DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a Final Office Action on the merits in response to communications on 2026/04/07. Claims 1, 8 – 10, 17 and 18 are amended. Claim 11 has been cancelled. Abstract has been amended. Claims 1 – 18 are pending and are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to Claim 9 have overcome the 101 rejection. Applicant further argues Tsuji fails to disclose the following statement from independent claims 1, 8, 10, and 17: “a state switch processing unit that, apart from a gate lock lever, is capable of switching between an enabled state and a disabled state of the operation unit”. Examiner interprets this language as, the “state switch processing unit” is merely processing the state of a physical gate lock lever. Tsuji does disclose the ability for a processor to determine the state of a “gate lock lever”, and use that state to switch between an “enabled state” and a “disabled state”. See Tsuji, [0061].
Applicant's response indicates that claim 4 was cancelled, and the arguments are now moot along with claim 11. However, claim 4 appears to be included in the currently amended claims as originally filed, without all of the limitations being incorporated into another currently presented claim. For these reasons Examiner believes that claim 4 was not intended to be cancelled and therefore, for completeness of the record, the rejection of the claim was maintained.
Applicant's arguments regarding the secondary references on page 11 fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. The applicant’s arguments are directed at hypothetical rejections on which the examiner did not make.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“placing the operation unit in the enabled when”. Examiner suggests adding “state” between “enabled” and “when”. For reference, in the following line, Applicant states the following: “placing the operation unit in the disabled state when”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 – 10, 14 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Keiichi Tsuji, et. al. (US 20220042283 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tsuji.
Regarding Claim 1:
A work machine control system comprising:
an acquisition processing unit that acquires a detection result of an object around a machine body of a work machine, wherein the work machine is provided with an actuator that is actuated in response to an operation of an operation unit;
Tsuji discloses “The surroundings monitoring apparatus 150 monitors the entry of a predetermined object (hereinafter referred to as a “monitoring target”) into a predetermined area surrounding the shovel 100. If a monitoring target is detected in the predetermined area surrounding the shovel 100, the surroundings monitoring apparatus 150 activates a safety function to ensure the safety in the surroundings of the shovel 100.” (Tsuji, [0085]) and “The safety function control part 305 activates the operation limiting function to limit the operation of the shovel 100 by controlling the hydraulic control valve 56. In this case, the safety function control part 305 may limit the operations of all of the driven elements” (Tsuji, [0151]).
a gate lock lever capable of switching between an unlocked state capable of operating the work machine and a locked state incapable of operating the work machine; and
Tsuji discloses “Further, when a gate lock lever of the cabin 10 is pulled up (a “locked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are disabled, and thus, the operation of the shovel 100 is disabled. Conversely, when the gate lock lever is pushed down (“an unlocked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are enabled, and thus, the operation of the shovel 100 is enabled.” (Tsuji, [0061]).
a state switch processing unit that, apart from a gate lock lever, is capable of switching between an enabled state and a disabled state of the operation unit, wherein
the state switch processing unit places the operation unit in the enabled state when: the work machine is in a standby state, and the gate lock lever is in the unlocked state, and the detection result meets a given condition, and
Tsuji discloses “the safety function control part 305 may be configured to activate the external notification function when the gate lock lever is in an unlocked state. When the gate lock lever is in an unlocked state, the shovel 100 is likely to be operated in accordance with the operator's operation or an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function. Conversely, the safety function control part 305 may be configured to not activate the external notification function when the gate lock lever is in a locked state. When the gate lock lever is in a locked state, the operator's operation or an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function is disabled, and thus, the shovel 100 is not operated” (Tsuji, [0244]) and “when a gate lock lever of the cabin 10 is pulled up (a “locked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are disabled, and thus, the operation of the shovel 100 is disabled. Conversely, when the gate lock lever is pushed down (“an unlocked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are enabled” (Tsuji, [0061]).
the state switch processing unit places the operation unit in the disabled state when: the work machine is switched to an operating state, and the gate lock lever is in the unlocked state, and the detection result meets the given condition.
Tsuji discloses “the safety function control part 305 may be configured to activate the external notification function when the gate lock lever is in an unlocked state. When the gate lock lever is in an unlocked state, the shovel 100 is likely to be operated in accordance with the operator's operation or an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function. Conversely, the safety function control part 305 may be configured to not activate the external notification function when the gate lock lever is in a locked state. When the gate lock lever is in a locked state, the operator's operation or an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function is disabled, and thus, the shovel 100 is not operated” (Tsuji, [0244]), “the safety function control part 305 activates the operation limiting function when a monitoring target is detected by the detecting part 304 in a predetermined area” (Tsuji, [0150]), and “when a gate lock lever of the cabin 10 is pulled up (a “locked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are disabled, and thus, the operation of the shovel 100 is disabled. Conversely, when the gate lock lever is pushed down (“an unlocked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are enabled” (Tsuji, [0061].
Regarding Claim 5:
The work machine control system as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the given condition includes the object being present in a monitoring area around the work machine.
Tsuji discloses “The surroundings monitoring apparatus 150 monitors the entry of a predetermined object (hereinafter referred to as a “monitoring target”) into a predetermined area surrounding the shovel 100. If a monitoring target is detected in the predetermined area surrounding the shovel 100, the surroundings monitoring apparatus 150 activates a safety function to ensure the safety in the surroundings of the shovel 100.” (Tsuji, [0085]).
Regarding Claim 6:
The work machine control system as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
an alarm processing unit that presents information on the detection result, when the state switch processing unit puts the operation unit in the enabled state despite at least the gate lock lever being in the unlocked state and the detection result meeting the given condition.
Tsuji discloses “Further, for example, for the notification function, the safety function control part 305 may change the manner of displaying an image on the display device 50 or the like (see FIG. 20, for example) between when a monitoring target is detected by the detecting part 304A and when a monitoring target is detected by the detecting part 304B.” (Tsuji, [0225]).
Regarding Claim 7:
A work machine, comprising:
the work machine control system according to claim 1;
Tsuji discloses “the controller 30 may output a control command, which corresponds to the operation details of the operating device 26, the details of a remote operation specified in a remote operation signal, the details of an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function, or the like, to an electric actuator, a driver that drives the electric actuator, or the like.” ([0060]).
and the machine body.
Tsuji discloses “the controller 30 may output a control command, which corresponds to the operation details of the operating device 26, the details of a remote operation specified in a remote operation signal, the details of an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function, or the like, to an electric actuator, a driver that drives the electric actuator, or the like.” ([0060]).
Regarding Claim 8:
A work machine control method for a work machine comprising:
a gate lock lever capable of switching between an unlocked state capable of operating the work machine and a locked state incapable of operating the work machine,
Tsuji discloses “Further, when a gate lock lever of the cabin 10 is pulled up (a “locked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are disabled, and thus, the operation of the shovel 100 is disabled. Conversely, when the gate lock lever is pushed down (“an unlocked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are enabled, and thus, the operation of the shovel 100 is enabled.” (Tsuji, [0061]).
wherein the work machine control method comprises:
acquiring a detection result of an object around a machine body of a work machine, wherein the work machine is provided with an actuator that is actuated in response to an operation of an operation unit; and
Tsuji discloses “The surroundings monitoring apparatus 150 monitors the entry of a predetermined object (hereinafter referred to as a “monitoring target”) into a predetermined area surrounding the shovel 100. If a monitoring target is detected in the predetermined area surrounding the shovel 100, the surroundings monitoring apparatus 150 activates a safety function to ensure the safety in the surroundings of the shovel 100.” (Tsuji, [0085]) and “The safety function control part 305 activates the operation limiting function to limit the operation of the shovel 100 by controlling the hydraulic control valve 56. In this case, the safety function control part 305 may limit the operations of all of the driven elements” (Tsuji, [0151]).
apart from the gate lock lever:
placing the operation unit in the enabled when:
the work machine is in a standby state, and
the gate lock lever is in the unlocked state, and
the detection result meets a given condition, and
Tsuji discloses “the safety function control part 305 may be configured to activate the external notification function when the gate lock lever is in an unlocked state. When the gate lock lever is in an unlocked state, the shovel 100 is likely to be operated in accordance with the operator's operation or an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function. Conversely, the safety function control part 305 may be configured to not activate the external notification function when the gate lock lever is in a locked state. When the gate lock lever is in a locked state, the operator's operation or an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function is disabled, and thus, the shovel 100 is not operated” (Tsuji, [0244]) and “when a gate lock lever of the cabin 10 is pulled up (a “locked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are disabled, and thus, the operation of the shovel 100 is disabled. Conversely, when the gate lock lever is pushed down (“an unlocked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are enabled” (Tsuji, [0061]).
placing the operation unit in the disabled state when:
the work machine is switched to an operating state, and
the gate lock lever is in the unlocked state, and
the detection result meets the given condition.
Tsuji discloses “the safety function control part 305 may be configured to activate the external notification function when the gate lock lever is in an unlocked state. When the gate lock lever is in an unlocked state, the shovel 100 is likely to be operated in accordance with the operator's operation or an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function. Conversely, the safety function control part 305 may be configured to not activate the external notification function when the gate lock lever is in a locked state. When the gate lock lever is in a locked state, the operator's operation or an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function is disabled, and thus, the shovel 100 is not operated” (Tsuji, [0244]), “the safety function control part 305 activates the operation limiting function when a monitoring target is detected by the detecting part 304 in a predetermined area” (Tsuji, [0150]), and “when a gate lock lever of the cabin 10 is pulled up (a “locked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are disabled, and thus, the operation of the shovel 100 is disabled. Conversely, when the gate lock lever is pushed down (“an unlocked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are enabled” (Tsuji, [0061].
Regarding Claim 9:
A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions to configure one or more processors to execute the work machine control method according to claim 8.
Tsuji discloses “Functions of the control device 210 may be implemented by any hardware, a combination of hardware and software, or the like. For example, the control device 210 may be configured mainly by a computer including a central processing unit (CPU), a memory device such as a random-access memory (RAM), an auxiliary storage device such as a read-only memory (ROM), and input and output interfaces for external devices.” (Tsuji, [0071]).
Regarding Claim 10:
A work machine control system comprising:
an acquisition processing unit that acquires a detection result of an object around a machine body of a work machine provided with an actuator actuated in response to an operation of an operation unit;
Tsuji discloses “The surroundings monitoring apparatus 150 monitors the entry of a predetermined object (hereinafter referred to as a “monitoring target”) into a predetermined area surrounding the shovel 100. If a monitoring target is detected in the predetermined area surrounding the shovel 100, the surroundings monitoring apparatus 150 activates a safety function to ensure the safety in the surroundings of the shovel 100.” (Tsuji, [0085]) and “The safety function control part 305 activates the operation limiting function to limit the operation of the shovel 100 by controlling the hydraulic control valve 56. In this case, the safety function control part 305 may limit the operations of all of the driven elements” (Tsuji, [0151]).
a gate lock lever capable of switching between an unlocked state capable of operating the work machine and a locked state incapable of operating the work machine; and
Tsuji discloses “Further, when a gate lock lever of the cabin 10 is pulled up (a “locked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are disabled, and thus, the operation of the shovel 100 is disabled. Conversely, when the gate lock lever is pushed down (“an unlocked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are enabled, and thus, the operation of the shovel 100 is enabled.” (Tsuji, [0061]).
a state switch processing unit that, apart from a gate lock lever, is capable of switching between an enabled state and disabled state of the operation unit, wherein
when:
the work machine is in an action state and the gate lock lever is in the unlocked state, and the detection result meets a given condition,
the state switch processing unit places the operation unit in the disabled state, and
Tsuji discloses “the safety function control part 305 may be configured to activate the external notification function when the gate lock lever is in an unlocked state. When the gate lock lever is in an unlocked state, the shovel 100 is likely to be operated in accordance with the operator's operation or an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function. Conversely, the safety function control part 305 may be configured to not activate the external notification function when the gate lock lever is in a locked state. When the gate lock lever is in a locked state, the operator's operation or an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function is disabled, and thus, the shovel 100 is not operated” (Tsuji, [0244]) and “when a gate lock lever of the cabin 10 is pulled up (a “locked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are disabled, and thus, the operation of the shovel 100 is disabled. Conversely, when the gate lock lever is pushed down (“an unlocked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are enabled” (Tsuji, [0061]).
when:
the work machine is in a standby state and
the gate lock lever is in the unlocked state and,
the detection result meets the given condition,
the state switch processing unit places the operation unit in the enabled state.
Tsuji discloses “the safety function control part 305 may be configured to activate the external notification function when the gate lock lever is in an unlocked state. When the gate lock lever is in an unlocked state, the shovel 100 is likely to be operated in accordance with the operator's operation or an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function. Conversely, the safety function control part 305 may be configured to not activate the external notification function when the gate lock lever is in a locked state. When the gate lock lever is in a locked state, the operator's operation or an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function is disabled, and thus, the shovel 100 is not operated” (Tsuji, [0244]), “the safety function control part 305 activates the operation limiting function when a monitoring target is detected by the detecting part 304 in a predetermined area” (Tsuji, [0150]), and “when a gate lock lever of the cabin 10 is pulled up (a “locked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are disabled, and thus, the operation of the shovel 100 is disabled. Conversely, when the gate lock lever is pushed down (“an unlocked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are enabled” (Tsuji, [0061].
Regarding Claim 14:
The work machine control system as claimed in claim 10, wherein
the given condition includes the object being present in a monitoring area around the work machine.
Tsuji discloses “The surroundings monitoring apparatus 150 monitors the entry of a predetermined object (hereinafter referred to as a “monitoring target”) into a predetermined area surrounding the shovel 100. If a monitoring target is detected in the predetermined area surrounding the shovel 100, the surroundings monitoring apparatus 150 activates a safety function to ensure the safety in the surroundings of the shovel 100.” (Tsuji, [0085]).
Regarding Claim 15:
The work machine control system as claimed in claim 10, further comprising:
an alarm processing unit that presents information on the detection result, when at least the gate lock lever is in the unlocked state and the detection result meets the given condition.
Tsuji discloses “Further, for example, for the notification function, the safety function control part 305 may change the manner of displaying an image on the display device 50 or the like (see FIG. 20, for example) between when a monitoring target is detected by the detecting part 304A and when a monitoring target is detected by the detecting part 304B.” (Tsuji, [0225]).
Regarding Claim 16:
A work machine, comprising:
the work machine control system according to claim 10; and
Tsuji discloses “the controller 30 may output a control command, which corresponds to the operation details of the operating device 26, the details of a remote operation specified in a remote operation signal, the details of an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function, or the like, to an electric actuator, a driver that drives the electric actuator, or the like.” ([0060]).
the machine body.
Tsuji discloses “the controller 30 may output a control command, which corresponds to the operation details of the operating device 26, the details of a remote operation specified in a remote operation signal, the details of an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function, or the like, to an electric actuator, a driver that drives the electric actuator, or the like.” ([0060]).
Regarding Claim 17:
A work machine control method for a work machine comprising:
a gate lock lever capable of switching between an unlocked state capable of operating the work machine and a locked state incapable of operating the work machine,
Tsuji discloses “Further, when a gate lock lever of the cabin 10 is pulled up (a “locked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are disabled, and thus, the operation of the shovel 100 is disabled. Conversely, when the gate lock lever is pushed down (“an unlocked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are enabled, and thus, the operation of the shovel 100 is enabled.” (Tsuji, [0061]).
wherein the work machine control method comprises:
acquiring a detection result of an object around a machine body of a work machine, wherein the work machine is provided with an actuator that is actuated in response to an operation of an operation unit; and
Tsuji discloses “The surroundings monitoring apparatus 150 monitors the entry of a predetermined object (hereinafter referred to as a “monitoring target”) into a predetermined area surrounding the shovel 100. If a monitoring target is detected in the predetermined area surrounding the shovel 100, the surroundings monitoring apparatus 150 activates a safety function to ensure the safety in the surroundings of the shovel 100.” (Tsuji, [0085]) and “The safety function control part 305 activates the operation limiting function to limit the operation of the shovel 100 by controlling the hydraulic control valve 56. In this case, the safety function control part 305 may limit the operations of all of the driven elements” (Tsuji, [0151]).
apart from a gate lock lever:
placing the operation unit in the disabled state when:
the work machine is in an action state, and
the gate lock lever is in the unlocked state, and
the detection result meets a given condition, and
Tsuji discloses “the safety function control part 305 may be configured to activate the external notification function when the gate lock lever is in an unlocked state. When the gate lock lever is in an unlocked state, the shovel 100 is likely to be operated in accordance with the operator's operation or an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function. Conversely, the safety function control part 305 may be configured to not activate the external notification function when the gate lock lever is in a locked state. When the gate lock lever is in a locked state, the operator's operation or an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function is disabled, and thus, the shovel 100 is not operated” (Tsuji, [0244]) and “when a gate lock lever of the cabin 10 is pulled up (a “locked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are disabled, and thus, the operation of the shovel 100 is disabled. Conversely, when the gate lock lever is pushed down (“an unlocked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are enabled” (Tsuji, [0061]).
placing the operation unit in the disabled state when:
the work machine is switched to an operating state, and
the gate lock lever is in the unlocked state, and
the detection result meets the given condition.
Tsuji discloses “the safety function control part 305 may be configured to activate the external notification function when the gate lock lever is in an unlocked state. When the gate lock lever is in an unlocked state, the shovel 100 is likely to be operated in accordance with the operator's operation or an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function. Conversely, the safety function control part 305 may be configured to not activate the external notification function when the gate lock lever is in a locked state. When the gate lock lever is in a locked state, the operator's operation or an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function is disabled, and thus, the shovel 100 is not operated” (Tsuji, [0244]), “the safety function control part 305 activates the operation limiting function when a monitoring target is detected by the detecting part 304 in a predetermined area” (Tsuji, [0150]), and “when a gate lock lever of the cabin 10 is pulled up (a “locked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are disabled, and thus, the operation of the shovel 100 is disabled. Conversely, when the gate lock lever is pushed down (“an unlocked state”), an operation with respect to the operating device 26, a remote operation, and an operation command corresponding to the automatic operation function are enabled” (Tsuji, [0061].
Regarding Claim 18:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions to configure one or more processors to execute the work machine control method according to claim 17.
Tsuji discloses “Functions of the control device 210 may be implemented by any hardware, a combination of hardware and software, or the like. For example, the control device 210 may be configured mainly by a computer including a central processing unit (CPU), a memory device such as a random-access memory (RAM), an auxiliary storage device such as a read-only memory (ROM), and input and output interfaces for external devices.” (Tsuji, [0071]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keiichi Tsuji, et. al. (US 20220042283 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tsuji, in view of Nee, et. al. (US 20160130788 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nee.
Regarding Claim 2:
The work machine control system as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
a determination processing unit that determines the standby state and an action state of the work machine, based on an operation state of the operation unit operated by a user.
Nee discloses “[0033] The controller 42 may monitor operator inputs, such as, in module 62 and module 64. Operator inputs may comprise input from the operator into the operator controls of the operator interface 32… More specifically, the controller 42 may determine operator inactivity. For example, based on the signals sent from the associated sensors, the controller 42 may determine when the first brake pedal 48, the second brake pedal 50, the parking brake control 52, and the load brake control 56 are not being used by the operator.” (Nee, [0033 – 0035]).
The “controller 42” taught by Nee is synonymous with the “determination processing unit” disclosed by the applicant. Just like the “determination processing unit” (applicant), the “controller 42” (Nee) is capable of determining the current “action state” of the machine, and can determine “operator inactivity”, based on the “operation state of the operation unit operated by the user”.
Regarding Claim 12:
The work machine control system as claimed in claim 10, further comprising:
a determination processing unit that determines a standby state and the action state of the work machine, based on an operation state of the operation unit operated by a user.
Nee discloses “[0033] The controller 42 may monitor operator inputs, such as, in module 62 and module 64. Operator inputs may comprise input from the operator into the operator controls of the operator interface 32… More specifically, the controller 42 may determine operator inactivity. For example, based on the signals sent from the associated sensors, the controller 42 may determine when the first brake pedal 48, the second brake pedal 50, the parking brake control 52, and the load brake control 56 are not being used by the operator.” (Nee, [0033 – 0035]).
The “controller 42” taught by Nee is synonymous with the “determination processing unit” disclosed by the applicant. Just like the “determination processing unit” (applicant), the “controller 42” (Nee) is capable of determining the current “action state” of the machine, and can determine “operator inactivity”, based on the “operation state of the operation unit operated by the user”.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keiichi Tsuji, et. al. (US 20220042283 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tsuji, in view of Agarwal, et. al. (US 20200393838 A1), hereinafter referred to as Agarwal.
Regarding Claim 3:
The work machine control system as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
a deceleration processing unit that, when the work machine is in the standby state, controls a speed of an engine of the work machine to be lower than a given value, and, when the work machine is in an action state, controls the speed of the engine to be higher than the given value.
Agarwal discloses “The present disclosure provides an industrial truck to automatically sense obstacles in real-time using algorithmic structures operating on a truck controller processor as disclosed herein, and to automatically limit the speed of the vehicle, such as by applying braking mechanisms to prevent accidents” (Agarwal, [0018]) and “Proximity sensor 206 can include one or more camera, LIDAR unit, safety scanner or other suitable devices that can be used to sense the presence of obstacles in the vicinity of a vehicle. The field of view of the proximity sensor can divided into three proximity zones, or other suitable numbers of zone. In this example embodiment, a Warning Zone 1 can be the first zone that is used to generate an alert as a vehicle approaches an object. Once an object enters this zone, the driver assistance system can automatically apply a gentle brake by pulsing the brake (rapid on/off control) and limit the top speed of the vehicle.” (Agarwal, [0027]).
Regarding Claim 3, Tsuji teaches the system of Claim 1, but fails to teach a state during which a speed is lower or higher than a given value. However, Agarwal teaches a controller that automatically limits the speed of a vehicle in the presence of an obstacle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s effective filing date to combine the system of Claim 1 taught by Tsuji with the system of Agarwal because the system taught by Agarwal is a machine that navigates through an environment full of obstacles. It would therefore have been obvious to combine the tools and systems taught by Tsuji to the system taught by Agarwal, to control braking in a system.
Regarding Claim 13:
The work machine control system as claimed in claim 10, further comprising:
a deceleration processing unit that, when the work machine is in a standby state, controls a speed of an engine of the work machine to be lower than a given value, and, when the work machine is in the action state, controls the speed of the engine to be higher than the given value.
Agarwal discloses “The present disclosure provides an industrial truck to automatically sense obstacles in real-time using algorithmic structures operating on a truck controller processor as disclosed herein, and to automatically limit the speed of the vehicle, such as by applying braking mechanisms to prevent accidents” (Agarwal, [0018]) and “Proximity sensor 206 can include one or more camera, LIDAR unit, safety scanner or other suitable devices that can be used to sense the presence of obstacles in the vicinity of a vehicle. The field of view of the proximity sensor can divided into three proximity zones, or other suitable numbers of zone. In this example embodiment, a Warning Zone 1 can be the first zone that is used to generate an alert as a vehicle approaches an object. Once an object enters this zone, the driver assistance system can automatically apply a gentle brake by pulsing the brake (rapid on/off control) and limit the top speed of the vehicle.” (Agarwal, [0027]).
Regarding Claim 13, Green teaches the system of Claim 10, but fails to teach a state during which a speed is lower or higher than a given value. However, Agarwal teaches a controller that automatically limits the speed of a vehicle in the presence of an obstacle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s effective filing date to combine the system of Claim 10 taught by Green with the system of Agarwal because the system taught by Agarwal is a machine that navigates through an environment full of obstacles. It would therefore have been obvious to combine the tools and systems taught by Green to the system taught by Agarwal, to control braking in a system.
Claim 4 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keiichi Tsuji, et. al. (US 20220042283 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tsuji, in view of Nee, et. al. (US 20160130788 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nee, and in view of Agarwal, et. al. (US 20200393838 A1), hereinafter referred to as Agarwal.
Regarding Claim 4:
The work machine control system as claimed in claim 3, wherein
the state switch processing unit puts the operation unit in the disabled state, when, after the speed of the engine being higher than the given value, the gate lock lever is in the unlocked state and the detection result meets the given condition.
Nee discloses “If the speed 70 is greater than the speed threshold, and the throttle signal 72 or the brake signal 74 is high, then the controller 42 may determine that the machine 20 is active or in a working state. For example, a machine working parameter may be set to high. If the speed 70 is lower than the speed threshold, then the controller 42 may determine that the machine 20 is in an inactive state. In this case, the machine working parameter may be set to low.” (Nee, 0043]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Watts, et. al. (US 9746852 B1)
Watts discloses a robot that uses laser scanners to scan an area in front of the robot however, does not teach a specific method for controlling speed, or setting different states, and was therefore not used as prior art.
Siegel, et. al. (US 11263579 B1)
Siegel discloses a method for controlling a network of autonomous vehicles with safety areas and scanners, however does not teach a specific method for controlling speed, or setting different states, and was therefore not used as prior art.
/J.B.C./
Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656