DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amended claim set was received 11/21/2025. This claim set is accepted and overcome the USC 112 rejections set forth in the previous rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 10, 11, 14-15, 17, 20-23, and 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirata et al. (US 20090287212 A1) (hereon referred to as Hirata).
Regarding claim 1, Hirata teaches an implantable medical device (201) operational for mitigating radiofrequency (RF)- induced heating (note that it is known in the art that ferrite materials may mitigate RF heating, thereby making any ferrite implant capable of satisfying this requirement), wherein the implantable medical device comprises:
a ferrite material (see Para. [0170]) associated with at least one component of the implantable medical device (201),
wherein the ferrite material represents an exogenous component of the medical device that protrudes out of the at least one component of the medical device (see Para. [0170], noting that the ferrite is present on the outside of the device),
wherein the ferrite material (see Para. [0170]) is operational to reduce the RF-induced heating of the implantable medical device (note that it is known in the art that ferrite materials may mitigate RF heating when compared to other materials, thereby making any ferrite implant capable of satisfying this requirement).
Regarding claim 4, Hirata teaches the implantable medical device of claim 1, wherein the ferrite material is associated with an outer surface of the at least one component of the implantable medical device (see Para. [0170], noting that the entire surface of 222 and 211 is made of Ferrite).
Regarding claim 6, Hirata teaches the implantable medical device of claim 1, wherein the implantable medical device (201) comprises an external fixation medical device (see Para. [0150]).
Regarding claim 7, Hirata teaches the implantable medical device of claim 1, wherein the at least one component (210) of the implantable medical device (201) is partially or completely implantable into the subject (see Para. [0087]).
Regarding claim 10, Hirata teaches the implantable medical device of claim 1, wherein the implantable medical device (201) comprises an external fixation medical device (see Para. [0150]), wherein the at least one component of the implantable medical device comprises a fixator (210) of the external fixation medical device (201).
Regarding claim 11, Hirata teaches a method of mitigating radiofrequency (RF)-induced heating of an implantable medical device (201; note that it is known in the art that ferrite materials may mitigate RF heating, thereby making any ferrite implant capable of satisfying this requirement), said method comprising:
applying a ferrite material to at least one component of an implantable medical device (see Para. [0170]),
wherein the ferrite material represents an exogenous component of the medical device that protrudes out of the at least one component of the medical device (see Para. [0170], noting that the ferrite is present on the outside of the device),
wherein the ferrite material reduces the RF-induced heating of the medical device (note that it is known in the art that ferrite materials may mitigate RF heating, thereby making any ferrite implant capable of satisfying this requirement).
Regarding claim 14, Hirata teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the ferrite material is applied to an outer surface of the at least one component of the implantable medical device (see Para. [0170]).
Regarding claim 15, Hirata teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the implantable medical device (201) comprises an external fixation medical device (see Para. [0150]).
Regarding claim 17, Hirata teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the at least one component (210) of the implantable medical device (201) is partially or completely implantable into the subject (see Para. [0087]).
Regarding claim 20, Hirata teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the implantable medical device (201) comprises an external fixation medical device (see Para. [0150]), wherein the at least one component of the implantable medical device comprises a fixator (210) of the external fixation medical device (201).
Regarding claim 21, Hirata teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the ferrite material reduces RF-induced heating by blocking or minimizing the induced current from RF waves (note that this is a known function of ferrite material, see Para. [0170]).
Regarding claim 22, Hirata teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the ferrite material mitigates RF-induced heating in an environment comprising magnetic resonance (note that this is a known function of ferrite material, see Para. [0170]).
Regarding claim 23, Hirata teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising a step of implanting the implantable medical device (201) into a subject (see Para. [0087]).
Regarding claim 25, Hirata teaches the method of claim 23, wherein the implanting comprises partially implanting the implantable medical device (201) into the subject (see Para. [0087]).
Regarding claim 26, Hirata teaches the method of claim 23, wherein the implanting occurs after the applying step (see Paras. [0170] and [0087], noting that the device is formed of ferrite prior to the implantation thereof).
Regarding claim 27, Hirata teaches the method of claim 23, wherein the subject is a human being (see Para. [0086]).
Regarding claim 28, Hirata teaches the implantable medical device of claim 1, wherein the ferrite material is in a form selected from the group consisting of rings, beads, blocks, or combinations thereof (note that the ferrite material of component 211 is in the form of a bead, see Para. [0130]).
Regarding claim 29, Hirata teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the ferrite material is in a form selected from the group consisting of rings, beads, blocks, or combinations thereof (note that the ferrite material of component 211 is in the form of a bead, see Para. [0130]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata as applied in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Klun et al. (US 11104758 B2) (heron referred to as Klun).
Hirata teaches an implantable medical device as outlined in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 above, however fails to teach wherein the ferrite material comprises iron oxide (Fe203) combined with one or more additional metallic elements, wherein the one or more metallic elements comprise iron (Fe), strontium (Sr), barium (Ba), manganese (Mn), nickel (Ni), zinc (Zn), cobalt (Co), and combinations thereof (claims 2 and 12), and wherein the ferrite material is selected from the group consisting of strontium (Sr)-containing ferrites, barium (Ba)-containing ferrites, manganese (Mn)-containing ferrites, nickel (Ni)-containing ferrites, zinc (Zn)-containing ferrites, cobalt (Co)-containing ferrites, Ni, Zn-containing ferrites, Mn, Zn-containing ferrites, magnetite (Fe304), ZnFe204, BaFe12O19 (BaO:6Fe2O3), BaO-2(FeO)- 8(Fe2O3), SrFe12Oi9 (SrO:6Fe2O3), MnZnFe204, NiZnFe204, CoFe204 (CoO-Fe203), Ba2ZnFeisO23, and combinations thereof (claims 3 and 13).
Klun teaches a process of creating an orthodontic device, wherein that process contains steps for creating fibers of said implant or device (see Col. 2, ll. 10-26). Said fibers my comprise a variety of chemical combinations, such as iron oxide with cobalt, or zinc ferrite (see Col. 23, ll. 26-46),
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ferrite of Hirata to comprise iron oxide combined with cobalt, and to comprise zinc-containing ferrite, as taught by Klun, as this would be advantageous for altering the pigment of the implant, which may be necessary for certain surgical applications (see Col. 23, ll. 26-46).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 18, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4, 7, 11, 14, 17, 21-23, and 25-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 regarding the rejection of claims 6, 10, 15, and 20 in view of Hirata have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Hirata does not teach the requirement for exogenous ferrite as recited in amended claim 1. The office disagrees with this assertion. As outlined in the updated rejection above, Hirata teaches that the entirety of components 222 and 211 may be made of ferrite, thereby teaching the presence of exogenous and protruding ferrite.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3773
/EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773