DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 04/08/2026 has been entered. Claims 21-40 are cancelled. No claims are newly added. Claims 1-20 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Goergen et al. US Pub 2022/0063429 (hereinafter Goergen).
Regarding claim 1, Goergen discloses a charging system for a material handling vehicle (¶ 0031), the charging system comprising:
a mounting assembly arm (see fig. 3, element 34; a charging arm); and
a charger plate assembly moveably (¶¶ 0041, 0046; the entire charging arm 50 can be operable to retract or extend or move along one or more axis) coupled to a distal end of the mounting assembly arm (see fig. 3-5),
the charger plate assembly including a plate (see fig. 5, element 55b) and a charger plate electrical contact (¶ 0042, 0068; a plurality of high voltage pulses 18b with safety testing between high voltage pulses, directly from the charging plate 35) coupled to the plate (see fig. 5, the electrical contact of the charging station can be connected with EV contact plate),
the charger plate electrical contact (see fig. 3 or 5; a portion of the charging plate/electrical contact) being configured to electrically couple (electrically attaced) with a vehicle electrical contact (see fig. 3; a portion of the EV contact plate) of a charging port of the material handling vehicle,
wherein, when the charger plate electrical contact electrically couples with the vehicle electrical contact (see fig. 3 above), the plate of the charger plate assembly moves relative to the mounting assembly arm to cause a scrubbing action between the charger plate electrical contact and the vehicle electrical contact (¶ 0042; the charging arm 34 may be moveable along two or more axis (x-axis, y-axis shown in FIG. 3) to properly align the charging plate 35 with the EV contact plate 33. Therefore, this spring-loaded pressing and relative compliance causes the plate of the EV and the plate of the charging station to slide or wipe against each other as they connect and settle under pressure).
Regarding claim 2, Goergen discloses wherein the charger plate assembly is pivotally coupled to the distal end of the mounting assembly arm (see fig. 3, 5; the entire charging arm 50 can be operable to retract or extend or move along one or more axis).
Regarding claim 3, Goergen discloses wherein contact between the charger plate electrical contact and the vehicle electrical contact causes the charger plate assembly to pivot from a first rotational position to a second rotational position to cause the scrubbing action between the charger plate electrical contact and the vehicle electrical contact (¶¶ 0045-0047 and claim 5; cleaning the EV contact plate prior to contact with the charging arm).
Regarding claim 4, Goergen discloses the charging system further comprising a biasing element (fig. 5, element 56; one of the springs) configured to bias the charger plate assembly to the first rotational position (¶ 0040).
Regarding claim 5, Goergen discloses wherein the mounting assembly arm is configured to move along a first direction to change a distance between the charger plate assembly and the charging port of the material handling vehicle (¶¶ 0041-0042, 0045-0046; ensure direct contact between the charging plate and the contact plate).
Regarding claim 6, Goergen discloses the charging system further comprising: a base configured to movably support the mounting assembly arm; and a first actuator coupled between the base and the mounting assembly arm, the first actuator being configured to extend and retract to change the distance between the charger plate assembly and the charging port of the material handling vehicle (see fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 8, Goergen discloses the charging system further comprising a second actuator coupled between the charger plate assembly and the mounting assembly arm, the second actuator being configured to selectively adjust a position of the charger plate assembly along a second direction that is different from the first direction (see fig. 5 below and ¶ 0046).
Regarding claim 9, Goergen discloses the charging system further comprising a first sensor coupled to the charger plate assembly, the first sensor being configured to sense a distance between the charger plate assembly and a charging port of a material handling vehicle (¶ 0042; the entire charging arm 34 can be initially positioned in the area of the contact plate 33 using information from one or more sensors or switches as previously, and then moved towards the contact plate).
Regarding claim 10, Goergen discloses the charging system further comprising a second sensor coupled to the charger plate assembly, the second sensor being configured to detect a target arranged on a material handling vehicle (¶ 0042; an autonomous EV to assist in properly positioning the EV to align the contact plates with the charging arms).
Regarding claim 11, Goergen discloses wherein the first charger plate electrical contact and the second vehicle electrical contact are configured for at least one of transferring electrical power for charging a battery of the material handling vehicle (¶ 0032; directly from the charging plate to the EV contact plate to charge one or more batteries at the EV 12) and transmitting electrical communications between the material handling vehicle and the charging system (¶¶ 0031, 0036).
Regarding claim 12, Goergen discloses wherein at least one of the charger plate electrical contact and the vehicle electrical contact is configured as a spring-biased contact (see fig. 3-5).
Claim(s) 13, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lara et al. US Patent 5,461,298 (hereinafter Lara).
Regarding claim 13, Lara discloses a charging system for a material handling vehicle (Abstract), the material handling vehicle including a battery (fig. 13 and claim 1; storage devices) and a charging port having a vehicle electrical contact (col. 4, lines 9-10) electrically coupled to the battery (claim 1), the charging system comprising:
a mounting assembly arm (Col. 6, lines 10-14, 20-25; probe arm); and
a charger plate assembly pivotally coupled to the mounting assembly arm (Col. 6, lines 50-53; a single pivot three-axis mechanism 240 provides for movement of the probe 40 in the x, y, and z axes) so the charger plate assembly (210; face plate) rotates about a rotational axis to move between a first orientation and a second orientation (Col. 8, lines 9-11, 46-48; The sequence of movements necessary to articulate the arm 330 so that the charge probe face 210 and the charge port face 100 mate, the charge station logic articulates the charge probe arm through a hunt sequence 460 in order to ensure proper alignment is achieved),
the charger plate assembly including a charger plate electrical contact electrically coupled to a power source (abstract, fig. 4-6, Col. 3, line 67 to Col. 4, line 7),
the charger plate electrical contact being configured to couple to the vehicle electrical contact of the material handling vehicle for charging (Abstract and claims 1 and 3; automatically aligning a charging probe on said charging station with a charging receptacle on said electric vehicle; automatically electrically connecting said charging probe with said charging receptacle).
Regarding claim 15, Lara discloses wherein, as the mounting assembly arm moves toward the charging port in a stationary position (Col. 6, lines 50-53; a single pivot three-axis mechanism 240 provides for movement of the probe 40 in the x, y, and z axis), the charger plate electrical contact of the charger plate assembly slides across the vehicle electrical contact of the charging port to cause sliding frictional contact therebetween to passively clean each of the charger plate electrical contact and the vehicle electrical contact (Col. 4, lines 44-48; scrapers 55 brush along the surface of the pads 53 as the charging port is deployed and retracted. These scrapers help remove debris and corrosion to ensure a good contact is provided every time the charging port 50 and charging probe 40 couple).
Regarding claim 16, Lara discloses wherein at least one of the vehicle electrical contact and the charger plate electrical contact is configured as a plurality of electrical contacts (see fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 17, Lara discloses a method of charging a material handling vehicle (abstract), the material handling vehicle including a battery (fig. 13 and claim 1; storage devices) and a charging port having a vehicle electrical contact (col. 4, lines 9-10) electrically coupled to the battery (claim 1), the method comprising:
moving a mounting assembly arm toward the material handling vehicle, when the material handling vehicle is stationary, to engage a charger plate assembly with the charging port (Col. 6, lines 20-25; By systematically articulating the probe 40 and monitoring whether the detectors 170-200 are receiving the light signals produced by the emitters 130-160, precise alignment of the probe 40 with respect to the charge port 50 can be accomplished automatically),
the charger plate assembly having a charging head (face plate 210; col. 6, line 6-9) that includes a charger plate electrical contact configured to electrically couple to the vehicle electrical contact (claims 1-4; said charging probe has a charge plate which engages said charging port and an articulable charge probe arm for spatially articulating
said charge plate with respect to said charging receptacle);
moving the charging head relative to the mounting assembly arm (Claims 1-3; automatically aligning a charging probe on said charging station with a charging receptacle on said electric vehicle); and
sliding the charger plate electrical contact across the vehicle electrical contact to cause sliding frictional contact therebetween (Col. 4, lines 44-48; scrapers 55 brush along the surface of the pads 53 as the charging port is deployed and retracted. These scrapers help remove debris and corrosion to ensure a good contact is provided every time the charging port 50 and charging probe 40 couple).
Regarding claim 18, Lara discloses wherein engaging the charging port with the charger plate assembly causes pivoting movement of the charging head about the mounting assembly arm (Col. 6, lines 50-53; a single pivot three-axis mechanism 240 provides for movement of the probe 40 in the x, y, and z axes), and
wherein the pivoting movement of the charger plate assembly about the mounting assembly arm causes the sliding between the vehicle electrical contact and the charger plate electrical contact (Col. 4, lines 9-13; extends the charging probe
40 to a predetermined default position before attempting to couple with the charging port 50 and which delivers a predetermined default charge rate and total charge rather
than a vehicle-specific charge).
Regarding claim 19, Lara discloses wherein the sliding frictional contact between the vehicle electrical contact and the charger plate electrical contact is configured to remove contaminants from each of the vehicle electrical contact and the charger plate electrical contact (Col. 4, lines 44-48; scrapers 55 brush along the surface of the pads 53 as the charging port is deployed and retracted. These scrapers help remove debris and corrosion to ensure a good contact is provided every time the charging port 50 and charging probe 40 couple).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goergen in view of Hau et al. US Patent 11,634,043 (hereinafter Hau).
Regarding claim 20, Goergen fails to disclose the method further comprising: determining that a charge of the battery is below a threshold; and navigating the material handling vehicle toward the charger plate assembly, based on a determination that the charge is below the threshold.
However, Hau further discloses the method further comprising:
determining that a charge of the battery is below a threshold (col. 13, lines 8-11; the battery manager 240 checks the charge level of the battery and determines that the battery needs to be charged based on an indication that the charge level is below a threshold charge level); and
navigating the material handling vehicle toward the charger plate assembly (abstract; autonomously charged), based on a determination that the charge is below the threshold (col. 13, lines 8-11).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goergen to incorporate with the teaching of Hau by autonomously charging the vehicle when the charge level of the battery is below a threshold, because it would be advantageous to maximize battery lifespan and further improve usability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the prior art fails to teach or suggest further inclusion of the charging system further comprising a pair of guide rails supported on the base, wherein the mounting assembly arm is coupled to the guide rails by a plurality of wheels arranged within the guide rails.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art fails to teach or suggest further inclusion of wherein, in the first orientation, a head plane defined by the charger plate assembly is angled relative to a mounting plane defined by the mounting assembly arm, wherein, in the second orientation, the head plane is parallel to the mounting plane, and wherein a biasing element is positioned between the charger plate assembly and the mounting assembly arm to bias the charger plate assembly to the first orientation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8 of the remark, Applicant argues that “Goergen fails to anticipate claim 1”. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees because the charging arm 34 may be moveable along two or more axis properly align the charging plate 35 with the EV contact plate in ¶ 0042. Therefore, this spring-loaded pressing and relative compliance causes the plate of the EV and the plate of the charging station to slide or wipe against each other as they connect and settle under pressure. The cited prior art still reads on the claimed invention.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13, 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZIXUAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 04/23/2026