DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 02/19/2026. Claims 1, 4, 7-11, and 13 are currently pending for examination on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7-10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kubo et al. (US 2014/0004257) (Kubo).
Regarding claim 1, Kubo discloses a production method for a sulfide solid electrolyte (title; abstract), the method comprising: mixing a raw material inclusion containing at least two raw materials ([0007]-[0013]), wherein the raw material inclusion contains Li2S ([0010]), which reads on the claimed limitation that the raw material inclusion contains at least one atom selected from the group consisting of a lithium atom, a sulfur atom, a phosphorous atom, and a halogen atom. Kubo further discloses that the raw material inclusion further comprises P2S5 that is mixed with a dispersion medium, specifically a thiol derivative (ethane mercaptan) ([0007]-[0008]; [0035]; [0069]; [0112]-[0113]; see Example 1-3 in Table 1). It is clear that the combination of P2S5 with ethane mercaptan (C2H5SH) would result in a modified P2S5 with an organic group corresponding to formula (a-1), in which Ra1 is a monovalent organic group and Xa1 is a sulfur atom, because P2S5 reacts with the -SH group in ethane mercaptan, producing hydrogen sulfide (H2S) and the claimed modified P2S5. This is consistent with applicant’s own disclosure, which produces the claimed P2S5 through a reaction with P2S5 and a thiol derivative (see [0024]-[0030] of the instant specification). Thus, Kubo reads on all of the limitations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Kubo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. As set forth above, Kubo discloses the combination of P2S5 with a thiol derivative (ethane mercaptan) ([0112]-[0113]; see Example 1-3 in Table 1), which is the exact combination that the instant specification uses to create the claimed modified P2S5 according to formula (a-1) which contains a covalent bond between a phosphorus atom of P2S5 and sulfur (see [0024]-[0030] of the instant specification). Thus, it is considered inherent that Kubo satisfies the claimed limitations in claim 4.
Regarding claim 7, Kubo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kubo further discloses that a mixing machine is used in the mixing ([0073]), reading on all of the limitations in claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Kubo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kubo further discloses that the dispersion medium can further include triethyl amine ([0033]), which is complexing agent according to the claimed invention (see [0137] of the instant specification). Thus, Kubo reads on all of the limitations in claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Kubo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kubo further discloses that the mixing can be performed in a solvent ([0041]; [0057]; [0070]).
Regarding claim 10, Kubo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kubo further discloses that the method comprises heating ([0077]).
Regarding claim 13, Kubo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. As set forth above, Kubo discloses a combination of P2S5 with a thiol derivative (ethane mercaptan) ([0007]-[0008]; [0035]; [0069]; [0112]-[0113]; see Example 1-3 in Table 1), which is the same combination that the instant specification uses to create modified P2S5 with an organic group according to (a-1) where Xa1 is a sulfur atom (see [0024]-[0030] of the instant specification). Thus, it is considered inherent that Kubo satisfies all of the limitations in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo et al. (US 2014/0004257) (Kubo) in view of Tanaka et al. (US 2021/0376377) (Tanaka) (of record).
Regarding claim 11, Kubo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kubo fails to explicitly disclose, however, that the sulfide solid electrolyte contains a thio-LISICON Region II-type crystal structure.
However, this configuration is common in the art for sulfide solid electrolytes. For instance, Tanaka teaches a similar production method for a sulfide solid electrolyte (title; [0013]; [0177]), the method comprising mixing a raw material inclusion containing lithium sulfide, diphosphorus pentasulfide, and a lithium halide ([0044]). Tanaka further teaches that the sulfide solid electrolyte contains a thio-LISICON Region II-type crystal structure ([0015]; [0158]; [0161]-[0163]; [0210]). Tanaka further teaches that configuring the sulfide solid electrolyte to have this crystal structure leads to higher ionic conductivity ([0158]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the sulfide solid electrolyte disclosed by Kubo to have the claimed thio-LISICON Region II-type crystal structure, as taught by Tanaka, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would lead to higher ionic conductivity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the specification and claims have overcome each and every drawings objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 11/20/2025.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
As such, claims 1, 4, 7-11, and 13 stand rejected.
Conclusion
/B.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749