DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Claim 1 recites “a peripheral protrusion”. An embodiment having a single peripheral protrusion is not disclosed in the specification and therefore lacks proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. It is noted that Fig. 14G shows a single protrusion, however, this protrusion is located in the center of the body and is not peripheral.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a peripheral protrusion” recited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). It is noted that fig. 13G shows a single protrusion, however, this protrusion is located in the center of the body, and is therefore not peripheral. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 14-19 objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 14 and 17, in particular, lack antecedent basis for the limitation “the plurality of protrusions”, since claim 12 requires only “a peripheral protrusion”. Therefore, it appears that claims 14-19 are intended to depend from claim 13, not claim 12, and have been interpreted as such. Claim 17 also recites “are shaped are configured” in line 2, which appears to include a grammatical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 13, and 20 each recite the limitations “configured to be surgically implanted in a joint”, in lines 2-3 and "not being coupled to the one or more bones" in lines 3-4. These limitations are contradictory. It is unclear how the body can be implanted in a joint without being coupled to the bones of the joint. For the purpose of further examination, the examiner interprets the limitation “not being coupled to the one or more bones” as: indirect or “floating” contact, as described in paragraph 0066 of applicant’s specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 11-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 5,702,472 to Huebner (Huebner).
Regarding at least claim 1
Huebner teaches a phalangeal joint prosthesis for replacing damaged interphalangeal finger joints (abstract).
Huebner meets the limitations of a device, comprising: a body (34) having a top surface (36) and a bottom surface (38), the top surface having a radius of curvature and the bottom surface having another radius of curvature (the curvature of the top and bottom surface each have a radius as shown in fig. 2), the body being configured to be surgically implanted in a joint and to prevent contact between one or more bones comprising the joint, the body not being coupled to the one or more bones (col. 3, lines 42-46 discloses that the spacer/body is configured to couple the pins 12 and 14, and therefore the bones, in a spaced relationship, thereby preventing contact between them – the spacer/body is not coupled to the one or more bones as shown in fig. 3); and a peripheral protrusion (shoulders; 45) disposed substantially about a perimeter of the body (fig. 2 shows that the shoulders are disposed about a perimeter of the spacer/body), the peripheral protrusion being formed with the body (fig. 2 shows that the peripheral protrusion/shoulders are formed with the spacer/body), the peripheral protrusion being disposed about the perimeter of the body to prevent expulsion of the body from the joint (the shoulders being a greater thickness than a central portion of the spacer/body as shown in fig. 2 would prevent expulsion of the spacer/body from the joint in the same way as applicant’s, for example as shown in fig. 3C of applicant’s figures).
Huebner also teaches that the peripheral protrusion (shoulders; 45) do not have edged or pointed surfaces, for the purpose of reducing the likelihood of damaging the tendons, ligaments or nerves surrounding the joint (col. 4, lines 2-5). However, Huebner does not explicitly teach that the peripheral protrusion has a substantially circular cross section.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the shape, and therefore cross section, of the peripheral protrusion would result in a difference in function of the Huebner device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the shape, and therefore cross section, of the peripheral protrusion of Huebner, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed shape, and therefore cross section. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed shape or cross section solves any stated problem, indicating that the peripheral protrusion “may” be substantially spherical in shape and “may” have a circular cross section, and offering other acceptable shapes/cross sections (e.g., other shapes, non-spherical shapes, specification at para. [00194 and 00199]) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the shape or cross section as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the peripheral protrusion of Huebner to have a substantially circular cross section as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art, particularly since one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of eliminating sharp/pointy edges, as suggested by Huebner.
Regarding at least claim 2
Huebner teaches the device of claim 1, including a peripheral protrusion having a substantially circular cross section. As explained above, Huebner clearly teaches that the peripheral protrusion (shoulders; 45) do not have edged or pointed surfaces, for the purpose of reducing the likelihood of damaging the tendons, ligaments or nerves surrounding the joint (col. 4, lines 2-5). However, Huebner does not explicitly teach that the peripheral protrusion is substantially spherical in shape.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the shape of the peripheral protrusion would result in a difference in function of the Huebner device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the shape of the peripheral protrusion of Huebner, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed shape. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed shape or cross section solves any stated problem, indicating that the peripheral protrusion “may” be substantially spherical in shape, and offering other acceptable shapes (e.g., other shapes, non-spherical shapes, specification at para. [00194 and 00199]) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the shape as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the peripheral protrusion of Huebner to be substantially spherical in shape as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art, particularly since one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of eliminating sharp/pointy edges, as suggested by Huebner.
Regarding at least claim 3
Huebner teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the peripheral protrusion is configured to maintain anatomical alignment of the device when inserted into the joint (the shoulders being a greater thickness than a central portion of the spacer/body as shown in fig. 2 is construed to maintain anatomical alignment of the device when inserted into the joint, in the same way as applicant’s, for example as shown in fig. 3C of applicant’s figures.
Regarding at least claim 5
Huebner teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the protrusion is disposed substantially about the perimeter at a location at which the protrusion is configured to move the device in a direction that is substantially opposite to a force transmitted by a bone surface or another bone surface (the shoulders have the same greater-in-thickness structure as applicant’s and are disposed substantially about the perimeter as shown in fig. 1 – therefore, the shoulders are at a location at which the shoulder is configured to move the device in a direction that is substantially opposite to a force transmitted by a bone surface of another bone surface at least to the same extent as applicant’s).
Regarding at least claim 6
Huebner teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the peripheral protrusion is disposed between proximally-positioned channel openings (annotated fig. 1 below shows channel openings as claimed).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Proximally positioned channel openings)]
Regarding at least claim 7
Huebner teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the top surface is substantially concave to align the body with a bone surface of the one or more bones of the joint (fig. 2 shows that the top surface is substantially concave).
Regarding at least claim 11
Huebner teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the peripheral protrusion is disposed on the top surface at a distance from the perimeter (annotated fig. 2 below shows the shoulder disposed on the top surface at a distance from the perimeter).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding at least claim 12
Huebner teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the peripheral protrusion is formed with the top surface and the bottom surface of the body (fig. 2 shows that the shoulders 45 are formed with both top and bottom surfaces of the spacer/body).
Regarding at least claim 13
Huebner meets the limitations of a device, comprising: a body (34) having a top surface (36) and a bottom surface (38), the top surface having a radius of curvature and the bottom surface having another radius of curvature (the curvature of the top and bottom surface each have a radius as shown in fig. 2), the body being configured to be surgically implanted in a joint and to prevent contact between one or more bones comprising the joint, the body not being coupled to the one or more bones (col. 3, lines 42-46 discloses that the spacer/body is configured to couple the pins 12 and 14, and therefore the bones, in a spaced relationship, thereby preventing contact between them – the spacer/body is not coupled to the one or more bones as shown in fig. 3); and a plurality of peripheral protrusions (45) disposed substantially about a perimeter of the body (fig. 2 shows that the shoulders are disposed about a perimeter of the spacer/body), the plurality of peripheral protrusions being formed with the body (fig. 2 shows the protrusions/shoulders being formed with the spacer/body) and being disposed about the perimeter of the body to retain the device in the joint (the shoulders being a greater thickness than a central portion of the spacer/body as shown in fig. 2 would retain the spacer/body in the joint in the same way as applicant’s, for example as shown in fig. 3C of applicant’s figures).
Huebner also teaches that the peripheral protrusions (shoulders; 45) do not have edged or pointed surfaces, for the purpose of reducing the likelihood of damaging the tendons, ligaments or nerves surrounding the joint (col. 4, lines 2-5). However, Huebner does not explicitly teach that the peripheral protrusions has a substantially circular cross section.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the shape, and therefore cross section, of the peripheral protrusion would result in a difference in function of the Huebner device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the shape, and therefore cross section, of the peripheral protrusions of Huebner, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed shape, and therefore cross section. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed shape or cross section solves any stated problem, indicating that the peripheral protrusions “may” be substantially spherical in shape and “may” have a circular cross section, and offering other acceptable shapes/cross sections (e.g., other shapes, non-spherical shapes, specification at para. [00194 and 00199]) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the shape or cross section as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the peripheral protrusions of Huebner to have a substantially circular cross section as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art, particularly since one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of eliminating sharp/pointy edges, as suggested by Huebner.
Regarding at least claim 14
Huebner teaches the device of claim 12 (interpreted as claim 13), including peripheral protrusions configured to retain the device within a joint. As explained above, Huebner clearly teaches that the peripheral protrusion (shoulders; 45) do not have edged or pointed surfaces, for the purpose of reducing the likelihood of damaging the tendons, ligaments or nerves surrounding the joint (col. 4, lines 2-5). However, Huebner does not explicitly teach that the peripheral protrusion is substantially spherical in shape.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the shape of the peripheral protrusion would result in a difference in function of the Huebner device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the shape of the peripheral protrusions of Huebner, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed shape. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed shape or cross section solves any stated problem, indicating that the peripheral protrusions “may” be substantially spherical in shape, and offering other acceptable shapes (e.g., other shapes, non-spherical shapes, specification at para. [00194 and 00199]) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the shape as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the peripheral protrusions of Huebner to be substantially spherical in shape as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art, particularly since one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of eliminating sharp/pointy edges, as suggested by Huebner.
Regarding at least claim 15
Huebner teaches the device of claim 12 (interpreted as claim 13), wherein the top surface radius of curvature is associated with a distal or proximal end of the one or more bones comprising the joint (fig. 3 shows that the top surface 36 is associated with a distal end of one of the bones comprising the joint).
Regarding at least claim 16
Huebner teaches the device of claim 12 (interpreted as claim 13), wherein the bottom surface radius of curvature is associated with a distal or proximal end of the one or more bones comprising the joint (fig. 3 shows that the bottom surface 38 is associated with a proximal end of one of the bones comprising the joint).
Regarding at least claim 17
Huebner teaches the device of claim 12 (interpreted as claim 13), wherein each of the plurality of peripheral protrusions (45) having the substantially circular cross section are shaped are configured to substantially retain the device in a synovial capsule in the joint (the spacer/body is disclosed in col. 4, lines 44-48 as being inserted between first and second bones that are phalanges and is therefore configured to be inserted into a synovial capsule substantially located within the joint; the shoulders being a greater thickness than a central portion of the spacer/body as shown in fig. 2 would retain the spacer/body in the joint in the same way as applicant’s, for example as shown in fig. 3C of applicant’s figures).
Regarding at least claim 18
Huebner teaches the device of claim 12 (interpreted as claim 13) , wherein the top surface includes a channel opening disposed substantially proximate to the perimeter of the body (annotated fig. 1 below shows a channel opening as claimed).
[AltContent: textbox (channel opening)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding at least claim 20
Huebner meets the limitations of a device, comprising: a body (34) having a top surface (36) and a bottom surface (38), the top surface having a radius of curvature and the bottom surface having another radius of curvature (the curvature of the top and bottom surface each have a radius as shown in fig. 2), the body being configured to be surgically implanted in a joint and to prevent contact between one or more bones comprising the joint, the body not being coupled to the one or more bones (col. 3, lines 42-46 discloses that the spacer/body is configured to couple the pins 12 and 14, and therefore the bones, in a spaced relationship, thereby preventing contact between them – the spacer/body is not coupled to the one or more bones as shown in fig. 3); and a plurality of peripheral protrusions (45) disposed substantially about a perimeter of the body (fig. 2 shows that the shoulders are disposed about a perimeter of the spacer/body), the plurality of peripheral protrusions being formed with the body (fig. 2 shows that the shoulders are formed with the spacer/body), and being disposed about the perimeter of the body to retain the device in the joint (the shoulders being a greater thickness than a central portion of the spacer/body as shown in fig. 2 would retain the spacer/body in the joint in the same way as applicant’s, for example as shown in fig. 3C of applicant’s figures), a quantity of the plurality of peripheral protrusions being determined by a type associated with the joint (col. 3, lines 60-66 discloses that a spacer may not include shoulders/protrusions though it is preferable to include them, therefore the plurality of shoulders/protrusions is determined depending on preference which may be the type associated with the joint as claimed).
Huebner also teaches that the peripheral protrusion (shoulders; 45) do not have edged or pointed surfaces, for the purpose of reducing the likelihood of damaging the tendons, ligaments or nerves surrounding the joint (col. 4, lines 2-5). However, Huebner does not explicitly teach that the plurality of peripheral protrusions have a substantially circular cross section.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the shape, and therefore cross section, of the peripheral protrusion would result in a difference in function of the Huebner device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the shape, and therefore cross section, of the peripheral protrusion of Huebner, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed shape, and therefore cross section. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed shape or cross section solves any stated problem, indicating that the peripheral protrusion “may” be substantially spherical in shape and “may” have a circular cross section, and offering other acceptable shapes/cross sections (e.g., other shapes, non-spherical shapes, specification at para. [00194 and 00199]) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the shape or cross section as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the peripheral protrusion of Huebner to have a substantially circular cross section as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art, particularly since one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of eliminating sharp/pointy edges, as suggested by Huebner.
Claim(s) 4, 8-10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huebner, as applied to claims 1 and 12 (interpreted as claim 13) above, and further in view of US Patent No. 9,408,706 B2 to Hassler et al. (Hassler).
Regarding at least claim 4 and 10
Huebner teaches the device of claim 1, including the peripheral protrusion (shoulder; 45), which is in contact with the pins (12, 14) attached to the bones (52, 54).
The bearing surfaces (36 and 38) of the spacer (34) of Huebner are each configured to receive the bearing surfaces (18) of the pin heads (56, 58), in order to couple the pins (12, 14) in a spaced relationship to enable the prosthesis to flex and extend as the joint is articulated (col. 3, lines 42-46). Since the spacer (34) is not fixedly secured and is able to move along the bearing surfaces (18) as the joint moves, it is construed that the spacer, which includes shoulders (peripheral protrusions; 45), is in non-permanent/intermittent contact with the surfaces. However, Huebner does not explicitly teach wherein the peripheral protrusion is in intermittent contact with the one or more bones or with a bone surface of the one or more bones.
Hassler teaches an implant intended to be placed in a trapeziometacarpal joint when the joint is damaged by a degenerative or inflammatory pathological process (col. 1, lines 15-19). Hassler acknowledges that many trapeziometacarpal prostheses are stem prosthesis in which the components are anchored by an elongate stem in a cavity of each bone (col. 1, lines 19-24). Hassler goes on to teach an implant that is prepared to substantially match the joint surface by simulating the anatomical saddle-type joint and is interposed between the trapezium and the metacarpal such that the curvature of the surfaces stabilizes and aligns the body between the bones, thus avoiding the need to provide means of fixation to the bones (col. 2, lines 17-27) and thereby preserving bone and better corresponding to the mobility of the anatomical joint (col. 1, lines 25-29). Similar to Huebner, the body of Hassler is construed to in non-permanent/intermittent contact with the bones because it is not fixedly secured and is held movably between them (col. 5, lines 51-60).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize that the peripheral protrusion of the implant of Huebner, which is in intermittent contact with the bearing surfaces of two stem prostheses, is fully capable of being in intermittent contact with the one or more bones or with a bone surface of the one or more bones, when the implant that is intended to preserve bone and better correspond to the mobility of the anatomical joint, as taught by Hassler.
Regarding at least claim 8
Huebner teaches the device of claim 1, including a top surface (36) that aligns the body (34) with a surface of each pin and therefore also a bone surface of the one or more bones of the joint, as shown in fig. 3. However, Huebner does not teach that the top surface is convex.
Hassler teaches an implant intended to be placed in a trapeziometacarpal joint when the joint is damaged by a degenerative or inflammatory pathological process (col. 1, lines 15-19). Hassler acknowledges that many trapeziometacarpal prostheses are stem prosthesis in which the components are anchored by an elongate stem in a cavity of each bone (col. 1, lines 19-24). Hassler goes on to teach an implant that is prepared to substantially match the joint surface by simulating the anatomical saddle-type joint and is interposed between the trapezium and the metacarpal such that the curvature of the surfaces stabilizes and aligns the body between the bones, thus avoiding the need to provide means of fixation to the bones (col. 2, lines 17-27) and thereby preserving bone and better corresponding to the mobility of the anatomical joint (col. 1, lines 25-29). Fig. 5 below shows that the saddle-shaped top surface (6) is convex.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the top surface of Huebner to be a saddle-shape, which includes convexity, as shown by Hassler in fig. 5, in order to simulate the anatomical saddle-type joint and align the body between the bones, thereby preserving bone and better corresponding to the mobility of the anatomical joint, as taught by Hassler.
Regarding at least claim 9
Huebner teaches the device of claim 1, including a top surface (36) that aligns the body (34) with a surface of each pin and therefore also a bone surface of the one or more bones of the joint, as shown in fig. 3. However, Huebner does not teach that the top surface is substantially saddle shaped.
Hassler teaches an implant intended to be placed in a trapeziometacarpal joint when the joint is damaged by a degenerative or inflammatory pathological process (col. 1, lines 15-19). Hassler acknowledges that many trapeziometacarpal prostheses are stem prosthesis in which the components are anchored by an elongate stem in a cavity of each bone (col. 1, lines 19-24). Hassler goes on to teach an implant that is prepared to substantially match the joint surface by simulating the anatomical saddle-type joint and is interposed between the trapezium and the metacarpal such that the curvature of the surfaces stabilizes and aligns the body between the bones, thus avoiding the need to provide means of fixation to the bones (col. 2, lines 17-27) and thereby preserving bone and better corresponding to the mobility of the anatomical joint (col. 1, lines 25-29). Fig. 5 below shows that the saddle-shaped top surface (6) is convex.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the top surface of Huebner to be a saddle-shape, in order to simulate the anatomical saddle-type joint and align the body between the bones, thereby preserving bone and better corresponding to the mobility of the anatomical joint, as taught by Hassler.
Regarding at least claim 19
Huebner teaches the device of claim 12 (interpreted as claim 13), including a top surface (36) that includes a channel opening to the concave curvature, as shown in annotated fig. 1 above. However, Huebner does not teach two intersecting channels, each channel having two channel openings disposed about the perimeter of the body.
Hassler teaches an implant intended to be placed in a trapeziometacarpal joint when the joint is damaged by a degenerative or inflammatory pathological process (col. 1, lines 15-19). Hassler acknowledges that many trapeziometacarpal prostheses are stem prosthesis in which the components are anchored by an elongate stem in a cavity of each bone (col. 1, lines 19-24). Hassler goes on to teach an implant that is prepared to substantially match the joint surface by simulating the anatomical saddle-type joint and is interposed between the trapezium and the metacarpal such that the curvature of the surfaces stabilizes and aligns the body between the bones, thus avoiding the need to provide means of fixation to the bones (col. 2, lines 17-27) and thereby preserving bone and better corresponding to the mobility of the anatomical joint (col. 1, lines 25-29). Annotated fig. 2 below shows that the top surface includes two intersecting channels (convex curvature along each axis X4 and concave curvature along axis 61 shown in annotated fig. 2 below represent two intersecting channels), each channel having two channel openings disposed about the perimeter of the body (arrow shown in annotated fig. 2 below represent two channel openings of each channel that are disposed about the perimeter of the body).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arc][AltContent: arc][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the top surface of Huebner to be a saddle-shape that includes two intersecting channels, each channel having two channel openings disposed about the perimeter of the body, in order to simulate the anatomical saddle-type joint and align the body between the bones, thereby preserving bone and better corresponding to the mobility of the anatomical joint, as taught by Hassler.
Conclusion
/M.A.H/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774