DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-12 & 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu et al. (# US 2002/0177633).
Komatsu et al. discloses:
1. An edible inkjet ink (food dye; [0036]-[0042]), comprising:
(a) 2.5 mass % to 10 mass % of Red No. 3 (Reactive Red # 3; [0040]; 0.5 to 20%; [0035]).
(b) 0.5 mass % to 30 mass % of a salt (0.5 to 5%; [0025]-[0031]) selected from the group consisting of isopropyl citrate, triethyl citrate, monopotassium citrate, tripotassium citrate ([0028]), calcium citrate, sodium ferrous citrate, iron citrate, ammonium ferric citrate, sodium dihydrogen citrate, disodium citrate ([0028]), trisodium citrate, and sodium malate, wherein the Red No 3 is the only dye in the ink (colorants may be used alone or as a mixture of two or more; [0043]).
The Examiner draws particular attention to the Applicant that "Komatsu et al. does address a Red color, it teaches a laundry list of possible Red color (Reactive Red 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 19,20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 28, 29, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 49, 50, 58, 59, 63, and 64, C.I. Solubilized Red 1, C.I. Food Red 7, 9, and 14, and C.I. Pigment Red 41, 48, 54, 57, 58, 63, 68, and 81;; [0040]); salt ([0025]-[0031]), solvent ([0044]-[0050]). The format in which Komatsu et al. presents its teaching does not change the fact that it teaches the claimed invention. It is not necessary for Komatsu et al. to present its teaching in an example format citing it in a list is sufficient.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent evidence to the contrary, to choose any of the Red color (Reactive Red 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 19,20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 28, 29, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 49, 50, 58, 59, 63, and 64, C.I. Solubilized Red 1, C.I. Food Red 7, 9, and 14, and C.I. Pigment Red 41, 48, 54, 57, 58, 63, 68, and 81;; [0040]); salt ([0025]-[0031]), solvent ([0044]-[0050]) and any additives from the list, including those presently claimed, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention. However, "applicant must look to the whole reference for what it teaches. Applicant cannot merely rely on the examples and argue that the reference did not teach others." In re Courtright, 377.
2. The edible inkjet ink of claim 1, wherein the salt is tripotassium substrate (tripotassium citrate ([0028]).
9. The edible inkjet ink of claim 1, further comprising a solvent comprising ethanol ([0051]).
10. The edible inkjet ink of claim 1, further comprising a solvent comprising ethanol ([0051]), propylene glycol ([0048]) and water ([0045]-[0046]).
11. The edible inkjet ink of claim 1, further comprising a solvent consisting of ethanol ([0051]), propylene glycol ([0048]) and water ([0045]-[0046]).
12. An edible inkjet ink (food grade dye; [0036]-[0042]), comprising:
(a) 2.5 mass % to 10 mass % of Red No. 3 (Reactive Red # 3; [0040]; 0.5 to 20%; [0035]),
(b) 0.5 mass % to 30 mass % of tripotassium citrate (0.5 to 5%; [0025]-[0031]; tripotassium citrate ([0028])) and
(c) a solvent comprising ethanol ([0051]), wherein the Red No 3 is the only dye in the ink (colorants may be used alone or as a mixture of two or more; [0043]).
The Examiner draws particular attention to the Applicant that "Komatsu et al. does address a Red color, it teaches a laundry list of possible Red color (Reactive Red 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 19,20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 28, 29, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 49, 50, 58, 59, 63, and 64, C.I. Solubilized Red 1, C.I. Food Red 7, 9, and 14, and C.I. Pigment Red 41, 48, 54, 57, 58, 63, 68, and 81;; [0040]); salt ([0025]-[0031]), solvent ([0044]-[0050]). The format in which Komatsu et al. presents its teaching does not change the fact that it teaches the claimed invention. It is not necessary for Komatsu et al. to present its teaching in an example format citing it in a list is sufficient.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent evidence to the contrary, to choose any of the Red color (Reactive Red 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 19,20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 28, 29, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 49, 50, 58, 59, 63, and 64, C.I. Solubilized Red 1, C.I. Food Red 7, 9, and 14, and C.I. Pigment Red 41, 48, 54, 57, 58, 63, 68, and 81;; [0040]); salt ([0025]-[0031]), solvent ([0044]-[0050]) and any additives from the list, including those presently claimed, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention. However, "applicant must look to the whole reference for what it teaches. Applicant cannot merely rely on the examples and argue that the reference did not teach others." In re Courtright, 377.
14. The edible inkjet ink of claim 12, wherein the solvent further comprises propylene glycol ([0048]) and water ([0045]-[0046]).
15. The edible inkjet ink of claim 12, wherein the solvent consists of ethanol ([0051]), propylene glycol ([0048]) and water ([0045]-0046]).
Claim(s) 6-8, 18 & 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu et al. (# US 2002/0177633) in view of Ream et al.(# US 2016/0088859).
Komatsu et al. discloses all the limitation of edible ink except:
6. The edible inkjet ink of claim 1, wherein a color difference AE according to JIS Z 8781 is 17 or less before and after lightfastness testing of a printed image.
7. A tablet comprising a printed part that is printed using the edible inkjet ink of claim 1.
8. The tablet of claim 7, wherein the tablet is a pharmaceutical tablet.
18. The edible inkjet ink of claim 12, wherein a color difference AE according to JIS Z 8781 is 17 or less before and after lightfastness testing of a printed image.
20. A tablet comprising a printed part that is printed using the edible inkjet ink of claim 12.
21. The tablet of claim 20, wherein the tablet is a pharmaceutical tablet.
Ream et al. teaches that to have high quality print on edible medium,
7. A tablet ([0006]; [0011]; [0021]; [0080]-[0081]) comprising a printed part that is printed using the edible inkjet ink of claim 1 (see figure: 1-27).
8. The tablet of claim 7, wherein the tablet is a pharmaceutical tablet (([0006]; [0011]; [0021]; [0080]-[0081]; see figure: 1-27).
20. A tablet ([0006]; [0011]; [0021]; [0080]-[0081]) comprising a printed part that is printed using the edible inkjet ink of claim 12 (see figure: 1-27).
21. The tablet of claim 20, wherein the tablet is a pharmaceutical tablet ([0006]; [0011]; [0021]; [0080]-[0081]; [0178]; [0212]; see figure: 1-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the recording medium of Komatsu et al. by the aforementioned teaching of Ream et al. in order to have a high quality print on tablet.
With respect to claims 6 & 18, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate a color difference AE according to JIS Z 8781 is 17 or less before and after lightfastness testing of a printed image, since it has been held that it is not inventive to discovering and optimum value or workable ranges by routine experimentation. /n re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 & 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Especially new reference Komatsu et al. discloses: An edible inkjet ink (food dye; [0036]-[0042]), comprising: (a) 2.5 mass % to 10 mass % of Red No. 3 (Reactive Red # 3; [0040]; 0.5 to 20%; [0035]), wherein the Red No 3 is the only dye in the ink (colorants may be used alone or as a mixture of two or more; [0043]; so “alone” Examiner interprets as only dye).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MANISH S. SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/Manish S Shah/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853