DETAILED ACTION
Response for Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Group I (claims 1-13 and 18-19) in the reply filed on 09/19/2025 is acknowledged. Non-elected Group II (claims 14-17 and 20) is withdrawn from consideration. Since the applicant did not point out errors of restriction; therefore, the restriction will be treated as without traverse.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2: the term “can be” should be changed to --is-- Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-13 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
In claims 1 and 18: the limitation "the dispenser", as cited in line 2, is indefinite because lack of antecedent basis.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-11 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WU et al. (US 20220175182 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses
A cartridge brewing filter device (drip coffee pouch A, pouch tray 40, fig.1) for use with a cartridge brewing system (brewing machine 10, fig.1), comprising: a filter body (drip coffee pouch A) positioned below a dispenser (dispensing outlet 14, fig.1) of the cartridge brewing system (brewing machine 10) and above the beverage container (cup, fig.1); and a connection system (pouch tray 40) for coupling the filter body (drip coffee pouch A) to the cartridge brewing system (brewing machine 10), wherein the connection system (pouch tray 40) comprises at least one coupling feature (end of pouch tray 40, fig.2) for engaging with the cartridge brewing system (brewing machine 10) and coupling the filter body (drip coffee pouch A) to the cartridge brewing system (brewing machine 10); and wherein the filter body (drip coffee pouch A) has at least one beverage receiving feature (conical chamber of drip coffee pouch A) and one beverage passage feature (plurality outlet holes of drip coffee pouch A).
Regarding claim 2, Wu discloses
the filter body (drip coffee pouch A, fig.1) is adjusted further or closer to the beverage container to adjust for different sized beverage containers [drip coffee pouch A is removable, so it can be adjusted size based on user application].
Regarding claim 5, Wu discloses
the filter body (drip coffee pouch A, fig.1) is designed to hold paper filters [Par.0033 cited: “…area of the plane S1 (area that the dispensing outlet 14 may scan) is allowed to sufficiently cover a drip coffee pouch or a filter paper/filter paper cup containing coffee beans…”].
Regarding claim 6, Wu discloses
the filter body (drip coffee pouch A, fig.1) material comprises non-woven fibrous material [Par.0033 cited: “…area of the plane S1 (area that the dispensing outlet 14 may scan) is allowed to sufficiently cover a drip coffee pouch or a filter paper/filter paper cup containing coffee beans…”].
Regarding claim 7, Wu discloses
a flavor component added to the filter body (drip coffee pouch A, fig.1) during the brewing process to flavor the beverage [Par.0033 cited: “…area of the plane S1 (area that the dispensing outlet 14 may scan) is allowed to sufficiently cover a drip coffee pouch or a filter paper/filter paper cup containing coffee beans…”].
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses
. coffee grinds added to the filter body (drip coffee pouch A, fig.1) during the brewing process for a double brew effect [Par.0033 cited: “…area of the plane S1 (area that the dispensing outlet 14 may scan) is allowed to sufficiently cover a drip coffee pouch or a filter paper/filter paper cup containing coffee beans…”].
Regarding claim 9, Wu discloses
at least one aperture is configured to reduce splashing of the brewed beverage out of the beverage container [cup, fig.1, has an opening].
Regarding claim 10, Wu discloses
the filter body (drip coffee pouch A, fig.1) is easily attachable and removable from the cartridge brewing system (brewing machine 10, fig.1) [See figs.8-10].
Regarding claim 11, Wu discloses
the filter body (drip coffee pouch A, fig.1) is reusable and washable [drip coffee pouch A, fig.1, can be used as reusable and washable].
Regarding claim 18, Wu discloses
A cartridge brewing filter device (drip coffee pouch A, pouch tray 40, fig.1) for use with a cartridge brewing system (brewing machine 10, fig.1), comprising: a filter body (drip coffee pouch A) positioned below the dispenser (dispensing outlet 14, fig.1) of the cartridge brewing system (brewing machine 10) and above the beverage container (cup, fig.1); and a connection system (pouch tray 40) for coupling the cartridge brewing filter device (drip coffee pouch A) to a cartridge brewing system (brewing machine 10), comprising at least one coupling element (end of pouch tray 40, fig.2) for engaging with the cartridge brewing system (brewing machine 10).
Regarding claim 19, Wu discloses
the connection system (pouch tray 40, fig.1) replaces at least a portion of the removable base (mount 30, figs.1-2) of the cartridge brewing system (brewing machine 10, fig.1) [mount 30 can be removed during assembly].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al. (US 20220175182 A1), in view of Rivera (US 20220007877 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses substantially all the features as set forth in claim 1 above, such as the filter body, but does not disclose the filter body comprises a reusable metal filter for eco-friendly brewing.
Rivera discloses a filter body comprises a reusable metal filter [Par.0223 cited: “…the cup 40′ is preferably made from filter paper, the cup can alternatively be made from a reusable mesh, such as a nylon or metal mesh material…”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize filter body of Wu, comprises a reusable metal filter, as taught by Rivera, in order to provide eco-friendly brewing.
Regarding claim 4, Wu discloses substantially all the features as set forth in claim 1 above, such as the filter body, but does not disclose the filter body is a mesh material.
Rivera discloses a filter body is a mesh material [Par.0223 cited: “…the cup 40′ is preferably made from filter paper, the cup can alternatively be made from a reusable mesh, such as a nylon or metal mesh material…”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize filter body of Wu, is a mesh material, as taught by Rivera, in order to provide eco-friendly brewing.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al. (US 20220175182 A1), in view of Footz et al. (US 20210401219 A1). Regarding claim 12, Wu discloses substantially all the features as set forth in claim 1 above, such as the connection system, but does not disclose the connection system comprises a magnetic coupling for easy attachment and detachment.
Footz discloses a cartridge brewing filter device (100, fig.2) comprises: a connection system (registration element 124, fig.2) comprises a magnetic coupling [Par.0131 cited: “…depending on the material of the registration element, the registration element can also be coupled to the filter element by other means including, but not limited to, chemical processes, mechanical means (e.g. fasteners), magnetic means, or interference fit…”]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize a connection system of Wu, comprises a magnetic coupling, as taught by Footz, in order to provide easy attachment and detachment.
Regarding claim 13, Wu discloses substantially all the features as set forth in claim 1 above, such as the connection system, but does not disclose the connection system comprises a magnetic coupling for easy attachment and detachment.
Footz discloses a cartridge brewing filter device (beverage capsule 100, figs.1-2) comprises: a connection system (registration element 124, fig.2) comprises a mechanical coupling [Par.0131 cited: “…depending on the material of the registration element, the registration element can also be coupled to the filter element by other means including, but not limited to, chemical processes, mechanical means (e.g. fasteners), magnetic means, or interference fit…”]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize a connection system of Wu, comprises a mechanical coupling, as taught by Footz, in order to provide easy attachment and detachment.
Conclusion
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
12/05/2025