
further comprising a step of adjusting an aspect of the wire bonding application to account for potential interference with the wire bonding tool during a wire bonding operation.
Let us assume that the only looping control value provided at Step 202 is loop height, and that the acceptable tolerance for the loop height looping control value is that the loop height must be no greater than 7.5 mils. At Step 206 a first wire loop is formed, and this wire loop is shown in FIG. 4A. The wire loop illustrated in FIG. 4A has a loop height of approximately 8 mils (as measured at Step 208), and therefore, at Step 210 the answer would be “No” because 8 mils exceeds the threshold for loop height of 7.5 mils. Thus, the algorithm is used to vary the looping parameters at Step 212, and a new wire loop is formed at Step 214. This new wire loop is shown in FIG. 4B with a loop height of approximately 7.1 mils. Qin at [0030].
Claim 12
Variyam does not appear to disclose:
wherein the step of adjusting includes adjusting a wire bonding location in a wire bonding program.
Qin discloses:
wherein the step of adjusting includes adjusting a wire bonding location in a wire bonding program.
Exemplary looping parameters derived during Step 204 include: (a) a tool trajectory for forming the wire loop including the end point locations for each segment of the motion, and the trajectory between the end points; (b) bonding energy parameters to be applied by an ultrasonic transducer of the wire bonding machine; (c) bonding force parameters to be applied by the wire bonding machine; (d) timing parameters related to at least one of the bonding energy and bonding force; (e) bonding tool speed during at least a portion of a wire bonding cycle to form the desired wire loop; and (f) a wire clamp position during at least a portion of a wire bonding cycle to form the desired wire loop. Qin at [0026].
Claim 13
Variyam does not appear to disclose:
wherein the step of adjusting includes adjusting a trajectory of forming a wire loop in the wire bonding application.
Qin discloses:
wherein the step of adjusting includes adjusting a trajectory of forming a wire loop in the wire bonding application.
Thus, in the optimization of the wire looping parameters (and trajectory) the algorithm will utilize the pre-defined ranges (e.g., acceptable maximum values, acceptable minimum values, acceptable ranges, etc.) for each of these looping control values. Qin at [0023].
Claim 14
Variyam does not appear to disclose:
wherein the step of adjusting includes adjusting a shape of a wire loop in the wire bonding application.
Qin discloses:
wherein the step of adjusting includes adjusting a shape of a wire loop in the wire bonding application.
FIG. 3 illustrates an example looping trajectory for forming a wire loop. This example trajectory plots motion along the XY axes in mils (along the X axis of the graph) versus Z axis motion in mils (along the Y axis of the graph). As will be appreciated by one skilled in the art, the looping parameters derived according to the present invention correspond to a looping trajectory used to form a wire loop, such as the looping trajectory illustrated in FIG. 3. Qin at [0029].
Claim 16
Variyam does not appear to disclose:
wherein the step of adjusting includes adjusting at least one bonding parameter during formation of at least one wire bond in the wire bonding application.
Qin discloses:
wherein the step of adjusting includes adjusting at least one bonding parameter during formation of at least one wire bond in the wire bonding application.
Exemplary looping parameters derived during Step 204 include: (a) a tool trajectory for forming the wire loop including the end point locations for each segment of the motion, and the trajectory between the end points; (b) bonding energy parameters to be applied by an ultrasonic transducer of the wire bonding machine; (c) bonding force parameters to be applied by the wire bonding machine; (d) timing parameters related to at least one of the bonding energy and bonding force; (e) bonding tool speed during at least a portion of a wire bonding cycle to form the desired wire loop; and (f) a wire clamp position during at least a portion of a wire bonding cycle to form the desired wire loop. Qin at [0026].
Claim 17
Variyam does not appear to disclose:
further comprising a step of providing package data for the wire bonding application, and wherein step (b) includes determining if the wire bonding tool is acceptable for the wire bonding application using the software tool, the specifications provided in step (a), and the package data.
Qin discloses:
further comprising a step of providing package data for the wire bonding application, and wherein step (b) includes determining if the wire bonding tool is acceptable for the wire bonding application using the software tool, the specifications provided in step (a), and the package data.
At Step 200, package data is provided to a wire bonding machine. Such package data is data related to the semiconductor package being formed. Such package data may be provided to the wire bonding machine using computer data about the package (e.g., CAD data related to the semiconductor package). In another example, the package data may be provided using an online (e.g., on bonder) teaching reference system of the wire bonding machine. Specific pieces of package data will, of course, vary from application to application; however, examples of the type of data that may be provided to the wire bonding machine as package data includes semiconductor die height, die pad locations of a semiconductor die, lead locations of a leadframe, relative distances between first bonding locations and second bonding locations, wire diameter, and wire type. Qin at [0024].
The method includes the steps of: (1) providing package data related to the semiconductor package to a wire bonding machine;…(3) deriving looping parameters, using an algorithm, for forming the desired wire loop from the package data and the at least one looping control value;…and (6) comparing the actual looping control values measured in step (5) to the at least one looping control value provided in step (2). Qin at [0008].
Claim 18
Variyam does not appear to disclose:
wherein the package data provided includes at least one of (i) CAD data related to the wire bonding application and
(ii) package data derived using an online teaching reference system of a wire bonding machine.
Qin discloses:
wherein the package data provided includes at least one of (i) CAD data related to the wire bonding application and
At Step 200, package data is provided to a wire bonding machine. Such package data is data related to the semiconductor package being formed. Such package data may be provided to the wire bonding machine using computer data about the package (e.g., CAD data related to the semiconductor package). Qin at [0034].
(ii) package data derived using an online teaching reference system of a wire bonding machine.
In another example, the package data may be provided using an online (e.g., on bonder) teaching reference system of the wire bonding machine. Qin at [0034].
Claim 19
Variyam does not disclose:
wherein the package data provided includes at least one of a two-dimensional wire layout of a semiconductor package, a three- dimensional wire layout of the semiconductor package, a semiconductor element height, bonding locations of the semiconductor element, bonding locations of a substrate, relative distances between first bonding locations and second bonding locations, a wire diameter, and a wire type.
Qin discloses:
wherein the package data provided includes at least one of a two-dimensional wire layout of a semiconductor package, a three- dimensional wire layout of the semiconductor package, a semiconductor element height, bonding locations of the semiconductor element, bonding locations of a substrate, relative distances between first bonding locations and second bonding locations, a wire diameter, and a wire type.
Specific pieces of package data will, of course, vary from application to application; however, examples of the type of data that may be provided to the wire bonding machine as package data includes semiconductor die height, die pad locations of a semiconductor die, lead locations of a leadframe, relative distances between first bonding locations and second bonding locations, wire diameter, and wire type. Qin at [0024].
Claim 20
Variyam does not disclose:
wherein the specifications provided in step (a) are integrated with the software tool.
Qin discloses:
wherein the specifications provided in step (a) are integrated with the software tool.
In connection with the derivation of the looping parameters at Step 204, the algorithm may utilize loop model data stored in the wire bonding machine to more closely approximate the looping parameters related to the desired wire loop. Qin at [0027].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Variyam in view of Qin and Sterczyk, et al., (U.S. Pat. No. 5,269,452, hereinafter “Sterczyk”).
Claim 15
Variyam and Qin do not appear to disclose:
wherein the step of adjusting includes adjusting a sequence of forming a plurality of wire loops in the wire bonding application.
Sterczyk, which is analogous to the claimed invention, discloses:
wherein the step of adjusting includes adjusting a sequence of forming a plurality of wire loops in the wire bonding application.
Advantageously, the wirebonding apparatus comprises means for inputting and storing a plurality of bonding coordinates, means for evaluating a decision parameter value related to the wirebonding yield for each of a plurality of bonding sequences, and means for selecting one of said plurality of bonding sequences dependent on the decision parameter value. Sterczyk at col. 5, lines 15-21.
Sterczyk is analogous art to the claimed invention because both are related to reducing interference between bonds that are formed by a tool. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the wire order and how it affects interference with the simulation of a wire bonding process, as disclosed in Variyam and Qin, to result in a process that adjusts wire bonding order based on a simulation determining that there will be interference. Motivation to combine includes reducing potential errors in wire bonding by identifying issues before performing the bonding sequence, thus reducing expense and time in adjusting after failure of a sequence.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2014/0359372 - Method of detecting faults of operation algorithms in a wire bonding machine and apparatus for performing the same
US 11,581,285 - Methods of detecting bonding between a bonding wire and a bonding location on a wire bonding machine
Communication
JOSEPH MORRIS
Examiner
Art Unit 2188
/JOSEPH P MORRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2188
/RYAN F PITARO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2188