DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 have been considered but are moot due to the introduction of new references necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Additionally, Applicant argues that Hoang does not teach “the second DCR message includes identifiers of the first terminal apparatus, the second terminal apparatus, and the third terminal apparatus”. Specifically, Applicant argues that Hoang merely describes the inclusion of an ID of the relay device in a header field by modifying source information, however, is does not provide any details regarding source information. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Hoang ¶ 0289-0310 describe the DRC message forwarding performed by a sidelink relay UE. Here, the forwarding may include modifying the source information of the message (e.g., adding the relay ID information). Here, the modification/inclusion of relay ID in the forwarded DRC message is analogous to the second DCR message includes identifiers of…the first terminal (see Hoang ¶ 0299). The forwarded message may further include any of one or more IDs (e.g., UE IDs) associated with one or more WTRUs requesting for a relay service, e.g., source and/or destination WTRUs. (Hoang ¶ 0299). Here, the destination/source ID of UE requesting service is analogous to second terminal ID and third terminal ID. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al. (US 2023/0300713 A1; “Hoang”) in view of Xu et al. (US 2023/0046157; “Xu”).
Regarding claim 1, Hoang teaches a first terminal apparatus for performing sidelink communication, the first terminal apparatus comprising:
a processor [Hoang ¶ 0033, Fig. 1B: WTRU 102 may include a processor 118];
a receiver configured to receive a first Direct Communication Request (DCR) message from a second terminal apparatus [Hoang ¶ 0141: a method may be implemented in a first WTRU (e.g., a sidelink relay) and may include any of receiving, from a second WTRU, e.g., a source WTRU, destination WTRU or another sidelink relay, a first sidelink transmission including a message, wherein the message may be a direct communication message; ¶ 0148: the direct communication message may include a relay request and/or be a relay request message]; and
a transmitter [Hoang ¶ 0033, Fig. 1B: WTRU 102 may include a transceiver 120], wherein
the processor is configured to: measure a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of the first DCR message, and determine whether the RSRP of the first DCR message is greater than a threshold, the transmitter is configured to transmit a second DCR message to a third terminal apparatus based on a determination that the RSRP of the first DCR message is greater than the threshold [Hoang ¶ 0312: WTRU may determine to forward a message (i.e. a second DCR is sent) from the source WTRU and decide to be a relay of the source WTRU based on the sidelink measurement between the WTRU and the source WTRU and/or the sidelink measurement between the WTRU and the destination WTRU (e.g., the RSRP measurement of the message); ¶ 0313: the WTRU may forward the message (e.g., a direct communication message) if the RSRP measured in the message is greater than one threshold; see also ¶ 0171: forwarded message is to destination WTRU (i.e. third terminal)], the second DCR message being different than from the first DCR message [Hoang ¶ 0286: A WTRU, e.g., a sidelink relay, may determine to forward a direct communication message; ¶¶ 0289-0290: WTRU may prepare another direct communication message corresponding to the received direct communication message, which may include modified source information of the message, e.g., adding the relay ID information (i.e. the second/forwarded message is modified/different than the first received message)],
the first DCR message and the second DCR message are messages used to select a terminal apparatus that is responsible to forward a sidelink transmission of the second terminal apparatus to the third terminal apparatus [Hoang ¶ 0312: WTRU may determine to forward a message from the source WTRU and decide to be a relay of the source WTRU based on the sidelink measurement between the WTRU and the source WTRU (i.e. RSRP measurement of first DCR) and/or the sidelink measurement between the WTRU and the destination WTRU, e.g., the RSRP measurement of the message; ¶ 0189: WTRU may transmit to one or more WTRUs and/or a network element one or more direct communication messages to (i) engage the one or more WTRUs and/or network element in one or more direct communications (i.e. each DCR message is used to establish a UE-Relay-UE communication)],
the first DCR message includes identifiers of the second terminal apparatus and the third terminal apparatus [Hoang ¶ 0191: direct communication message may include source identifier (ID) (i.e. second terminal identifier), a destination (ID) (i.e. a third terminal identifier), and one or more relay IDs (i.e. first terminal identifier)], and
the second DCR message includes identifiers of the first terminal apparatus, the second terminal apparatus, and the third terminal apparatus [Hoang ¶¶ 0289: WTRU may prepare another message, e.g., another direct communication message (i.e. second DCR), corresponding to the received message (e.g., the received direct communication message), which may include, e.g., ¶ 0290: relay ID, ¶ 0299: one or more UE IDs, e.g., destination/source ID].
However, Hoang does not explicitly disclose the first DCR message and the second DCR message include application-related information.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Xu teaches the first DCR message and the second DCR message include application-related information [Xu ¶ 0193, Fig. 5: direct communication request message (i.e. first DCR) sent by the terminal 1 to relay contains application layer ID, wherein the relay forwards the direct communication request message (i.e. second DCR), including an application layer ID of the terminal 3 (here, both the first DCR and second DCR include application layer ID which is analogous to application-related information)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of forwarding direct to communication request for the establishment of UE-UE-relay and based on signal strength measurements as taught by Hoang with the method of including application layer ID in DRC and forwarded DRC messages to establish UE-UE-relay as taught by Xu. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve QoS management in a UE-UE-relay communication system [Xu ¶ 0004].
Regarding claim 2, Hoang teaches a method performed by a first terminal apparatus configured to perform sidelink communication, the method comprising:
receiving a first Direct Communication Request (DCR) message from a second terminal apparatus [Hoang ¶ 0141: a method may be implemented in a first WTRU (e.g., a sidelink relay) and may include any of receiving, from a second WTRU, e.g., a source WTRU, destination WTRU or another sidelink relay, a first sidelink transmission including a message, wherein the message may be a direct communication message; ¶ 0148: the direct communication message may include a relay request and/or be a relay request message];
measuring a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of the first DCR message; determining whether the RSRP of the first DCR message is greater than a threshold; and transmitting a second DCR message to a third terminal apparatus based on a determination that the RSRP of the first DCR message is greater than the threshold [Hoang ¶ 0312: WTRU may determine to forward a message (i.e. a second DCR is sent) from the source WTRU and decide to be a relay of the source WTRU based on the sidelink measurement between the WTRU and the source WTRU and/or the sidelink measurement between the WTRU and the destination WTRU (e.g., the RSRP measurement of the message); ¶ 0313: the WTRU may forward the message (e.g., a direct communication message) if the RSRP measured in the message is greater than one threshold; see also ¶ 0171: forwarded message is to destination WTRU (i.e. third terminal)], wherein
the second DCR message is different than from the first DCR message [Hoang ¶ 0286: A WTRU, e.g., a sidelink relay, may determine to forward a direct communication message; ¶¶ 0289-0290: WTRU may prepare another direct communication message corresponding to the received direct communication message, which may include modified source information of the message, e.g., adding the relay ID information (i.e. the second/forwarded message is modified/different than the first received message)],
the first DCR message and the second DCR message are messages used to select a terminal apparatus that is responsible to forward a sidelink transmission of the second terminal apparatus to the third terminal apparatus [Hoang ¶ 0312: WTRU may determine to forward a message from the source WTRU and decide to be a relay of the source WTRU based on the sidelink measurement between the WTRU and the source WTRU (i.e. RSRP measurement of first DCR) and/or the sidelink measurement between the WTRU and the destination WTRU, e.g., the RSRP measurement of the message; ¶ 0189: WTRU may transmit to one or more WTRUs and/or a network element one or more direct communication messages to (i) engage the one or more WTRUs and/or network element in one or more direct communications (i.e. each DCR message is used to establish a UE-Relay-UE communication)],
the first DCR message includes identifiers of the second terminal apparatus and the third terminal apparatus [Hoang ¶ 0191: direct communication message may include source identifier (ID) (i.e. second terminal identifier), a destination (ID) (i.e. a third terminal identifier), and one or more relay IDs (i.e. first terminal identifier)], and
the second DCR message includes identifiers of the first terminal apparatus, the second terminal apparatus, and the third terminal apparatus [Hoang ¶¶ 0289: WTRU may prepare another message, e.g., another direct communication message (i.e. second DCR), corresponding to the received message (e.g., the received direct communication message), which may include, e.g., ¶ 0290: relay ID, ¶ 0299: one or more UE IDs, e.g., destination/source ID].
However, Hoang does not explicitly disclose the first DCR message and the second DCR message include application-related information.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Xu teaches the first DCR message and the second DCR message include application-related information [Xu ¶ 0193, Fig. 5: direct communication request message (i.e. first DCR) sent by the terminal 1 to relay contains application layer ID, wherein the relay forwards the direct communication request message (i.e. second DCR), including an application layer ID of the terminal 3 (here, both the first DCR and second DCR include application layer ID which is analogous to application-related information)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of forwarding direct to communication request for the establishment of UE-UE-relay and based on signal strength measurements as taught by Hoang with the method of including application layer ID in DRC and forwarded DRC messages to establish UE-UE-relay as taught by Xu. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve QoS management in a UE-UE-relay communication system [Xu ¶ 0004].
Regarding claim 3, Hoang teaches an integrated circuit mounted on a first terminal apparatus that is configured to sidelink communication [Hoang ¶ 0468: methods implemented by integrated circuit of WTRU], the integrated circuit being configured to:
receive a first Direct Communication Request (DCR) message from a second terminal apparatus [Hoang ¶ 0141: a method may be implemented in a first WTRU (e.g., a sidelink relay) and may include any of receiving, from a second WTRU, e.g., a source WTRU, destination WTRU or another sidelink relay, a first sidelink transmission including a message, wherein the message may be a direct communication message; ¶ 0148: the direct communication message may include a relay request and/or be a relay request message];
measure a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of the first DCR message; determine whether the RSRP of the first DCR message is greater than a threshold; and transmit a second DCR message to a third terminal apparatus based on a determination that the RSRP of the first DCR message is greater than the threshold [Hoang ¶ 0312: WTRU may determine to forward a message (i.e. a second DCR is sent) from the source WTRU and decide to be a relay of the source WTRU based on the sidelink measurement between the WTRU and the source WTRU and/or the sidelink measurement between the WTRU and the destination WTRU (e.g., the RSRP measurement of the message); ¶ 0313: the WTRU may forward the message (e.g., a direct communication message) if the RSRP measured in the message is greater than one threshold; see also ¶ 0171: forwarded message is to destination WTRU (i.e. third terminal)], wherein
the second DCR message is different than from the first DCR message [Hoang ¶ 0286: A WTRU, e.g., a sidelink relay, may determine to forward a direct communication message; ¶¶ 0289-0290: WTRU may prepare another direct communication message corresponding to the received direct communication message, which may include modified source information of the message, e.g., adding the relay ID information (i.e. the second/forwarded message is modified/different than the first received message)],
the first DCR message and the second DCR message are messages used to select a terminal apparatus that is responsible to forward a sidelink transmission of the second terminal apparatus to the third terminal apparatus [Hoang ¶ 0312: WTRU may determine to forward a message (i.e. a second DCR is sent) from the source WTRU and decide to be a relay of the source WTRU based on the sidelink measurement between the WTRU and the source WTRU and/or the sidelink measurement between the WTRU and the destination WTRU (e.g., the RSRP measurement of the message); ¶ 0313: the WTRU may forward the message (e.g., a direct communication message) if the RSRP measured in the message is greater than one threshold; see also ¶ 0171: forwarded message is to destination WTRU (i.e. third terminal)],
the first DCR message includes identifiers of the second terminal apparatus and the third terminal apparatus [Hoang ¶ 0312: WTRU may determine to forward a message from the source WTRU and decide to be a relay of the source WTRU based on the sidelink measurement between the WTRU and the source WTRU (i.e. RSRP measurement of first DCR) and/or the sidelink measurement between the WTRU and the destination WTRU, e.g., the RSRP measurement of the message; ¶ 0189: WTRU may transmit to one or more WTRUs and/or a network element one or more direct communication messages to (i) engage the one or more WTRUs and/or network element in one or more direct communications (i.e. each DCR message is used to establish a UE-Relay-UE communication)], and
the second DCR message includes identifiers of the first terminal apparatus, the second terminal apparatus, and the third terminal apparatus [Hoang ¶¶ 0289: WTRU may prepare another message, e.g., another direct communication message (i.e. second DCR), corresponding to the received message (e.g., the received direct communication message), which may include, e.g., ¶ 0290: relay ID, ¶ 0299: one or more UE IDs, e.g., destination/source ID].
However, Hoang does not explicitly disclose the first DCR message and the second DCR message include application-related information.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Xu teaches the first DCR message and the second DCR message include application-related information [Xu ¶ 0193, Fig. 5: direct communication request message (i.e. first DCR) sent by the terminal 1 to relay contains application layer ID, wherein the relay forwards the direct communication request message (i.e. second DCR), including an application layer ID of the terminal 3 (here, both the first DCR and second DCR include application layer ID which is analogous to application-related information)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of forwarding direct to communication request for the establishment of UE-UE-relay and based on signal strength measurements as taught by Hoang with the method of including application layer ID in DRC and forwarded DRC messages to establish UE-UE-relay as taught by Xu. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve QoS management in a UE-UE-relay communication system [Xu ¶ 0004].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN P COX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474