DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 12, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the central support portion”.
In claim 13, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the central support portion”.
In claim 13, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the front cover”.
In claim 14, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the central support portion”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 11-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Croteau (US 3,099,398). Regarding claim 1, Croteau discloses a handheld (see col. 2, line 1) appliance comprising a housing (12, 14, 16, 18, 24, 26) comprising a cavity and an opening (65) that provides a passageway into the cavity; one or more electronic components (54) located within the cavity of the housing; a power cord (62) operably coupled to the one or more electronic components, the power cord being configured to transmit power from a power source to the one or more electronic components; a cord storage compartment coupled to the housing and closing the opening, the cord storage compartment comprising a central support portion (60), wherein the power cord is configured to be at least partially wrapped around the central support portion; and wherein the central support portion of the cord storage compartment is movable relative to the housing between a closed position (see Figs. 3 and 4) wherein the central support portion is at least partially located within the cavity of the housing; and an open position (see Fig. 2) wherein the central support portion protrudes from the housing to allow adjustments to an amount of the power cord that is wrapped around the central support portion. Regarding claim 2, the housing comprises a rim that surrounds the opening (see Fig. 2), and wherein the cord storage compartment comprises a front cover (58) that is coupled to the central support portion, wherein the front cover of the cord storage compartment contacts the rim of the housing when the cord storage compartment is in the closed position. Regarding claim 3, the central support portion of the cord storage compartment comprises a first end, a second end, and an outer surface upon which the power cord is configured to be wrapped, wherein the front cover is coupled to the first end of the central support structure and protrudes radially beyond the outer surface of the central support portion of the cord storage compartment (see Fig. 2). Regarding claim 4, the cord storage compartment comprises a fixed component (52, or a portion of 66, or a portion of 68) that is fixedly coupled to the housing with at least a portion of the fixed component positioned within the cavity of the housing; and a cover plate (58) that is movable relative to the housing and relative to the fixed component between the closed and open positions, the cover plate comprising the central support portion of the cord storage compartment. Regarding claim 5, the fixed component comprises a first stopper feature (a portion of 68 or a portion of 68) and the cover plate comprises a second stopper feature that engages the first stopper feature of the fixed component to prevent the cover plate from becoming detached from the fixed component. Regarding claim 7, when the cord storage compartment is in the closed state, the cord storage compartment and the housing form an interface, and further comprising a notch (28) located along the interface for receiving a portion of the power cord so that a distal portion of the power cord can protrude from the housing when the cord storage compartment is in the closed state. Regarding claim 11, Croteau discloses a handheld (see col. 2, line 1) appliance comprising a housing (12, 14, 16, 18, 24, 26) comprising a cavity and an opening (65) that provides a passageway into the cavity; one or more electronic components (54) located within the cavity of the housing; a power cord (62) operably coupled to the one or more electronic components, the power cord being configured to transmit power from a power source to the one or more electronic components; a cord storage compartment (60) coupled to the housing and closing the opening, wherein the power cord is capable of being wrapped around the cord storage compartment; wherein the at least a portion of the cord storage compartment is movable relative to the housing between a closed position (see Figs. 3 and 4) wherein portions of the power cord that are wrapped around the cord storage compartment are inaccessible to a user; and an open position (see Fig. 2) wherein the portions of the power cord that are wrapped around the cord storage compartment are accessible to the user. Regarding claim 12, the housing comprises a rim that surrounds the opening (see Fig. 2), and wherein the cord storage compartment comprises a front cover (58) that is coupled to the central support portion, wherein the front cover of the cord storage compartment contacts the rim of the housing when the cord storage compartment is in the closed position. Regarding claim 13, the central support portion of the cord storage compartment comprises a first end, a second end, and an outer surface upon which the power cord is configured to be wrapped, wherein the front cover is coupled to the first end of the central support structure and protrudes radially beyond the outer surface of the central support portion of the cord storage compartment (see Fig. 2). Regarding claim 14, the cord storage compartment comprises a fixed component (52, or a portion of 66, or a portion of 68) that is fixedly coupled to the housing with at least a portion of the fixed component positioned within the cavity of the housing; and a cover plate (58) that is movable relative to the housing and relative to the fixed component between the closed and open positions, the cover plate comprising the central support portion of the cord storage compartment. Regarding claim 15, the fixed component comprises a first stopper feature (a portion of 68 or a portion of 68) and the cover plate comprises a second stopper feature that engages the first stopper feature of the fixed component to prevent the cover plate from becoming detached from the fixed component. Regarding claim 17, when the cord storage compartment is in the closed state, the cord storage compartment and the housing form an interface, and further comprising a notch (28) located along the interface for receiving a portion of the power cord so that a distal portion of the power cord can protrude from the housing when the cord storage compartment is in the closed state.
Claim 1-5, 7-9, 11-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clapp et al. (US 7,175,473). Regarding claim 1, Clapp discloses a handheld appliance (10) comprising a housing (22) comprising a cavity and an opening (76 or the larger opening that is covered by plate 60) that provides a passageway into the cavity; one or more electronic components (see col. 3, line 27) located within the cavity of the housing; a power cord (12) operably coupled to the one or more electronic components, the power cord being configured to transmit power from a power source to the one or more electronic components; a cord storage compartment (40) coupled to the housing and closing the opening, the cord storage compartment comprising a central support portion (80 and/or 100), wherein the power cord is configured to be at least partially wrapped around the central support portion; and wherein the central support portion of the cord storage compartment is movable relative to the housing between a closed position (see Fig. 1) wherein the central support portion is at least partially located within the cavity of the housing; and an open position (see Fig. 2) wherein the central support portion protrudes from the housing to allow adjustments to an amount of the power cord that is wrapped around the central support portion. Regarding claim 2, the housing comprises a rim that surrounds the opening, and wherein the cord storage compartment comprises a front cover (120) that is coupled to the central support portion, wherein the front cover of the cord storage compartment contacts the rim of the housing when the cord storage compartment is in the closed position. Regarding claim 3, the central support portion of the cord storage compartment comprises a first end, a second end, and an outer surface upon which the power cord is configured to be wrapped, wherein the front cover is coupled to the first end of the central support structure and protrudes radially beyond the outer surface of the central support portion of the cord storage compartment (see Fig. 5). Regarding claim 4, the cord storage compartment comprises a fixed component (80) that is fixedly coupled to the housing with at least a portion of the fixed component positioned within the cavity of the housing; and a cover plate (120) that is movable relative to the housing and relative to the fixed component between the closed and open positions, the cover plate comprising the central support portion of the cord storage compartment. Regarding claim 5, the fixed component comprises a first stopper feature (98) and the cover plate comprises a second stopper feature (108) that engages the first stopper feature of the fixed component to prevent the cover plate from becoming detached from the fixed component. Regarding claim 7, when the cord storage compartment is in the closed state, the cord storage compartment and the housing form an interface, and further comprising a notch (146) located along the interface for receiving a portion of the power cord so that a distal portion of the power cord can protrude from the housing when the cord storage compartment is in the closed state. Regarding claim 8, the handheld appliance is a hand mixer (20) and the one or more electronic components comprises a motor (see col. 3, line 27). Regarding claim 9, the housing comprises a working surface portion having a first opening (30) and a second opening (30) each of which is configured to receive a portion of a mixer attachment (32) to facilitate coupling the mixer attachment to the housing. Regarding claim 11, Clapp discloses a handheld appliance (10) comprising a housing (22) comprising a cavity and an opening (76 or the larger opening that is covered by plate 60) that provides a passageway into the cavity; one or more electronic components (see col. 3, line 27) located within the cavity of the housing; a power cord (12) operably coupled to the one or more electronic components, the power cord being configured to transmit power from a power source to the one or more electronic components; a cord storage compartment (40) coupled to the housing and closing the opening, wherein the power cord is capable of being wrapped around the cord storage compartment; wherein the at least a portion (100, 120) of the cord storage compartment is movable relative to the housing between a closed position (see Fig. 1) wherein portions of the power cord that are wrapped around the cord storage compartment are inaccessible to a user; and an open position (see Fig. 2) wherein the portions of the power cord that are wrapped around the cord storage compartment are accessible to the user. Regarding claim 12, the housing comprises a rim that surrounds the opening, and wherein the cord storage compartment comprises a front cover that is coupled to the central support portion, wherein the front cover (120) of the cord storage compartment contacts the rim of the housing when the cord storage compartment is in the closed position. Regarding claim 13, the central support portion of the cord storage compartment comprises a first end, a second end, and an outer surface upon which the power cord is configured to be wrapped, wherein the front cover is coupled to the first end of the central support structure and protrudes radially beyond the outer surface of the central support portion of the cord storage compartment (see Fig. 5). Regarding claim 14, the cord storage compartment comprises a fixed component (80) that is fixedly coupled to the housing with at least a portion of the fixed component positioned within the cavity of the housing; and a cover plate (120) that is movable relative to the housing and relative to the fixed component between the closed and open positions, the cover plate comprising the central support portion of the cord storage compartment. Regarding claim 15, the fixed component comprises a first stopper feature (98) and the cover plate comprises a second stopper feature (108) that engages the first stopper feature of the fixed component to prevent the cover plate from becoming detached from the fixed component. Regarding claim 17, when the cord storage compartment is in the closed state, the cord storage compartment and the housing form an interface, and further comprising a notch (146) located along the interface for receiving a portion of the power cord so that a distal portion of the power cord can protrude from the housing when the cord storage compartment is in the closed state. Regarding claim 18, the handheld appliance is a hand mixer (20) and the one or more electronic components comprises a motor (see col. 3, line 27). Regarding claim 19, the housing comprises a working surface portion having a first opening (30) and a second opening (30) each of which is configured to receive a portion of a mixer attachment (32) to facilitate coupling the mixer attachment to the housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clapp et al. (US 7,175,473) alone or in view of Tracy et al. (US 2009/0035986). The appliance of Clapp was discussed above, which is as claimed except the fixed and movable portions are reverse, the cord being wound on the fixed portion rather than the movable portion. See In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) concerning the obviousness of reversing parts. As additional evidence of obvious, see Tracy where cord (16) is instead wound around a central movable portion in a highly analogous situation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have reversed the fixed and movable portions of Clapp such that the cord is wound on the movable portion, as taught by Tracy, because such represents a known improvement in an analogous situation.
Claim 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clapp et al. (US 7,175,473) alone or in view of Ripple (US 2,730,901). The appliance of Clapp was discussed above. While two openings are disclosed, a third opening is not. Ripple teaches providing an additional opening (40 or 50) as well as a closure member (41 or 56) for the additional opening. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provide an additional opening, for example for a power takeoff, and a closure to cover the opening when not in use, as taught by Ripple.
Conclusion
DAVID L. SORKIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/DAVID L SORKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774