DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
In claim 4, line 2 should recite “HTS administration” instead of “HTS delivery” to match the language of claims 2 and 3.
In claim 4, line 3 should include the term “the” in front of the phrases “cumulative administered volume” and “maximum safe dose” since these features were introduced in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gylland et al. (US 20190282757 A1, herein Gylland), and further in view of Rovatti (US 10434236 B2, herein Rovatti).
Regarding claim 1, Gylland disclosed an infusion system for administering hypertonic saline (HTS) to a patient (infusion pump system 100 in FIG. 1A), the infusion system comprising:
an infusion device (infusion pump 130 [0025]) for delivering HTS to a patient (the infusion pump can deliver a first fluid from a first reservoir, then switch to delivering a second fluid from a second reservoir as per patient requirements; fluid as used herein can be any fluid suitable to be administered to a patient by infusion, including saline fluid [0023]);
Gylland fails to explicitly disclose at least one sensor for continuous monitoring of plasma sodium concentration of the patient, wherein the sensor takes measurements of plasma sodium concentration of the patient at a predetermined sampling frequency; and
a controller that sets the sampling frequency of said sensor, receives said measurements of the patient's plasma sodium concentration from the sensor, and automatically adjusts the rate of HTS administration of the infusion device based on the real time measurement of the patient's plasma sodium concentration using a treatment algorithm.
However, Rovatti teaches at least one sensor for continuous monitoring of plasma sodium concentration of the patient, wherein the sensor takes measurements of plasma sodium concentration of the patient at a predetermined sampling frequency (sensor 11 may include a concentration sensor configured for measuring the concentration of at least one substance in the dialysate, such as sodium concentration [0204]); and
a controller (the apparatus may also comprise a user interface 22 and a control unit 12 [0181]) that sets the sampling frequency of said sensor, receives said measurements of the patient's plasma sodium concentration from the sensor (a control unit (12) connected to the regulating means 10 and programmed for receiving a value representative of a parameter of the blood [0056]; in particular the parameter value is the plasma sodium concentration [0065]), and automatically adjusts the rate of HTS administration (a dialysis apparatus able to provide an automated delivery and control of the dialysis prescription [0054]) of the infusion device based on the real time measurement of the patient's plasma sodium concentration using a treatment algorithm (the control unit is configured to calculate the adjustment contribution term as an algebraic sum of at least two components [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the infusion system of Gylland with Rovatti to include at least one sensor for continuous monitoring of plasma sodium concentration of the patient, wherein the sensor takes measurements of plasma sodium concentration of the patient at a predetermined sampling frequency; and a controller that sets the sampling frequency of said sensor, receives said measurements of the patient's plasma sodium concentration from the sensor, and automatically adjusts the rate of HTS administration of the infusion device based on the real time measurement of the patient's plasma sodium concentration using a treatment algorithm since such a modification enable the infusion device of Gylland to provide a bio-sensing based therapy [Rovatti, 0020].
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gylland et al. (US 20190282757 A1, herein Gylland), as modified by Rovatti (US 20180140761 A1, herein Rovatti) and in further view of Lindo et al. (US 12485221 B2, herein Lindo) and Chefitz (US 20210236772 A1, herein Chefitz).
Regarding claim 2, Gylland as modified by Rovatti, disclosed all limitations of claim 1. Gylland as modified by Rovatti further disclosed wherein the infusion device delivers HTS to the patient at a calculated infusion rate based on plasma sodium concentration measurement using a treatment algorithm which may include a proportion-integral-derivative (PID) equation (the control unit is configured to calculate the adjustment contribution term as an algebraic sum of at least two components[Col 10, line 35-37]), but failed to explicitly disclose wherein the calculated rate of HTS administration cannot exceed a maximum rate of 500 mL 3% saline (or equivalent) per hour.
However, Lindo teaches that Basic Therapy includes dose calculation, which allows dose rate programming based on volume to be infused (VTBI), drug amount, infusion time and drug concentration and simple rate programming that allows programming of volumetric rate (ml/hr) [Col 9, line 9-13].
Furthermore, Chevitz teaches that intravenous fluids include, but are not limited to dextrose solutions such as 2.5%, 5%, 20% and 50% dextrose, sodium chloride solutions such as 5% NaCl (hypertonic), 3% NaCl (hypertonic) [0136].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the infusion device of Gylland as modified by Rovatti to deliver 3% NaCl at a volumetric rate with a maximum delivery limit, as taught by Lindo since such a modification enables the device of Gylland to program volumetric rate [Lindo, Col 9, line 9-13] and as taught by Chevitz since such a modification enables the device of Lindo to deliver hypertonic NaCl solution [0136].
Regarding claim 8, Gylland as modified by Rovatti and further modified by Lindo and Chefitz disclosed all limitations of claim 2. However, Gylland as modified by Rovatti and further modified by Lindo and Chefitz, failed to explicitly disclose wherein proportional-integral-derivative (PID) equation is: R = 0.002 x E1 + 0.001 x ∑E +0.05 x ΔE; where R is the hypertonic saline infusion rate, Ei is the current error as defined by the difference between the goal sodium concentration and the current sodium concentration, IE is the sum of the current error and all previous errors since starting the infusion, and L'. lE is the difference between the current error and the preceding error.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that claim 2 recites the infusion device delivers HTS to the patient at a calculated infusion rate based on plasma sodium concentration measurement using a treatment algorithm which may include a proportion-integral-derivative (PID) equation, making the use of a proportion-integral-derivative (PID) equation optional. Claim 8 merely specifies a particular proportion-integral-derivative (PID) equation. Because claim 2 already permits using a differential equation, there is no inventive concept introduced by claim 8, and selecting a known or conventional proportion-integral-derivative (PID) equation would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2143.I.B)
Claim(s) 3, 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gylland et al. (US 20190282757 A1, herein Gylland), as modified by Rovatti (US 20180140761 A1, herein Rovatti), Lindo et al. (US 12485221 B2, herein Lindo) and Chefitz (US 20210236772 A1, herein Chefitz) and in further view of Osawa et al (US 20230347048 A1, herein Osawa).
Regarding claim 3, Gylland as modified by Rovatti and further modified by Lindo and Chefitz disclosed all limitations of claim 2. However, Gylland as modified by Rovatti and further modified by Lindo and Chefitz failed to explicitly disclose wherein the infusion device automatically suspends HTS delivery when patent's plasma sodium concentration is greater than or equal to said goal sodium concentration or when a cumulative administered volume is greater than or equal to a maximum safe dose.
However, Osawa teaches that the flow rate adjustment unit decreases the flow rate or stops supply of the fluid to be injected by the injection unit in a case where an oxygen concentration in the living body measured by the oxygen concentration measurement unit exceeds a predetermined upper limit value [0010].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the infusion device of Gylland as modified by Rovatti and further modified by Lindo and Chefitz with Osawa to stop delivery when another routinely monitored physiological parameter, such as sodium concentration, exceeds a predetermined level, because the threshold-based shutoff control logic is independent of the specific parameter sensed and represents a predictable application of known safety controls (See MPEP 2143.I.B)
Regarding claim 4, Gylland, as modified by Rovatti, Lindo and Chefitz and further modified by Osawa disclosed all limitations claim 3, However, Gylland, as modified by Rovatti, Lindo and Chefitz and further modified by Osawa failed to explicitly disclose wherein the infusion device automatically resumes HTS delivery when measured plasma sodium concentration is below the goal sodium concentration and cumulative administered volume is below maximum safe dose.
However, Osawa teaches that the oxygen concentration in the vicinity of the cisterna magna first decreases to the lower limit value at time T3. In this case, the flow rate adjustment unit 45 restarts circulation of the fluid at a timing of time T3 [0036].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the infusion device of Gylland, as modified by Rovatti, Lindo and Chevitz and further modified by Osawa to automatically resume delivery when a physiological parameter, such as the sodium concentration falls below the predetermined level, as taught by Osawa, because this represents a substitution of one known measured physiological parameter for another to achieve the same predictable operation. (See MPEP 2143.I.B)
Regarding claim 7, Gylland, as modified by Rovatti, Lindo and Chefitz and further modified by Osawa disclosed all limitations of claim 3. However, Gylland, as modified by Rovatti, Lindo and Chefitz and further modified by Osawa failed to explicitly disclose maximum safe dose of cumulative administered volume is 500 mL 3% saline (or equivalent) in a 4-hour period.
However, Lindo teaches that Basic Therapy includes dose calculation, which allows dose rate programming based on volume to be infused (VTBI), drug amount, infusion time and drug concentration and simple rate programming that allows programming of volumetric rate (ml/hr) [Col 9, line 9-13].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Gylland, as modified by Rovatti, Lindo and Chefitz and further modified by Osawa using the volumetric delivery rate taught by Lindo to include a maximum safe dose of cumulative administered volume is 500 mL 3% saline (or equivalent) in a 4-hour period, because limiting the total delivered volume over a specified time period is a predictable result of controlling the delivery rate once a calculated volume has been delivered. Therefore, applying a known volumetric rate-based control would have been an obvious modification (See MPEP 2143.I.B)
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gylland et al. (US 20190282757 A1, herein Gylland), as modified by Rovatti (US 20180140761 A1, herein Rovatti), Lindo et al. (US 12485221 B2, herein Lindo) and Chefitz (US 20210236772 A1, herein Chefitz) and in further view of Roth et al (US 20180289890 A1, herein Roth).
Regarding claim 5, Gylland as modified by Rovatti, and further modified by Lindo and Chefitz disclosed all limitations of claim 2. However, Gylland as modified by Rovatti, and further modified by Lindo and Chefitz fails to explicitly disclose wherein the predefined goal sodium concentration is set at approximately 140-160 mmol/liter by the physician based on individual patient need.
However, Roth teaches a target sodium concentration of 154 mmol/L in a patient for administration of 0.9% NaCl, disclosed in Table 1 as a non-limiting example of common infusion fluids.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the infusion system of Gylland as modified by Rovatti, and further modified by Lindo and Chefitz with the target sodium concentration of 154 mmol/L taught by Roth to set the predetermined goal sodium concentration within the 140-160 mmol/L range. Using this known value would have been routine and obvious, because the target sodium concentrations are well-known and routinely applied in infusion systems to control patient blood sodium levels (See MPEP 2144.05.II.A).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gylland et al. (US 20190282757 A1, herein Gylland), as modified by Rovatti (US 20180140761 A1, herein Rovatti) and in further view of Malloy et al. (US 20220387710 A1, herein Malloy).
Regarding claim 6, Gylland as modified by Rovatti disclosed all limitations of claim 1. However, Gylland as modified by Rovatti fails to explicitly disclose wherein the infusion system further includes one or more alarms to warn about bubbles in the infusion, and/or empty infusion reservoir.
However, Malloy teaches the controller may then switch to reserve mode of operation. During the reserve mode, the device may output user notifications, such as haptic feedback (e.g., vibration), visual alerts (e.g. flashing screen or messages), and/or audio feedback (e.g., alarm chimes or other audio feedback). The user notifications may occur with increasing frequency and/or volume/intensity until a user changes the drug product container and/or clears the alarm. During reserve mode, the device may also decrease (e.g., “ramp down”) the drug dosage to extend the amount of time before the drug product container is empty [0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the infusion system of Gylland as modified by Rovatti to include includes one or more alarms to warn about bubbles in the infusion, and/or empty infusion reservoir, using the alarm functionality taught by Malloy. Malloy describes triggering the alarm when the container is approaching empty, therefore adapting the alarm to indicate that the container is empty represents an obvious variation, because both conditions relate to notifying the user of container depletion, thus such a modification involves the substitution of one known operating condition for another and would have yielded predictable results (see MPEP 2143.I.B).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gylland et al. (US 20190282757 A1, herein Gylland), and Goldsmith (US 20190374213 A1, herein Goldsmith).
Regarding claim 9 Gylland disclosed that the infusion system (infusion pump system 100 in FIG. 1A) for treating cerebral edema using HTS, comprising
a controller for generating a signal based on the monitored patient plasma sodium concentration using a treatment algorithm (the flow controller 235 can be any hardware processor, microprocessor, or the like responsive to the programming code to generate the control signal 231 [0032]); and
a pump (The fluid driver 232 can be any metered pump [0032]) for administering HTS stored therein (the infusion pump system can include a first reservoir that can hold a first fluid [0011]; Fluid as used herein can be any fluid suitable to be administered to a patient by infusion, including saline fluid [0023]) to the patient, said pump including means responsive to said signal from said controller to administer the HTS at adjusted rate (operable to drive fluid at a desired rate in response to the control signal 231 [0032])
However, Gylland fails to explicitly disclose an implantable sodium sensor for in vivo monitoring of a patient plasma sodium concentration;
an implantable connector fitting for supporting said implantable sodium sensor within the patient to permit transcutaneous access to said implantable sodium sensor for removal and replacement without removing said connector fitting from the patient.
However, Goldsmith teaches that an apparatus that uses the feedback from one or a combination of chemical, thermal, electrical, and mechanical implanted physiological diagnostic sensors (biosensors, microsensors, detectors), for example, to trigger adaptive drug dose computation, metering, and delivery through system conduits and unique junctions to ductus in response to a control program that is a prescription [0058]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the infusion system of Gylland with Goldsmith to include implantable sensor of Goldsmith, so that the controller receives physiological information from the implantable sensor in order to signal the pump to deliver. Sodium concentration is a physiological parameter; therefore, the physiological diagnostics sensor of Goldsmith reasonably includes a sodium concentration sensor. Thus using an implantable sensor to measure a physiological parameter was a known technique and would yield a predictable result (See 2143.I.B)
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gylland et al. (US 20190282757 A1, herein Gylland), as modified by Rovatti (US 20180140761 A1) and in further view of Miller et al. (US 20190201675 A1, herein Miller).
Regarding claim 10, Gylland as modified by Rovatti, disclosed all limitations of claim 1. However, Gylland as modified by Rovatti failed to explicitly disclose wherein said sensor is ion selective electrode (ISE) optode, sodium-selective optode, near-infrared spectrometer or miscroneedle-based extended gate transister, wherein the sensor is accurate within 1 mmol/L in the range of 120-170 mmol/L and have a sampling rate of 60 seconds or less.
However, Miller teaches that the sensor can include one or more transducers, which can be any useful structure for detecting, sensing, and/or measuring a marker or target of interest. Exemplary transducers include one or more of the following: optical sensors (e.g., including measuring one or more of fluorescence spectroscopy, interferometry, reflectance, chemiluminescence, light scattering, surface plasmon resonance, or refractive index), piezoelectric sensors (e.g., including one or more quartz crystals or quartz crystal microbalance), electrochemical sensors (e.g., one or more of carbon nanotubes, electrodes, field-effect transistors, etc.), etc., as well as any selected from the group consisting of an ion selective electrode, an ion sensitive field effect transistor (e.g., a n-p-n type sensor), a light addressable potentiometric sensor, an amperometric sensor (e.g., having a two-electrode configuration (including reference and working electrodes) or a three-electrode configuration (including reference, working, and auxiliary electrodes)), and/or an impedimetric sensor [0043].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the infusion system of Gylland as modified by Rovatti with Miller to use the ion selective electrode taught by Miller, because selecting a known sensor type to implement the sensor function of the claimed invention represents a predictable choice that would yield a predictable result (see MPEP 2143.I.B)
Response to Amendment
Applicant has deleted Figures 9B and 11 which were previously objected to; Examiner accordingly withdraws the drawing objection of Figs. 9B and 11.
Applicant has amended the Specification which was previously objected to; Examiner accordingly withdraws the objection of the Specification.
Applicant amended claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10 which were previously objected to; Examiner accordingly withdraws the objections of claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10.
Applicant failed to fully address the objection of claim 4 (failed to insert “the HTS” before “administration in line 2 and failed to insert “the” before “maximum safe dose” in line 4) and therefore the objection of claim 4 is maintained.
Applicant amended claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 8 which were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection; Examiner accordingly withdraws the 112(b) rejection of claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 8 and also claim 10 which is dependent on claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument filed on 07/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive.
Applicant has argued in pages 2-3 that the reference of Rovatti is non-analogous art that belongs to an entirely different clinical field. Applicant cited from MPEP 2141.01 (a)(I) that a reference is analogous art if (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). Rovatti meets at least one of these conditions because Rovatti is related to the sensing of plasma sodium concentration. Further to note, Rovatti is classified under A61M2230/20, which is also what the instant application is classified under.
Applicant has argued in pages 4-5 that Rovatti failed to teach measurement of plasma sodium concentration and only teaches sodium concentration measurement in dialysate. However Rovatti disclosed in [0033] a means to determine sodium concentration in blood and in [0072] discloses storing parameter value like plasma sodium concentration in memory.
Applicant has argued in page 6 that Gylland and Rovatti is directed towards open-loop system and does not teach separately or in combination a closed loop system. However the independent claim 1 and its dependents and claim 9 does not require a closed-loop system in the claims.
Applicant has argued in page 5-6 the usage of “predictable design choice” as motivation to combine these references is incorrect. The Examiner acknowledges and the current office action uses citation from Rovatti as motivation to combine the references.
Applicant has argued in pages 7-9 that Goldsmith failed to teach an implantable connector as required by claim 1 and only refers to implantable sensors and fluid lines. However Goldsmith teaches in [0061] “sensors, fluid lines and connectors must be implanted”.
Applicant has argued in pages 9-11 that Goldsmith relies on physiological diagnostic sensors to teach a sodium concentration sensor and this assertion is based on broad generalization. However as seen in the rejection of claim 1 where Rovatti teaches plasma sodium sensor, a plasma sodium sensor is not a novel concept and known in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would have incorporated a plasma sodium sensor as a physiological diagnostic sensor in Goldsmith.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to MAHMOOD FAROOQ whose telephone number is
(571)272-7276. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Friday 8am - 5pm
EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Kevin Sirmons can be reached at (571)272-4965. The fax phone number for
the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is
available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-
center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For
additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/M.F./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/Lauren P Farrar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783