DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 01/09/2026 has been entered. Clarifying amendments were made to the claims.
The 01/09/2026-filed corrected Fig. 9 and cancellation of Claim 18 overcome the 10/09/2025 Drawings Objections, which are now withdrawn.
The amended claims correct all 35 USC 112(b) issues, such that the 35 USC 112(b) rejections of 10/09/2025 are now withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant presents the position (e.g. at Remarks pgs. 9, 12, 14) that the instant invention differs from that of Aoki due to the connectedness of 12/13 with 11 to form the structure combined 10 (as in instant Fig. 3); however, Aoki also teaches toward the connectedness of 2 (including 8 and 9) with 5 (via terminal 6 per [0017], or via welding per [0025]). As such examiner respectfully maintains the position that the resultant structure of Aoki indeed meets all limitations of the instant independent claims.
Applicant explains (e.g. at Remarks pgs. 9, 12) the lateral arrangement within a battery group of the instant invention, wherein the connection transferring piece is electrically connected to a top of one cylindrical battery and to a side shell of an adjacent cylindrical battery. Applicant notes “the connection transferring piece of the present application is electrically connected to the top cover body of the same cylindrical battery through its connecting portion” (which corresponds to ‘one cylindrical battery’ as annotated in Aoki Fig. 3, provided below and within the rejection) “and to a shell pole of another cylindrical battery through its extending portion” (which corresponds to ‘another adjacent cylindrical battery’ as annotated in Aoki Fig. 3, provided below and within the rejection).
Therefore, arguments directed toward “so that the connection transferring piece becomes a component of the packaging structure of a single cylindrical battery” are not found persuasive, because even the connection transferring piece (inclusive of both portion 12 and portion 13, per the instant specification – see e.g. instant Fig. 3) electrically connects to two adjacent cylindrical batteries (see instant Fig. 7 and instant abstract: “the connecting portion is electrically connected to the top cover body … the extending portion is configured to electrically connect to the shell pole of another cylindrical battery”, which sufficiently corresponds to recitations within instant claim 1).
Thus, arguments toward “the connection transferring piece and the cylindrical shell on which the connecting portion is located belong to the same single battery cell” (see Remarks pg. 9) are not found to be persuasive nor commensurate with the scope of the claims, since the claimed connection transferring piece includes both: the connecting portion electrically connected to the top cover body (see claim 1) [i.e., of one cell], while the extending portion is configured to electrically connect to a shell poll of another cylindrical battery (see also claim 1).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the connection transferring piece is an inherent component of a single battery and has been integrated as an inseparable part of the battery during production”, at Remarks pgs. 9 and 12) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's arguments that the present application “is a technical solution that achieves system-level electrical architecture improvement” and “the present application has achieved technical effects that were not foreseen in Aoki” (at e.g. Remarks pgs. 10 and 15), the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). That is, the structure of Aoki is held to sufficiently correspond to that instantly claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aoki et al. (JP 2007012487 A, as cited in the 07/08/2025 IDS, with an English machine translation attached to the present Office action for citation purposes).
Regarding claim 1, Aoki discloses a packaging structure of a cylindrical battery (outer components of cylindrical battery 1 per [0017-0018, 0021-0025] and Figs. 3-5), comprising:
a cylindrical shell (an outer can 4 of the cylindrical battery 1, [0006]) having an open end (an opening of an outer can 4, [0017]);
a combined top cover (sealing plate 5 connected to bus bar 2 via upper end connecting portion 8 of bus bar 2, [0021] and Figs. 3-5) including a top cover body (sealing plate 5 at the upper end portion of the cylindrical battery, [0021] and Figs. 1 and 3-5) and a connection transferring piece (bus bar 2 including upper end connecting portion 8 and outer can connecting part 9, [0021]);
wherein the top cover body is a conductor (sealing plate 5 used as a positive electrode, output terminal 6 is provided on the sealing plate 5, [0017]) arranged at the open end of the cylindrical shell (5 atop 4, Figs. 3-5) to close the open end (obtained by closing an opening of an outer can 4 with a sealing plate 5, [0017]);
wherein the connection transferring piece is a conductor (adjacent cylindrical batteries 1 are connected in series by an L-shaped bus bar 2 made of a metal plate, [0006]) and has a bending portion (L-shaped portion of 2 in Figs. 1, 3 and 5-6; bus bar 2 is formed by bending a metal plate so that the entire shape is L-shaped per [0006, 0020-0021]) with two ends (horizontal and vertical ends of the L-shape, see Fig. 6),
wherein the two ends of the bending portion (orthogonal ends of L-shaped portion of 2, [0006] and Fig. 6) serve as a connecting portion (upper end connecting portion 8, Figs. 3-6) and an extending portion (outer can connecting part 9 extending orthogonally/downwardly, [0006, 0020-0021] and Fig. 6) of the connection transferring piece respectively (of bus bar 2, Figs. 3-6);
the connecting portion is electrically connected (for connection of batteries in series per [0020]) to the top cover body (upper end connecting portion 8 connected to the sealing plate 5, [0021]; via terminal 6 per [0017], as shown in Figs. 1-3; Aoki also teaches in [0025] that the upper end connecting portion 8 of the bus bar 2 can be welded and connected to the sealing plate 5 by a method such as resistance welding or laser welding so that he cylindrical battery to which the upper end connecting portion is welded can be directly welded to the sealing plate without providing an output terminal);
an inner side of the extending portion (bifurcated branch arm 9A of the outer can connecting portion 9, [0022]) is arranged adjacent to a lateral shell of the cylindrical shell (9A and 4 are parallel and adjacent at lateral outside of 4, Fig. 3) and is not electrically connected to the cylindrical shell (arm 9A of one bus bar 2 electrically connected to sealing plate 5 of one cell but is not electrically connected to outer can 4 of adjacent cell due to spacing by insulating cover 7, [0018] and Figs. 2-3; such that short-circuit between positive sealing plate 5 and negative outer can 4 of adjacent cylindrical cells is prevented, [0011, 0017]); and
an outer side of the extending portion (connection piece 10 on outer side of 9, opposite of inner side at 9A, in Fig. 6) is configured to electrically connect (connecting piece 10 that is resistance-welded to the surface of the outer can 4 at the lower end of the outer can connecting portion 9, [0024]) to a shell pole (outer can 4 used as a negative electrode, [0017]) of another cylindrical battery (10 – from 9 of 2 connected via 8 and 6 to 5 one battery – connects to 4 of adjacent battery, as shown in Figs. 3 and 7).
See annotations to Aoki Figs. 6 and 3:
Regarding claim 3, Aoki discloses the limitations of claim 1 above and discloses an annular electrically connecting structure (nut 6B of terminal 6, [0017]) is provided on a side of the connecting portion that faces the top cover body (6B between 8 and 5, Figs. 1 and 3), and the annular electrically connecting structure electrically connects the top cover body with the connection transferring piece (upper end connecting portion 8 is connected to the output terminal 6 – from positive electrode/sealing plate 5 – by inserting projecting bolt 6A through the through-hole 8A and fastening a nut to the bolt 6A, such that the upper end connecting portion 8 connected to the sealing plate 5 with annular 6B held between 8 and 5; [0017, 0021, 0025] and Figs. 3 and 7).
Regarding claim 7, Aoki discloses the limitations of claim 1 above and discloses wherein at least a portion of an inner area of the extending portion and/or at least a portion of the inner area of the connecting portion (inner area of 9 and 9A, facing shell 4 of the one cylindrical battery; Fig. 3, i.e. as annotated above) are/is provided with an insulating layer (insulating cover 7, [0007, 0018]); the insulating layer is configured to insulate the connection transferring piece from the cylindrical shell (insulating cover 7 intervenes and provides space between bus bar 2 portion 9 and outer can 4 as attached to the same cylindrical battery; [0018] and Figs. 3, 5, and 7).
Regarding claim 10, Aoki discloses the limitations of claim 1 above and discloses a cylindrical battery (cylindrical battery 1, [0016]), comprising the packaging structures of the cylindrical battery (in Figs. 4-5) according to claim 1 (see above rejection of claim 1) and a battery cell assembly (lithium ion, nickel metal hydride, or nickel cadmium secondary battery chemistry per [0016]);
the battery cell assembly (secondary battery chemistry per [0016]) is arranged inside a closed space enclosed by the cylindrical shell and the top cover body (obtained by closing an opening of an outer can 4 with a sealing plate 5, [0017]);
a top pole of the battery cell assembly is electrically connected to the top cover body (sealing plate 5 used as a positive electrode, [0017]) and/or the connecting portion (upper end connecting portion 8 connected to the sealing plate 5, [0021]),
a shell pole of the battery cell assembly is electrically connected to the cylindrical shell (outer can 4 used as a negative electrode, [0017]), and
a periphery of the top cover body is connected to the cylindrical shell in an insulated (insulating cover 7, [0018]; 7 is between periphery of 5 and 4 per Figs. 3-5 and 7) and sealed manner (sealing plate 5 closes outer can 4, [0017]).
Regarding claim 11, Aoki discloses the limitations of claim 10 above and discloses a battery bank connected in series (one row of cylindrical batteries 1 connected in series, [0008] and Fig. 3), comprising a plurality of cylindrical batteries (five cylindrical batteries 1 are arranged in one row, [0015]; the plurality of cylindrical batteries 1 connected by the bus bar 2 are linearly connected and connected in series, [0026]) according to claim 10 (cylindrical batteries 1 as shown in Fig. 3; see rejection of claim 10 above),
the plurality of cylindrical batteries are arranged sequentially (cylindrical batteries 1 arranged side by side in a vertical posture, [0017] and Fig. 3; the plurality of cylindrical batteries 1 connected by the bus bar 2 are linearly connected in a straight line, [0026]),
the extending portion of the first cylindrical battery in the battery bank (upper-rightmost bus bar 2 [including integral extending portion 9 and connecting portion 8] in row/bank of Fig. 3 – annotated below) serves as an external top pole of the battery bank (two rows are connected to each other in series by connecting the cylindrical batteries 1 located at the right end in the figure with bus bars 2 / a bus bar 2 for connecting the cylindrical batteries 1 in each row in series at the end of the row, which is a connection portion of the cylindrical batteries 1 arranged in a plurality of rows and the cylindrical batteries 1 in adjacent rows; [0015, 0026-0027]),
the extending portion of each of the other cylindrical batteries in the battery bank (i.e., portions 9 extending towards the three left-most batteries shown in Fig. 3) is electrically connected (via welding of connection piece 10, [0024]) to a lateral shell of the cylindrical shell of a previous cylindrical battery sequentially (10 connects 9 to adjacent 4, see Fig. 3 in view of Fig. 7; 9 is the outer can connecting portion of the bus bar 2 per [0021]; the plurality of cylindrical batteries 1 connected by the bus bar 2 are linearly connected in a straight line and in series per [0026]), and
the cylindrical shell of the last cylindrical battery in the battery bank can serve as an external shell pole of the battery bank (outer/external can/shell 4 is used as a negative electrode per [0017], thus left-most external shell 4 as shown in Fig. 3 is indeed capable of serving as a pole with opposite polarity versus the rightmost portion 8 in the row/bank of Fig. 3 as shown above).
Regarding claim 12, Aoki discloses the limitations of claim 11 above and discloses the plurality of cylindrical batteries is arranged in a straight line (single row of cylindrical batteries 1 forms a straight line, Fig. 3 in view of Figs. 1-2; a plurality of cylindrical batteries connected in a straight line per [0026]).
Regarding claim 13, Aoki discloses the limitations of claim 11 above and discloses an electrical bridge structure … is arranged between the extending portion and the lateral shell of the cylindrical shell (bus bar 2 – at extending portion 9 – is connected to the outer can 4 by spot welding the connection piece 10 per [0024], such that “spot welding the connection piece 10” reads on “an electrical bridge structure”; see also Figs. 5-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki et al. (JP 2007012487 A, as cited in the 07/08/2025 IDS, with an English machine translation attached to the present Office action for citation purposes) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Steffens (DE 102022002115 A1, with a machine translation attached to the foreign publication provided with the present Office action).
Regarding claim 2 and claim 9, Aoki discloses the limitations of claim 1 above but fails to disclose the top cover body is provided with a pressure relief portion; the pressure relief portion is arranged at the center of the top cover body, or the pressure relief portion is arranged at a position offset from the center of the top cover body; nor the connecting portion is provided with a pressure relief hole at a position corresponding to a pressure relief portion.
Steffens is analogous in the art of electrically-connected cylindrical battery cells (Steffens [0001] and Figs. 1 and 7-8) and teaches a battery cell’s top cover body (housing cover 13 at top/first end face 14 of cell housing 12 of battery cell 10, [0037] and Fig. 1) is provided with a pressure relief portion (degassing openings 22 and 24 in first end face 14, [0038] and Fig. 1); the pressure relief portion is arranged at a position offset from the center of the top cover body (22/24 are symmetrically arranged within face 14 around first connection pole 18, with 18 being central; [0038-0040] and Fig. 2); and a connecting portion (cell connector 30 for electrically connecting an arrangement of battery cells, [0045] and Fig. 5) is provided with a pressure relief hole (recesses 36 and 38, [0048] and Fig, 5) at a position corresponding to the[a] pressure relief portion (cell connector 30 has recesses 36, 38 which, when battery cells 10 are contacted as intended, are arranged over venting openings 22, 24 of the battery cells 10; [0048] and Fig. 5). Steffens teaches the pressure relief portion (i.e., degassing openings within the cell top) being beneficial to vent gasses during thermal events within the battery to achieve cooling (Steffens [0002, 0010, 0012-0013]) and being off-center to still allow for necessary positive and negative contact surfaces to both be sufficiently large at the top end face of the battery (Steffens Figs. 1-2 and [0011-0014]), and the pressure relief hole (i.e., recesses within the connector) being beneficial in the event of a thermal event in a battery cell so that venting gases can escape from the battery cell unhindered by the connector (Steffens [0027, 0048]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Aoki to include a pressure relief portion arranged at a position offset from the center of the top cover body and further include a pressure relief hole provided in the connection portion at a position corresponding to the pressure relief portion, as taught by Steffens, in order to effectively release high temperature gas from within the battery cell as needed during a thermal event, and to do so unhindered through both the top cover of the battery and through the connection portion positioned above the top cover, expectedly improving battery safety.
Thereby, claims 2 and 9 are is rendered obvious.
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki et al. (JP 2007012487 A, as cited in the 07/08/2025 IDS, with an English machine translation attached to the present Office action for citation purposes) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Fukuoka et al. (US 2009/0068555 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Aoki discloses the limitations of claim 3 above but fails to disclose at least a portion of the connecting portion fits into the top cover body and is electrically connected to the top cover body.
Fukuoka, pertinent to the problem of electrically connecting cylindrical battery top covers, teaches at least a portion of a connecting portion (semicircular inner portion – between peripheral edges 2a and 2b, forming welding part 2 – of cell-to-cell connection plate 1, Fukuoka [0039-0040] and Fig. 2) fits into a top cover body of a cylindrical battery (downwardly from step part 4 into recess of sealing plate 14 atop cylindrical battery case 7, [0042-0044] and Fig. 1; “fit into a recess” per [0016]) and is electrically connected to the top cover body (attaching the cell-to-cell plate 1 to the sealing plate 14 of a battery Ba by welding the welding part 2, [0044]). Fukuoka teaches that this structural relationship – of the welding area of the connection portion being fitted into the top cover in a stepped/recessed manner – is beneficial to impart robust joint strength and stable holding during welding (Fukuoka [0016, 0039, 0056]).
Aoki [0025] welcomes that connecting portion 8 can be connected to the top cover/sealing plate 5 via welding. Therefore, in view of the Fukuoka teaching, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Aoki such that at least a portion of the connecting portion fits into the top cover body (in the stepped/recessed relationship like in Fukuoka) and is electrically connected to the top cover body in order to achieve robust, stable welding connection therebetween.
Thereby, claim 4 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 5, Aoki discloses the limitations of claim 3 above but fails to disclose the connecting portion and the annular electrically connecting structure are integrally formed, and the annular electrically connecting structure and the top cover body are connected by a hot-welding process or a cold-welding process.
Fukuoka, pertinent to the problem of electrically connecting cylindrical battery top covers, teaches a connecting portion (connecting part 3 of cell-to-cell connection plate 1, Fukuoka [0041] and Figs. 1-2) and an annular electrically connecting structure (welding part 2 having a semicircular shape fitting onto annular sealing plate 14, [0040, 0043-0044] and Fig. 1) are integrally formed (2 and 3 are integral to 1, [0039] and Fig. 2), and the annular electrically connecting structure (welding part 2) and a top cover body (sealing plate 14 atop cylindrical battery case 7, [0042] and Fig. 1) are connected by a hot-welding process (welding the welding part 2 to the sealing plate 14 via welding current electrodes generating heat, [0044-0045]). Fukuoka [0044-0045] teaches that their configuration allows for robust, reliable welding.
Aoki [0025] welcomes that connecting portion 8 can be connected to the top cover/sealing plate 5 via welding. Therefore, in view of the Fukuoka teaching, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Aoki such that the connecting portion and the annular electrically connecting structure are integrally formed, and the annular electrically connecting structure and the top cover body are connected by a hot-welding process in order to expectedly achieve robust and reliable welded connection between the annular electrically connecting structure and the top cover body within modified Aoki.
Thereby, claim 5 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 6, Aoki discloses the limitations of claim 3 above but fails to disclose the connecting portion, the annular electrically connecting structure and the top cover body are integrally formed.
Examiner notes that “integrally formed” is a product-by-process limitation which results in an integral structure. As such, an integral resultant structure in which the connecting portion, the annular electrically connecting structure and the top cover body are integrally connected to one another is interpreted to satisfy the claim, since the resultant structure formed by the product-by-process limitation is given patentable weight.
Fukuoka, pertinent to the problem of electrically connecting cylindrical battery top covers, teaches a connecting portion (connecting part 3 of cell-to-cell connection plate 1, Fukuoka [0041] and Figs. 1-2) and an annular electrically connecting structure (welding part 2 having a semicircular shape fitting onto annular sealing plate 14, [0040, 0043-0044] and Fig. 1) are integrally formed (2 and 3 are integral to 1, [0039] and Fig. 2). Fukuoka further teaches integrating this cell-to-cell connection plate 1 with a cylindrical battery top cover body (sealing plate 14 atop cylindrical battery case 7, [0042] and Fig. 1) through welding ([0044-0045]). Fukuoka [0044] teaches that such integration creates a highly robust joint. Thus, the electrical and physical joining between the connection plate’s annular structure and the battery’s top cover satisfies the product-by-process limitation of “disclose the connecting portion, the annular electrically connecting structure and the top cover body are integrally formed.” Further, integrating pieces into a one-piece design can be an obvious mattery of engineering choice per MPEP 2144.04 V B.
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to physically and electrically integrate the connecting portion, the annular electrically connecting structure and the top cover body to create a highly robust joint therebetween as taught toward by Fukuoka.
Thereby, claim 6 is rendered obvious.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki et al. (JP 2007012487 A, as cited in the 07/08/2025 IDS, with an English machine translation attached to the present Office action for citation purposes) as applied to claim 7 above and further in view of Tashiro et al. (US 2020/0185160 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Aoki discloses the limitations of claim 1 above and teaches at least a portion of the inner area of the extending portion (upper portion of 9 facing adjacent 4) is covered with an insulating layer (insulating cover 7; Aoki Figs. 3,5,7), but fails to explicitly teach that the insulating layer is double-sided adhesive.
Aoki [0018] does teach that insulating cover 7 can be is formed by molding an insulating material such as plastic into a cap shape into which the end of the cylindrical battery 1 can be inserted, giving an example of a heat-shrinkable plastic tube. However, Aoki is silent toward the specific type of plastic.
Tashiro is analogous in the art of cylindrical battery packs (Tashiro Fig. 1) and teaches the use of plastic (acrylic adhesive formed in a sheet shape, for rigid joining; Tashiro [0107, 0109]) in the form of double-sided adhesive tape 800 around the cylindrical battery cases (Figs. 4A-4B, 5C, 6B) to achieve rigid joining of cylindrical cells to surrounding battery pack components for vibration resistance ([0109]). Tashiro teaches double-sided acrylic adhesive is beneficial to exhibit high adhesion, resist environmental degradation, and can be made thin for ease of use (Tashiro [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to select a double-sided acrylic adhesive as the plastic material layer to modify Aoki, in order to achieve high adhesion and vibration resistance, thinness for ease of workability, and resistance to degradation, as taught toward by Tashiro.
Thereby, claim 8 is rendered obvious.
Claim(s) 14-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki et al. (JP 2007012487 A, as cited in the 07/08/2025 IDS, with an English machine translation attached to the present Office action for citation purposes) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Takeda et al. (US 2014/0295240 A1, the US Pre-Grant Publication equivalent of CN 104078636 A from the 07/08/2025 IDS).
Regarding claim 14, Aoki discloses the limitations of claim 10 above and discloses a battery pack (power supply device, [0015, 0019] and Figs. 1-2), comprising:
a plurality of battery banks (two of the rows [shown in Fig. 3; each row is a battery bank as mapped above in the rejection of claim 10] are present in the power supply device of Figs. 1-2) arranged (plurality of cylindrical batteries 1 arranged in a plurality of rows within power supply device per [0008, 0015]),
each of battery banks comprises a plurality of cylindrical batteries (cylindrical batteries 1 are arranged in two rows, and five cylindrical batteries 1 are arranged in one row, [0015] and Figs. 1-3) according to claim 10 (see claim 10 rejection above); wherein
the cylindrical shells of adjacent cylindrical batteries (outer cans 4 are used negative electrodes, [0017]) in the same battery bank (in single row of Fig. 3; a plurality of cylindrical batteries 1 arranged in a plurality of rows, connects the cylindrical batteries 1 of each row in series by a bus bar 2 per [0008]) are electrically connected (outer can connecting portion 9 connected to the outer can 4 of the cylindrical battery 1 to be arranged, [0021]; bus bar 2 shown in the figure 3 has a connecting piece 10 that is resistance-welded to the surface of the outer can 4 at the lower end of the outer can connecting portion 9, [0024]);
wherein the extending portions (portions 9, as cited and annotated in Fig. 6 in regards to claim 1 above) of all cylindrical batteries in each battery bank are at a same side of the battery bank (9 all on same side of each battery 1 within single row/bank shown in Fig. 3) and face the lateral shells of the cylindrical shells in the adjacent battery bank (9 face 4, Fig. 3);
the extending portions of all cylindrical batteries in each battery bank are electrically connected to the lateral shells of the adjacent cylindrical shells (outer can connecting portion 9 connected to the outer can 4 of the cylindrical battery 1, [0021]) in the next battery bank sequentially (the cylindrical batteries 1 positioned at the ends of the rows are connected in series by a bus bar 2, [0026-0027] – specifically by connecting extending portion 9 from bus bar 2 at end of one bank/row to shell 4 at end of next bank/row, see annotation of Fig. 1 below); and
all cylindrical batteries in each battery bank are connected with each other (a plurality of cylindrical batteries 1 arranged in a plurality of rows, connects the cylindrical batteries 1 of each row/bank in series by a bus bar 2, [0008]), while the plurality of battery banks are connected with each other in series (connecting the cylindrical batteries 1 in each row in series at the end of the row, which is a connection portion of the cylindrical batteries 1 arranged in a plurality of rows, and the cylindrical batteries 1 in adjacent rows; [0026-0028] and Figs. 1-2).
Aoki fails to disclose: the plurality of banks are in a staggered manner, nor all cylindrical batteries in each battery bank are connected with each other in shunt.
Takeda is analogous in the art of battery devices having coupling bus bars (abstract) and teaches (see Takeda [0028] and Fig. 3) that
such coupling bus bar (40) being a connection transferring piece / conductor having a bending portion (right angle 40a), including two ends of the bending portion serve as a connecting portion (positive electrode connection member 41) and an extending portion (negative electrode connection member 42 extending orthogonally to 41, connected at junction 40a),
further teaching (see Takeda [0030] and Figs. 4-5) that
the connecting portion is electrically connected to tops of cylindrical batteries (positive electrode connection member 41 of the coupling bus bar 40(n+1) is connected with the positive electrode terminals Btp of the batteries Bt of the battery array group BG(n+1)) and
the inner side of the extending portion is arranged adjacent to a lateral shell of the cylindrical shell and is not electrically connected to the cylindrical shell while the outer side of the extending portion is configured to electrically connect to the shell pole of another cylindrical battery (negative electrode connection member 42 is away from the negative electrode surfaces Btn of the battery array group BG(n+1) across an insulating coat layer 42b, so that the negative electrode connection member 42 is not electrically connected with the negative electrode surfaces Btn of the battery array group BG(n+1) but is connected with the negative electrode surfaces Btn of the batteries Bt of the adjacent battery array group BG(n)).
Takeda further teaches:
A battery pack (Takeda Fig. 1), comprising: a plurality of battery banks (battery array group BG, in rows in Figs. 2 and 4; [0025]) arranged in a staggered manner (adjacent rows of BG are staggered / offset from one another as shown in Figs. 1-2), each of battery banks is consisted of a plurality of cylindrical batteries (e.g. five cylindrical batteries shown per BG in Figs. 1-4), wherein the cylindrical shells of adjacent cylindrical batteries in the same battery bank are electrically connected (via coupling bus bar 40 – where negative electrode connection member 42 connects the casings Btc [at their negative electrode terminal portions Btn] of the five batteries within each BG, Figs. 1 and 3-4 and [0026, 0029]; i.e., 40 sequentially connects the negative electrode surfaces Btn within one battery array group, [0037]); and
all cylindrical batteries in each battery bank are connected with each other in shunt (a plurality of the coupling bus bars 40 arranged across a plurality of battery array groups accordingly connect the respective batteries Bt in a battery array group in parallel, [0037] and Figs. 1 and 4), while the plurality of battery banks are connected with each other in series (… and connect the battery array groups in series, [0037] and Figs. 1 and 4).
Takeda teaches in [0037] that this arrangement (i.e., to sequentially connect the positive electrode terminals Btp of the batteries Bt in one battery array group, along with sequentially connecting the negative electrode surfaces Btn of another battery array group, such that a plurality of the coupling bus bars 40 arranged across a plurality of battery array groups accordingly connect the respective batteries Bt in a battery array group in parallel and connect the battery array groups in series) is beneficial to simplify the wiring operation for the plurality of batteries Bt. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Aoki to include shunt/parallel connection of cylindrical batteries in each battery bank, while maintaining the plurality of battery banks connected with each other in series, to achieve simplified the wiring operation for the plurality of batteries as taught by Takeda.
Regarding staggering of the battery banks as shown in Takeda Figs. 1-2, this arrangement positions the cylindrical batteries in a close-packed relationship, which saves space compared to the non-staggered arrangement of Aoki Figs. 1-2. Aoki welcomes in [0028] “a feature that the connection direction can be arranged in various shapes with a high degree of freedom. A power supply device that can be arranged in various shapes … optimally used for applications in which batteries are arranged in a predetermined storage space.” Therefore, Aoki teaches toward optimizing the arrangement of the batteries to fit within a certain space, such that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to implement the staggered arrangement of battery banks taught by Takeda within modified Aoki in order to achieve a space-saving design.
Thereby, all limitations of claim 14 are rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 15, modified Aoki teaches the limitations of claim 14 above and teaches at least one end of each battery bank is provided with a connection transferring bridge (end portions of heat transfer plate 52, negative external terminal 63, and connection member 42 at ends of each BG in Takeda Fig. 2 – annotated below); ae thickness of the connection transferring bridge is substantially equal to a staggered distance between the battery bank and the adjacent battery bank (in X-direction, see below annotation).
Regarding claim 16, modified Aoki teaches the limitations of claim 14 above and teaches the extending portions of all cylindrical batteries in each battery bank are oriented to a direction (each portion 9 in one row faces the same direction as to be in a straight line, Aoki Figs. 1 and 3; see also Aoki [0008]) that is at an included angle from an orientation of the battery bank (each row oriented in a straight line, Aoki Figs. 1-2; see also Aoki [0026]).
Additionally Takeda, as cited above to modify Aoki in the rejection of claim 14, also teaches its extending portions 42 oriented along the same sides of each BG bank (Takeda Fig. 2) and partially covering a portion (in circumferential degrees) of each cylindrical battery casing Btc (Takeda Figs. 1 and 3-4), agreeing with Aoki that extending portions are oriented in a direction that is at the same included angle from the orientation of the battery bank.
Regarding claim 17, modified Aoki teaches the limitations of claim 14 above and teaches an electrical bridge structure is provided between the extending portion and the lateral shell of the corresponding cylindrical shell in the adjacent battery bank (wavy terminal surfaces 42a in Takeda [0029] and Figs. 1-4) as well as between the extending portion and the lateral shell of the adjacent cylindrical shell in the battery bank (10 between 9 and 4 in Aoki Gigs. 3 and 7).
Regarding claim 19, modified Aoki teaches the limitations of claim 14 above and teaches the extending portions of all cylindrical batteries in the first battery bank are oriented in a direction (extending portion 9 of Aoki and 42 of Takeda are oriented in the longitudinal direction of the cylindrical batteries – height dimension in both Aoki Fig. 1 and Takeda Fig. 4; i.e. Z-axis shown in Takeda Fig. 1) perpendicular to an orientation of the battery bank (banks/rows are aligned in the diameter direction of the cylindrical batteries, which is perpendicular to their longitudes; row direction in Aoki Fig. 1 and Takeda Fig. 4 – i.e. X-axis in Takeda Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki et al. (JP 2007012487 A, as cited in the 07/08/2025 IDS, with an English machine translation attached to the present Office action for citation purposes) and Takeda et al. (US 2014/0295240 A1, the US Pre-Grant Publication equivalent of CN 104078636 A from the 07/08/2025 IDS), as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Motokawa et al. (US 2020/0251701 A1).
Regarding claim 20, modified Aoki teaches the limitations of claim 14 above and teaches a method for manufacturing (assembly, Aoki [0025]) the battery pack of claim 14 (rejection of claim 14 above), comprising the following steps:
arranging a plurality of cylindrical batteries in a row in a single-row fixture (a plurality of cylindrical batteries connected in a straight line, Aoki [0026]; see also Takeda Fig. 7), with the connection transferring pieces of the cylindrical batteries in each row having a consistent orientation (bus bars 2 corresponding to each cylindrical battery within one row are oriented in alignment with one another, Aoki Figs. 1-2);
to form a linear battery bank (the plurality of cylindrical batteries 1 connected by the bus bar 2 are linearly connected in a straight line, Aoki [0026] and Figs. 1-3; see also straight line BG(n) banks in Takeda Figs. 2 and 4) in a fixed length (lengths of each row set by number of batteries therein [in their diameter direction], i.e. five as shown in both Aoki Fig. 3 and Takeda Fig. 4);
wherein the cylindrical shells of all cylindrical batteries in the battery bank are connected in shunt (connect the respective batteries Bt in a battery array group in parallel, Takeda [0037]);
preparing a plurality of the battery banks (two rows in Aoki Figs. 1-2; multiple arrays BG in Takeda Figs. 1-2); and
arranging the plurality of battery banks in a staggered manner in the whole fixture (Takeda Figs. 1-2 and 4, as applied to modified Aoki in view of Aoki [0028] in rejection of claim 14 above),
so that the cylindrical shells of corresponding cylindrical batteries in adjacent battery banks are electrically connected to the extending portions (shells 4 electrically connected to 9 via 10; Aoki Figs. 1,3,7 – see also Takeda Figs. 1 and 4 in which shells Btc are electrically connected to 42), so as to obtain a battery pack in which adjacent battery banks are connected in series (cylindrical batteries 1 in adjacent rows can be connected in series by a bus bar 2 per Aoki [0026] and Figs. 1-2; the battery array groups BG(n) and BG(n+1) are connected in series via the coupling bus bars 40(n) and 40(n+1) per Takeda [0030, 0037] and Figs. 4-5).
Modified Aoki fails to teach:
inserting a cold-welding structure between the cylindrical shells of adjacent cylindrical batteries in the battery bank, and pressing from the two sides,
inserting a cold-welding structure between the cylindrical shells of the adjacent battery banks and the extending portions, pressing the plurality of battery banks together in the inter-bank direction, so that the cylindrical shells of corresponding cylindrical batteries in adjacent battery banks are electrically connected to the extending portions.
Aoki does teach that spot-welding is a connection method for electrically connecting piece 10 of one bus bar 2 to the shell 4 of an adjacent battery (Aoki [0024]).
The instant specification (at pages 8 and 20) provides evidence that the use of conductive adhesive is an example of cold-welding; therefore, a layer of conductive adhesive is being interpreted as “a cold-welding structure” meeting that claimed.
Motokawa is analogous in the art of battery cell groups configured with a plurality of cylindrical battery cells (abstract) in a battery bank (Motokawa Figs. 1-2) and teaches inserting a cold-welding structure (a conductive material such as a conductive adhesive may be provided on current collecting pins 34 or on parts of the side surfaces of outer cans 12 with which current collecting pins 34 come into contact, Motokawa [0038] – as noted above, conductive adhesive is being interpreted to meet “cold-welding structure”) between the cylindrical shells of adjacent cylindrical batteries (necessarily between outer cans 12 surrounding 34 in horizontal direction of Motokawa Fig. 4), and between the cylindrical shells battery banks and the extending portions (between 12 and 34, Motokawa [0038]; current collecting pins 34 read on “extending portions”, Motokawa [0032] and Fig. 4), in the battery bank and pressing together (each current collecting pin 34 is inserted into the gap between cylindrical battery cells 11 along the axial direction of the battery cells and presses the side surfaces of outer cans 12 – with equal force – of at least two cylindrical battery cells 11 neighboring each other, Motokawa [0032, 0038-0039]) to attain electrical connection (since current collecting pin 34 is in strong contact with the side surface of outer can 12, good electrical connection between negative current collector 30 and outer can 12 as the negative outer terminal is secured; Motokawa [0032, 0038]).
Therefore, the use of conductive adhesive and pressing to achieve desirable electrical contact between cylindrical battery shells (12) and adjacent extending portions (34) and adjacent shells is taught toward by Motokawa as a known technique of electrical connectivity. Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results supports a conclusion of obviousness per MPEP 2143 I B, such that using conductive adhesive (i.e., cold-welding) as taught by Motokawa as a substitute technique for spot-welding taught by Aoki would have been an obvious modification within the ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art to still achieve expected electrical connection at the locations necessary within modified Aoki.
Thereby, claim 20 is rendered obvious.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hale (US 20240204322 A1) teaches adjacent cylindrical cells 20 each with top terminal 26 and shell terminal 28, where conductive material 16 electrically connects between 26 of one cell and 28 of another cell (Fig. 1; see shape of 16 in Fig. 5 having a bent portion and two ends), and is insulated via 19 from 28 of the one cell (Figs. 1 and 3-5).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSIE WALLS-MURRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728