DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12-14, 17-19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Xianxin (US D885 496).
Xianxin clearly discloses curved bodies defining an arcuate path with a predetermined radius of curvature and with at least five holes disposed to receive fasteners at predetermined angles of rotation (e.g. Figs 1 and 3, forming the “trunk” and “head”), the pairs mirrored about an axis of rotation (centerline) and two of the pairs having different sizes (e.g. the “trunks” contain two differently sized curved bodies), with the holes at “substantially” 17 degrees (six holes equally spaced between 0 and 90 degrees, rendering an angle of approximately 18 degrees, which is “substantially” 17 per the level of tolerance in afforded by the applicant’s disclosure).
Note: the sports equipment is intended use, and thus not afforded patentable weight.
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Osborn (US 2 954 236).
Osborn clearly discloses a pair of curved bodies (14) defining an arcuate path with a predetermined radius of curvature and with holes (20) disposed to receive fasteners at predetermined angles of rotation (as seen in Fig 2) and mirrored about an axis of rotation (Fig 2).
Note: the aquatic sports equipment is intended use, and thus not afforded patentable weight.
Claim(s) 8-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hennen (DE 20 2019 003 534).
Regarding independent claims 8, and claims 9 and 10:
Hennen discloses a pair of curved bodies (28; generally rounded shape) with holes (6) at predetermined angles of rotation (as seen in Fig 2) and mirrored about an axis of rotation (opposing sides of strap).
Regarding claim 13:
The discussion above regarding claim 8 is relied upon.
Hennen discloses a plurality of pairs of bodies (multiple straps 5, with two bodies per).
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, and 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Bregmann, Jr. (US 2012/0025490).
Regarding independent claims 1 and 17, and claims 2-5, and 18-21:
Van Bregmann, Jr. discloses curved bodies (20; one for each foot) with holes (60) extending along an arcuate path defining a predetermined radius of curvature and at predetermined angles of rotation (as seen in Fig 8), with a separation between two of the holes of 12 degrees (4 degrees of separation between holes, so the third hole away would be at 12 degrees), and “substantially” at 17 degrees (fourth hole at “approximately” 16 degrees, which is “substantially” 17 per the level of tolerance in afforded by the applicant’s disclosure).
Regarding claim 7:
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Van Bregmann, Jr. disclose five apertures (any five holes 60).
Regarding independent claim 8, and claims 9-12:
The discussion above regarding claims 1-3 and 17-19 is relied upon.
Van Bregmann, Jr. discloses a pair of bodies mirrored about an axis of rotation (transverse axis of the board, Fig 1).
Claim(s) 8-10, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peyre (EP 0 346 509).
Regarding independent claim 8, and claims 9 and 10:
Peyre discloses a pair of curved bodies (21; having a rounded shape) with holes (for 24 and 53) at predetermined angles of rotation (as seen in Fig 2) mirrored about an axis of rotation (opposing sides of strap).
Regarding claims 13 and 15:
The discussion above regarding claim 8 is relied upon.
Hennen discloses six pairs of bodies (multiple straps 5, with two bodies per; Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peyre (‘509).
The discussion above regarding claim 15 is relied upon.
Peyre discloses three pairs of curved bodies for foot straps (Fig 1; each 50 would have a pair), but does not disclose three pairs at a first size and three at a second size.
One of ordinary skill would recognize that insert size would correlate to the binding size, and would also recognize that different users may have different size feet to bind (e.g. men vs women vs children), which would require different size bindings.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Peyre to use some inserts/bindings of a different size to provide a “one board fits all” approach, to permit (e.g. rental) companies to reduce their stock while still providing for consumer demand, and since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the claims recite a relationship between the insert and the board, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” MPEP 2114. The claims only require the curved insert itself, not the system of the insert mounted within the board. The cited prior art meet the structure of claimed insert itself, and thus anticipates the claims.
In response to applicant’s argument that Van Bregmann does not disclose an arcuate body, the claims recite the body “extending along an arcuate path.” A circular body extends “along an arcuate path” via its circumference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH W SANDERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619