DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1 – 8 in the reply filed on 01/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/26/2026.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weis (US 20210311719) in view of Khoo (US 20130110296).
Regarding claim 1, Weis teaches a method (shown in figure 1 item 10) comprising:
collecting, by a processor in response to a vehicle being connected to any charger, information on the connected charger (figure 1 item 6 a processor defined in paragraph [0029] as when connected or during charging, a control arrangement receiving status information or data of the charging station);
receiving, by the processor, a notification of a communication compatibility conflict from the connected charger or determining, by the processor, whether an error has occurred while performing communication with the connected charger (paragraphs [0029] and [0031] discloses wherein the status data monitors the compatibility of stored software. Paragraph [0032] teaches wherein an error or an incompatibility is determined) ; and
transmitting, by a communication unit, error information on the connected charger to a server based on the information on the connected charger in response to receiving the notification of the communication compatibility conflict from the connected charger or determining the error has occurred (paragraph [0032] teaches wherein a warning message is transmitted to the charger station via a server or an application software for a mobile device),
wherein error history information on the connected charger in the server is updated based on the error information on the connected charger (paragraph [0032] teaches wherein the charging status data is stored in a database for the owner to receive).
wherein information may be displayed on a screen in the vehicle (paragraph [0015] and claim 24 discloses a vehicle display).
Weis does not explicitly teach further comprising: receiving, by an input and output (I/O) unit, first location information and first error history information on at least one first charger within a predetermined first threshold distance from a current location of the vehicle or a specific point selected by a user from the server; displaying, by the input and output (I/O) unit, the first location information and the first error history information on a display screen of the vehicle; determining, by the processor, whether information on charger selection is input from the user based on the first location information and the first error history information displayed on the display screen; and performing, by the processor, route guidance based on the information on the charger selection input from the user.
Khoo teaches receiving, by an input and output (I/O) unit (paragraph [0217] teaches an input and output device BIOS used within the system), first location information (paragraph [0095] teaches wherein location parameters of the charging station is available to the user) and first error history information on at least one first charger within a predetermined first threshold distance from a current location of the vehicle or a specific point selected by a user from the server (paragraph [0079] teaches wherein fault data is provided from the server for each charging station to a user’s mobile device);
displaying, by the input and output (I/O) unit, the first location information and the first error history information on a display screen (paragraph [0069] teaches wherein the electric vehicle may receive communication. paragraph [0079] teaches wherein the location information and error information is displayed on a mobile device to the user);
determining, by the processor, whether information on charger selection is input from the user based on the first location information and the first error history information displayed on the display screen (paragraph [0014] teaches wherein information such as fault data is provided in messages to the user. Paragraph [0095] teaches wherein the user selection is based on the location of charging stations); and
performing, by the processor, route guidance based on the information on the charger selection input from the user (paragraph [0019] teaches wherein route guidance or navigation routes are provided to the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Weis reference with the charging system of the Khoo reference so that users are accurately notified of functioning charging stations.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Khoo reference in paragraph [0148] wherein the users may be provided with accurate information to choose a charging station.
Weis figure 2 shows a method of vehicle error reporting, specifically compatibility conflicts
Regarding claim 2, Weis teaches the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the error information comprises location information and identifier information about the connected charger.
Khoo teaches wherein the error information comprises location information and identifier information about the connected charger (paragraph [0095] teaches information provided to the user includes identifying the station and its location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Weis reference with the charging system of the Khoo reference so that users are accurately notified of functioning charging stations.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Khoo reference in paragraph [0148] wherein the users may be provided with accurate information to choose a charging station.
Khoo figure 2 shows a method of vehicle charging communication between a user, a vehicle, a mobile device, a charging station and a remote server
Regarding claim 5, Weis teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the first error history information comprises information on a cumulative number of communication compatibility conflicts or communication errors between the first charger and other vehicles that occurred within a certain period of time based on a current time (paragraph [0012] teaches wherein charging station status such as compatibility conflicts, is stored within the software).
Regarding claim 6, Weis teaches the method of claim 4, but does not explicitly teach wherein the determining of whether the information on the charger selection is input includes determining, by the vehicle, that the charger selection has not been received in response to the vehicle having not receive an input from the user within a predetermined time selecting a charger or having received an input for an additional search for another charger.
Khoo teaches wherein the determining of whether the information on the charger selection is input includes determining, by the vehicle, that the charger selection has not been received in response to the vehicle having not receive an input from the user within a predetermined time selecting a charger or having received an input for an additional search for another charger (paragraphs [0187] - [0188] teaches wherein charging station parameters may be input automatically from default settings when there user has not entered a selection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Weis reference with the charging system of the Khoo reference so that users are accurately notified of functioning charging stations.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Khoo reference in paragraph [0148] wherein the users may be provided with accurate information to choose a charging station.
Regarding claim 7, Weis teaches the method of claim 4, but does not explicitly teach further comprising receiving, by the communication unit in response to the information on the charger selection from the user is not input, a second location information and a second error history information of at least one second charger except for the first charger within a second threshold distance farther than the predetermined first threshold distance from the current location of the vehicle or a specific point selected by a user from the server.
Khoo teaches comprising receiving, by the communication unit in response to the information on the charger selection from the user is not input, a second location information and a second error history information of at least one second charger except for the first charger within a second threshold distance farther than the predetermined first threshold distance from the current location of the vehicle or a specific point selected by a user from the server (paragraphs [0187] - [0188] teaches wherein charging station parameters may be input automatically from default settings when there user has not entered a selection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Weis reference with the charging system of the Khoo reference so that users are accurately notified of functioning charging stations.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Khoo reference in paragraph [0148] wherein the users may be provided with accurate information to choose a charging station.
Regarding claim 8, Weis teaches the method of claim 7, but does not explicitly teach wherein the second threshold distance is set based on a state of charge (SOC) of a battery mounted in the vehicle.
Khoo teaches wherein the second threshold distance is set based on a state of charge (SOC) of a battery mounted in the vehicle (paragraph [0066] teaches wherein the state of charge of the vehicle battery may be transmitted to the cloud server. Paragraph [0067] teaches wherein the telematics uses information from the cloud server to determine location of charging station for the vehicle to receive charge).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Weis reference with the charging system of the Khoo reference so that users are accurately notified of functioning charging stations.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Khoo reference in paragraph [0148] wherein the users may be provided with accurate information to choose a charging station.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weis (US 20210311719) in view of Khoo (US 20130110296) as applied to claim 2 and in further view of Nakajima (US 20210004848).
Regarding claim 3, Weis and Khoo teach the method of claim 2, but do not explicitly teach wherein the identifier information is a media access control (MAC) address.
Nakajima teaches wherein the identifier information is a media access control (MAC) address (paragraph [0135] teaches wherein an MAC address is used to identify a charging station location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Weis and Khoo references with the charging system of the Nakajima reference so that users are accurately notified of real time information such as coupons for a specific station.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Khoo reference in paragraph [0136] wherein the users may be provided with accurate information to choose a charging station.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101, Applicant’s arguments, see Arguments/remarks, filed 06/24/2026, with respect to claims 1 – 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 of claims 1 – 8 has been withdrawn.
In regards to the rejections under 35 U.S.C 102, Applicant's arguments filed 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are persuasive, therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C 103 under Weis in view of Khoo.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that the Khoo reference does not disclose the limitation of, “receiving, by an input and output (I/O) unit, first location information and first error history information on at least one first charger within a predetermined first threshold distance from a current location of the vehicle or a specific point selected by a user from the server; displaying, by the input and output (I/O) unit, the first location information and the first error history information on a display screen of the vehicle; determining, by the processor, whether information on charger selection is input from the user based on the first location information and the first error history information displayed on the display screen; and performing, by the processor, route guidance based on the information on the charger selection input from the use.” This argument is not persuasive.
As disclosed above for claim 1, Khoo teaches receiving, by an input and output (I/O) unit (paragraph [0217] teaches an input and output device BIOS used within the system), first location information (paragraph [0095] teaches wherein location parameters of the charging station is available to the user) and first error history information on at least one first charger within a predetermined first threshold distance from a current location of the vehicle or a specific point selected by a user from the server (paragraph [0079] teaches wherein fault data is provided from the server for each charging station to a user’s mobile device);
displaying, by the input and output (I/O) unit, the first location information and the first error history information on a display screen (paragraph [0069] teaches wherein the electric vehicle may receive communication. paragraph [0079] teaches wherein the location information and error information is displayed on a mobile device to the user);
determining, by the processor, whether information on charger selection is input from the user based on the first location information and the first error history information displayed on the display screen (paragraph [0014] teaches wherein information such as fault data is provided in messages to the user. Paragraph [0095] teaches wherein the user selection is based on the location of charging stations); and
performing, by the processor, route guidance based on the information on the charger selection input from the user (paragraph [0019] teaches wherein route guidance or navigation routes are provided to the user).
For these reasons, the argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20240083290 A1 Determining Status Of Charging Station Ahtikari; Jussi
Us 20160114686 A1 Communications With Vehicle Beattie, Jr.; James Gordon Et Al.
Us 20200380477 A1 Electric Vehicle Charger Dunjic; Milos Et Al.
Us 20190351783 A1 Mobile Electric Vehicle Charging Station System Goei; Esmond
Us 11836131 B1 Updating Electric Charger Locations Gronowski; Kristoffer
Us 20110025267 A1 Vehicle Battery Charging Kamen; Dean Et Al.
Us 20130127416 A1 Electric Vehicle Charging Station Karner; Donald B. Et Al.
Us 20230152111 A1 Selecting A Charging Maeda; Eri Izumi Et Al.
Us 20170276503 A1 Recommending Charging Station Oh; Jae Cheol Et Al.
Us 20230294546 A1 Server And Charging Control Method Takahashi; Tomoya
Us 20110193522 A1 Managing System For Charging Stations Uesugi; Kenichiro
Us 20140312839 A1 Electric Vehicle Charging Analysis Uyeki; Robert M.
Us 12194880 B1 Reserving A Charging Station Yang; Christopher E. Et Al.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859