Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “gripping surface” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 8,475,510 to Simon.
In Reference to Claims 1 and 6
Simon discloses a diffuser, comprising: a hollow rectangular head piece having an outer surface (Fig. 1, 110) and an inner surface (Fig. 1, 120) connected to the outer surface by a flange (Fig. 1, annotated by the examiner), wherein the hollow rectangular head piece is bent (Fig. 1, annotated by the examiner); an air inlet (Fig. 1, 50) disposed on the outer surface of the hollow rectangular head piece and configured to receive air discharged from a hair dryer, wherein the hair dryer may be removably (As showed in Fig. 1) coupled to the air inlet; a plurality of holes (Fig. 1, annotated by the examiner) distributed sporadically on the inner surface of the hollow rectangular head piece; and a plurality of protrusions (Fig. 1, 132) distributed sporadically on the inner surface of the hollow rectangular head piece, wherein each of the plurality of protrusions extends from the inner surface toward a center of the semi-circle, wherein an interior of the hollow rectangular head piece forms a channel for air flow, wherein the channel directs air from the air inlet through said plurality of holes.
Simon discloses a bend inner surface. Simon does not teach the inner surface is bent to a semi-circle shape. According to MPEP: “the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.” Therefore, the Office considers that the shape of the bent inner surface is merely a design choice.
In Reference to Claim 2
Simon discloses the claimed invention except for “ the plurality of holes has different sizes and the spacing from each other is not uniform.” It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange the air passage holes since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
In Reference to Claim 3
Simon discloses the protrusions contain holes from which the air is also distributed. (as showed in Fig. 1, the protrusion is hollow tube)
In Reference to Claim 4
Simon discloses the claimed invention except for “ the protrusion has different lengths.” According to MPEP: “the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.” It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to determine the length of the protrusions.
In Reference to Claim 5
Simon discloses said holes and protrusions are evenly distributed throughout said inner surface. (As showed in Fig. 1)
In Reference to Claim 9
Simon discloses A method of drying hair, said method comprising the steps of: providing a diffuser including: a hollow rectangular head piece (As showed in Fig. 1) having an outer surface (Fig. 1, 110) and an inner surface (Fig. 1, 120) connected to the outer surface by a flange, wherein the head piece is bent (As showed in Fig. 1); an air inlet (Fig. 1, 50) disposed on the outer surface of the hollow rectangular head piece and configured to receive air discharged from a hair dryer, wherein the hair dryer may be removably coupled to the air inlet; a plurality of holes (Fig. 1, annotated by the examiner) distributed sporadically on the inner surface of the hollow rectangular head piece; and a plurality of protrusions (Fig. 1, 132) distributed sporadically on the inner surface of the hollow rectangular head piece, wherein each of the plurality of protrusions extends from the inner surface toward a center of the semi-circle; wherein an interior of the hollow rectangular head piece forms a channel (Fig. 1, show a chamber is formed between the outer surface and the inner surface) for air flow, wherein the channel directs air from the air inlet through said plurality of holes; coupling said hair dryer with said air inlet so that air discharged from the hair drying is directed from the air inlet through the hollow rectangular head piece to said plurality of holes; bringing said inner surface with a plurality of holes and protrusions into a close proximity of a person's wet hair; manipulating said hair dryer so the air is discharged from the hair dryer and is pushed through said inlet to flow and be-released through a plurality of holes on the-inner surface; manipulating the diffuser around the person's wet hair, resulting in hair falling among the protrusions and getting dry while curling around said protrusions. (Since Simon discloses the hair diffuser, the process of using the hair diffuser on the user is an obvious process)
Simon discloses a bend inner surface. Simon does not teach the inner surface is bent to a semi-circle shape. According to MPEP: “the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.” Therefore, the Office considers that the shape of the bent inner surface is merely a design choice.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon in view of US Patent Publication 2018/0064227 to Matheny.
In Reference to Claim 7
Simons discloses an annular insert (Fig. 1, 50) disposed in the air inlet
Simons does not teach the material of the insert.
Matheny teaches the annular insert (Fig. 3, 34) is made of silicone (Paragraph 36)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to incorporate teachings from Matheny into the design of Simon. Doing so, would result in the inlet connector is made in silicon. Both inventions of Simons and Matheny have inlet connectors between the air source and the outlet port. Matheny teaches a silicon air connector which has an improved flexibility in terms of size and shape.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon in view of US Patent Publication 2013/0174439 to Ragosta.
In Reference to Claim 8
Simon discloses the diffuser.
Simon does not teach the inner surface is covered with a gripping finish.
Ragosta teach the inner surface (Fig. 2, 39) is cover by a gripping finish (Fig. 2, 26, the office considers that the mesh 26 is the griping finish)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to incorporate teachings from Rogosta into the design of Simon. Doing so, would result in a mesh surface being attached to the inner surface of the Simon. Both inventions of Simon and Rogosta are in the same field of endeavor, Rogosta teaches a mesh surface reduces the velocity of the heated air passing through the mesh to achieve a fast drying (Paragraph 23)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent 5,235,759, US Patent 5,488,783, USD462141.
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3748
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 10/9/25