DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 – 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 5 and 10 – 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuda, US 2013/0171838 in view of Peter, “Engineering high quality and conformal ultrathin SiNx films by PEALD for downscaled and advanced CMOS nodes”, J. Vac. Sci. Technol. A 39, 042401 (2021).
Regarding Claim 1, Okuda teaches in various embodiments throughout the disclosure that also teaches :
A process for depositing a silicon nitride film on a microelectronic device substrate, which comprises contacting said substrate with sequentially pulsed precursor compounds comprising a pulse sequence comprising:
a. halo silane compound (paragraph 147),
b. an amino – silane (paragraph 147), and
optionally c. a compound of the formula R2 NH, wherein each R is independently hydrogen or a C1 – C4 alkyl group (such as ammonia in paragraphs 125, 162), in combination with hydrogen (paragraphs 127 and 153), under vapor deposition conditions (fig. 1, paragraphs 138 and 142) in paragraphs 127, 138, 142, 147, 153 and 162.
Based on the above citations, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Okuda and arrive at the sequences of steps as enumerated in the claim above.
Okuda teaches vapor deposition conditions, but fails to teach wherein the silicon nitride film is deposited under atomic layer deposition (ALD) vapor deposition conditions, wherein the silicon nitride film has a conformality of at least about 95%.
Peter teaches various vapor deposition techniques for ALD wherein the silicon nitride film has a conformality of at least about 95% in the Abstract for the benefit of liner and spacer applications in FEOL integration in column 1 of page 39.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Okuda and deposit the silicon nitride film under atomic layer deposition (ALD) vapor deposition conditions, wherein the silicon nitride film has a conformality of at least about 95% for the benefit of liner and spacer applications in FEOL integration as taught by Peter in column 1 of page 39.
Regarding Claim 2, Okuda teaches the limitations as were described earlier in rejecting Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3, Okuda teaches wherein a., b., and/or c. are followed by a purge step with an inert gas with references to Figs, 5 – 9.
Regarding Claim 4, Okuda teaches wherein the halo silane compound is hexachlorodisilane in paragraph 147.
Regarding Claim 5, Okuda teaches wherein the amino – silane is a compound of tetrakisdimethylamino silane of formula:
In paragraph 147.
Regarding Claims 10 and 11, Okuda teaches impurity free, high density SiN film with high etch resistance, but fails to teach wherein the silicon nitride film comprises a silicon : nitrogen ratio of at least about 3.1 : 4 and wherein the silicon nitride film comprises a silicon : nitrogen ratio of greater than or equal to about 1:1.
However, given the substantial teaching of Okuda, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to judiciously adjust and control the silicon : nitrogen ratio through routine experimentation and optimization to achieve optimum benefits (see MPEP 2144.05) and it would not yield any unexpected results.
Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed processes or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen methods or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen methods or variables are critical (Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir., 1990)). See also In re Aller, Lacey and Hall (10 USPQ 233 – 237) “It is not inventive to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”.
Regarding Claims 12 – 17, Okuda teaches these limitations of pulse sequences in various embodiments with references to Figs. 5 – 9.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuda, US 2013/0171838 in view of Wang, US 2004/0096582.
Regarding these claims, Okuda fails to teach wherein the amino – silane is a compound of the formula:
And
Wang teaches that these amino – silane compounds of above formulae can be used to form silicon nitride films with reference to Formula (2) in paragraph 41 for the bene fit of forming silicon nitride at lower temperatures and are chemically equivalent to other common amino silanes used for vapor deposition purposes in paragraphs 13 and 14.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Okuda and use amino – silane compoundsshown above as being functionally equivalent to other aminosilanes as taught by Wang in paragraphs 13 and 14.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuda, US 2013/0171838 in view of Peter, “Engineering high quality and conformal ultrathin SiNx films by PEALD for downscaled and advanced CMOS nodes”, J. Vac. Sci. Technol. A 39, 042401 (2021) and further in view of Shiba, US 2022/0319833.
Okuda in view of Peter fails to teach the amino – silane is a compound hexaethylamino – disilane of the formula:
Shiba teaches various silicon precursors for depositing SiN films that includes hexachlorodisilane and also hexaethylamino – disilane in paragraph 49.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Okuda and use amino – silane compound hexaethylamino – disilane as being functionally equivalent to other aminosilanes as taught by Shiba in paragraph 49.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuda, US 2013/0171838 in view of Schuh, “Disilanyl – amines – Compounds Comprising the Structural Unit Si – Si – N, as Single – Source Precursors for Plasma – Enhanced Chemical Vapour Deposition (PE – CVD) of Silicon Nitride”, Z. anorg. allg, Chem. 619 (1993) 1347 – 1352 and further in view of Peter, “Engineering high quality and conformal ultrathin SiNx films by PEALD for downscaled and advanced CMOS nodes”, J. Vac. Sci. Technol. A 39, 042401 (2021).
.
Okuda fails to teach the amino – silane is a compound 1, 2 – dicholoro octaethyl disilane of the formula:
Schuh teaches such compounds for the deposition for the deposition of high quality silicon nitride in the Abstract and the Introduction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Okuda in view of Peter and use amino – silane compound 1, 2 – dicholoro octaethyl disilane as being functionally equivalent to other aminosilanes as taught by Schuh in the Abstract and the Introduction.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASOK K SARKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891 February 5, 2026