DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4, lines 5-8, “an outer rim”; “each opposed edge”; “each outer ring”; the outer rim”; and “a pair of outer rings” are unclear to how these relate to “a plurality of outer rims”; “an opposed edge”; and “a plurality of outer rings” cited earlier in the claim.
Claim 4, lines 11-14, “an inner rim”; “each opposing edge”; “each inner ring”; and “the inner ring” are unclear to how these relate to “a plurality of inner rims”; “an opposing edge”; and “a plurality of inner rings” cited earlier in the claim.
Claims 5 and 9 have similar issues as claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutnyak (4326561) in view of Miller, III (2011/0083898).
Kutnyak discloses a shielded extension cord device (Fig. 4) comprising an electrical cord comprising at least two conducting wires (col. 3, line 67); and a sheath positioned around the electrical cord, wherein the sheath comprises a plurality of sections, wherein the sections are pivotally interconnected and substantially rigid. It is noted that since the sheath of Kutnyak comprises structure and material as claimed, the sheath is bendable along its length but substantially incompressible along its diameter (re-claims 1 and 5).
Kutnyak does not disclose the device comprising a plug attached to a first end of the electrical cord and a socket attached to a second end of the electrical cord such that the socket is electrically engaged to the plug (re-claims 1 and 5).
Miller, III discloses an extension electrical cord device comprising an electrical cord; a plug (106) attached to a first end of the electrical cord and a socket (104) attached to a second end of the electrical cord such that the socket is electrically engaged to the plug.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to respectively attach the plug and socket as taught by Miller, III to the first end and second end of Kutnyak’s electrical cord to meet the specific use of the resulting device.
Re-claims 2 and 5, Kutnyak discloses the sheath comprising metal (col. 2 lines 49-50 and lines 65-66).
Re-claims 3 and 5, Kutnyak discloses the sheath comprising steel, but not stainless steel. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use stainless steel for the sheath of Kutnyak since stainless steel is well-known in the art for its corrosion-resistant.
Re-claims 4 and 5, Kutnyak discloses the sections comprising a plurality of outer rings (22B); a plurality of outer rims (20B and 21B), wherein each of the outer rims is attached to an opposed edge of a respective one of the outer rings such that each of the outer rims is attached to each respective opposed edge of each of the outer rings, wherein the outer rims extend radially toward the electrical cord; a plurality of inner rings (18B), each of the inner rings being bracketed by a pair of the outer rings; and a plurality of inner rims (16B and 17B), wherein each of the inner rims is attached to an opposing edge of a respective one of the inner rings such that each of the inner rims is attached to each respective opposing edge of each of the inner rings, wherein the inner rims of each of the inner rings extend radially away from the electrical cord and into a pair of the outer rings such that the inner rings are pivotally engaged to the pair of the outer rings.
Claims 6-9 are method counterparts of claims 1-4.
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841