DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Gandhi et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0136526).
Regarding claim 1, the Gandhi et al. (hereinafter Ghandi) reference discloses a soft actuator (100) comprising:
an inflatable arm (Fig. 2B) comprising:
a plurality of inflatable pouches (e.g. 262,282);
a common fluid channel (channel between 262,272,282) in fluid communication with and configured to provide a pressurized fluid to the plurality of inflatable pouches (Fig. 2B);
a plurality of valves (292) in fluid communication with the common fluid channel and the plurality of inflatable pouches (Fig. 2B); and
at least one sensor (295) in communication with at least one of the plurality of inflatable pouches such that the common fluid channel, the plurality of valves and the at least one sensor are configured to selectively inflate the plurality of inflatable pouches (Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 2, the Gandhi reference discloses a controller (Abstract) configured to command the plurality of valves such that the plurality of inflatable pouches are selectively inflated.
Regarding claim 3, the Gandhi reference discloses the at least one sensor is in communication with and configured to transmit a sensor signal to the controller, the controller configured to receive the sensor signal and command the plurality of valves as a function of the sensor signal (Fig. 2B, Para. [0040]).
Regarding claim 4, the Gandhi reference discloses an inflation device (Para. [0024]) in fluid communication with and configured to provide the pressurized fluid to the common fluid channel, wherein the controller is configured to command the inflation device as a function of the sensor signal (Para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 5, the Gandhi reference discloses the at least one sensor comprises a position sensor configured to determine a position of a predefined location on the inflatable arm and transmit a position signal to the controller (Para. [0035]).
Regarding claim 6, the Gandhi reference discloses the controller is configured to command at least one of the plurality of valves as a function of the position signal (Para. [0045]).
Regarding claim 7, the Gandhi reference discloses an inflation device (Para. [0024]) in fluid communication with and configured to provide the pressurized fluid to the common fluid channel, wherein the controller is configured to command the inflation device as a function of the position signal (Para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 8, the Gandhi reference discloses the at least one sensor comprises a pressure sensor configured to determine a pressure within at least one of the plurality of inflatable pouches and transmit a pressure signal to the controller (Para. [0035]).
Regarding claim 9, the Gandhi reference discloses the controller is configured to command at least one of the plurality of valves as a function of the pressure signal (Para. [0035]).
Regarding claim 10, the Gandhi reference discloses an inflation device (Para. [0024]) in fluid communication with and configured to provide the pressurized fluid to the common fluid channel, wherein the controller is configured to command the inflation device as a function of the pressure signal (Para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 11, the Gandhi reference discloses the at least one sensor comprises a load sensor configured to determine a load supported by the inflatable arm and transmit a load signal to the controller (Para. [0035]).
Regarding claim 12, the Gandhi reference discloses the controller is configured to command at least one of the plurality of valves as a function of the load signal (Para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 13, the Gandhi reference discloses an inflation device (Para. [0024]) in fluid communication with and configured to provide the pressurized fluid to the common fluid channel, wherein the controller is configured to command the inflation device as a function of the load signal (Para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 14, the Gandhi reference discloses the at least one sensor is a plurality of pressure sensors individually in communication with and individually configured to transmit a pressure signals to the controller (Fig. 2B), the controller configured to receive a plurality of pressure signals from the plurality of pressure sensors and command the plurality of valves as a function of the plurality of pressure signals such that the plurality of inflatable pouches are selectively inflated (Para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 15, the Gandhi et al. (hereinafter Ghandi) reference discloses a soft actuator (100) comprising:
an inflatable arm (Fig. 2B) comprising:
a plurality of inflatable pouches (e.g. 262,282);
a common fluid channel (channel between 262,272,282) in fluid communication with and configured to provide a pressurized fluid to the plurality of inflatable pouches (Fig. 2B);
a plurality of valves (292) in fluid communication with the common fluid channel and the plurality of inflatable pouches (Fig. 2B); and
a plurality of sensors (295) in communication with at least a subset of the plurality of inflatable pouches such that the common fluid channel, the plurality of valves and the plurality of sensors are configured to selectively inflate the plurality of inflatable pouches; and
a controller (Abstract) configured to command the plurality of valves such that the plurality of inflatable pouches are selectively inflated.
Regarding claim 16, the Gandhi reference discloses an inflation device (Para. [0024]) in fluid communication with and configured to provide the pressurized fluid to the common fluid channel, wherein the controller is configured to command the inflation device as a function of a plurality of sensor signals from the plurality of sensors (Para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 17, the Gandhi reference discloses the plurality of sensors comprise a plurality of pressure sensors configured to determine a pressure within the at least the subset of the plurality of inflatable pouches and transmit a plurality of pressure signals to the controller (Para. [0035].
Regarding claim 18, the Gandhi reference discloses the controller is configured to command at least one of the plurality of valves as a function of the plurality of pressure signals (Para. [0035]).
Regarding claim 19, the Gandhi reference discloses a soft actuator (100) comprising:
an inflatable arm (Fig. 2B) comprising:
a plurality of inflatable pouches (e.g. 262,282);
a common fluid channel (channel between 262,272,282) in fluid communication with and configured to provide a pressurized fluid to the plurality of inflatable pouches (Fig. 2B);
a plurality of valves (292) in fluid communication with the common fluid channel and the plurality of inflatable pouches (Fig. 2B); and
a plurality of sensors (295) in communication with at least a subset of the plurality of inflatable pouches such that the common fluid channel, the plurality of valves and the plurality of sensors are configured to selectively inflate the plurality of inflatable pouches; and
an inflation device (Abstract) in fluid communication with and configured to provide a pressurized fluid to the common fluid channel; and
a controller (Abstract) configured to command the plurality of valves such that the plurality of inflatable pouches are selectively inflated.
Regarding claim 20, the Gandhi reference discloses the plurality of sensors comprise: a plurality of pressure sensors configured to determine a pressure within the plurality of inflatable pouches and transmit a plurality of pressure signals to the controller; and at least one load sensor configured to determine a load supported by the inflatable arm and transmit a load signal to the controller (Para. [0024]).
Conclusion
/GILBERT Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675