DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tada et al. (US 2011/0128109).
Considering Claim 13-17: Tada et al. teaches a multilayer inductor comprising a plurality of magnetic layers (¶0011) and metal electrode tracks (¶0011). Tada et al. teaches a magnetic layer of 40 microns and a zirconia gap layer of 3 microns between the electrode tracks (¶0128), resulting in an overall thickness of less than 500 microns. Further, Tada et al. teaches that the electrode tracks are offset to the left or right in the successive layers in a stepwise manner, resulting in a coil shape (Fig. 4).
The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients, in the claimed amounts, and teaches the composition as being made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not provide any disclosure on how to obtain the claimed properties outside the components of the composition itself. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the magnetic lines of force between adjacent metal electrodes, would necessarily arise from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching enabling a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, absent undue experimentation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tada et al. (US 2011/0128109) in view of Nishide et al. (US 2002/0058131).
Considering Claim 1-3, 5, and 7-12: Tada et al. teaches a multilayer inductor comprising a plurality of magnetic layers (¶0011) and metal electrode tracks (¶0011). Tada et al. teaches a magnetic layer of 40 microns and a zirconia gap layer of 3 microns between the electrode tracks (¶0128), resulting in an overall thickness of less than 50 microns. Further, Tada et al. teaches that the electrode tracks are offset to the left or right in the successive layers in a stepwise manner, resulting in a coil shape (Fig. 4).
Tada et al. does not teach the ceramic gap layer as being a multilayer ceramic-inorganic material composite as claimed. However, Nishide et al. teaches a multilayer ceramic-inorganic material (¶0019) that can be used in an inductor (¶0005-07) comprising a first layer comprising an inorganic particle that can be titanium dioxide or zirconium dioxide (¶0126), with titanium dioxide being used in an example (Table 2), and a second layer comprising calcium oxide (¶0072; 0145). The original specification of the instant application defines titanium dioxide and zirconium dioxide as ceramic materials having the claimed positive slope in the curve of dielectric constant versus temperature and calcium oxide as an inorganic material having the claimed negative slope in the curve of dielectric constant versus temperature. Tada et al. and Nishide et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely ceramic layers for inductors. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the multilayer ceramic of Nishide et al. in the inductor of Tada et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Nishide et al. suggests, it has reduced warpage during the formation of the ceramic (¶0002).
The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients, in the claimed amounts, and teaches the composition as being made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not provide any disclosure on how to obtain the claimed properties outside the components of the composition itself. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the magnetic lines of force between adjacent metal electrodes, would necessarily arise from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching enabling a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, absent undue experimentation.
Considering Claim 4: Tada et al. teaches the electrode as being silver, platinum, palladium, copper, gold, or nickel (¶0081).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tada et al. (US 2011/0128109) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Nishide et al. (US 2002/0058131).
Considering Claim 24: Tada et al. teaches the inductor of claim 13 as shown above. Tada et al. teaches that the electrode tracks are offset to the left or right in the successive layers in a stepwise manner, resulting in a coil shape (Fig. 4).
Tada et al. does not teach the ceramic gap layer as being a multilayer ceramic-inorganic material composite as claimed. However, Nishide et al. teaches a multilayer ceramic-inorganic material (¶0019) that can be used in an inductor (¶0005-07) comprising a first layer comprising an inorganic particle that can be titanium dioxide or zirconium dioxide (¶0126), with titanium dioxide being used in an example (Table 2), and a second layer comprising calcium oxide (¶0072; 0145). The original specification of the instant application defines titanium dioxide and zirconium dioxide as ceramic materials having a positive slope in the curve of dielectric constant versus temperature and calcium oxide as an inorganic material having a negative slope in the curve of dielectric constant versus temperature. Tada et al. and Nishide et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely ceramic layers for inductors. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the multilayer ceramic of Nishide et al. in the inductor of Tada et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Nishide et al. suggests, it has reduced warpage during the formation of the ceramic (¶0002).
Claims 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tada et al. (US 2011/0128109) in view of Nishide et al. (US 2002/0058131).
Considering Claim 18-23: Tada et al. teaches a multilayer inductor comprising a plurality of magnetic layers (¶0011) and metal electrode tracks (¶0011). Tada et al. teaches a magnetic layer of 40 microns and a zirconia gap layer of 3 microns between the electrode tracks (¶0128), resulting in an overall thickness of less than 50 microns. Further, Tada et al. teaches that the electrode tracks are offset to the left or right in the successive layers in a stepwise manner, resulting in a coil shape (Fig. 4).
Tada et al. does not teach the ceramic gap layer as being a multilayer ceramic-inorganic material composite as claimed. However, Nishide et al. teaches a multilayer ceramic-inorganic material (¶0019) that can be used in an inductor (¶0005-07) comprising a first layer comprising an inorganic particle that can be titanium dioxide or zirconium dioxide (¶0126), with titanium dioxide being used in an example (Table 2), and a second layer comprising calcium oxide (¶0072; 0145). The original specification of the instant application defines titanium dioxide and zirconium dioxide as ceramic materials having the claimed positive slope in the curve of dielectric constant versus temperature and calcium oxide as an inorganic material having the claimed negative slope in the curve of dielectric constant versus temperature. Tada et al. and Nishide et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely ceramic layers for inductors. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the multilayer ceramic of Nishide et al. in the inductor of Tada et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Nishide et al. suggests, it has reduced warpage during the formation of the ceramic (¶0002).
The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients, in the claimed amounts, and teaches the composition as being made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not provide any disclosure on how to obtain the claimed properties outside the components of the composition itself. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the magnetic lines of force between adjacent metal electrodes, would necessarily arise from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching enabling a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, absent undue experimentation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because:
A) The applicant’s argument that Tada et al. does not teach the claimed thickness of the magnetic layers is not persuasive. Tada et al. teaches a magnetic layer thickness of 40 microns (¶0128), which is less than 100 microns.
B) The applicant’s argument that the structure of Tada et al. does not result in the claimed minimization of the void space having no effective magnetic lines is not persuasive. The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients, in the claimed amounts, and teaches the composition as being made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not provide any disclosure on how to obtain the claimed properties outside the components of the composition itself. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the magnetic lines of force between adjacent metal electrodes, would necessarily arise from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching enabling a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, absent undue experimentation.
The applicant has not identified the feature that results in the claimed property that is not present in the structure of Tada et al.
C) In response to applicant's argument that the claimed structure results in compensation for dielectric-temperature variation, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
D) The applicant’s argument that Nishide et al. does not teach the claimed species with sufficient specificity is not persuasive. Nishide et al. teaches the claimed species as being preferred embodiments and uses them in the examples of the reference. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be led by the teachings of Nishide et al. to the claimed species. The layers of the example of Nishide et al. comprising the claimed ceramic material and the claimed inorganic material respectively.
E) In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the elimination of the deviation of the dielectric constant) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The instant claims cover any combination of a layer comprising the claimed ceramic material and a layer comprising the inorganic material, with the claimed materials being present in any amount. The inclusion of small concentrations of these materials do not necessarily provide layers having the claimed slope in the dielectric constant curve, and thus the elimination of the deviation of the dielectric constant would not necessarily be present.
F) The applicant’s argument of unexpected results is not persuasive. A showing of unexpected results must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Burckel, 592 F.2d 1175, 201 USPQ 67 (CCPA 1979). See MPEP § 716.02(e). The comparative example is identified only as an inductor according the prior art, and the applicant has not explained how the example is representative of Tada et al. As shown above, Tada et al. has the reduced magnetic void regions due to the step-wise configuration and reduced thickness of the magnetic layer.
Conclusion
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767