DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denti et al. (US 2020/0315859) in view of Harumoto et al. (US 2015/0173975) and further in view of Bianchi et al. (US 2017/0151103).
As to claim 1, Denti et al. (hereinafter “Denti”) teaches a feminine hygiene pad (10) having a longitudinal axis oriented along a y-direction (L), a lateral axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis oriented along an x-direction (T), and a pad caliper measured along a z-direction orthogonal to the longitudinal and lateral axes (figure 2), comprising a liquid permeable topsheet (12) comprising a unitary fibrous nonwoven web [0036], a fibrous fluid management layer (20) beneath the topsheet (figure 2), an absorbent structure (14) beneath the fluid management layer, and a backsheet (14) beneath the absorbent structure (figure 2), wherein:
the fibrous nonwoven web comprises bicomponent staple topsheet fibers [0036],
wherein the topsheet fibers have an average denier of 3.8 to 5.0 through the incorporation [0189] of US patent application serial number 16/547,843 which is the equivalent of US 11,925,539 to Cecchetto where Cecchetto discloses topsheet fibers having an average denier falling within the claimed range as set forth in col. 15, lines 38-47;
the topsheet fibers have a have a sheath-core configuration, wherein the sheath component comprises polyethylene (PE) and the core component comprises polyethylene terephthalate (PET) [0036], and
the topsheet fibers comprise a blend of intermixed, polymeric hydrophilic and hydrophobic fibers in a weight ratio as claimed as set forth in [0036].
Denti teaches that hydrophilicity of the hydrophilic fibers is effected by application of a surface treatment composition through the incorporation by reference [0189] of Osborn, III et al. (US 5,885,265) in [0112].
Osborn discloses an absorbent structure having a topsheet 28 and teaches at least portions of the body surface 28A of the topsheet 28 are hydrophilic so as to help liquid transfer through the topsheet faster than if the body surface was not hydrophilic. Osborn teaches a surfactant is applied to the body surface 28A of the topsheet 28. Osborn teaches such a hydrophilic surface helps to diminish the likelihood that bodily fluids will flow off the topsheet rather than flowing into and being absorbed by the absorbent core (Osborn col. 14, lines 8-22).
Denti, through the incorporation of Cecchetto as previously explained, also discloses a topsheet including less than 10 percent by weight of any combination of cotton fibers, other plant fibers, rayon fibers or monocomponent fibers comprising polyester or polyamide where Cecchetto discloses the material web comprising 100 percent polyethylene as set forth in col. 17, lines 40-42.
The difference between Denti and claim 1 is the provision that the bicomponent fibers are present in a weight ratio of PE/:PET is 40:60 to 60:40 and that the fibrous nonwoven web comprises a plurality of inter-fibers bonds randomly distributed within the fibrous nonwoven web along the x-, y- and z-directions wherein the inter-fiber bonds are present wherein sheaths of adjacent fibers are fusion-bonded together without compression.
Regarding the bicomponent fibers, Harumoto et al. (hereinafter “Harumoto”) teaches an analogous absorbent article including a nonwoven sheet comprising a first core/sheath composite fiber which is composed of a sheath component comprising linear low density polyethylene and a core component comprising thermoplastic resin having a high melting point as set forth in the abstract.
Harumoto also teaches that the thermoplastic resin core component preferably includes a polyolefin-based resin such as polypropylene or polyester resins such as polyethylene terephthalate in [0047]. Harumoto further teaches the ratio of core component/sheath component is preferably from about 80/20 to about 30/70, and most preferably from about 60/40 to about 40/60 as set forth in [0028], which values overlap with those claimed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was originally filed to provide the invention of Denti with the core/sheath composite fibers in the ratio taught by Harumoto to achieve excellent strength and softness of the nonwoven and bulkiness recovery characteristics as taught by Harumoto in [0028].
With respect to the inter-fiber bonds, Bianchi et al. (hereinafter “Bianchi”) teaches an analogous absorbent article having a topsheet comprising a plurality of inter-fibers bonds randomly distributed within the fibrous nonwoven web along the x-, y- and z-directions wherein the inter-fiber bonds are present wherein sheaths of adjacent fibers are fusion-bonded together without compression as set forth in [0059].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the topsheet of Denti with the plurality of inter-fibers bonds as taught by Bianchi to improve the structural integrity of the material as taught by Bianchi in [0059].
With reference to claims 2 and 10, Denti discloses a feminine hygiene pad wherein the fluid management layer comprises carded staple fibers [0061-0062, 0070] including absorbent fibers of regenerated cellulose [0083] in a weight fraction of the fluid management layer of about 10 percent to about 60 percent [0074], bicomponent stiffening fibers in a weight fraction of the fluid management layer of about 25 percent to about 70 percent [0076], and resilient fibers in a weight fraction of the fluid management layer of about 15 percent to about 70 percent as set forth in [0075].
With respect to claims 3 and 14, Denti discloses a feminine hygiene pad wherein the stiffening fibers have a sheath-core configuration wherein the core comprises PET and the sheath comprises PE as set forth in [0086].
With respect to claims 4 and 15, Denti discloses a feminine hygiene pad wherein the resilient fibers are about 4 dtex to 15 dtex as set forth in [0090].
As to claim 5, Denti discloses a feminine hygiene pad wherein the resilient fibers comprise a polymer selected from the group consisting of polypropylene (PP), polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), and combinations thereof as set forth in [0091].
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Denti discloses a feminine hygiene pad wherein the fluid management layer comprises a plurality of randomly-distributed inter-fiber bonds wherein adjacent fibers are fusion-bonded together without compression as set forth in [0088] where Denti describes post fiber entanglement via heat treatment to provide additional structural integrity to the integrated nonwoven by forming bonds between adjacent stiffening fibers.
With reference to claims 7 and 17, Denti discloses a feminine hygiene pad wherein the fluid management layer comprises a plurality of strata (i.e., first, second, and third carded web) as set forth in [0061-0062] and [0099].
With respect to claims 8 and 18, Denti discloses a feminine hygiene pad wherein the fibers of the fluid management layer are integrated in a z-direction as set forth in [0063] and [0098].
As to claim 9, Denti discloses a feminine hygiene pad (10) having a longitudinal axis oriented along a y-direction (L), a lateral axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis oriented along an x-direction (T), and a pad caliper measured along a z-direction orthogonal to the longitudinal and lateral axes (figure 2), comprising a liquid permeable topsheet (12) comprising a unitary fibrous nonwoven web [0036], a fibrous fluid management layer (20) beneath the topsheet (figure 2), an absorbent structure (14) beneath the fluid management layer, and a backsheet (14) beneath the absorbent structure (figure 2), wherein:
the fibrous nonwoven web comprises bicomponent staple topsheet fibers [0036],
wherein the topsheet fibers have an average denier of 3.8 to 5.0 through the incorporation [0189] of US patent application serial number 16/547,843 which is the equivalent of US 11,925,539 to Cecchetto where Cecchetto discloses topsheet fibers having an average denier falling within the claimed range as set forth in col. 15, lines 38-47;
the topsheet fibers have a have a sheath-core configuration, wherein the sheath component comprises polyethylene (PE) and the core component comprises polyethylene terephthalate (PET) [0036], and
in predominant weight fraction of the fibrous nonwoven web, are hydrophobic (see [0036] where it is disclosed that the hydrophobic fibers are present in at least about 50% hydrophobic fibers which would reasonably include 51%);
Denti, through the incorporation of Cecchetto as previously explained, also discloses a topsheet including less than 10 percent by weight of any combination of cotton fibers, other plant fibers, rayon fibers or monocomponent fibers comprising polyester or polyamide where Cecchetto discloses the material web comprising 100 percent polyethylene (also providing a predominant hydrophobic weight fraction) set forth in col. 17, lines 40-42.
The difference between Denti and claim 9 is the provision that the bicomponent in a weight ratio of PE/:PET is 40:60 to 60:40 and that the fibrous nonwoven web comprises a plurality of inter-fibers bonds randomly distributed within the fibrous nonwoven web along the x-, y- and z-directions wherein the inter-fiber bonds are present wherein sheaths of adjacent fibers are fusion-bonded together without compression.
Harumoto teaches an analogous absorbent article including a nonwoven sheet comprising a first core/sheath composite fiber which is composed of a sheath component comprising linear low density polyethylene and a core component comprising thermoplastic resin having a high melting point as set forth in the abstract.
Harumoto also teaches that the thermoplastic resin core component preferably includes a polyolefin-based resin such as polypropylene or polyester resins such as polyethylene terephthalate in [0047]. Harumoto further teaches the ratio of core component/sheath component is preferably from about 80/20 to about 30/70, and most preferably from about 60/40 to about 40/60 as set forth in [0028], which values overlap with those claimed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was originally filed to provide the invention of Denti with the core/sheath composite fibers in the ratio taught by Harumoto to achieve excellent strength and softness of the nonwoven and bulkiness recovery characteristics as taught by Harumoto in [0028].
With respect to the inter-fiber bonds, Bianchi teaches an analogous absorbent article having a topsheet comprising a plurality of inter-fibers bonds randomly distributed within the fibrous nonwoven web along the x-, y- and z-directions wherein the inter-fiber bonds are present wherein sheaths of adjacent fibers are fusion-bonded together without compression as set forth in [0059].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the topsheet of Denti with the plurality of inter-fibers bonds as taught by Bianchi to improve the structural integrity of the material as taught by Bianchi in [0059].
With respect to claims 11 and 12, Denti discloses a feminine hygiene pad wherein the absorbent fibers are about 1 to 7 dtex, thereby encompassing 0.6 to 2.4 dtex (cl. 12) as set forth in [0081].
As to claim 13, Denti discloses a feminine hygiene pad wherein the stiffening fibers are about 1.0 dtex to 6 dtex as set forth in [0085].
Regarding claim 19, Denti discloses a feminine hygiene pad wherein the unitary fibrous nonwoven web of the topsheet includes less than 10 percent by weight of any combination of cotton fibers, other plant fibers, rayon fibers or monocomponent fibers comprising polyester or polyamide as set forth in [0036] where Denti discloses that the unitary fibrous nonwoven web of the topsheet includes at least 50% of hydrophilic fibers and at least 50% of hydrophobic fibers.
As to claim 21, Denti is considered to teach the limitations as claimed because “less than 50 percent” includes zero, in which case the limitation is not necessarily required to be present.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denti et al. (US 2020/0315859) in view of Harumoto et al. (US 2015/0173975) and Bianchi et al. (US 2017/0151103) and further in view of EP 0794804.
With respect to claim 22, Denti teaches a feminine hygiene pad wherein the topsheet bears a topical application of an anti-stick agent comprising a polypropylene glycol material through the incorporation by reference [0189] of Arndt et al. (US 6,664,439) in [0112].
Arndt et al. (hereinafter “Arndt”) discloses an absorbent structure having a topsheet including lotions and emmolients as set forth in col. 6, lines 62-64.
The instant specification notes that suitable anti-stick agents are disclosed as lotions.
However, Denti, through the incorporation of Arndt, does not explicitly recite polypropylene glycol.
EP-A-0794804 (hereinafter “Roe”) teaches a lotion/emollient that includes polypropylene glycol as set forth [0068].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the lotion of Denti with polypropylene glycol as taught by Roe because Denti, through the incorporation of Arndt, discloses that the topsheet may include the materials as taught by Roe in col. 6, lines 62-64 of Arndt.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the teaching, suggestion and motivation to do so is found in the references themselves. As noted by applicant, “Denti thus supplies the pad structure, the sheath-core PE/PET topsheet fiber, a fiber blend, and a topsheet already stabilized by inter-fiber bonds.” See page 2, 2nd full paragraph of Remarks filed July 2, 2026.
As such, Denti lays the groundwork of the general concept of the recited claims.
Harumoto and Bianchi further defines the general concepts disclosed by Denti for the benefits disclosed. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant argues that the references are directed to different problems, but Denti provides a fundamental teaching of the fibers. The modification of the fibers as taught by Denti to provide the additional benefits of the secondary references supports an obviousness conclusion.
Regarding claim 9 and the limitation that the topsheet includes less than 50% of a particular surface area, the limitation is not necessarily required to be present as less than 50% includes zero.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELE KIDWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781