DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 are pending and currently under review.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-8 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Majka (US 2016/0251737).
Regarding claims 7-8 and 10-12, Majka discloses a forged martensitic stainless steel having a composition as seen in table 1 below [abstract]. The examiner notes that the compositional ranges of Majka are identical to that as claimed. See MPEP 2131.03. Majka further teaches that the steel is used for turbine airfoils (which would naturally include a preform of said airfoil) and has zero delta, leaves, chi, and sigma phases [abstract, 0016].
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 7 (wt.%)
Majka (wt.%)
Cr
12 – 16
12 – 16
Co
16 – 20
16 – 20
Mo
6 – 8
6 – 8
Ni
1 – 3
1 – 3
C
0.02 – 0.04
0.02 – 0.04
Fe & impurities
Balance
Balance
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP2014208869, machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claims 1-3, 7-9, and 13-14, Sato et al. discloses a forged, martensitic stainless steel having a composition as seen in table 2 below [0006, 0014]. The examiner notes that the composition of Sato et al. overlaps with and is substantially close to that as claimed which is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Specifically, regarding closeness, the examiner notes that the upper limit of 16 weight percent of Sato et al. is substantially close to the claimed Co amount of greater than 16 weight percent such that similar properties are expected such as similar toughness values of 20 J charpy impact energy relative to those achieved in the instant specification [0022].
Sato et al. is silent regarding the presence of any austenite phase, which one of ordinary skill would understand to mean that austenite is not present (ie. the steel is entirely martensite) absent a specific teaching to the contrary. Sato et al. further expressly teaches away from the formation of austenite, which further bolsters the examiner’s above position [0015].
Sato et al. is further silent regarding the presence of any sigma phase, which one of ordinary skill would understand to mean that sigma phases are not present. Furthermore, [0019, 0029 instant spec.] teaches that sigma phase directly influences toughness properties and that an absence of sigma phases achieves a desirable charpy impact toughness of 20 J. Sato et al. also discloses a toughness of 20 J as stated above, which further bolsters the examiner’s above position that the steel of Sato et al. is absent any sigma phases because Sato et al. does not teach the presence of sigma phases and further expressly teaches the same properties achieved by the absence of said sigma phases.
Table 2.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 7 (wt.%)
Sato et al. (wt.%)
Cr
12 – 16
8 – 13
Co
16 – 20
2 – 16
Mo
6 – 8
3.5 – 8
Ni
1 – 3
2 – 8
C
0.02 – 0.04
0.03 – 0.06
Fe & impurities
Balance
Balance
Regarding claims 4-5, 10-11, and 15-16, Sato et al. discloses the steel of claims 1, 7, and 13 (see previous). Sato et al. further teaches that precipitation of delta ferrite avoided (ie. zero percent delta ferrite) [0010-0011]. Sato et al. is silent regarding the presence of any laves and chi phases, which one of ordinary skill would understand to mean that these phases are not present. Furthermore, [0019, 0029 instant spec.] teaches that laves and chi phases directly influence toughness properties and that an absence of laves and chi phases achieves a desirable charpy impact toughness of 20 J. Sato et al. also discloses a toughness of 20 J as stated above, which further bolsters the examiner’s above position that the steel of Sato et al. is absent any laves and chi phases because Sato et al. does not teach the presence of laves and chi phases and further expressly teaches the same properties achieved by the absence of said laves and chi phases.
Regarding claims 6, 12, and 17, Sato et al. discloses the steel of claims 1, 7, and 13 (see previous). Sato et al. further teaches utilizing the steel for turbine blade parts, which would naturally require the shape of a “preform” as claimed [0020].
Conclusion
No claims allowable.
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734