DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In light of Applicant’s amendment, claim(s) 1 is/are amended and claim(s) 4-5 is/are canceled. Claims 9 and 11-12 remain withdrawn. Claims 1-3, 6-8, and 10 are now pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 2/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Examiner agrees the added limitation “coating the surgical suture material with a solution including PEDOT:PSS, sorbitol, and metal flakes” overcomes the previous rejection as written. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ho in view of Lendlein, He and Sober.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho et al. (US 20220401031 A1) (previously of record) in view of Lendlein et al. (US 20040015187 A1) (previously of record), He et al. (“Enhancements in the Mechanical Stretchability and Thermoelectric Properties of PEDOT:PSS for Flexible Electronics Applications”) and Sober et al. (WO 2023034258 A1) (previously of record).
Regarding claim 1, Ho teaches a suture, comprising:
a surgical suture material (silk) (Paragraph 0211; 0217; 0253); and
a conducting coating (PEDOT:PSS) that has been applied to the surgical suture material by coating the surgical suture material with a solution including PEDOT:PSS (Paragraph 0030; 0211; 0217).
Ho fails to explicitly disclose wherein an electrical conductivity of the suture is greater than 500 S/cm per 1964 µm2 of cross-sectional area of the suture and coating the surgical suture material with a solution including sorbitol and metal flakes.
Lendlein is directed to a suture and teaches a cross-sectional area of the suture of 1964 µm2 (as a diameter of 50 µm would result in an area of 1964 µm2) (Paragraph 0111).
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ho with the teachings of Lendlein by incorporating a cross-sectional area of the suture of 1964 µm2 in order to use the suture in a variety of applications such as microsurgery (Lendlein Paragraph 0111), and Ho is silent to the diameter or cross sectional area of the suture. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Ho such that a cross-sectional area of the suture of 1964 µm2, as taught by Lendlein, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to sutures.
Further, He is directed a PEDOT:PSS coated with sorbitol with an electrical conductivity over 1000 S/cm (Conspectus; Page 151 Paragraph 2).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Ho and Lendlein such that the PEDOT:PSS is coated with sorbitol with an electrical conductivity over 1000 S/cm, as taught by He, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to PEDOT:PSS systems. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ho and Lendlein with the teachings of He by incorporating PEDOT:PSS coated with sorbitol with an electrical conductivity over 1000 S/cm in order to improve stretchability and conductivity of the PEDOT:PSS (He Page 151 Paragraph 2). Further, Ho discloses the conductivity of the electrically conductive suture is greater than 100 S/m (Paragraph 0008), which is maintained with such a modification.
Furthermore, Sober is directed to a suture/electrode system and teaches wherein the conducting coating (PEDOT:PSS) further includes metal particles (silver/gold compound) (Paragraph 0061; 0086).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Ho as modified by Lendlein and He such that wherein the conducting coating further includes metal particles, as taught by Sober, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to PEDOT:PSS. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ho as modified by Lendlein and He with the teachings of Sober by incorporating wherein the conducting coating further includes metal particles in order to improve durability and resistance to corrosion.
Regarding claims 6-7, Ho further discloses an insulating layer, wherein the insulating layer comprises Parylene-C (Paragraph 0031; 0211) .
Regarding claim 8, Ho further discloses wherein the insulating layer was applied to the surgical suture material after the conducting coating was applied to the surgical suture material (Paragraph 0217).
Regarding claim 10, Ho further teaches wherein the suture is capable of being used for electrophysiological signal acquisition, electrophysiological signal transmission, or electrical stimulation (Paragraph 0008; 0214).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho in view of Lendlein, He, and Sober and further in view of Teixeira (NPL titled “Tuning PEDOT:PSS low-impedance thin films with high charge injection for microelectrodes applications”).
Regarding claim 2, Ho as modified by Lendlein, He, and Sober teaches the suture of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein an electro-chemical impedance of the suture is less than 10 kOhms at 1 kHz per 1964 µm2 of cross-sectional area of the suture.
However, Teixeira is directed to PEDOT:PSS microelectrodes and teaches an inherent property of PEDOT:PSS, namely an electro-chemical impedance of the PEDOT:PSS less than the claimed range of less than 10 kOhms at 1 kHz (Figure 8, 10(a)) (Teixeira shows Electrochemical Impedance Spectroscopy (EIS) data resulting in 100 ohms of impedance at 1kHz, which is less than 10 kOhms. When combined with the modified suture of Ho, would result in an electro-chemical impedance of the suture is less than 10 kOhms at 1 kHz per 1964 µm2 of cross-sectional area of the suture, as the silk inner material of the suture would add negligible electrochemical impedance.).
The combination of Ho as modified by Lendlein, He, and Sober with the teachings of Teixeira results in an electro-chemical impedance of the suture being less than 10 kOhms at 1 kHz per 1964 µm2 of cross-sectional area of the suture as the properties of PEDOT:PSS would be inherent.
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ho as modified by Lendlein, He, and Sober with the teachings of Teixeira by incorporating an electro-chemical impedance of the PEDOT:PSS is less than 10 kOhms at 1 kHz in order to improve efficacy of the coating.
Regarding claim 3, Ho as modified by Lendlein further discloses wherein a diameter of the suture is 50 µm (Paragraph 0111).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Z.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/KATHERINE H SCHWIKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771