DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim for priority to provisional application no. 63/352,446 filed 15 June 2022.
Response to Amendment
Replacement drawing sheets for Figures 1-14 were received on 29 July 2025 and have been approved by the Office. The drawing objections have been obviated in view of Applicant’s amendments.
The specification objections have been obviated in view of Applicant’s amendments filed 29 July 2025.
The claim objections have been obviated in view of Applicant’s amendments filed 29 July 2025.
The rejections of claims 9 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been obviated in view of Applicant’s amendments filed 29 July 2025 and are withdrawn.
The rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been obviated in view of Applicant’s amendments filed 29 July 2025 and are withdrawn.
Claims 1-10, 16-17, and 20 have been canceled.
Claims 11-15 and 18-19 are still pending. An action on the merits follows.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “generally horizontal support tube” recited in claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The Figures show the “support tube 2” being a vertical tube or at least a curved tube, but do not show the “support tube 2” as “generally horizontal.” No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The amendment filed 29 July 2025 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
The underlined sentences of amended Paragraph [0036] shown below.
The original disclosure does not describe or show wherein the length adjustment mechanism includes a frame with a pin attached on opposing sides of the frame. While the drawings may show a frame, it cannot be said that the drawings show a pin attached on opposing sides of the frame. The original disclosure does not describe or show wherein a belt is attached at one end to the support section, such as by stitching, such that the belt passes over the pin and back through the frame, such that the end of the belt opposite the stitched connection may be pulled such that the length of the belt between the frame and stitched connection is shortened, thereby shortening the length of the strap. The drawings do not show or make it clear that the belt is a separate structure from the strap and thus do not show that the belt loops from the stitching to the pin, through the frame, and back towards the stitching.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 11 and 19, each instance of “the support tube” should read --the generally horizontal support tube--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a generally horizontal support tube” in line 3. This limitation was not properly described in the original disclosure and is considered new matter. “Support tube” is given the reference number “2” throughout the specification and “support tube 2” is shown as being a vertical tube or at least a curved tube throughout the drawings. The original specification and drawings do not describe or show the support tube as a “generally horizontal support tube.”
Claim 13 recites the limitation “a length adjustment mechanism comprising: a belt having two ends, with one end attached at one end to the support section, a frame attached along a length of the strap, the frame having four sides, and a pin having two ends, with each end attached to opposing sides of the frame” in lines 3-5. This limitation was not properly described in the original disclosure and is considered new matter.
Claims 11-15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “generally” in claim 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “generally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation “a generally horizontal support tube” is rendered indefinite by use of the term “generally.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Couplin (US 1,490,363).
Regarding claim 11, Couplin teaches an exercise machine comprising:
an exercise mechanism for a user,
a generally horizontal support tube (bar 4) attached to the exercise mechanism (Fig. 1 shows wherein the bar 4 is a square tube with a cylindrical bore through the center.), and
a harness mounted on the support tube comprising
a support section (stirrups 8) having a first end and a second end (Figs. 1, 7, 8), and
a strap (sling 7) having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the support section is attached to the first end of the strap and the second end of the support section is attached to the second end of the strap (Fig. 1 shows wherein the sling 7 is suspended from the bar 4 and attached at either end to the stirrups 8 via loops 19.),
wherein the harness is mounted on the support tube by the strap hanging from the support tube (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Couplin teaches the exercise machine of claim 11, wherein
the exercise mechanism is a recumbent exercise mechanism (Page 1, lines 15-25: Couplin describes wherein the exercises are done while in a “recumbent position of the body” or “while the person reclines in bed or on the floor.” Therefore, the exercise mechanism is a recumbent exercise mechanism that allows a recumbent position of the body during exercise.).
Regarding claim 14, Couplin teaches the exercise machine of claim 11, wherein
the support section is wider at its widest point than the strap at its widest point (Fig. 1 shows wherein the strap 17 of the stirrups 8 are wider than the slings 7.).
Regarding claim 15, Couplin teaches the exercise machine of claim 11, wherein
the support section is made from a flexible material (Figs. 7-8. Page 1, lines 100: “A suitable form of stirrup 8 is shown in Figures 5, 6, 7, and 8. A band 17 of strong canvas is folded or buckled upon itself as shown at 18.” Canvas is a flexible material.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Couplin (US 1,490,363) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Champion (US 2014/0200499).
Regarding claim 13, Couplin teaches the exercise machine of claim 11. Couplin teaches wherein the sling 7 is made “of any suitable material such as rope, chain or the like,” but does not expressly teach wherein the strap includes a belt.
Couplin does not teach wherein the strap includes a length adjustment mechanism comprising: a belt having two ends, with one end attached at one end to the support section, a frame attached along a length of the strap, the frame having four sides, and a pin having two ends, with each end attached to opposing sides of the frame.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Champion teaches an exercise device comprising a strap (anchor strap 140) including a length adjustment mechanism (threading plate 142) comprising: a belt having two ends (Fig. 3A: The anchor strap 140 is shown as a flat belt.), a frame attached along a length of the strap, the frame having four sides, and a pin having two ends, with each end attached to opposing sides of the frame (See annotated Fig. 3B below.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the slings of Couplin by specifying the belt material and including the length adjustment mechanism of Champion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to make adjustable “the effective length of the strap … by increasing or decreasing the length of the leading portion [of the strap],” as suggested by Champion (Para. [0113]). The combination of Couplin and Champion teaches wherein the strap includes a belt with one end of the belt attached at one end to the support section. That is, by modifying the slings of Couplin to be belts as taught by Champion, one end of the slings/belts would attach to the support section of the harness.
Regarding claim 18, Couplin-- teaches the exercise machine of claim 11.
Couplin does not teach wherein the strap includes a buckle.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Champion teaches an exercise device comprising a strap (anchor strap 340) which includes a buckle (buckle 342).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the strap of Couplin by including the buckle of Champion with the predicted result of providing a “quick-release buckle” that can be used to quickly and easily remove the slings 7 and stirrups 8 from the bar 4 for convenient set up (see MPEP 2141(III)).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Couplin (US 1,490,363) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Pickman (US 2019/0099316).
Regarding claim 19, Couplin teaches the exercise machine of claim 11.
Couplin does not teach wherein: the support tube further comprises a loop.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Pickman teaches an exercise mechanism for a user comprising a support bar (crossbar 11) attached to the exercise mechanism, wherein the support bar further comprises a loop (attachment points 13) (Fig. 1. Para. [0012]: “attachment points 13 comprise steel half-rings or d-rings welded to a steel crossbar 11.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bar of Couplin by including the attachment points of Pickman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide attachment points “for accommodating the connection of [additional] support member[s],” as suggested by Pickman (Para. [0012]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3784
/Megan Anderson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784