DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 9; canceled claim 2; added new claims 10-14. The pending claims are claims 1, 3-14.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takami et al., WO 2017135323 (US 2017/0222272 as translation).
Regarding claim 1, Takami et al., teaches a lithium-ion secondary battery (0110) comprising: a positive electrode (0023; 0027) which a lithium ion is to be inserted into and extracted from (0031); a negative electrode including a negative electrode active material (0023; 0026) which the lithium ion is to be inserted into and extracted from (0055; 0065); and an electrolytic solution including an aqueous solvent (0027; 0031), wherein the negative electrode active material includes a titanium-containing compound (0023; 0027; 0031), the electrolytic solution has a pH that is higher than or equal to 11 (0043; “not more than pH 12”); (0192) (“pH of an electrolytic solution is preferably 0 or more and 13 or less”).
Takami does not teach “based on a surface analysis of the negative electrode by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy, a proportion of a sum of respective detectable amounts of lithium and titanium to a sum of respective detectable amounts of all of metal elements is greater than or equal to 99 atomic percent.”
However, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Additionally, A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) (discussed in more detail below) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (discussed below and in MPEP § 2144) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. See also MPEP § 2144.08, subsection II.A.4.(c).
Regarding claim 3, Takami et al., teaches wherein the negative electrode further includes a carbon material (0074), and a proportion of a weight of the carbon material to a weight of the negative electrode is less than 0.1 weight percent (0076; 0088).
Regarding claim 4, Takami et al., teaches wherein a concentration of the electrolytic solution is greater than or equal to 0.2 moles per kilogram and less than or equal to 4 moles per kilogram (“range of 2 mol/L or more and 10 mol/L or less”) (0039; 0252).
Regarding claim 5, Takami et al., teaches wherein the titanium-containing compound (0023) includes at least one selected from the group of a titanium oxide (0023; 0036; 0058-0065) represented by Formula (1) and respective lithium-titanium composite oxides represented by Formulae (2) to (4), TiOW......(1)
Li[LiXM1(1-3x)/2Ti(3+x)2]O4......(2) where M1 is at least one of Mg, Ca, Cu, Zn, or Sr, and
where M2 is at least one of Al, Sc, Cr, Mn, Fe, Ge, or Y, and
Li[Lii/3M3zTi(5/3)-z]O4......(4) where M3 is at least one of V, Zr, or Nb, and
(0023; 0058-0065).
Regarding claim 6, Takami et al., teaches wherein the titanium oxide includes titanium oxide of an anatase type (0061; 0064-0065).
Regarding claim 7, Takami et al., teaches wherein the negative electrode includes a negative electrode active material layer (0023; 0027) including the negative electrode active material (0027; 0066), and a surface of the negative electrode active material layer (0128) is analyzed by the X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (0170).
Regarding claim 8, Takami et al., teaches wherein the negative electrode further includes a negative electrode current collector (0027; 0044-0045) that supports the negative electrode active material layer (0027), and the surface of the negative electrode active material layer (0023; 0027) and a surface of the negative electrode current collector (00027; 0044-0045) are each analyzed by the X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (0170).
Regarding claim 9, Takami et al., teaches lithium-ion secondary battery (0127) comprising: a partition that is disposed between a positive electrode space and a negative electrode space (0228), thereby allowing a lithium ion to pass therethrough (0031; 0055); a positive electrode that is disposed in the positive electrode space (0023; 0027; 0037) and which the lithium ion is to be inserted into and extracted from (0031; 0055); a negative electrode that is disposed in the negative electrode space (0023; 0027) and includes a negative electrode active material (0035; 0038) which the lithium ion is to be inserted into and extracted from (0031; 0055); a positive electrode electrolytic solution (0023; 0027; 0031) that is contained in the positive electrode space (0015; 0027) and includes an aqueous solvent (0027; 0039); and a negative electrode electrolytic solution (0064) that is contained in the negative electrode space and includes the aqueous solvent (0031), wherein the negative electrode active material includes a titanium-containing compound (0027; 0031), the positive electrode electrolytic solution (0031; 0037) has a pH that is lower than 11 (0043; 0192), the negative electrode electrolytic solution has a pH that is higher than or equal to 11 (“pH of an electrolytic solution is preferably 0 or more and 13 or less”) (0192).
Takami does not teach “based on a surface analysis of the negative electrode by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy, a proportion of a sum of respective detectable amounts of lithium and titanium, to a sum of respective detectable amounts of all of metal elements is greater than or equal to 99 atomic percent.”
However, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Additionally, A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) (discussed in more detail below) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (discussed below and in MPEP § 2144) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. See also MPEP § 2144.08, subsection II.A.4.(c)
Regarding claim 10, Takami teaches wherein the negative electrode includes a negative electrode current electrode (0023; 0027), and wherein the negative electrode current electrode is a titanium foil (0133; 0319; 0324).
Regarding claim 11, Takami teaches wherein the pH of the electrolytic solution is higher than or equal to 12 (0043; “not more than pH 12”); (0192) (“pH of an electrolytic solution is preferably 0 or more and 13 or less”).
Regarding claim 12, Takami teaches wherein the titanium-containing compound includes titanium oxide of an anatase type (0061; 0064-0065).
Regarding claim 13, Takami teaches lithium-ion secondary battery (0023; 0027) comprising: a positive electrode (0023; 0027) which a lithium ion is to be inserted into and extracted from (0032); a negative electrode (0023; 0027) comprises a negative electrode current collector (0044) and a negative electrode active material layer (0027), and the negative electrode active material layer is provided on the negative electrode current collector (0044-0045), wherein the negative electrode active material layer (0027) includes a negative electrode active material (0027; 0031) which the lithium ion is to be inserted into and extracted from (0059; 0064); and an electrolytic solution including an aqueous solvent (0027), wherein the negative electrode active material includes a titanium-containing compound (0023; 0031), the electrolytic solution has a pH that is higher than or equal to 11 (0043; “not more than pH 12”); (0192) (“pH of an electrolytic solution is preferably 0 or more and 13 or less”), and based on a surface analysis (0170) of the negative electrode active material layer by X- ray photoelectron spectroscopy (0170).
Takami does not teach a proportion of a sum of respective detectable amounts of lithium and titanium to a sum of respective detectable amounts of all of metal elements is greater than or equal to 99 atomic percent, wherein based on a surface analysis of the negative electrode current collector by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy, a proportion of a sum of respective detectable amounts of lithium and titanium to a sum of the respective detectable amounts of all of the metal elements is greater than or equal to 99 atomic percent.”
However, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Additionally, A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) (discussed in more detail below) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (discussed below and in MPEP § 2144) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. See also MPEP § 2144.08, subsection II.A.4.(c).
Regarding Claim 14, Takami teaches wherein a proportion of a weight of a carbon material (0074) to a weight of the negative electrode is less than 0.1 wt %.(0076; 0088).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that “Applicant submits that the cited art is distinguished from the claimed invention. For example, Takami " does not teach based on a surface analysis of the negative electrode by X- ray photoelectron spectroscopy, a proportion of a sum of respective detectable amounts of lithium and titanium to a sum of respective detectable amounts of all of metal elements is greater than or equal to 99 atomic percent " as even admitted by the Patent Office.”
However, A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) (discussed in more detail below) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (discussed below and in MPEP § 2144) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. See also MPEP § 2144.08, subsection II.A.4.(c).
Additionally, the data in Table 1 of the Application is not commensurate in scope with the claims. The claims are broader than the data in the Examples. For example, there is titanium oxide in the negative electrode active material in Table I of the Application, but there are no unexpected results of the claimed amounts of titanium oxide in the claims.
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727