DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 1/20/2026 is acknowledged. However, the Applicant has not included an actual traversal and admits that the claims are directed to independent or distinct inventions. The Applicant merely categorically states and alleges that they should be examined together since this can be done without serious burden and doing so serves the public interest, but provides no detailed reasoning.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/07/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner has considered the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 & 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Molinero Benitez (US Patent Application Publication # 2021/0296796).
Regarding Claim 1, Molinero Benitez discloses a sealing adapter bushing assembly (i.e. electrical connector assembly 90) for a power control module (PCM) in an electric vehicle (EV), comprising:
an adapter bushing base (i.e. header 116), configured to be received within an opening in a housing (i.e. housing 12) of the PCM;
a terminal seal (i.e. gasket or ring seal 130) engaged with a surface (i.e. inner wall of cavity 126) of the adapter bushing base and is configured to engage a surface (i.e. bushing annular groove 128) of a terminal (i.e. bushing 102) of the PCM; and
a housing seal (i.e. gaskets or seal rings 134) engaged with a surface (i.e. within grooves 132) of the adapter bushing base and is configured to engage a surface of the housing (Fig. 5-12; Abstract; Paragraphs 0055-0076).
Regarding Claim 2, Molinero Benitez discloses a terminal (i.e. bushing 102) including a terminal groove (i.e. bushing annular groove 128) shaped to receive the terminal seal (i.e. gasket or ring seal 130) (Fig. 6-7; Paragraph 0060).
Regarding Claim 3, Molinero Benitez discloses that the adapter bushing base (i.e. header 116) includes a housing seal groove (i.e. grooves 132) shaped to receive the housing seal (i.e. gaskets or seal rings 134) (Fig. 6-7; Paragraph 0060).
Regarding Claim 4, Molinero Benitez discloses that the adapter bushing base (i.e. header 116) includes an annular shoulder (i.e. flange 118 & socket 122), with a surface, including the housing seal groove (i.e. grooves 132), facing an inner surface of the housing (i.e. housing 12) (Fig. 6-7; Paragraphs 0059-0063).
Regarding Claim 5, Molinero Benitez discloses that the adapter bushing base (i.e. header 116) includes a housing groove (i.e. grooves 132) that engages an inner surface of the housing and an outer surface of the housing (i.e. housing 12) (Fig. 6-7; Paragraphs 0059-0063).
Regarding Claim 8, Molinero Benitez discloses that the adapter bushing base (i.e. header 116) includes a retaining groove (i.e. mounting pattern 120 & gorrove 136) configured to receive a retaining clip (i.e. retainers 138 & fasteners) that axially biases the sealing adapter bushing assembly to compress the housing seal (i.e. gaskets or seal rings 134) (Fig. 6-7; Paragraphs 0059-0063).
Regarding Claim 9, Molinero Benitez discloses a sealing adapter bushing assembly (i.e. electrical connector assembly 90) for a power control module (PCM) in an electric vehicle (EV), comprising:
an adapter bushing base (i.e. header 116), configured to be received within an opening in a housing (i.e. housing 12) of the PCM, having an annular shoulder (i.e. flange 118 & socket 122) with a surface confronting an inner surface of the housing and a housing groove (i.e. grooves 132) shaped to engage the inner surface of the housing and an outer surface of the housing;
a terminal seal (i.e. gasket or ring seal 130) engaged with a surface (i.e. inner wall of cavity 126) of the adapter bushing base and is configured to engage a surface (i.e. bushing annular groove 128) of a terminal (i.e. bushing 102) of the PCM; and
a housing seal (i.e. gaskets or seal rings 134) engaged with the surface of the annular shoulder and the inner surface of the housing (Fig. 5-12; Abstract; Paragraphs 0055-0076).
Regarding Claim 10, Molinero Benitez discloses a terminal (i.e. bushing 102) including a terminal groove (i.e. bushing annular groove 128) shaped to receive the terminal seal (i.e. gasket or ring seal 130) (Fig. 6-7; Paragraph 0060).
Relevant Cited Art
The cited art in PTO-892 was found during the examiner's search, but was not relied upon for this office action. However, it is still considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
/RJA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847