DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the specification, drawings, and claims received on October 20th, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1-2, 9-10, and 34 have been amended, claims 11-33 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 and 34 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that the addition of “the chamber being configured solely to store the cable freely therein without any specific arrangement of the cable” and “the length of the cable held in the chamber” to claims 1-2, 9-10, and 34 is sufficient to overcome the rejection presented by the previous office action. The examiner would first like to point out that the amendment of the claims now includes a segment and a length of the cable, wherein the length of the cable comprises the segment. It is understood that the segment of the cable is what is urged past the drive section, and the length of the cable, along with the segment, is what is stored within the chamber. While, this further clarifies which part of the cable is freely stored within the chamber, Sterner teachers a device for collecting a trailing cable with a cable pot 3, corresponding to a chamber, allowing for the cable to be freely stored as depicted in figure 1. In the instance of Sterner, trailing cable 2 corresponds to a segment and the length is represent by the cable 17 found within the chamber.
Applicant further argues that Lucas is not at all concerned with a cable retractor and is not concerned with a chamber configured to hold at least a length of a cable, and thus renders the prior art reference as non-analogous art. The examiner emphasizes it has been held that the determination that reference is from a non-analogous art is twofold. First, we decide if the reference is within the field of the inventor's endeavor. If it is not, we proceed to determine whether the reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was involved. In re Wood, 202 USPQ 1711 174. In this case, Lucas aims to solve the issue of an inefficient retractable cable by providing idler rollers, sensors, and switches to provide smoother and automatic drawing and withdrawing of the cable material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lucas (US 2017/0239011 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 9, Lucas discloses a cable retractor, comprising a housing (Fig. 2; Pg. 2, ¶33, collection system 110);
a motorized drive section disposed within the housing and configured to urge at least a segment of the cable past the drive section (Fig. 3; Pg. 3, ¶37, motor 360);
wherein the motorized drive section further comprises a motor driven drive roller (Fig. 3; Pg. 3, ¶42, drive roller 370), and an idler roller, and at least one of the drive roller and the idler roller pressing against another of the drive roller and the idler roller, the at least segment of the cable being disposed between the drive roller and the idler roller (Fig. 2; Pg. 4, ¶55, idle roller 380); and
a chamber disposed within the housing and configured to hold at least a length of the cable (Fig. 2; Pg. 2, ¶33, collection container 230);
whereby the motorized drive section is operable to urge the cable in a first direction to draw the at least segment of the cable from the length of the cable held in the chamber, then past the motorized drive section, and then through an external opening in the housing to outside of the housing (Fig. 1; Pg. 4, ¶57), and
the motorized drive section is operable to urge the cable in a second, opposing direction to draw the at least segment of the cable through the external opening in the housing from outside of the housing, then past the motorized drive section, and then into the chamber, (Fig. 1; Pg. 3, ¶37), and
wherein the chamber being configured solely to store the cable freely therein without a specific arrangement of the cable, and wherein the at least segment of the cable being urged freely into the chamber without any specific arrangement in the chamber thereby adding to the length of the cable stored freely in the chamber (Pg. 5, ¶74).
Regarding claim 5, Lucas discloses further comprising at least one switch configured to at least one of activate the motorized drive section to urge the cable in the first direction, activate the motorized drive section to urge the cable in the second direction, or deactivate the motorized drive section, in response to the at least one switch being one of being activated or deactivated (Pg. 3, ¶48, toggle switch 280).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucas (US 2017/0239011 A1) in view of Feldstein (US 2015/0166299 A1).
Regarding claims 3-4 and 10, Lucas discloses a cable retractor, comprising a housing (Fig. 2; Pg. 2, ¶33, collection system 110);
a motorized drive section disposed within the housing and configured to urge at least a segment of the cable past the drive section (Fig. 3; Pg. 3, ¶37, motor 360) ;
wherein the motorized drive section further comprises a motor driven drive roller (Fig. 3; Pg. 3, ¶42, drive roller 370), and an idler roller, and at least one of the drive roller and the idler roller pressing against another of the drive roller and the idler roller, the at least segment of the cable being disposed between the drive roller and the idler roller (Fig. 2; Pg. 4, ¶55, idle roller 380); and
a chamber disposed within the housing and configured to hold at least a length of the cable (Fig. 2; Pg. 2, ¶33, collection container 230);
whereby the motorized drive section is operable to urge the cable in a first direction to draw the at least segment of the cable from the length of the cable held in the chamber, then past the motorized drive section, and then through an external opening in the housing to outside of the housing (Fig. 1; Pg. 4, ¶57), and
the motorized drive section is operable to urge the cable in a second, opposing direction to draw the at least segment of the cable through the external opening in the housing from outside of the housing, then past the motorized drive section, and then into the chamber, (Fig. 1; Pg. 3, ¶37), and
wherein the chamber being configured solely to store the cable freely therein without a specific arrangement of the cable, and wherein the at least segment of the cable being urged freely into the chamber without any specific arrangement in the chamber thereby adding to the length of the cable stored freely in the chamber (Pg. 5, ¶74);
a circuit element configured to at least one of activate the motorized drive section to urge the cable in the first direction, activate the motorized drive section to urge the cable in the second direction, or deactivate the motorized drive section, in response to the sensor detecting the at least one of a presence of, an absence of, a movement of, or a lack of movement of the region of the cable (Pg. 4, ¶¶49-52, control system 350); and
at least one switch configured to at least one of activate the motorized drive section to urge the cable in the first direction, activate the motorized drive section to urge the cable in the second direction, or deactivate the motorized drive section, in response to the at least one switch being one of being activated or deactivated (Pg. 3, ¶48, toggle switch 280), but fails to disclose a sensor. However, Feldstein teaches further comprising a sensor configured to detect at least one of a presence of, an absence of, a movement of, or a lack of movement of a region of the cable (Pg. 4-5, ¶163, sensor 116). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a sensor to the cable retractor to provide means for accurate and timely retraction based off of cable presence.
Claim(s) 6-8 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucas (US 2017/0239011 A1) in view of Pedoeem (US 10,549,946 B2).
Regarding claims 6-8 and 34, Lucas discloses a cable retractor, comprising a housing (Fig. 2; Pg. 2, ¶33, collection system 110);
a motorized drive section disposed within the housing and configured to urge at least a segment of the cable past the drive section (Fig. 3; Pg. 3, ¶37, motor 360);
wherein the motorized drive section further comprises a motor driven drive roller (Fig. 3; Pg. 3, ¶42, drive roller 370), and an idler roller, and at least one of the drive roller and the idler roller pressing against another of the drive roller and the idler roller, the at least segment of the cable being disposed between the drive roller and the idler roller (Fig. 2; Pg. 4, ¶55, idle roller 380); and
a chamber disposed within the housing and configured to hold at least a length of the cable (Fig. 2; Pg. 2, ¶33, collection container 230);
whereby the motorized drive section is operable to urge the cable in a first direction to draw the at least segment of the cable from the length of the cable held in the chamber, then past the motorized drive section, and then through an external opening in the housing to outside of the housing (Fig. 1; Pg. 4, ¶57), and
the motorized drive section is operable to urge the cable in a second, opposing direction to draw the at least segment of the cable through the external opening in the housing from outside of the housing, then past the motorized drive section, and then into the chamber, (Fig. 1; Pg. 3, ¶37), and
wherein the chamber being configured solely to store the cable freely therein without a specific arrangement of the cable, and wherein the at least segment of the cable being urged freely into the chamber without any specific arrangement in the chamber thereby adding to the length of the cable stored freely in the chamber (Pg. 5, ¶74);
a circuit element configured to at least one of activate the motorized drive section to urge the cable in the first direction, activate the motorized drive section to urge the cable in the second direction, or deactivate the motorized drive section, in response to the sensor detecting the at least one of a presence of, an absence of, a movement of, or a lack of movement of the region of the cable (Pg. 4, ¶¶49-52, control system 350); and
at least one switch configured to at least one of activate the motorized drive section to urge the cable in the first direction, activate the motorized drive section to urge the cable in the second direction, or deactivate the motorized drive section, in response to the at least one switch being one of being activated or deactivated (Pg. 3, ¶48, toggle switch 280).
Lucas fails to disclose a module for a flip top box. However, Pedoeem teaches further comprising a module external to the housing and configured to be inserted into a flip top box, the module having an opening through which the cable passes (Col. 10, Ln. 8-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a module for a flip top box to provide a seamless cable retractor assembly.
Lucas also fails to disclose the module with a sensor. However, Pedoeem teaches wherein the module further comprises a sensor disposed within the module and configured to detect at least one of a presence of, an absence of, a movement of, or a lack of movement of a region of the cable; and a circuit element disposed within the module and configured to at least one of activate the motorized drive section to urge the cable in the first direction, activate the motorized drive section to urge the cable in the second direction, or deactivate the motorized drive section, in response to the sensor detecting the at least one of a presence of, an absence of, a movement of, or a lack of movement of the region of the cable (Col. 8, Ln. 59-67 & Col. 9, Ln. 1-22, sensor 802). Therefore. it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a sensor and circuit element to the module to provide a more efficient retraction of the cable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERMIA E. MELIKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619