DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claims 21, 22, and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities: All abbreviations must be expanded (spelled out at first instance). For example RRC in claim 21, PUSCH in claim 22, and PDSCH in claim 30 . Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, see ARGUMENTS, filed on 11/10/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3-8, 10-11, 13-15, 17-18, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon et al., (Pub. No.: US 2020/0351955 A1), the rejection of claims 2, 9, 12, 16, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al., (Pub. No.: US 2020/0351955A1), in view of Rao et al., (Pub. No.: US 2023/0379860 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the non-final rejection dated 08/08/2025 has overcome. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made. Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastergardoost et al., (International Publication Number: WO 2021/146702 A1), in view of Elshafie et al., (Pub. No.: US 2023/0269720 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 21-22, 26-32, and 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastergardoost et al., (International Publication Number: WO 2021/146702 A1), in view of Elshafie et al., (Pub. No.: US 2023/0269720 A1 ).
Claims 1-20. (Cancelled)
Regarding Claim 21, (New) Rastergardoost discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, comprising: (Rastergardoost, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0054] mobile communication network 100, paragraph [0056]-[0057] wireless device 106 which is a user equipment (UE), Fig. 15, paragraph [0196] wireless device 1502)
a transmitter; (Rastergardoost, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0059] wireless device transmitter)
a receiver; (Rastergardoost, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0059] wireless device has a receiver) and
a processor; (Rastergardoost, Fig. 15, processing system 1518 which is a processor)
wherein the transmitter (Rastergardoost, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0059] wireless device transmitter), the receiver (Rastergardoost, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0059] wireless device has a receiver), and the processor are configured to (Rastergardoost, Fig. 15, processing system 1518 which is a processor):
receive a first signaling, the first signaling being used to: (i) activate a scheduling or (ii) de-activate the scheduling; (Rastergardoost, Fig. 18, paragraph [0395] Fig. 18 shows of signaling for configuration, activation, transmission and deactivation of scheduling) and
Rastergardoost does not explicitly disclose following:
responsive to receiving the first signaling, and only when the UE is in an RRC_CONNECTED state, transmit a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request-Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) on a first time-frequency resource block.
However, Rastergardoost in view of Elshafie discloses following:
responsive to receiving the first signaling, and only when the UE is in an RRC_CONNECTED state, transmit a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request-Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) on a first time-frequency resource block. (Elshafie, paragraphs [0054], [0069], Fig. 9, paragraph [0075], and paragraph [0081] illustrate and disclose that when UE is in RRC connection 906 transmit the HARQ feedback which is HARQ-ACK 914A/914B utilizing a resource block)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Rastergardoost before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Elshafie so that responsive to receiving the first signaling, and only when the UE is in an RRC_CONNECTED state, transmit a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request-Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) on a first time-frequency resource block. The motivation to combine the teachings of Elshafie would enable transmission of HARQ-ACK in RRC_CONNECTED state. Further, it would support and control HARQ operations (Elshafie, paragraphs [0002], [0034], [0062]-[0066])
Regarding Claim 22, (New) The combination of Rastergardoost and Elshafie disclose the UE of claim 21, wherein the HARQ-ACK is transmitted on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or multiplexed on a PUSCH. (Elshafie, Fig. 4, paragraph [0069] UE transmits a HARQ feedback message (such as a HARQ-ACK) in a PUCCH resource 406, Fig. 9, paragraph [0075] UE 902 transmits HARQ feedback message on PUCCH 914 A, The UE 902 transmits a HARQ feedback message 914B on a PUCCH)
Regarding Claim 26, (New) The combination of Rastergardoost and Elshafie disclose the UE of claim 21 (Rastergardoost, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0056]-[0057] wireless device 106 which is a user equipment (UE), wherein the transmitter, the receiver, and the processor are further configured to (Rastergardoost, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0059] wireless device transmitter, receiver, Fig. 15, processing system 1518 which is a processor) :
responsive to receiving the first signaling, and only when the UE is in an RRC_INACTIVE state, switch to a first RRC state, wherein the first RRC state is one of RRC_INACTIVE state RRC_IDLE state; (Rastergardoost, Fig. 6, paragraph [0097] The RRC state transitions (switches) from RRC inactive 606 to RRC connected 602 through connection resume procedure 614)
wherein the first signaling is used to deactivate the first scheduling. (Rastergardoost, Fig. 18, paragraph [0395] Fig. 18 shows of signaling for configuration, and de-activating the scheduling)
Regarding Claim 27, (New) The combination of Rastergardoost and Elshafie disclose the UE of claim 21 (Rastergardoost, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0056]-[0057] wireless device 106 which is a user equipment (UE), wherein the transmitter, the receiver, and the processor are further configured to (Rastergardoost, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0059] wireless device transmitter, receiver, Fig. 15, processing system 1518 which is a processor) :
responsive to receiving the first signaling (Rastergardoost, Fig. 18, paragraph [0395] Fig. 18 shows of signaling for configuration), and only when the UE (Rastergardoost, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0056]-[0057] wireless device 106 which is a user equipment (UE) is in an RRC_INACTIVE state (Rastergardoost, Fig. 6, paragraph [0095] RRC inactive 606 (e.g. RRC_INACTIVE state), monitor a second signaling in a time window (Rastergardoost, Fig. 25 explicitly illustrates time window, [0272] monitor the second PDCCH);
wherein the first signaling is used to de-activate the first scheduling (Rastergardoost, Fig. 18, paragraph [0395] Fig. 18 shows of signaling for configuration, and de-activating the scheduling) and the second signaling is scheduled by a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) (Rastergardoost, Fig. 5A explicitly discloses/illustrates PDCCH, [0272] second PDCCH which corresponds to second signaling) addressed to a unicast Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) (Rastergardoost, paragraph [0171] discloses Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) which is for point to point communication (unicast)).
Regarding Claim 28, (New) The combination of Rastergardoost and Elshafie disclose the UE of claim 21 (Rastergardoost, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0056]-[0057] wireless device 106 which is a user equipment (UE), wherein the transmitter, the receiver, and the processor are further configured to (Rastergardoost, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0059] wireless device transmitter, receiver, Fig. 15, processing system 1518 which is a processor) :
receive a first radio signal (Rastergardoost, paragraph [0060] discloses radio signal), wherein the first scheduling is used to determine configuration information of the first radio signal (Rastergardoost, paragraph [0060] discloses radio signal), the configuration information comprising at least one of occupied frequency-domain resources, occupied time-domain resources (Rastergardoost, paragraphs [0134], and [0150] disclose time and/or frequency domain, paragraph [0165] discloses time-frequency resource, Fig. 8, paragraph [0011] discloses time and frequency domain, Fig. 11B, time and frequency domain), a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) (Rastergardoost, paragraph [0185] Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS), or a HARQ process number (Rastergardoost, paragraphs [0213]-[0214] disclose HARQ process/processes, paragraph [0216] discloses HARQ process number); and
execute Negative Acknowledgement (NACK)-only (Rastergardoost, paragraph [0244] A HARQ-ACK information bit value 0 represents a negative acknowledgement (NACK)) uplink feedback for the first radio signal (Rastergardoost, Fig. 21 illustrates PUCCH for HARQ feedback, Fig. 22 also illustrates PUCCH for HARQ feedback which is uplink feedback).
Regarding Claim 29, (New) The combination of Rastergardoost and Elshafie disclose the UE of claim 21, wherein the first time-frequency resource block is a PUCCH resource (Rastergardoost, paragraph [0194] discloses PUCCH resource, [0151] assign resource block), wherein time-domain resources (Rastergardoost, paragraphs [0134], and [0150] disclose time and/or frequency domain, paragraph [0165] discloses time-frequency resource) included in the first time-frequency resource block (Rastergardoost, paragraphs [0134], and [0150] disclose time and/or frequency domain, paragraph [0165] discloses time-frequency resource, [0151] assign resource block) are indicated by the first signaling (Rastergardoost, Fig. 18, paragraph [0395] Fig. 18 shows of signaling for configuration), and frequency-domain resources (Rastergardoost, paragraphs [0134], and [0150] disclose time and/or frequency domain, paragraph [0165] discloses time-frequency resource) included in the first time-frequency resource block (Rastergardoost, paragraphs [0134], and [0150] disclose time and/or frequency domain, paragraph [0165] discloses time-frequency resource), [0151] assign resource block are configured by a PUCCH-Config (Rastergardoost, paragraph [0430] explicitly discloses one or more PUCCH configurations).
Regarding Claim 30, (New) The combination of Rastergardoost and Elshafie disclose the UE of claim 21 (Rastergardoost, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0056]-[0057] wireless device 106 which is a user equipment (UE), wherein when the first signaling is used to activate the scheduling (Rastergardoost, Fig. 18, paragraph [0395] Fig. 18 shows of signaling for configuration, and activating the scheduling), the HARQ-ACK indicates whether a PDSCH (Rastergardoost, Fig. 5A discloses and explicitly illustrates PDSCH) scheduled by the first signaling is correctly received (Rastergardoost, Fig. 18, paragraph [0395] Fig. 18 shows of signaling for configuration, paragraph [0244] HARQ-ACK information bit value 1 represents a positive acknowledgement (ACK), positive acknowledgement ACK indicates correct reception of the signaling), and when the first signaling is used to de-activate the scheduling (Rastergardoost, Fig. 18, paragraph [0395] Fig. 18 shows of signaling for configuration, and de-activating the scheduling), the HARQ-ACK is an ACK indicating correct reception of the first signaling (Rastergardoost, paragraph [0244] HARQ-ACK information bit value 1 represents a positive acknowledgement (ACK), positive acknowledgement ACK indicates correct reception of the signaling).
Regarding Claim 31, (New) Rastergardoost discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, the method comprising: (Rastergardoost, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0054] mobile communication network 100, paragraph [0056]-[0057] wireless device 106 which is a user equipment (UE), Fig. 15, paragraph [0196] wireless device 1502)
receiving a first signaling, the first signaling being used to: (i) activate a scheduling, or (ii) de-activate the scheduling; (Rastergardoost, Fig. 18, paragraph [0395] Fig. 18 shows of signaling for configuration, activation, transmission and deactivation of scheduling) and
Rastergardoost does not explicitly disclose following:
responsive to receiving the first signaling, and only when the UE is in an RRC_CONNECTED state, transmit a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request-Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) on a first time-frequency resource block.
However, Rastergardoost in view of Elshafie discloses following:
responsive to receiving the first signaling, and only when the UE is in an RRC_CONNECTED state, transmit a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request-Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) on a first time-frequency resource block. (Elshafie, paragraphs [0054], [0069], Fig. 9, paragraph [0075], and paragraph [0081] illustrate and disclose that when UE is in RRC connection 906 transmit the HARQ feedback which is HARQ-ACK 914A/914B utilizing a resource block)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Rastergardoost before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Elshafie so that responsive to receiving the first signaling, and only when the UE is in an RRC_CONNECTED state, transmit a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request-Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) on a first time-frequency resource block is included in a method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Elshafie would enable transmission of HARQ-ACK in RRC_CONNECTED state. Further, it would support and control HARQ operations (Elshafie, paragraphs [0002], [0034], [0062]-[0066])
Regarding Claim 32, (New) The combination of Rastergardoost and Elshafie disclose the method of claim 31, wherein the HARQ-ACK is transmitted on a PUCCH or multiplexed on a PUSCH. (Elshafie, Fig. 4, paragraph [0069] UE 902 transmits a HARQ feedback message (such as a HARQ-ACK) in a PUCCH resource 406, Fig. 9, paragraph [0075] UE transmits HARQ feedback message on PUCCH 914 A, The UE 902 transmits a HARQ feedback message 914B on a PUCCH)
Regarding Claim 36, (New) The combination of Rastergardoost and Elshafie disclose the method of claim 31, further comprising:
responsive to receiving the first signaling, and only when the UE is in an RRC_INACTIVE state, switch to a first RRC state, wherein the first RRC state is one of RRC_INACTIVE state RRC_IDLE state; (Rastergardoost, Fig. 6, paragraph [0097] The RRC state transitions (switches) from RRC inactive 606 to RRC connected 602 through connection resume procedure 614)
wherein the first signaling is used to deactivate the first scheduling. (Rastergardoost, Fig. 18, paragraph [0395] Fig. 18 shows of signaling for configuration, and de-activating the scheduling)
Regarding Claim 37, (New) The combination of Rastergardoost and Elshafie disclose the method of claim 31, further comprising:
responsive to receiving the first signaling (Rastergardoost, Fig. 18, paragraph [0395] Fig. 18 shows of signaling for configuration), and only when the UE is in an RRC_INACTIVE state (Rastergardoost, Fig. 6, paragraph [0095] RRC inactive 606 (e.g. RRC_INACTIVE state), monitoring a second signaling in a time window (Rastergardoost, Fig. 25 explicitly illustrates time window);
wherein the first signaling is used to de-activate the first scheduling (Rastergardoost, Fig. 18, paragraph [0395] Fig. 18 shows of signaling for configuration, and de-activating the scheduling) and the second signaling (Rastergardoost, Fig. 18, paragraph [0395] Fig. 18 shows of signaling for configuration) is scheduled by a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) (Rastergardoost, Fig. 5A discloses PDCCH) addressed to a unicast Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) (Rastergardoost, paragraph [0171] discloses Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) which is for point to point communication (unicast)).
Regarding Claim 38, (New) The combination of Rastergardoost and Elshafie disclose the method of claim 31, wherein further comprising:
receiving a first radio signal (Rastergardoost, paragraph [0060] discloses radio signal), wherein the first scheduling is used to determine configuration information of the first radio signal (Rastergardoost, paragraph [0060] discloses radio signal), the configuration information comprising at least one of occupied frequency-domain resources, occupied time-domain resources (Rastergardoost, paragraphs [0134], and [0150] disclose time and/or frequency domain, paragraph [0165] discloses time-frequency resource), a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) (Rastergardoost, paragraph [0180] discloses a modulation and coding scheme (MCS)), or a HARQ process number (Rastergardoost, paragraphs [0213]-[0214] disclose HARQ process/processes, paragraph [0216] discloses HARQ process number); and
executing Negative Acknowledgement (NACK)-only (Rastergardoost, paragraph [0244] A HARQ-ACK information bit value 0 represents a negative acknowledgement (NACK)) uplink feedback for the first radio signal (Rastergardoost, Fig. 21 illustrates PUCCH for HARQ feedback, Fig. 22 also illustrates PUCCH for HARQ feedback which is uplink feedback, paragraph [0060] discloses radio signal)).
Regarding Claim 39, (New) The combination of Rastergardoost and Elshafie disclose the method of claim 31, wherein the first time-frequency resource block (Rastergardoost, paragraphs [0134], and [0150] disclose time and/or frequency domain, paragraph [0165] discloses time-frequency resource, [0151] assign resource block) is a PUCCH resource (Rastergardoost, paragraph [0194] discloses PUCCH resource), wherein time-domain resources included in the first time-frequency (Rastergardoost, paragraphs [0134], and [0150] disclose time and/or frequency domain, paragraph [0165] discloses time-frequency resource, [0151] assign resource block) resource block are indicated by the first signaling (Rastergardoost, Fig. 18, paragraph [0395] Fig. 18 shows of signaling for configuration), and frequency-domain resources included in the first time-frequency resource block (Rastergardoost, paragraphs [0134], and [0150] disclose time and/or frequency domain, paragraph [0165] discloses time-frequency resource, [0151] assign resource block) are configured by a PUCCH-Config (Rastergardoost, paragraph [0430] explicitly discloses one or more PUCCH configurations).
Regarding Claim 40, (New) The combination of Rastergardoost and Elshafie disclose the method of claim 31, wherein when the first signaling is used to activate the scheduling (Rastergardoost, Fig. 18, paragraph [0395] Fig. 18 shows of signaling for configuration, and activating the scheduling), the HARQ-ACK indicates whether a PDSCH scheduled by the first signaling is correctly received, and when the first signaling is used to de-activate the scheduling (Rastergardoost, Fig. 18, paragraph [0395] Fig. 18 shows of signaling for configuration, and de-activating the scheduling), the HARQ-ACK is an ACK indicating correct reception of the first signaling (Rastergardoost, paragraph [0244] HARQ-ACK information bit value 1 represents a positive acknowledgement (ACK)).
8. Claims 23-25 and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastergardoost et al., (International Publication Number: WO 2021/146702 A1), in view of Elshafie et al., (Pub. No.: US 2023/0269720 A1 ), and further in view of Xiong et al., (Pub. No.: US 2022/0225428 A1).
Regarding Claim 23, (New) The combination of Rastergardoost and Elshafie disclose the UE of claim 21, wherein the transmitter, the receiver, and the processor are further configured to:
Rastergardoost and Elshafie do not explicitly disclose following:
responsive to receiving the first signaling, and only when the UE is in an RRC_INACTIVE state, transmit a HARQ-ACK on a second time-frequency resource block. (Xiong, paragraphs [0176], [0185], and [0030] when UE is in RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE state, the UE transmits/provides feedback (i.e. HARQ-ACK) to the gNB on second time-frequency resource block)
However, Rastergardoost and Elshafie in view of Xiong disclose following:
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Rastergardoost and Elshafie before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Xiong so that responsive to receiving the first signaling, and only when the UE is in an RRC_INACTIVE state, transmit a HARQ-ACK on a second time-frequency resource block be included in the system (i.e. UE). The motivation to combine the teachings of Xiong would enable HARQ-ACK feedback in RRC_INACTIVE state on second resource block. (Xiong, Abstract, paragraphs [0004], [0006], [0030], [0037], [0040, [0176], [0185], and [0191])
Regarding Claim 24, (New) The combination of Rastergardoost, and Elshafie disclose the UE of claim 23 (Rastergardoost, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0056]-[0057] wireless device 106 which is a user equipment (UE),
Rastergardoost, and Elshafie do not disclose following:
wherein at least one resource element (RE) belongs to the second time frequency resource block and does not belong to the first time-frequency resource block.
However, Rastergardoost and Elshafie in view of Xiong disclose following:
wherein at least one resource element (RE) belongs to the second time frequency resource block and does not belong to the first time-frequency resource block. (Xiong, paragraph [0030] A resource block (RB) includes a collection of resource elements, each resource grid includes number of resource blocks (i.e. second resource block), paragraph [0037] common RBs numbered from 0 and upwards resource blocks (RBs), paragraph [0054] allocation equals the number of RBs (i.e. second RB))
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Rastergardoost and Elshafie before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Xiong so that wherein at least one resource element (RE) belongs to the second time frequency resource block and does not belong to the first time-frequency resource block be included in the system (i.e. UE). The motivation to combine the teachings of Xiong would enable one resource element which corresponds to the second resource block (RB). (Xiong, Abstract, paragraphs [0030], [0037], and [0054])
Regarding Claim 25, (New) The combination of Rastegardoost and Elshafie disclose the UE of claim 23 (Rastergardoost, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0056]-[0057] wireless device 106 which is a user equipment (UE), time-frequency (Rastergardoost, paragraph [0134] discloses time and frequency domain, paragraph [0165] discloses time-frequency resource) is carried on a Uplink Shared Channel (UL-SCH) (Rastergardoost, Fig. 5B explicitly discloses/illustrates Uplink Shared Channel (UL-SCH)).
Rastergardoost, and Elshafie do not explicitly disclose following:
wherein the HARQ-ACK transmitted on the second time frequency resource block
However, Rastergardoost, and Elshafie in view of Xiong disclose following:
wherein the HARQ-ACK transmitted on the second resource block (Xiong, Abstract, paragraphs [0004]-[0006], HARQ-ACK transmitted, [0030], each resource grid includes number of resource blocks (i.e. second resource block), [0037] common RBs numbered from 0 and upwards resource blocks, paragraph [0054] allocation equals the number of RBs (i.e. second resource block (RB))
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Rastergardoost, and Elshafie before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Xiong so that wherein the HARQ-ACK transmitted on the second resource block be included in the system (i.e. UE). The motivation to combine the teachings of Xiong would enable the HARQ-ACK transmission on the second resource block (RB). (Xiong, Abstract, paragraphs [0004], [0006], [0030], [0037], and [0054])
Regarding Claim 33, (New) Rastergardoost discloses the method of claim 31, further comprising:
Rastergardoost and Elshafie do not explicitly disclose following:
responsive to receiving the first signaling, and only when the UE is in an RRC_INACTIVE state, transmit a HARQ-ACK on a second time-frequency resource block. (Xiong, paragraphs [0176], [0185], and [0030] when UE is in RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE state, the UE transmits/provides feedback (i.e. HARQ-ACK) to the gNB on second time-frequency resource block)
However, Rastergardoost and Elshafie in view of Xiong disclose following:
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Rastergardoost and Elshafie before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Xiong so that responsive to receiving the first signaling, and only when the UE is in an RRC_INACTIVE state, transmit a HARQ-ACK on a second time-frequency resource block be included in the method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Xiong would enable HARQ-ACK feedback in RRC_INACTIVE state on second resource block. (Xiong, Abstract, paragraphs [0004], [0006], [0030], [0037], [0040, [0176], [0185], and [0191])
Regarding Claim 34, (New) The combination of Rastergardoost, and Elshafie disclose the method of claim 33 (Rastergardoost, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0056]-[0057] wireless device 106 which is a user equipment (UE),
Rastergardoost, and Elshafie do not disclose following:
wherein at least one resource element (RE) belongs to the second time frequency resource block and does not belong to the first time-frequency resource block.
However, Rastergardoost and Elshafie in view of Xiong disclose following:
wherein at least one resource element (RE) belongs to the second time frequency resource block and does not belong to the first time-frequency resource block. (Xiong, paragraph [0030] A resource block (RB) includes a collection of resource elements, each resource grid includes number of resource blocks (i.e. second resource block), paragraph [0037] common RBs numbered from 0 and upwards resource blocks (RBs), paragraph [0054] allocation equals the number of RBs (i.e. second RB))
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Rastergardoost and Elshafie before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Xiong so that wherein at least one resource element (RE) belongs to the second time frequency resource block and does not belong to the first time-frequency resource block be included in the method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Xiong would enable one resource element which corresponds to the second resource block (RB). (Xiong, Abstract, paragraphs [0030], [0037], and [0054])
Regarding Claim 35, (New) The combination of Rastergardoost, and Elshafie disclose the method of claim 33, wherein the HARQ-ACK transmitted Rastergardoost, paragraph [0192] discloses UE transmits HARQ-ACK) is carried on a Uplink Shared Channel (UL-SCH) (Rastergardoost, Fig. 5B explicitly discloses/illustrates Uplink Shared Channel (UL-SCH)).
Rastergardoost, and Elshafie do not explicitly disclose following:
wherein the HARQ-ACK transmitted on the second resource block
However, Rastergardoost, and Elshafie in view of Xiong disclose following:
wherein the HARQ-ACK transmitted on the second time-frequency resource block (Xiong, Abstract, paragraphs [0004]-[0006], HARQ-ACK transmitted, [0030], each resource grid includes number of resource blocks (i.e. second resource block), [0037] common RBs numbered from 0 and upwards resource blocks, paragraph [0054] allocation equals the number of RBs (i.e. second resource block (RB))
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Rastergardoost, and Elshafie before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Xiong so that wherein the HARQ-ACK transmitted on the second resource block be included in the system (i.e. UE). The motivation to combine the teachings of Xiong would enable the HARQ-ACK transmission on the second resource block (RB). (Xiong, Abstract, paragraphs [0004], [0006], [0030], [0037], and [0054])
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.K.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472