DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 and 10-17 are pending and currently under review.
Claim 9 is cancelled.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 7/17/2026 has been entered. 1-8 and 10-17 remain(s) pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP2014208869, machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claims 1-3, 7-8, and 13-14, Sato et al. discloses a forged, martensitic stainless steel having a composition as seen in table 2 below [0006, 0014]. The examiner notes that the composition of Sato et al. overlaps with and is substantially close to that as claimed which is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Specifically, regarding closeness, the examiner notes that the upper limit of 16 weight percent of Sato et al. is substantially close to the claimed Co amount of greater than 16 weight percent such that similar properties are expected such as similar toughness values of 20 J charpy impact energy relative to those achieved in the instant specification [0022].
Sato et al. is silent regarding the presence of any austenite phase, which one of ordinary skill would understand to mean that austenite is not present (ie. the steel is entirely martensite) absent a specific teaching to the contrary. Sato et al. further expressly teaches away from the formation of austenite, which further bolsters the examiner’s above position [0015].
Sato et al. is further silent regarding the presence of any sigma phase, which one of ordinary skill would understand to mean that sigma phases are not present. Furthermore, [0019, 0029 instant spec.] teaches that sigma phase directly influences toughness properties and that an absence of sigma phases achieves a desirable charpy impact toughness of 20 J. Sato et al. also discloses a toughness of 20 J as stated above, which further bolsters the examiner’s above position that the steel of Sato et al. is absent any sigma phases because Sato et al. does not teach the presence of sigma phases and further expressly teaches the same properties achieved by the absence of said sigma phases.
Table 2.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 7 (wt.%)
Sato et al. (wt.%)
Cr
12 – 16
8 – 13
Co
16 – 20
2 – 16
Mo
6 – 8
3.5 – 8
Ni
1 – 3
2 – 8
C
0.02 – 0.04
0.03 – 0.06
Fe & impurities
Balance
Balance
Regarding claims 4-5, 10-11, and 15-16, Sato et al. discloses the steel of claims 1, 7, and 13 (see previous). Sato et al. further teaches that precipitation of delta ferrite avoided (ie. zero percent delta ferrite) [0010-0011]. Sato et al. is silent regarding the presence of any laves and chi phases, which one of ordinary skill would understand to mean that these phases are not present. Furthermore, [0019, 0029 instant spec.] teaches that laves and chi phases directly influence toughness properties and that an absence of laves and chi phases achieves a desirable charpy impact toughness of 20 J. Sato et al. also discloses a toughness of 20 J as stated above, which further bolsters the examiner’s above position that the steel of Sato et al. is absent any laves and chi phases because Sato et al. does not teach the presence of laves and chi phases and further expressly teaches the same properties achieved by the absence of said laves and chi phases.
Regarding claims 6, 12, and 17, Sato et al. discloses the steel of claims 1, 7, and 13 (see previous). Sato et al. further teaches utilizing the steel for turbine blade parts, which would naturally require the shape of a “preform” as claimed [0020].
Response to Arguments
The previous 102 rejections are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/17/2026 regarding the 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that specific examples of Sato et al. do not achieve a similar toughness property of impact energy such that the determination of obviousness due to closeness of ranges is not proper. The examiner cannot concur. The specific examples of Sato et al. relied upon by applicant were never relied upon in the previous rejections, and specific examples do not constitute a teaching away from the broader disclosure of the prior art. See MPEP 2123. Since Sato et al. broadly teaches a close Co range and broadly teaches a similar, overlapping toughness property of 20 J or more, the examiner cannot concur.
Applicant then argues that Sato et al. performs high temperature aging (500 to 600 degrees C) which is much higher than the aging of the instant application at 600 degrees F and would therefore form undesirable phases. The examiner cannot concur with applicant’s mere conclusory remarks. Specifically, applicant does not provide any evidence or data to support the aforementioned allegation, such that the examiner cannot concur.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734