Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 03/06/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
“combinational logic circuit” (claim 1)
“logic circuit” (claim 8)
“second logic-OR gate having a first input configured to receive the second logic signal” (claim 5) – This connection does not appear to be drawn. The “second logic-OR gate” is interpreted to be the “reset circuit 409”. The “second logic signal” is interpreted to be the “HIGH_IRQ” signal, in accordance with claim 2’s limitations. However, Fig. 2 depicts the “DET_HIGH” signal (not claimed) being input to “409”, rather than “HIGH_IRQ”. Thus, the claimed connection differs from the drawing.
The drawings are objected to because:
Fig. 2B is lacking a label for the horizontal axis (interpreted as time).
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). The specification lacks antecedent basis for the following claim terms:
“first logic signal” (claim 1) – interpreted as equivalent to “comparison voltage VBAT_LEVEL”
“second logic signal” (claim 1) – interpreted as equivalent to “edge detection voltage LEVEL_HIGH” (Fig. 3) and “HIGH_IRQ” (Fig. 4)
“third logic signal” (claim 1) – interpreted as equivalent to “output voltage LEVEL_LOW” (Fig. 3) and “LOW_IRQ” (Fig. 4)
“combinational logic circuit” (claim 1)
“fourth logic signal” (claim 1) – interpreted as equivalent to “interruption signal IT” (Fig. 3) and “interruption signal IRQ” (Fig. 4)
“first logic-AND gate” (claim 2) – interpreted as equivalent to “"AND"-type logic gate 410-1” (Fig. 4)
“fifth logic signal” (claim 2) – interpreted as equivalent to “HIGH_IRQ_2” (Fig. 4)
“sixth logic signal” (claim 2) – interpreted as equivalent to “LOW_IRQ_2” (Fig. 4)
“first enable signal” (claim 2) – interpreted as equivalent to “LOW_IRQ_EN” (Fig. 4)
“second logic-AND gate” (claim 2) – interp. as equiv. to “"AND"-type logic gate 410-2”
“second enable signal” (claim 2) – interpreted as equivalent to “HIGH_IRQ_EN”
“first logic-OR gate” (claim 2) – interp. as equiv. to “interruption generation circuit 411”
“second logic-OR gate” (claim 5) – inter. as equiv. to “reset circuit 409” (Fig. 4)
“counter reset signal” (claim 5) – interp. as equiv. to “CNT_RST” (Fig. 4)
“logic circuit” (claim 8)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10-11, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 5 recites “the first signal”, which is interpreted as “the first logic signal”.
Claim 10, line 2 should be revised to incorporate a comma after “the limiting value”.
Claim 11 recites “gas a result”, which is interpreted as “[[gas]] as a result”.
Claim 13, line 2 should be revised to incorporate a comma after “the second voltage”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 1 and claim 8, line 1 are each indefinite as to which feature (“circuit” or “battery”) is being modified by “comprising:”. For examination purposes, this language is interpreted as revised to “wherein the circuit comprises:”.
Claim 6 recites “the monitoring circuit according to claim 1”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. For examination purposes, it is assumed the “monitoring circuit” of claim 6 is in reference to the “circuit” of claim 1’s preamble.
Claim 13 recites “said electronic device”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim 14 recites “the device”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim 19 recites “said monitoring circuit according to claim 8”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. For examination purposes, it is assumed the “monitoring circuit” of claim 19 is in reference to the “circuit” of claim 8’s preamble.
Claims 2-5, 7, 9-12, 15-18, and 20 are further rejected for their dependency on other rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Heo et al. (US 2023/0276367 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Heo discloses a circuit (“power management integrated circuit (PMIC) 220”; see annotated Figs. 9-10, included infra) for monitoring a first voltage (“power supply voltage Vin”; Figs. 9-10) delivered by a battery (“battery 210”; Fig. 9), said circuit comprising the following features.
Heo further discloses a comparator (“comparator 225”; Fig. 10; ¶ [79]: “225 compares the power supply voltage Vin provided to the battery power pad (VBAT) with the reference voltage REF”) configured to compare the first voltage (“Vin”) with a second voltage (“reference voltage REF”; Fig. 10).
Heo further discloses a counter (“counter 226-1” within “debounce logic 226”; Figs. 10-11; ¶ [82-83]) configured to start counting (¶ [83]: “226-1 counts the comparison signal using a counter responsive to the target counter bit data. In this manner, different debounce times may be applied to the counter(s).”) each time the comparator (“225” with output “CMP_OUT” to “226”; Figs. 10-11) indicates that the first voltage (“Vin”) is smaller than the second voltage (“REF”).
Heo further discloses a logic circuit (combination of “AND logic gate 226-2”, “flip-flop 226-3”, and “open drain pad 227”; Figs. 10-11) configured to generate an interruption signal (“sudden voltage drop (SVD) alarm signal”; Figs. 9-11; ¶ [81]: “227 outputs the SVD alarm signal to a signal pad (LOWBAT), for example, in response to the debounced comparison signal provided by the debounce logic 226”).
NOTE: The word “generate” can be interpreted broadly. Any signal that comes from a device is considered to be generated by that device. This is true regardless of whether the generated signal is in a steady logic Low state, steady logic High state, open-drain/collector, or time-varying.
Heo further discloses said interruption signal (“SVD alarm signal”, output of “227” per ¶ [81]; Fig. 10) is generated when a value of the counter (226-1) during said counting exceeds a limiting value (when voltage droop time exceeds the “debounce time”, “SVD” is pulled to “GND” by “transistor MT”, thus generating a low-voltage output signal).
Heo further discloses said interruption signal (“SVD alarm signal”, output of “227” per ¶ [81]; Fig. 10) is generated when the comparator (225) indicates that the first voltage is greater than the second voltage (when “Vin” exceeds “REF” for shorter than “debounce time”, “SVD” is maintained at “GND” level, thus generating a low-voltage output signal; when “Vin” exceeds “REF” for longer than “debounce time”, “SVD” is changed to an open drain state, thus generating an open drain output signal).
Regarding Claim 9, Heo discloses the circuit according to claim 8.
Heo further discloses the interruption signal (“sudden voltage drop (SVD) alarm signal”; Figs. 9-11; ¶ [81]: “227 outputs the SVD alarm signal to a signal pad (LOWBAT)”) is configured to modify an operating mode (¶ [89]: “adjusting the frequency of an operating clock provided to a CPU in response to an SVD alarm signal”; Fig. 12, step S330: “adjust CLK”) of an electronic device (“mobile device 200”; Fig. 9) comprising said battery (“battery 210”; Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 10, Heo discloses the circuit according to claim 9.
Heo further discloses that when the interruption signal (“SVD alarm signal”) is generated because said value of the counter (226-1) exceeds the limiting value (“debounce time”) then said electronic device (200) switches to a low-consumption mode (¶ [5]: “operating clock has a … second frequency lower than the first frequency in response to the positive alarm signal”; ¶ [86]: “in response to the SVD alarm signal, the clock divider 232 adjusts the frequency of the operating clock CLK provided to the CPU 234”).
Regarding Claim 11, Heo discloses the circuit according to claim 10.
NOTE: The rejection hereinafter relies on a broad interpretation of “generating”. Because Heo teaches the interruption signal (“SVD alarm signal”) is output as either a grounded state (pulled to “GND” by “transistor MT”) or an open drain state (“MT” in off-state), one could interpret either of these states as being generated. In this case, the interruption signal (“SVD”) is considered to be generated (i.e., placed in the open drain state) when “Vin” > “REF” and considered to be disabled (i.e., placed in the ground state) when “Vin” < “REF”.
Heo further discloses that when the electronic device (200) is in a low-consumption mode (¶ [5]: “operating clock has a … second frequency lower than the first frequency in response to the positive alarm signal”; ¶ [86]: “in response to the SVD alarm signal, the clock divider 232 adjusts the frequency of the operating clock CLK provided to the CPU 234”), then generating (“generating” is interpreted as the open drain state, as discussed in the note included supra) the interruption signal (“SVD alarm signal”) as a result of the value of said counter (226-1) is greater than said limiting value (“debounce time”) is disabled (if already operating with the “second frequency”, then “SVD” maintains the grounded state until the “Vin” rises to “REF” again).
Regarding Claim 12, Heo discloses the circuit according to claim 11.
Heo further discloses modifying the operating mode comprises decreasing a clock frequency for a processor (“CPU 234”; Fig. 9) during the low-consumption mode (¶ [5]: “operating clock has a … second frequency lower than the first frequency in response to the positive alarm signal”; ¶ [86]: “in response to the SVD alarm signal, the clock divider 232 adjusts the frequency of the operating clock CLK provided to the CPU 234”).
Regarding Claim 13, Heo discloses the circuit according to claim 8.
Heo further discloses that when the interruption signal (“SVD alarm signal”) is generated because said first voltage (“Vin”) is greater than the second voltage (“REF”; when “Vin” exceeds “REF” for longer than “debounce time”, “SVD” is changed to an open drain state) then said electronic device (200) switches to a full power mode (¶ [5]: “operating clock has a first frequency in response to the negative alarm signal”; ¶ [86]: “the operating clock frequency may be maintained at a given (e.g., default) frequency when the power supply voltage Vin is higher than the reference voltage REF”).
Regarding Claim 14, Heo discloses the circuit according to claim 13.
NOTE: The rejection hereinafter relies on a broad interpretation of “generation”. Because Heo teaches the interruption signal (“SVD alarm signal”) is output as either a grounded state (pulled to “GND” by “transistor MT”) or an open drain state (“MT” in off-state), one could interpret either of these states as being generated. In this case, the interruption signal (“SVD”) is considered to be generated (i.e., placed in the ground state) when “Vin” < “REF”. and considered to be disabled (i.e., placed in the open drain state) when “Vin” > “REF”.
Heo further discloses that when the device (200) is in a full power mode (¶ [5]: “operating clock has a first frequency in response to the negative alarm signal”; ¶ [86]: “the operating clock frequency may be maintained at a given (e.g., default) frequency when the power supply voltage Vin is higher than the reference voltage REF”), then generation (“generation” is interpreted as the grounded state, as discussed in the note included supra) of the interruption signal (“SVD alarm signal”) because said first voltage (“Vin”) is greater than said second voltage (“REF”) is disabled (if already operating with the “first frequency”, then “SVD” maintains the open drain state until the “Vin” droops below “REF” again).
Regarding Claim 15, Heo discloses the circuit according to claim 8.
Heo further discloses the counter (226-1) is configured to be reset (“226-1” starts counting each time the “CMP_out” signal changes state; “CMP_out” is the output of the comparator “225”, which compares “Vin” vs. “REF”) each time the first voltage (“Vin”) is greater than the second voltage (“REF”)
Regarding Claim 17, Heo discloses the circuit according to claim 8.
Heo further discloses the second voltage (“reference voltage REF”; Fig. 10) is configurable (programmable via I2C through “PMIC interface 221” of Figs. 9-10; ¶ [77]: “221 receives power management information (e.g., information defining one or more reference voltage levels) via a serial data communication protocol from an external device”).
Regarding Claim 18, Heo discloses the circuit according to claim 8.
Heo further discloses the limiting value (“debounce time”; Fig. 10-11) is configurable (programmable via I2C through “PMIC interface 221” of Figs. 9-10; ¶ [77]: “221 receives power management information … via a serial data communication protocol from an external device”; ¶ [78]: “power management information is assumed to include … a third part (e.g., 6 bits) provided to debounce logic 226”; ¶ [80]: “debounce times selected by the third part of the power management information”).
Regarding Claim 19, Heo discloses an electronic device (“mobile device 200”; Fig. 9), comprising a battery (210) and said monitoring circuit (220) according to claim 8.
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Morishita (JP 2007-288860 A; hereinafter “Mori”).
Regarding Claim 8, Mori discloses a circuit (“system power supply IC 100”; see annotated Fig. 1, included infra) for monitoring a first voltage (¶ [35]: “power supply voltage (a) of the battery 200”; ¶ [39]: “detection voltage (a)”; Figs. 1-2) delivered by a battery (“battery 200”; Fig. 1), said circuit comprising the following features.
Mori further discloses a comparator (combo of “power supply voltage detection circuit 120” and “delay circuit 125”; Fig. 1; ¶ [25]: “120 includes … a comparator that compares the detection voltage with a predetermined reference value”) configured to compare the first voltage (“(a)”) with a second voltage (“reference value (Th1)”; Fig. 2).
Mori further discloses a counter (combination of “counter circuit 150”, “inverter 130”, and “D flip-flops 135, 140”; Fig. 1) configured to start counting (signal “(e)” shows the start of the counting/timing of the voltage dropout on the transition of “(d)” to logic Low; Figs. 1-2) each time the comparator (120, 125) indicates (via signal “(d)”) that the first voltage (“(a)”) is smaller than the second voltage (“Th1”).
Mori further discloses a logic circuit (combination of “D flip-flop 145”, and “interface circuit 165”; Fig. 1) configured to generate an interruption signal (“interrupt signal (m)”; Fig. 1; ¶ [34]: “165 generates an interrupt signal (m) … to inform the CPU 400 that the power supply voltage drop is an instantaneous interruption”; ¶ [66]).
NOTE: The word “generate” can be interpreted broadly. Any signal that comes from a device is considered to be generated by that device. This is true regardless of whether the generated signal is in a steady logic Low state, steady logic High state, open-drain/collector, or time-varying.
Mori further discloses said interruption signal (“(m)”) is generated (per the interpretation of “generate” discussed in the note supra, the signal “(m)” is generated for the entirety of the sequence shown in Fig. 2; see annotated Fig. 2, included infra) when a value (dropout time, evaluated by comparing signal “(e)” with “(d)”) of the counter (130, 135, 140, 150) during said counting exceeds a limiting value (“instantaneous interruption determination reference period (T0)”; Fig. 2; ¶ [34]: “165 generates an interrupt signal (m) … to inform the CPU 400 that the power supply voltage drop is an instantaneous interruption”; ¶ [66]).
Mori further discloses said interruption signal (“(m)”) is generated (per the interpretation of “generate” discussed in the note supra, the signal “(m)” is generated for the entirety of the sequence shown in Fig. 2; see annotated Fig. 2, included infra) when the comparator (120, 125) indicates that the first voltage (“(a)”) is greater than the second voltage (“Th1”).
Regarding Claim 19, Mori discloses an electronic device (“electronic device 50”; Fig. 1), comprising a battery (200) and said monitoring circuit (100) according to claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishita (JP 2007-288860 A; hereinafter “Mori”) in view of Heo et al. (US 2023/0276367 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Mori discloses a circuit (“system power supply IC 100”; see annotated Fig. 1, included infra) for monitoring a first voltage (¶ [35]: “power supply voltage (a) of the battery 200”; ¶ [39]: “detection voltage (a)”; Figs. 1-2) delivered by a battery (“battery 200”; Fig. 1), said circuit comprising the following features.
Mori further discloses a comparator (combo of “power supply voltage detection circuit 120” and “delay circuit 125”; Fig. 1; ¶ [25]: “120 includes … a comparator that compares the detection voltage with a predetermined reference value”) configured to compare the first voltage (“(a)”) with a second voltage (“reference value (Th1)”; Fig. 2) and generate a first logic signal (“output (d) of the delay circuit 125”; Figs. 1-2; ¶ [39-43]) having a logic state dependent on the comparison (Fig. 2 shows “(d)” is dependent on comparison of “(a)” versus “Th1”, with delay “T3”; see annotated Fig. 2, included infra).
Mori further discloses an edge detector (“control logic circuit 155” in Fig. 1) configured to receive the first logic signal (“(d)” is input to “155”) and assert a second logic signal (“output (i)”; Figs. 1-2) in response to detection of an edge (annotated Fig. 2 shows rising edge of “(a)” results in “(i)” changing logic states to High; ¶ [44]: “When the output (d) of the delay circuit 125 changes from Low to High at timing (3), the output (i) of the control logic circuit 155 changes from Low to High”) of the first signal (“(d)”) indicating that the first voltage (“(a)”) has exceeded the second voltage (“Th1”).
Mori further discloses a counter (combination of “counter circuit 150”, “inverter 130”, and “D flip-flops 135, 140”; Fig. 1) configured to start counting (signal “(e)” shows the start of the counting/timing of the voltage dropout on the transition of “(d)” to logic Low; Figs. 1-2) each time the logic state of the first logic signal (“(d)”) indicates that the first voltage (“(a)”) is less than the second voltage (“Th1”).
Mori further discloses the counter (130, 135, 140, 150) is configured to generate a third logic signal (“output (h) of the D flip flop 140”; Figs. 1-2) having a logic state dependent (Fig. 2 shows output “(h)” becomes logic High in response to the dropout time < T0, but stays logic Low in response to dropout time > T0; ¶ [74]: “output of the D flip-flop 140 can be used as the instantaneous interruption determination result”) on whether a value of the counter exceeds a count limit (“instantaneous interruption determination reference period (T0)”; Fig. 2).
Mori further discloses a combinational logic circuit (combination of “D flip-flop 145”, and “interface circuit 165”; Fig. 1) configured to logically combine the second logic signal (“(i)” is input to “CK” terminal of “145”) and the third logic signal (“(h)” is input to “D” terminal of “145”) to generate a fourth logic signal (“interrupt signal (m)”; Fig. 1; ¶ [34]: “165 generates an interrupt signal (m) … to inform the CPU 400 that the power supply voltage drop is an instantaneous interruption”; ¶ [66]).
Mori further discloses logic state transitions of the fourth logic signal (“interrupt signal (m)”, indicative of whether the dropout time of “(a)” exceeds “T0” or not; logic transitions depicted in Fig. 2).
Mori further discloses an electronic device (“electronic device 50”; Fig. 1) comprising said battery (200).
Mori does not disclose “logic state transitions of the fourth logic signal control modification of an operating mode of an electronic device comprising said battery between a high performance operating mode and a low performance operating mode”.
Heo teaches logic state transitions of the logic signal (“sudden voltage drop (SVD) alarm signal”; Figs. 9-11; ¶ [81]: “227 outputs the SVD alarm signal to a signal pad (LOWBAT), for example, in response to the debounced comparison signal provided by the debounce logic 226”) control modification of an operating mode (¶ [89]: “adjusting the frequency of an operating clock provided to a CPU in response to an SVD alarm signal”; Fig. 12, step S330: “adjust CLK”) of an electronic device (“mobile device 200”; Fig. 9) comprising said battery (“battery 210”; Fig. 9) between a high performance operating mode (¶ [5]: “operating clock has a first frequency in response to the negative alarm signal”; ¶ [86]: “the operating clock frequency may be maintained at a given (e.g., default) frequency when the power supply voltage Vin is higher than the reference voltage REF”) and a low performance operating mode (¶ [5]: “operating clock has a … second frequency lower than the first frequency in response to the positive alarm signal”; ¶ [86]: “in response to the SVD alarm signal, the clock divider 232 adjusts the frequency of the operating clock CLK provided to the CPU 234”).
NOTE: The logic state of the logic signal (“SVD alarm signal”) taught by Heo is indicative of whether a detected battery voltage (“Vin”; Figs. 9-10, 12) has drooped below a reference voltage (“REF”; Fig. 10) for a duration that exceeds a limit (“debounce time”; ¶ [80]; Figs. 10-11). Thus, the logic signal taught by Heo is analogous to the fourth logic signal taught by Mori.
Heo further teaches switching between high/low performance operating modes (by controlling clock frequency) to effectively manage the mobile device’s power (¶ [89]) and extend battery life by reducing power consumption during low-battery conditions (¶ [3, 51-52]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the electronic device disclosed by Mori to switch between high/low performance operating modes in response to logic state transitions of the fourth logic signal, as taught by Heo, to extend the battery life of the electronic device by reducing power consumption during low-battery conditions.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Mori and Heo discloses an electronic device (Mori’s “50” with modifications from Heo’s “mobile device 200”, as detailed supra), comprising: a battery (Mori: “200”; Heo equivalent: “210”) and the monitoring circuit according to claim 1 (Mori’s “100” with modifications from Heo).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishita (JP 2007-288860 A; hereinafter “Mori”) in view of Heo et al. (US 2023/0276367 A1) and Saarisalo et al. (US 2009/0023476 A1; hereinafter “Saar”).
Regarding Claim 7, the combo of Mori & Heo teaches the electronic device of claim 6 (Mori’s “50” with modifications from Heo’s “mobile device 200”, as detailed supra).
Mori does not disclose the electronic device further comprises “a near-field communication circuit”.
Saar teaches the electronic device (“mobile terminal 10”; Fig. 1) further comprises a near-field communication circuit (combination of “antenna 12”, “transmitter 14”, “receiver 16”, and “controller 20”; Fig. 1; ¶ [4]: “communicate with other devices using short-range wireless technology, such as Near Field Communication (NFC)”).
Saar further teaches the near-field communication circuit to enable the electronic device to perform near-field communications, which improves convenience for the user to complete consumer transactions and communicate with other nearby devices (¶ [4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the electronic device disclosed by the combination of Mori and Heo to incorporate a near-field communication circuit, as taught by Saar, to improve convenience for the user to complete consumer transactions and communicate with other nearby devices.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo et al. (US 2023/0276367 A1) in view of Hong (KR 2003-0083071 A).
Regarding Claim 16, Heo discloses the circuit according to claim 8.
Heo discloses the counter (226-1) and said limiting value (“debounce time”).
Heo does not disclose “the counter is configured to be reset each time said value of the counter is greater than said limiting value.”
Hong teaches the counter (“counter 210”; Fig. 3) is configured to be reset each time said value of the counter is greater than said limiting value (annotated Fig. 5, included infra, shows the counter value is reset after it reaches the limiting value “N”).
Hong further teaches resetting the counter each time the count is greater than the limiting value as a hardware implementation of a counter circuit that reduces power consumption compared to other possible implementations (¶ [17]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the counter disclosed by Heo to be reset each time the count is greater than the limiting value, as taught by Hong, as a simple hardware implementation of a counter circuit that has reduced power consumption compared to other possible implementations. It is further noted the reset functionality incorporated into Heo would not prevent the Heo circuit from operating.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo et al. (US 2023/0276367 A1) in view of Saarisalo et al. (US 2009/0023476 A1; hereinafter “Saar”).
Regarding Claim 20, Heo discloses the electronic device (200) according to claim 19.
Heo does not disclose the electronic device comprises “a near-field communication circuit”.
Saar teaches the electronic device (“mobile terminal 10”; Fig. 1) further comprises a near-field communication circuit (combination of “antenna 12”, “transmitter 14”, “receiver 16”, and “controller 20”; Fig. 1; ¶ [4]: “communicate with other devices using short-range wireless technology, such as Near Field Communication (NFC)”).
Saar further teaches the near-field communication circuit to enable the electronic device to perform near-field communications, which improves convenience for the user to complete consumer transactions and communicate with other nearby devices (¶ [4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the electronic device disclosed by Heo to incorporate a near-field communication circuit, as taught by Saar, to improve convenience for the user to complete consumer transactions and communicate with other nearby devices.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishita (JP 2007-288860 A; hereinafter “Mori”) in view of Saarisalo et al. (US 2009/0023476 A1; hereinafter “Saar”).
Regarding Claim 20, Mori discloses the electronic device (50) according to claim 19.
Mori does not disclose the electronic device comprises “a near-field communication circuit”.
Saar teaches the electronic device (“mobile terminal 10”; Fig. 1) further comprises a near-field communication circuit (combination of “antenna 12”, “transmitter 14”, “receiver 16”, and “controller 20”; Fig. 1; ¶ [4]: “communicate with other devices using short-range wireless technology, such as Near Field Communication (NFC)”).
Saar further teaches the near-field communication circuit to enable the electronic device to perform near-field communications, which improves convenience for the user to complete consumer transactions and communicate with other nearby devices (¶ [4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the electronic device disclosed by Mori to incorporate a near-field communication circuit, as taught by Saar, to improve convenience for the user to complete consumer transactions and communicate with other nearby devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objection(s) set forth in this Office action, to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent Claim 2, though the prior art teaches all elements of independent claim 1, as addressed supra, including a circuit for monitoring a first voltage delivered by a battery, comprising a comparator, an edge detector, a combinational logic circuit, and associated logic signals configured to modify an operating mode of an electronic device comprising said battery between a high performance operating mode and a low performance operating mode, it fails to teach the inclusion of and the combination with said combinational logic circuit comprises: a first logic-AND gate having a first input configured to receive the second logic signal, a second input configured to receive a first enable signal asserted logic high when the electronic device is in the low performance operating mode, and an output configured to generate a fifth logic signal; a second logic-AND gate having a first input configured to receive the third logic signal, a second input configured to receive a second enable signal asserted logic high when the electronic device is in the high performance operating mode, and an output configured to generate a sixth logic signal; and a first logic-OR gate having a first input configured to receive the fifth logic signal, a second input configured to receive the sixth logic signal, and an output configured to generate said fourth logic signal.
Claims 3-5 would be allowable due to their dependency on Claim 2.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P MCFARLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859