DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to an amendment filed on March 16th, 2026. Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13, 14, and 16-20 are pending in the current application. Claims 7, 12, and 15 are canceled with claims 1, 4, 5, 8-11, 13, 14, 16, 17, and 19 amended in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamaguchi et al. (U.S. Patent Application No. US 20210334706 A1)
Regarding claim 11, Yamaguchi teaches a model training method, performed by a first cluster communicatively connected to a second cluster, (“As illustrated in FIG. 1, the augmentation apparatus 10 includes an input/output unit 11, a storage unit 12, and a control unit 13.”, Paragraph 29) (While a second device is not explicitly taught, a second device similar to the first device of Yamaguchi, which contains the second cluster would be easy to configure to communicate with the first device which contains the first cluster) comprising: acquiring a sample data set; (“The augmentation apparatus 10 uses an outer dataset 40 to perform data augmentation of a target dataset 30 and output an augmented dataset 50.”, Paragraph 26; See also Fig. 2) (The outer dataset corresponding to the claimed sample data set.) generating training data according to the sample data set; and sending the training data to the second cluster (According to Fig. 1, the augmented dataset (training dataset) is output by the augmentation apparatus, the augmentation apparatus corresponding to the first cluster, and then the augmented dataset is sent to the learning apparatus, corresponding to the second cluster, and so teaching the limitation.) for the second cluster to train a pre- trained model according to the training data; (“The augmentation apparatus 10 uses an outer dataset 40 to perform data augmentation of a target dataset 30 and output an augmented dataset 50. In addition, the learning apparatus 20 has a target model 21 to perform learning by using the augmented dataset 50.” Paragraph 26) (The correct data from the first cluster gets sent to learning apparatus to train a target model, which is contained in the second cluster.) wherein the at least one first cluster is configured to: input the sample data set into an initial generator to generate the training data, and train the initial generator according to the sample data set to obtain a trained generator; (“The learning unit 131 first performs pre-processing on each piece of the data. For example, the learning unit 131 changes the size of an image to a uniform size (e.g. 128×128 pixels) as pre-processing. Then, the learning unit 131 combines the datasets S.sub.target and S.sub.outer, and generates a dataset S.sub.t+o. For example, S.sub.t+o has the data and the label of S.sub.target and S.sub.outer stored in the same sequence, respectively. Then, the learning unit 131 causes the generative model 121 to learn the generated dataset S.sub.t+o as a correct dataset.”, Paragraphs 45 and 46) (The data is processed and acts as training data for a generative model (generator), which corresponds to an initial generator. Once the learning process is complete, a trained generator is obtained.) and wherein the second cluster, when training the pre-trained model according to the training data sent by the at least one first cluster, is configured to: train an initial discriminator according to the training data to obtain a trained discriminator (“The augmentation apparatus 10 uses an outer dataset 40 to perform data augmentation of a target dataset 30 and output an augmented dataset 50. In addition, the learning apparatus 20 has a target model 21 to perform learning by using the augmented dataset 50. The target model 21 may be a known model for performing machine learning.… For example, if the target model 21 is a model for image recognition, each dataset is a combination of image data and a label. In addition, the target model 21 may be a speech recognition model or a natural language recognition model. In such a case, each dataset is speech data with a label or text data with a label.” Paragraphs 26 and 27)) (The target model, located in the second cluster, is trained to be a discriminator by predicting a label.) wherein the initial generator and the initial discriminator are deployed on the first cluster and the second cluster, respectively. (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the first cluster is interpreted to mean components associated with the generator and the second cluster is components associated with the discriminator, of which the disclosure of Yamaguchi teaches.)
Regarding claim 14, Yamaguchi teaches a model training method, performed by a second cluster communicatively connected to at least one first cluster, (“As illustrated in FIG. 1, the augmentation apparatus 10 includes an input/output unit 11, a storage unit 12, and a control unit 13.”, Paragraph 29) (While a second device is not explicitly taught, a second device similar to the first device of Yamaguchi, which contains the second cluster would be easy to configure to communicate with the first device which contains the first cluster) comprising: receiving training data sent by the at least one first cluster, (According to Fig. 1, the augmented dataset (training dataset) is output by the augmentation apparatus, the augmentation apparatus corresponding to the first cluster, and then the augmented dataset is sent to the learning apparatus, corresponding to the second cluster, and so teaching the limitation.) and training a pre-trained model according to the training data; (“The augmentation apparatus 10 uses an outer dataset 40 to perform data augmentation of a target dataset 30 and output an augmented dataset 50. In addition, the learning apparatus 20 has a target model 21 to perform learning by using the augmented dataset 50.” Paragraph 26) (The correct data from the first cluster gets sent to learning apparatus to train a target model, which is contained in the second cluster.) wherein the at least one first cluster is configured to: input the sample data set into an initial generator to generate the training data. and train the initial generator according to the sample data set to obtain a trained generator; (“The learning unit 131 first performs pre-processing on each piece of the data. For example, the learning unit 131 changes the size of an image to a uniform size (e.g. 128×128 pixels) as pre-processing. Then, the learning unit 131 combines the datasets S.sub.target and S.sub.outer, and generates a dataset S.sub.t+o. For example, S.sub.t+o has the data and the label of S.sub.target and S.sub.outer stored in the same sequence, respectively. Then, the learning unit 131 causes the generative model 121 to learn the generated dataset S.sub.t+o as a correct dataset.”, Paragraphs 45 and 46) (The data is processed and acts as training data for a generative model (generator), which corresponds to an initial generator. Once the learning process is complete, a trained generator is obtained.) and wherein the second cluster, when training the pre-trained model according to the training data sent by the at least one first cluster, is configured to: train an initial discriminator according to the training data to obtain a trained discriminator; (“The augmentation apparatus 10 uses an outer dataset 40 to perform data augmentation of a target dataset 30 and output an augmented dataset 50. In addition, the learning apparatus 20 has a target model 21 to perform learning by using the augmented dataset 50. The target model 21 may be a known model for performing machine learning.… For example, if the target model 21 is a model for image recognition, each dataset is a combination of image data and a label. In addition, the target model 21 may be a speech recognition model or a natural language recognition model. In such a case, each dataset is speech data with a label or text data with a label.” Paragraphs 26 and 27)) (The target model, located in the second cluster, is trained to be a discriminator by predicting a label.) wherein the initial generator and the initial discriminator are deployed on the first cluster and the second cluster, respectively. (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the first cluster is interpreted to mean components associated with the generator and the second cluster is components associated with the discriminator, of which the disclosure of Yamaguchi teaches.)
Regarding claim 17, Yamaguchi teaches an electronic device, comprising: at least one first processor; and a memory communicatively connected to the at least one processor; wherein the memory is stored with instructions executable by the at least one first processor, and the instructions, when executed by the at least one first processor, cause the at least one first processor to perform steps of the method of claim 11. (“FIG. 10 is a diagram illustrating an example of a computer executing an augmentation program. The computer 1000 includes, for example, a memory 1010 and a CPU 1020. The computer 1000 includes a hard disk drive interface 1030, a disk drive interface 1040, a serial port interface 1050, a video adapter 1060, and a network interface 1070. These units are connected by a bus 1080.”, Paragraph 78, See also Fig. 10)
Regarding claim 18, Yamaguchi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein computer instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform steps of the method of claim 11. (“Note that the program module 1093 or the program data 1094 is not limited to being stored in the hard disk drive 1090, and may be stored in, for example, a removable storage medium, and read by the CPU 1020 via the disk drive 1100 or the like.”, Paragraph 82, See also Fig. 10 and Paragraph 79)
Regarding claim 19, Yamaguchi teaches an electronic device, comprising: at least one second processor; and a memory communicatively connected to the at least one second processor; wherein the memory is stored with instructions executable by the at least one second processor, and the instructions, when executed by the at least one second processor, cause the at least one second processor to perform steps of the method of claim 14. (“FIG. 10 is a diagram illustrating an example of a computer executing an augmentation program. The computer 1000 includes, for example, a memory 1010 and a CPU 1020. The computer 1000 includes a hard disk drive interface 1030, a disk drive interface 1040, a serial port interface 1050, a video adapter 1060, and a network interface 1070. These units are connected by a bus 1080.”, Paragraph 78, See also Fig. 10)
Regarding claim 20, Yamaguchi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein computer instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform steps of the method of claim 14. (“Note that the program module 1093 or the program data 1094 is not limited to being stored in the hard disk drive 1090, and may be stored in, for example, a removable storage medium, and read by the CPU 1020 via the disk drive 1100 or the like.”, Paragraph 82, See also Fig. 10 and Paragraph 79)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi in view of Yang Xiang et al. (Herein referred to as Xiang) (Nebula-I: A General Framework for Collaboratively Training Deep Learning Models on Low-Bandwidth Cloud Clusters)
Regarding claim 1, Yamaguchi teaches a model training system, comprising at least one first electronic device applied to at least one first cluster, (“As illustrated in FIG. 1, the augmentation apparatus 10 includes an input/output unit 11, a storage unit 12, and a control unit 13.”, Paragraph 29) wherein: the first electronic device comprises at least one first processor; (“The control unit 13 controls the entire augmentation apparatus 10. The control unit 13 may be an electronic circuit such as a Central Processing Unit (CPU) or a Micro Processing Unit (MPU), or an integrated circuit such as an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC) or a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA).”, Paragraph 35) the at least one first cluster is configured to acquire a sample data set, (“The augmentation apparatus 10 uses an outer dataset 40 to perform data augmentation of a target dataset 30 and output an augmented dataset 50.”, Paragraph 26; See also Fig. 2) (The augmentation apparatus corresponds to at least one first cluster, with the outer dataset corresponding to the claimed sample data set.) generate training data according to the sample data set, and send the training data to the second cluster; (According to Fig. 1, the augmented dataset (training dataset) is output by the augmentation apparatus, the augmentation apparatus corresponding to the first cluster, and then the augmented dataset is sent to the learning apparatus, corresponding to the second cluster, and so teaching the limitation.) and the second cluster is configured to train a pre-trained model according to the training data sent by the at least one first cluster; (“The augmentation apparatus 10 uses an outer dataset 40 to perform data augmentation of a target dataset 30 and output an augmented dataset 50. In addition, the learning apparatus 20 has a target model 21 to perform learning by using the augmented dataset 50.” Paragraph 26) wherein the at least one first cluster is configured to: input the sample data set into an initial generator to generate the training data, and train the initial generator according to the sample data set to obtain a trained generator; (“The learning unit 131 first performs pre-processing on each piece of the data. For example, the learning unit 131 changes the size of an image to a uniform size (e.g. 128×128 pixels) as pre-processing. Then, the learning unit 131 combines the datasets S.sub.target and S.sub.outer, and generates a dataset S.sub.t+o. For example, S.sub.t+o has the data and the label of S.sub.target and S.sub.outer stored in the same sequence, respectively. Then, the learning unit 131 causes the generative model 121 to learn the generated dataset S.sub.t+o as a correct dataset.”, Paragraphs 45 and 46) (The data is processed and acts as training data for a generative model (generator), which corresponds to an initial generator. Once the learning process is complete, a trained generator is obtained.) wherein the second cluster, when training the pre-trained model according to the training data sent by the at least one first cluster, is configured to: train an initial discriminator according to the training data to obtain a trained discriminator; (“The augmentation apparatus 10 uses an outer dataset 40 to perform data augmentation of a target dataset 30 and output an augmented dataset 50. In addition, the learning apparatus 20 has a target model 21 to perform learning by using the augmented dataset 50. The target model 21 may be a known model for performing machine learning.… For example, if the target model 21 is a model for image recognition, each dataset is a combination of image data and a label. In addition, the target model 21 may be a speech recognition model or a natural language recognition model. In such a case, each dataset is speech data with a label or text data with a label.” Paragraphs 26 and 27)) (The target model, located in the second cluster, is trained to be a discriminator by predicting a label.) wherein the initial generator and the initial discriminator are deployed on the first cluster and the second cluster, respectively. (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the first cluster is interpreted to mean components associated with the generator and the second cluster is components associated with the discriminator, of which the disclosure of Yamaguchi teaches.)
However, Yamaguchi does not teach a second electronic device applied to a second cluster communicating with the at least first cluster, nor the second electronic device comprises at least one second processor.
Xiang teaches a second electronic device applied to a second cluster communicating with the at least first cluster, (“we compared the knowledge-enhanced model with Transformer-base [19] and show that the accelerated model can well preserve the performance running across clusters. Different communication optimization combinations have been compared as well.”, pgs. 2 and 3) (The communication combination implicitly teaches a second cluster communicating with at least a first cluster.) and the second electronic device comprises at least one second processor (“In our demonstration, we deployed Nebula-I on remote cloud clusters with heterogeneous architectures, i.e. GPU and NPU clusters from Baidu and Peng Cheng Laboratory. The connections between the clusters are low-bandwidth WANs (only up to 170Mbit/s and 60Mbit/s), which is significantly lower than those within a cluster.”, pg. 2, fifth paragraph)
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the current application’s filing date, to combine the data augmentation of Yamaguchi, with the second device of Xiang. One would be motivated to combine the two teachings, prior to the filing date of the current application, as this allows for cross-cluster training of models. (See Figure 3 on pg. 6 of Xiang.)
Regarding claim 3, Yamaguchi, as modified by Xiang, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one first cluster and the second cluster are heterogeneous clusters. (“The control unit 13 controls the entire augmentation apparatus 10. The control unit 13 may be an electronic circuit such as a Central Processing Unit (CPU) or a Micro Processing Unit (MPU), or an integrated circuit such as an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC) or a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA)… all or any part of each processing function to be performed by each apparatus can be implemented by a CPU and a program being analyzed and executed by the CPU, or can be implemented as hardware by wired logic… the augmentation apparatus 10 can be implemented as an augmentation server apparatus that has a terminal apparatus used by a user as a client and provides services regarding the above-described data augmentation to the client. For example, the augmentation server apparatus is implemented as a server apparatus that provides an augmentation service in which target data is input and augmented data is output.”, Paragraphs 35, 73, and 77 (Yamaguchi)) (Both the augmentation and learning apparatus contain processing, which can be performed by heterogenous processing units, such as the augmentation on a server and the learning on a host computer.)
Regarding claim 4, Yamaguchi, as modified by Xiang, teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the at least one first processor adopted by the at least one first cluster is different from the at least one second processor adopted by the second cluster. (“the augmentation server apparatus may be implemented as a web server or may be implemented as a cloud that provides services regarding the data augmentation through outsourcing.”, Paragraph 77 (Yamaguchi)) (In this embodiment, the server, acting as the first cluster, can augment the data on one processor and send the data to a personal computer, acting as our second cluster, and train a model using a different processor.)
Regarding claim 5, Yamaguchi, as modified by Xiang, teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the at least one first processor adopted by the at least one first cluster is a graphics processor, and the at least one second processor adopted by the second cluster is an embedded neural network processor. (“As illustrated in FIG. 2, the generative model 121 has a generator 121a and a distinguisher 121b. For example, all of the generator 121a and the distinguisher 121b are neural networks… Further, all or any part of each processing function to be performed by each apparatus can be implemented by a CPU and a program being analyzed and executed by the CPU, or can be implemented as hardware by wired logic.”, Paragraphs 32 and 73 (Yamaguchi)) (A processor which can run a neural network is considered to be a neural network processor, and while a GPU is never explicitly taught, a GPU is considered to be “hardware by wired logic” and so can be easily configured to work with Yamaguchi’s method.)
Regarding claim 6, Yamaguchi, as modified by Xiang, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one first cluster comprises a plurality of first clusters, and data types processed by the plurality of first clusters are different. (“a specific form of distribution and integration of each apparatus is not limited to the form illustrated in the drawings, and all or some of the apparatuses can be distributed or integrated functionally or physically in any units according to various loads and use situations. Further, all or any part of each processing function to be performed by each apparatus can be implemented by a CPU and a program being analyzed and executed by the CPU, or can be implemented as hardware by wired logic.”, Paragraph 73 (Yamaguchi))
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi in view of Xiang, and in further view of Claude COULOMBE. (Herein referred to as Coulombe) (Text Data Augmentation Made Simple By Leveraging NLP Cloud APIs)
Regarding claim 2, Yamaguchi, as modified by Xiang, teaches the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach nodes inside the at least one first cluster communicate with each other via a first bandwidth, nodes inside the second cluster communicate with each other via a second bandwidth, and the at least one first cluster and the second cluster communicate with each other via a third bandwidth, wherein the first bandwidth is greater than the third bandwidth, and the second bandwidth is greater than the third bandwidth.
Coulombe teaches text data augmentation within a cloud API setting which has nodes inside the at least one first cluster communicate with each other via a first bandwidth, (“Although SyntaxNet is rather difficult to install on a server or local machine, Google's open-source license allows you to do that. Three ways are possible: docker image installation provided by Google [Docker, 2016], installation via a pre-configured server image (like AMI: Amazon Machine image) or installation on rented servers on a commercial cloud infrastructure from the source code of Google.”, pg. 26, fourth paragraph) (The server corresponds to the first bandwidth, as a server innately has a bandwidth associated with it.) nodes inside the second cluster communicate with each other via a second bandwidth, and the at least one first cluster and the second cluster communicate with each other via a third bandwidth wherein the first bandwidth is greater than the third bandwidth, and the second bandwidth is greater than the third bandwidth. (While not explicitly taught, in cloud-based computing, there are host PC’s which would act as our second bandwidth, with communications between the host and server acting as our third bandwidth, and it is commonly known in the art that communication within a PC and server is greater than communication BETWEEN a PC and server.)
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the current application’s filing date, to combine the data augmentation of Yamaguchi, as modified by Xiang, with the text augmentation of Coulombe. One would be motivated to combine the two teachings, prior to the filing date of the current application, as this allows for the use of SyntaxNet, which parses sentence for machine learning purposes as disclosed in Coulombe. (“The paraphrases generator proceeds sentence by sentence. Each sentence is parsed by SyntaxNet, an open-source library from Google that uses deep learning techniques and the TensorFlow library.”, pg. 3, third paragraph; See also the Figure on pg. 13 for how it is used)
Regarding claim 8, Yamaguchi, as modified by Xiang, teaches the system of claim 1, as well as the second cluster, when training the initial discriminator according to the training data to obtain the trained discriminator, is configured to: train the initial discriminator according to the second text sample data to obtain the trained discriminator. (“In addition, each dataset in FIG. 1 is data with a label to be used by the target model 21. That is, each dataset is a combination of data and a label. For example, if the target model 21 is a model for image recognition, each dataset is a combination of image data and a label. In addition, the target model 21 may be a speech recognition model or a natural language recognition model. In such a case, each dataset is speech data with a label or text data with a label.”, Paragraph 27 (Yamaguchi)) (The target model, located in the second cluster, is training to be a discriminator by predicting a label.)
However, the combination does not teach wherein the sample data set is a first text sample data set, and the at least one first cluster is configured to: replace a text segment in the first text sample data set with a set identifier to obtain a replaced first text sample data set, and input the replaced first text sample data set into the initial generator to obtain second text sample data;
Coulombe teaches to the sample data set is a first text sample data set, to: replace a text segment in the first text sample data set with a set identifier to obtain a replaced first text sample data set, (“Generally, there is no replacement for grammatical words. Here, in order of increasing difficulty, the types of words that are candidates for lexical substitution: adverbs, adjectives, nouns and verbs. Verbs replacement is particularly challenging because of the different arguments that accompany the verbs. In many situations, we limit to replace only adverbs and adjectives, sometimes we add nouns, more rarely verbs”, pg. 8, under “3.5 Technique 3 - Word Replacement using thesaurus”) and input the replaced first text sample data set into the initial generator to obtain second text sample data; (“From the original sentence as input, a syntactic parser builds a dependency tree. Then the paraphrases generator transforms this dependency tree to create a transformed dependency tree guided by a transformation grammar. The transformed dependency tree is then used to generate a new surface form, i.e. paraphrase.”, pg. 13, first paragraph)
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the current application’s filing date, to combine the data augmentation of Yamaguchi, as modified by Xiang, with the text augmentation of Coulombe. One would be motivated to combine the two teachings, prior to the filing date of the current application, as this allows for the generation of augmented text data that avoids overfitting, as disclosed in Coulombe. (“Data augmentation can also be considered as a regularization technique since that is used to avoid overfitting… This piece of work, which is more an engineering endeavor than a fundamental research, is in the vein of the methods used in computer vision which consist of applying invariant transformations to original data in order to generate augmentation data.”, pg. 2, sixth paragraph; pg. 4, third paragraph)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi in view of Xiang, in further view of Coulombe and in further view of Lin Wu et al. (Herein referred to as Wu) (Cross-Entropy Adversarial View Adaptation for Person Re-identification)
Regarding claim 9, Yamaguchi, as modified by Xiang, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one first cluster is configured to: update a network parameter of the initial generator according to the pre-trained network parameter to obtain the trained generator. (“in the learning of the generative model 121, parameters of the generator 121a are updated so that the error becomes smaller.”, Paragraph 33 (Yamaguchi))
However, the combination does not explicitly teach to input an initial generation parameter into a recurrent neural network to establish the initial generator; (“Specifically, the storage unit 12 stores parameters used in each processing operation by the generative model 121.”, Paragraph 31) nor ) transform the pre-trained sample data set into a probability output according to a probability distribution function to obtain a pre-trained network parameter
Coulombe teaches to input an initial generation parameter into a recurrent neural network to establish the initial generator; (“Some standard deep neural network architectures were tested: the multilayer perceptron (MLP), the long short-term memory recurrent network (LSTM) and the bidirectional LSTM (biLSTM)”, pg. 1, bottom paragraph) (One would have to input a parameter to output an initial model, such as an RNN)
Therefore it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the current application’s filing date, to combine the data augmentation of Yamaguchi, with the LSTM of Coulombe. One would be motivated to combine the two teachings, prior to the filing date of the current application, as this allows for a strong initial model with compatibility with augmented data, as disclosed in Coulombe. (“It is remarkable that for a recurrent network of LSTM type, one goes from models practically incapable of predicting anything (just a little better than the 50% due to chance) to models. able to predict in more than ⅔ cases and all this by injecting only textual noise. Not surprisingly, recurrent neural networks, especially bi-directional biLSTM network, give the best results. It is especially interesting to note that they manage to make good use of the addition of the augmented data resulting from the different technique”, pg. 24, second and third paragraphs)
However, the combination still does not teach to transform the pre-trained sample data set into a probability output according to a probability distribution function to obtain a pre-trained network parameter
Wu teaches to transform the pre-trained sample data set into a probability output according to a probability distribution function to obtain a pre-trained network parameter (“In our framework, we need to minimize the distances between the probe and gallery representations through alternating the minimization between two functions. Thereby, the probe and gallery mappings should be optimized according to a constrained adversarial objective [53]… Intuitively, the loss function in Eq.(3) is a view confusion objective, under which the mapping can be trained using a cross-entropy loss function against a uniform distribution. This loss is to ensure the adversarial discriminator will view the two domains identically.”, pg. 5, left column, under “Adversarial View Adaptation with Cross-Entropy Loss”) (Cross-Entropy Loss inherently transforms data into a probability output according to a probability distribution function.)
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the current application’s filing date, to combine the teachings of Yamaguchi and Coulombe with the cross-entropy loss of Wu. One would be motivated to combine the two teachings, prior to the filing date of the current application, as Wu’s method “achieves notable
improved performance in comparison to state-of-the-arts on benchmark datasets.” (pg. 1, Abstract)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi in view Xiang, and in further view of Wu.
Regarding claim 10, Yamaguchi, as modified by Xiang, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the second cluster is configured to: input an initial discriminant parameter into a convolutional neural network to establish the initial discriminator; (“the learning apparatus 20 has a target model 21 to perform learning by using the augmented dataset 50. The target model 21 may be a known model for performing machine learning. For example, the target model 21 is MCCNN with Triplet loss…the target dataset 30, was input into the target model 21.” Paragraph 26 and 67 (Yamaguchi)) (The target model takes the target dataset as parameters to establish the discriminator, with the target model being a CNN.) input the training data into the initial discriminator for pre-training to obtain a pre-trained training data (“The learning apparatus 20 performs learning of the target model 21 using the augmented dataset 50.” Paragraph 64 (Yamaguchi)) (The augmented dataset corresponds to training data) and update a network parameter of the initial discriminator according to the pre-trained discriminant parameter to obtain the trained discriminator. (“The learning apparatus 20 performs learning of the target model 21 using the augmented dataset 50.”, Paragraph 64 (Yamaguchi)) (A machine learning model learning innately consists of updating network parameters.)
However, the combination does not explicitly teach to transform the pre-trained training data into a probability output according to a probability distribution function nor update the initial discriminant parameter of the initial discriminator according to a minimized cross entropy to obtain a pre-trained discriminant parameter
Wu teaches to transform the pre-trained training data into a probability output according to a probability distribution function (“In our framework, we need to minimize the distances between the probe and gallery representations through alternating the minimization between two functions. Thereby, the probe and gallery mappings should be optimized according to a constrained adversarial objective [53]… Intuitively, the loss function in Eq.(3) is a view confusion objective, under which the mapping can be trained using a cross-entropy loss function against a uniform distribution. This loss is to ensure the adversarial discriminator will view the two domains identically.”, pg. 5, left column, under “Adversarial View Adaptation with Cross-Entropy Loss”) (Cross-Entropy Loss inherently transforms data into a probability output according to a probability distribution function.) and update the initial discriminant parameter of the initial discriminator according to a minimized cross entropy to obtain a pre-trained discriminant parameter (“we introduce adversarial learning [25] into view discriminator which is optimized through cross-entropy based view confusion objective.”, pg. 2, left column, bottom paragraph; See also Algorithm 1 on pg. 5 for the updating step.) (It would be easy to configure the method of Wu which obtains a parameter via cross-entropy, with Yamaguchi’s method which obtains it via back-propagation of errors.)
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the current application’s filing date, to combine the data augmentation of Yamaguchi, with the cross-entropy loss to obtain a discriminant parameter, as taught by Wu. One would be motivated to combine the two teachings, prior to the filing date of the current application, as updating the parameters with cross-entropy can optimize the model, leading to improved performance as disclosed in Wu. (“a common problem of existing domain adaptation approaches is that a principled alignment between the source and target is missing, and thus they are unable to penalize the correlated domain misalignment in practical terms. In contrast, our method explicitly minimizes the view discrepancy through the proposed view-adversarial objective. Our method is also distinct from existing methods based on adversarial losses [22]. For instance, SPGAN [22] is composed of GAN loss to update the target domain w.r.t the source, our method instead uses cross-entropy loss to optimize the view confusion objective.”, pg. 2, left column, above “B. Our Approach and Contribution”)
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi in view of Coulombe and in further view of Wu.
Regarding claim 13, Yamaguchi teaches the method of claim 11, wherein training the initial generator according to the sample data set to obtain the trained generator comprises: inputting an initial generation parameter into a recurrent neural network to establish the initial generator (“Specifically, the storage unit 12 stores parameters used in each processing operation by the generative model 121.”, Paragraph 31) inputting the sample data set into the initial generator for pre-training to obtain a pre-trained sample data set; (“a correct dataset is input to the generative model 121. The correct dataset is a combination of correct data and a correct label added to the correct data… The generator 121a generates generative data from the correct label input with predetermined noise.”, Paragraph 32 and 33) and updating a network parameter of the initial generator according to the pre-trained network parameter to obtain the trained generator. (“in the learning of the generative model 121, parameters of the generator 121a are updated so that the error becomes smaller.”, Paragraph 33)
However, Yamaguchi does not explicitly teach transforming the pre-trained sample data set into a probability output according to a probability distribution function to obtain a pre-trained network parameter; nor the sample data set is a first text sample data set nor inputting the replaced first text sample data set into the initial generator to obtain second text sample data
Coulombe teaches the sample data set is a first text sample data set (“Generally, there is no replacement for grammatical words. Here, in order of increasing difficulty, the types of words that are candidates for lexical substitution: adverbs, adjectives, nouns and verbs. Verbs replacement is particularly challenging because of the different arguments that accompany the verbs. In many situations, we limit to replace only adverbs and adjectives, sometimes we add nouns, more rarely verbs”, pg. 8, under “3.5 Technique 3 - Word Replacement using thesaurus”) and inputting the replaced first text sample data set into the initial generator to obtain second text sample data (“From the original sentence as input, a syntactic parser builds a dependency tree. Then the paraphrases generator transforms this dependency tree to create a transformed dependency tree guided by a transformation grammar. The transformed dependency tree is then used to generate a new surface form, i.e. paraphrase.”, pg. 13, first paragraph)
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the current application’s filing date, to combine the data augmentation of Yamaguchi, with the text augmentation of Coulombe. One would be motivated to combine the two teachings, prior to the filing date of the current application, as this allows for the generation of augmented text data that avoids overfitting, as disclosed in Coulombe. (“Data augmentation can also be considered as a regularization technique since that is used to avoid overfitting… This piece of work, which is more an engineering endeavor than a fundamental research, is in the vein of the methods used in computer vision which consist of applying invariant transformations to original data in order to generate augmentation data.”, pg. 2, sixth paragraph; pg. 4, third paragraph)
However, the combination still does not teach transforming the pre-trained sample data set into a probability output according to a probability distribution function to obtain a pre-trained network parameter
Wu teaches transforming the pre-trained sample data set into a probability output according to a probability distribution function to obtain a pre-trained network parameter (“In our framework, we need to minimize the distances between the probe and gallery representations through alternating the minimization between two functions. Thereby, the probe and gallery mappings should be optimized according to a constrained adversarial objective [53]… Intuitively, the loss function in Eq.(3) is a view confusion objective, under which the mapping can be trained using a cross-entropy loss function against a uniform distribution. This loss is to ensure the adversarial discriminator will view the two domains identically.”, pg. 5, left column, under “Adversarial View Adaptation with Cross-Entropy Loss”) (Cross-Entropy Loss inherently transforms data into a probability output according to a probability distribution function.)
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the current application’s filing date, to combine the teachings of Yamaguchi and Coulombe with the cross-entropy loss of Wu. One would be motivated to combine the two teachings, prior to the filing date of the current application, as Wu’s method “achieves notable
improved performance in comparison to state-of-the-arts on benchmark datasets.” (pg. 1, Abstract)
Regarding claim 16, Yamaguchi teaches the method of claim 14, as well as training the initial discriminator according to the training data to obtain the trained discriminator comprises: training the initial discriminator according to the second text sample data to obtain the trained discriminator (“the distinguisher 121b is designed to be able to recognize the generative data as generative data and recognize the correct data as correct data through learning.”, Paragraph 34) (The correct data acts as our “text sample data”) training the initial discriminator according to the training data to obtain the trained discriminator comprises: inputting an initial discriminant parameter into a convolutional neural network to establish the initial discriminator (“the distinguisher 121b are neural networks… parameters of the distinguisher 121b are updated so that the error becomes larger.”, Paragraphs 32 and 33)) inputting the training data into the initial discriminator for pre-training to obtain a pre-trained training data (“the distinguisher 121b is designed to be able to recognize the generative data as generative data and recognize the correct data as correct data through learning.”, Paragraph 34) (The “correct data” is training data for the distinguisher to learn from.) and updating a network parameter of the initial discriminator according to the pre-trained discriminant parameter to obtain the trained discriminator. (“parameters of the distinguisher 121b are updated so that the error becomes larger. Note that each of the parameters for learning is updated by using a method of backward propagation of errors”, Paragraph 33)
However, Yamaguchi does not explicitly teach the training data is second text sample data, nor updating the initial discriminant parameter of the initial discriminator according to a minimized cross entropy to obtain a pre-trained discriminant parameter
Coulombe teaches the training data is second text sample data (“Generally, there is no replacement for grammatical words. Here, in order of increasing difficulty, the types of words that are candidates for lexical substitution: adverbs, adjectives, nouns and verbs. Verbs replacement is particularly challenging because of the different arguments that accompany the verbs. In many situations, we limit to replace only adverbs and adjectives, sometimes we add nouns, more rarely verbs”, pg. 8, under “3.5 Technique 3 - Word Replacement using thesaurus”)
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the current application’s filing date, to combine the data augmentation of Yamaguchi, with the text augmentation of Coulombe. One would be motivated to combine the two teachings, prior to the filing date of the current application, as this allows for the generation of augmented text data that avoids overfitting, as disclosed in Coulombe. (“Data augmentation can also be considered as a regularization technique since that is used to avoid overfitting… This piece of work, which is more an engineering endeavor than a fundamental research, is in the vein of the methods used in computer vision which consist of applying invariant transformations to original data in order to generate augmentation data.”, pg. 2, sixth paragraph; pg. 4, third paragraph)
However, the combination still does not teach transforming the pre-trained training data into a probability output according to a probability distribution function nor the initial discriminant parameter of the initial discriminator according to a minimized cross entropy to obtain a pre-trained discriminant parameter.
Wu teaches transforming the pre-trained sample data set into a probability output according to a probability distribution function to obtain a pre-trained network parameter (“In our framework, we need to minimize the distances between the probe and gallery representations through alternating the minimization between two functions. Thereby, the probe and gallery mappings should be optimized according to a constrained adversarial objective [53]… Intuitively, the loss function in Eq.(3) is a view confusion objective, under which the mapping can be trained using a cross-entropy loss function against a uniform distribution. This loss is to ensure the adversarial discriminator will view the two domains identically.”, pg. 5, left column, under “Adversarial View Adaptation with Cross-Entropy Loss”) (Cross-Entropy Loss inherently transforms data into a probability output according to a probability distribution function.) and updating the initial discriminant parameter of the initial discriminator according to a minimized cross entropy to obtain a pre-trained discriminant parameter. (“we introduce adversarial learning [25] into view discriminator which is optimized through cross-entropy based view confusion objective.”, pg. 2, left column, bottom paragraph; See also Algorithm 1 on pg. 5 for the updating step.) (It would be easy to configure the method of Wu which obtains a parameter via cross-entropy, with Yamaguchi’s method which obtains it via back-propagation of errors.)
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the current application’s filing date, to combine the data augmentation of Yamaguchi, with the cross-entropy loss to obtain a discriminant parameter, as taught by Wu. One would be motivated to combine the two teachings, prior to the filing date of the current application, as updating the parameters with cross-entropy can optimize the model, leading to improved performance as disclosed in Wu. (“a common problem of existing domain adaptation approaches is that a principled alignment between the source and target is missing, and thus they are unable to penalize the correlated domain misalignment in practical terms. In contrast, our method explicitly minimizes the view discrepancy through the proposed view-adversarial objective. Our method is also distinct from existing methods based on adversarial losses [22]. For instance, SPGAN [22] is composed of GAN loss to update the target domain w.r.t the source, our method instead uses cross-entropy loss to optimize the view confusion objective.”, pg. 2, left column, above “B. Our Approach and Contribution”)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on March 16th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant’s arguments and amendments were enough to overcome the 101 rejection, and as such the 101 rejections have been withdrawn. The applicant argues in substance:
Argument 1: Yamaguchi does not teach training “train the initial generator according to the sample data set to obtain a trained generator," "train an initial discriminator according to the training data to obtain a trained discriminator," and "wherein the initial generator and the initial discriminator are deployed on the first cluster and the second cluster, respectively.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As explained above in this action, the term “cluster” is interpreted very broadly, and so the first cluster is interpreted to mean, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, components relating to the generator. The second cluster is interpreted to mean components related to the discriminator, which Yamaguchi teaches as Yamaguchi’s “target model” is trained to be a discriminator. Therefore, a prima facia case is established, and the 102 and 103 rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.E.I./ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2122
/KAKALI CHAKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2122