DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the correspondence filed by the applicant on 4/27/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the claim rejections under 102(a)(2), Applicant’s arguments, pages 9-13, have been fully considered and are moot upon a further consideration and a new ground(s) of rejection made under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHARIFI (US 2022/0068261 A1), and in further view of YAMADA (US 2011/0313773 A1).
Applicant asserts (pg. 12 item 1), “similarity in Sharifi is used only to determine which parts correspond to each other and is not used as a criterion for determining whether the second audio signal is intended to correct the first.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. In Fig. 4, Sharifi clearly shows that the “similarity” (Step 456) is measured to go to steps 458 and 460. In step 458, alternate speech hypothesis is determined (i.e., identifying “Doe” is misrecognized as “Roe”), then corrects the speech recognition result in step 460 (Par 60 – “For example, assume the original spoken utterance included the term “Doe” as a slot value for a parameter, and assume speech recognition misrecognized “Doe” as “Roe”. Further assume the additional spoken utterance included the term “Doe” again. In these instances, the alternate slot value “Doe” can be identified as part of the alternate action (instead of “Roe”). The system may proceed to block 366.”). Thus, it is clear that “satisfying a similarity threshold” is a criterion for determining whether the second audio signal is intended to correct the first.
Applicant asserts (pg. 12 item 2), “The acoustic features … These are technically distinct from vocal characteristics based on syllable-level pronunciation information … vocal characteristics are identified based on pronunciation information of each syllable (e.g., accent, amplitude, duration). However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The exemplar acoustic feature of Sharifi include MFCC coefficients. It is well-known that the 0-th order MFCC corresponds to total energy that is “amplitude” Sharifi also discloses phonetic, acoustic, and textual similarities (Par 13 – “… determines that “Roe” and “Doe” are similar (e.g., phonetically, acoustically, and/or textually)”). In other words, the vocal characteristic (e.g., MFCCs, mel-filerbank filters, etc.) are identified to determine whether they are phonetically similar to the ones in the first audio signal. And, the vocal characteristic corresponds to a pronunciation of at least one syllable, i.e., the syllable “Doe” in the word “Doe” is phonetically similar to the syllable “Roe” is the word Roe.
Applicant further asserts (pg. 12 item3), “Sharifi does not disclose or suggest any comparison based on syllable-level pronunciation information” However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. SHARIFI teaches analyzing and comparing the pronunciations of words to determine a phonetic similarity degree between the words. In a broad sense, since the SHARIFI teaches a phonetic similarity between the words, the words are compared in a phonetic level. Since the phoneme is a smaller sub-unit of a word than a syllable, the phonetic-level comparison eventually covers the syllable-level comparison. Although SHARIFI implicitly suggests the pronunciation of the syllable, the Examiner provides YADAMA for the clarity of rejection. Please see the rejection for more details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8, 12-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHARIFI (US 2022/0068261 A1), and in further view of YAMADA (US 2011/0313773 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, SHARIFI discloses a method, performed by an electronic device, of processing a voice input, the method comprising:
obtaining a first audio signal from a first user voice input of a user (Par 51 – “At block 352, the system receives audio data corresponding to a spoken utterance of a user via microphone(s) of a computing device of a user (e.g., “Play a song by John Doe”, “Turn on the bedroom lights”, etc.). At block 354, the system processes, using a speech recognition model, the audio data corresponding to the spoken utterance to generate a plurality of speech hypotheses based on output generated using the speech recognition model. The plurality of speech hypotheses can include, for example, term hypotheses for each term included in the spoken utterance (e.g., “Doe”, “Roe”, “Row”, “Dough”, etc.) and/or transcription hypotheses that include various combinations of the term hypotheses (e.g., “Play a song by John Doe”, “Play a song by John Roe”, and so on). Each of the plurality of speech hypotheses may be associated with a respective confidence level. For example, each term hypothesis may be associated with a respective confidence level. In some implementations, block 354 may include optional sub-block 354A. If included, at sub-block 354A, the system can generate a transcription corresponding to the spoken utterance. For example, the system can generate a transcription associated with a given transcription hypothesis, of the plurality of transcription hypotheses, that has the highest respective confidence level.”);
obtaining a second audio signal from a second user voice input of the user subsequent to the first audio signal (Par 54 – “At block 360, the system determines whether additional audio data corresponding to an additional spoken utterance is received via the microphone(s) of the computing device of the user.”);
identifying whether the second audio signal is an audio signal for correcting the obtained first audio signal (Par 54 – “As another example, word detection may be kept active such that a word detection model is utilized to determine whether a specific term or phrase is included in the additional audio data (e.g., correction term(s) or phrase(s), different speech hypotheses, and/or other term(s) or phrase(s)).”; Par 75 – “The automated assistant can identify the misrecognition based on processing the additional spoken utterance 656A. … For instance, the automated assistant can process the additional spoken utterance 656A to determine that “John Doe” from the additional spoken utterance 656A is acoustically similar to “John Doe” from the original spoken utterance 652A. As another example, the automated assistant can identify correction terms or phrases included in the spoken utterance (e.g. “No”, “I said”, “What I said is”, and/or other terms that are indicative of the misrecognition).”) based on a similarity between the first audio signal and the second audio signal (Par 41 – “The similarly engine 141 can compare acoustic features of the spoken utterance to additional acoustic features of the additional spoken utterance to identify a portion of the spoken utterance that is similar to an additional portion of the additional spoken utterance. The acoustic features can include, for example, MFCCs, audio waveforms, and/or other acoustic features of audio data that can be compared. Continuing with the above example, the similarity engine 141 can compare acoustic features of the spoken utterance of “send a text message to Ron” to additional acoustic features of the additional spoken utterance of “No, Ron”, and can identify that the portion of the spoken utterance corresponding to “Ron” is acoustically similar to the portion of the additional spoken utterance corresponding to “Ron”.”) and whether the obtained second audio signal has at least one vocal characteristic corresponding to pronunciation of at least one [syllable] phonetic included in the second audio signal (Par 41 – “The similarly engine 141 can compare acoustic features of the spoken utterance to additional acoustic features of the additional spoken utterance to identify a portion of the spoken utterance that is similar to an additional portion of the additional spoken utterance. The acoustic features can include, for example, MFCCs, audio waveforms, and/or other acoustic features of audio data that can be compared. Continuing with the above example, the similarity engine 141 can compare acoustic features of the spoken utterance of “send a text message to Ron” to additional acoustic features of the additional spoken utterance of “No, Ron”, and can identify that the portion of the spoken utterance corresponding to “Ron” is acoustically similar to the portion of the additional spoken utterance corresponding to “Ron”.”; Par 14 – “The similarity between the transcriptions can be determined based on, for example, an edit distance between one or more recognized terms included in the transcriptions and/or other textual or phonetic similarities. Continuing with the above examples, a portion of the transcription that corresponds that to the given speech hypothesis (e.g., “Roe”) can be compared to an additional portion of the additional transcription that corresponds to the additional given speech hypothesis (e.g., “Doe” or “Smith”).”; In other words, the vocal characteristic (e.g., MFCCs, mel-filerbank filters, etc.) are identified to determine whether they are phonetically similar to the ones in the first audio signal. And, the vocal characteristic corresponds to a pronunciation of at least one syllable, i.e., the syllable “Doe” in the word “Doe” is phonetically similar to the syllable “Roe” is the word Roe.);
based on the second audio signal being identified as the audio signal for correcting the first audio signal, obtaining at least one of one or more corrected words or one or more corrected syllables through processing of content of the second audio signal (Par 76 – “Further, the automated assistant can process, using the speech recognition model(s), additional audio data corresponding to the additional spoken utterance 656A to generate a plurality of additional speech hypotheses. The plurality of additional speech hypotheses can be restricted to those that overlap with the original plurality of speech hypotheses generated in processing the spoken utterance 652A, and optionally omit the given speech hypothesis, of the plurality of speech hypotheses, that was selected as corresponding to the spoken utterance 652A. … However, since the automated assistant previously selected the term “Roe” as corresponding to “Doe” based on the term hypotheses in table the table 620A and the automated assistant determined the additional spoken utterance 656A is intended to correct a misrecognition, the automated assistant may select the next term hypothesis with the highest confidence level, such as “Doe”.”; Par 31 – “For instance, with such models the predicted phoneme(s) (and/or other representations) are then utilized by the speech recognition engine(s) 120A1 and/or 120A2 to determine the plurality of speech hypotheses that conform to the predicted phoneme(s). In doing so, the speech recognition engine(s) 120A1 and/or 120A2 can optionally employ a decoding graph, a lexicon, and/or other resource(s).”);
based on the obtained at least one of the one or more corrected words or the one or more corrected syllables (Par 13 – “In this example (and assuming the automated assistant is confident the term hypotheses for “Play”, “a”, “song”, “by”, “John” are correct), the automated assistant compares acoustic features of the spoken utterances, and determines that “Roe” and “Doe” are similar (e.g., phonetically, acoustically, and/or textually). The additional spoken utterance of “No, John Doe” can be processed, using the speech recognition model(s), to generate the additional speech hypotheses (e.g., transcription hypotheses and/or term hypotheses) that are restricted to those considered in previously processing the prior spoken utterance of “Play a song by John Doe”.”), correcting at least one misrecognized word in the first audio signal obtained from the first user voice input according to the at least one of the corrected words or corrected syllables (Par 57 – “At block 454, the system identifies, based on comparing the acoustic features to the additional acoustic features, at least a portion of the spoken utterance that is similar to an additional portion of the additional spoken utterance. For instance, assume the original spoken utterance included the term “Doe”, and assume speech recognition misrecognized “Doe” as “Roe”. Further assume the additional spoken utterance included the term “Doe” again. In these instances, the acoustic features indicate that the portion of the original spoken utterance corresponding to “Doe” is similar to the portion of the additional spoken utterance corresponding to “Doe”.”);
processing the identified at least one corrected audio signal (Par 59 – “At block 458, the system identifies an alternate speech hypothesis, of the plurality of speech hypotheses, based on the additional audio data. The alternate speech hypothesis may include an alternate transcription hypothesis and/or alternate term hypotheses generated based on processing the additional audio data using the speech recognition model(s). … block 458 may include optional sub-block 458A. If included, at sub-block 458A, the system may generate an additional transcription corresponding to the additional spoken utterance. The additional transcription may be based on the alternate speech hypothesis, and optionally the original speech hypothesis. For example, the additional transcription may be based on an alternate transcription hypothesis, a plurality of alternate term hypotheses, and/or an alternate term hypothesis and the original transcription hypothesis.”); and
outputting search information for the at least one corrected audio signal (Fig. 6A; Par 77 – “In some versions of these implementations, the automated assistant can cause the computing device 610 to audibly render a further spoken response 658A of “Right, John Doe” that acknowledges the correction of the misrecognition, and can perform the alternate action as indicated by 660A.”; Par 38 – “For example, if the action determined based on the audio data 201 includes a slot value that is a proper noun (e.g., “Give me directions to Ron's house”, “Play a song by John Doe”, etc.)”; Par 72 – “The computing device 610 may include microphone(s) to generate audio data based on spoken utterances and/or other audible input, speaker(s) to audibly render synthesized speech and/or other audible output, and/or a display 680 to visually render transcriptions and/or other visual output.”).
SHARIFI does not explicitly teach the [square-bracketed] limitation, and teaches the underlined feature instead. In other words, SHARIFI teaches analyzing and comparing the pronunciations of words to determine a similarity degree between the words, but does not explicitly teach the pronunciation of the [syllables] of the audio signal. In a broad sense, since the SHARIFI teaches a phonetic similarity between the words, the words are compared in a phonetic level. Since the phoneme is a smaller sub-unit of a word than a syllable, the phonetic-level comparison eventually covers the syllable-level comparison. Although, SHARIFI implicitly suggests the pronunciation of the [syllable], the Examiner provides YADAMA for the clarity of rejection.
YAMADA discloses the [square-bracketed] limitations. YAMADA discloses a method/system for voice interaction with a user comprising: determining whether the obtained second audio signal has at least one vocal characteristic corresponding to pronunciation of at least one [syllable] included in the second audio signal (YAMADA Par 147 – “In matching with the use of the pronunciation symbols, it is possible to employ (one) syllable, a two or more syllable concatenation, (one) phoneme, a two or more phoneme concatenation, or the like as a unit of matching.”; Par 170 – “In matching of units of syllables with the use of pronunciation symbols, 0.82, 1.0, and 0.75 are respectively obtained as the similarity degrees between the sound recognition result “TOSHI NO SE KAISAN (breaking up at the end of the year)” and each of the search result target word strings including “SEKAI ISAN TOSHI NO ISAN (heritage in a world heritage city)”, “SETO NO HAISHA SAN (a dentist in Seto)”, and “SHUIN KAISAN NO TOSHI (a year in which dissolution of the house of representatives occurs)”.”). In other words, YAMADA teaches syllable-level comparison between words.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of SHARIFI to substitute a phonetic-level analysis with a syllable-level analysis, as taught by YAMADA.
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious. For more on this combination rationale, see MPEP § 2143(B).
REGARDING CLAIM 2, SHARIFI in view of YAMADA discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the identifying of whether the obtained second audio signal is the audio signal for correcting the first audio signal comprises: based on the similarity between the obtained first audio signal and the obtained second audio signal (Par 41 – “The similarly engine 141 can compare acoustic features of the spoken utterance to additional acoustic features of the additional spoken utterance to identify a portion of the spoken utterance that is similar to an additional portion of the additional spoken utterance. The acoustic features can include, for example, MFCCs, audio waveforms, and/or other acoustic features of audio data that can be compared. Continuing with the above example, the similarity engine 141 can compare acoustic features of the spoken utterance of “send a text message to Ron” to additional acoustic features of the additional spoken utterance of “No, Ron”, and can identify that the portion of the spoken utterance corresponding to “Ron” is acoustically similar to the portion of the additional spoken utterance corresponding to “Ron”.”), identifying whether the obtained second audio signal has the at least one vocal characteristic corresponding to pronunciation of at least one syllable included in the second audio signal (Par 41 – “The similarly engine 141 can compare acoustic features of the spoken utterance to additional acoustic features of the additional spoken utterance to identify a portion of the spoken utterance that is similar to an additional portion of the additional spoken utterance. The acoustic features can include, for example, MFCCs, audio waveforms, and/or other acoustic features of audio data that can be compared. Continuing with the above example, the similarity engine 141 can compare acoustic features of the spoken utterance of “send a text message to Ron” to additional acoustic features of the additional spoken utterance of “No, Ron”, and can identify that the portion of the spoken utterance corresponding to “Ron” is acoustically similar to the portion of the additional spoken utterance corresponding to “Ron”.”; Par 14 – “The similarity between the transcriptions can be determined based on, for example, an edit distance between one or more recognized terms included in the transcriptions and/or other textual or phonetic similarities. Continuing with the above examples, a portion of the transcription that corresponds that to the given speech hypothesis (e.g., “Roe”) can be compared to an additional portion of the additional transcription that corresponds to the additional given speech hypothesis (e.g., “Doe” or “Smith”).”; In other words, the vocal characteristic (e.g., MFCCs, mel-filerbank filters, etc.) are identified to determine whether they are phonetically similar to the ones in the first audio signal. And, the vocal characteristic corresponds to a pronunciation of at least one syllable, i.e., the syllable “Doe” in the word “Doe” is phonetically similar to the syllable “Roe” is the word Roe.).
REGARDING CLAIM 4, SHARIFI in view of YAMADA discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the identifying comprises: based on the similarity between the obtained first audio signal and the obtained second audio signal being greater than or equal to a preset second threshold, identifying whether the obtained second audio signal has the at least one vocal characteristic (Par 14 – “The similarity between the transcriptions can be determined based on, for example, an edit distance between one or more recognized terms included in the transcriptions and/or other textual or phonetic similarities. Continuing with the above examples, a portion of the transcription that corresponds that to the given speech hypothesis (e.g., “Roe”) can be compared to an additional portion of the additional transcription that corresponds to the additional given speech hypothesis (e.g., “Doe” or “Smith”). Based on an edit distance between “Roe” and “Doe” determined based on the comparison, the automated assistant can determine the similarity satisfies a similarity threshold. In this example, the edit distance may be relatively small, and the misrecognition (e.g., selecting “Roe” instead of “Doe”) can be identified. In contrast, based on an edit distance between “Roe” and “Smith” determined based on the comparison, the automated assistant can determine the similarity does not satisfy a similarity threshold. In this example, the edit distance may be relatively larger, and that the additional spoken utterance was not provided due to misrecognition.”; Par 13 – “In this example (and assuming the automated assistant is confident the term hypotheses for “Play”, “a”, “song”, “by”, “John” are correct), the automated assistant compares acoustic features of the spoken utterances, and determines that “Roe” and “Doe” are similar (e.g., phonetically, acoustically, and/or textually).”; In other words, the acoustic similarity is also determined as well as the phonetic similarity. Thus, the vocal characteristic (e.g., MFCCs, mel-filerbank filters, etc.) are identified to determine whether they are similar to the ones in the first audio signal.).
REGARDING CLAIM 5, SHARIFI in view of YAMADA discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the identifying of whether the obtained second audio signal has the at least one vocal characteristic comprises:
obtaining second pronunciation information for each of at least one syllable included in the obtained second audio signal (Par 4 – “As one example, the additional spoken utterance can be processed to determine that the “Doe” portion of the additional spoken utterance is similar to the “Doe” portion of the prior spoken utterance (i.e., that was misrecognized as “Roe”). This similarity determination can include, for example, determining the portions are phonetically similar, acoustically similar, and/or have one or more overlapping term hypotheses from speech recognition.”; Par 12 – “The similarity between the portion of the spoken utterance and the additional portion of the additional spoken utterance can be, for example, phonetic similarity. In some further versions of those implementations, acoustic features of the features of the spoken utterance can be compared to additional acoustic features of the additional spoken utterance. Comparing the acoustic features and the additional acoustic can include, for example, and with respect to the similar portions of the spoken utterance and the additional spoken utterance, comparing an audio waveform of the spoken utterance and the additional spoken utterance, comparing mel-frequency Cepstral coefficients (MFCCs) of the spoken utterance and the additional spoken utterance, comparing mel filterbank features of the spoken utterance and the additional spoken utterance and/or comparing other acoustic features, such as an embedding derived from a machine learning model that processes or recognizes the speech (e.g., a voice activity detector, word detection model(s) 150A, speech recognition model(s) 120A, and/or other machine learning models). Based on comparing the acoustic features and the additional acoustic features, the automated assistant can identify whether at least a portion of the spoken utterance and an additional portion of the additional spoken are similar.”; Par 14 – “The similarity between the transcriptions can be determined based on, for example, an edit distance between one or more recognized terms included in the transcriptions and/or other textual or phonetic similarities.”; In other words, the phonemes, MFCCs, mel-filterbank features of the first and the second audio signals are compared for similarities. Thus, the pronunciation information (e.g., phonemes, MFCCs, mel-filterank features, etc.) is obtained.); and
based on the second pronunciation information, identifying whether the at least one syllable included in the obtained second audio signal has the at least one vocal characteristic (Par 12 – “The similarity between the portion of the spoken utterance and the additional portion of the additional spoken utterance can be, for example, phonetic similarity. In some further versions of those implementations, acoustic features of the features of the spoken utterance can be compared to additional acoustic features of the additional spoken utterance. Comparing the acoustic features and the additional acoustic can include, for example, and with respect to the similar portions of the spoken utterance and the additional spoken utterance, comparing an audio waveform of the spoken utterance and the additional spoken utterance, comparing mel-frequency Cepstral coefficients (MFCCs) of the spoken utterance and the additional spoken utterance, comparing mel filterbank features of the spoken utterance and the additional spoken utterance and/or comparing other acoustic features, such as an embedding derived from a machine learning model that processes or recognizes the speech (e.g., a voice activity detector, word detection model(s) 150A, speech recognition model(s) 120A, and/or other machine learning models). Based on comparing the acoustic features and the additional acoustic features, the automated assistant can identify whether at least a portion of the spoken utterance and an additional portion of the additional spoken are similar.”; Par 13 – “In this example (and assuming the automated assistant is confident the term hypotheses for “Play”, “a”, “song”, “by”, “John” are correct), the automated assistant compares acoustic features of the spoken utterances, and determines that “Roe” and “Doe” are similar (e.g., phonetically, acoustically, and/or textually).”; In other words, the phonetic/acoustic similarities are determined using pronunciation information (e.g., phonemes, MFCCs, mel-filerbank filters, etc.). Thus, the vocal characteristics (e.g., similar or not similar phonetic/acoustic features) are identified.).
REGARDING CLAIM 8, SHARIFI in view of YAMADA discloses the method of claim 4, further comprises:
based on the obtained similarity being less than the preset second threshold, additionally identifying whether a voice pattern of the obtained second audio signal corresponds to at least one preset voice pattern (Par 14 – “Based on an edit distance between “Roe” and “Doe” determined based on the comparison, the automated assistant can determine the similarity satisfies a similarity threshold. In this example, the edit distance may be relatively small, and the misrecognition (e.g., selecting “Roe” instead of “Doe”) can be identified. In contrast, based on an edit distance between “Roe” and “Smith” determined based on the comparison, the automated assistant can determine the similarity does not satisfy a similarity threshold. In this example, the edit distance may be relatively larger, and that the additional spoken utterance was not provided due to misrecognition.”; Par 49 – “Further, a second word detection model, of the word detection model(s) 140A, may a correction term or phrase model that is trained to detect words and/or phrases that are indicative of an occurrence of a misrecognition (e.g., “no”, “wait”, “I said”, and/or any other term or phrase that is indicative of the misrecognition). In some versions of those implementations, the speech misrecognition system 160 may be implemented responsive to determining a given spoken utterance includes the correction term or phrase.”; Par 58 –“In these instances, the acoustic features may not indicate that the portion of the original spoken utterance corresponding to “Doe” is similar to the portion of the additional spoken utterance corresponding to “Smith”. Further, a distinct action may be performed by the automated assistant based on the additional audio data, but the distinct action is not an alternate action in that it is very unlikely a term hypothesis for “Smith” or transcription hypothesis including the term hypothesis “Smith” was generated in originally processing the portion of the spoken utterance corresponding to “Doe”.”; Par 75 – “For instance, the automated assistant can process the additional spoken utterance 656A to determine that “John Doe” from the additional spoken utterance 656A is acoustically similar to “John Doe” from the original spoken utterance 652A. As another example, the automated assistant can identify correction terms or phrases included in the spoken utterance (e.g. “No”, “I said”, “What I said is”, and/or other terms that are indicative of the misrecognition). In response to determining that the additional spoken utterance corrects the misrecognition, the automated assistant can cause the original action to be cancelled if initiated and/or being performed (e.g., stop playing the song by John Roe if it had started).”; Par 78 – “However, in contrast with FIG. 6A, assume the additional spoken utterance 656B corresponds to “Wait, John Smith”. In this example, the automated assistant can process acoustic features and/or textual features of the additional spoken utterance 656B to determine whether a portion of the additional spoken utterance 656A is intended to correct a portion of the interpretation of the spoken utterance 652B. For instance, the automated assistant can process the additional spoken utterance 656B to determine that “John Smith” from the additional spoken utterance 656B is not acoustically similar to “John Doe” from the original spoken utterance 652B.”; Par 79 – “For example, assume the automated assistant is highly confident in term hypotheses corresponding to “Wait” and “John”.”; Par 80 – “In these implementations, and with respect to the action, the automated assistant can determine a distinct action to be performed by the automated assistant. As shown in FIG. 6B, the automated assistant can still utilize the “play a song” intent from the original spoken utterance 652, but utilize a distinct slot value of “John Smith” for the “artist” parameter.”; In other words, the method/system of SHARIFI still corrects the misrecognized term when the similarity is less than a threshold, e.g., Fig. 3 Step 364->No-> the distinct action, wherein the distinct action also corrects the term by replacing the previously recognized term. Since the explicit correction terms (e.g., wait, no, I said, etc.) clearly indicate that the user’s intention is to correct the recognition result, the system/method still correct the result despite of the low similarity score.) based on a natural language processing (NLP) model (Par 33 – “The action can include, for example, an intent and slot value(s) for parameter(s) associated with the intent. As described below (e.g., with respect to FIGS. 2A and 2B), the automated assistant can process, using a natural language understanding (“NLU”) engine, the given transcription hypothesis to determine the intent. Continuing with the above example, assume the automated assistant 180 selected “send a text message to Don” as the given transcription hypothesis corresponding to the spoken utterance (instead of “Ron” as intended by the user). In this example, the intent of the action may be “send a text message”, and the slot value for a “recipient” parameter may be “Don” (and optionally a slot value for a “text message content” parameter if included in the spoken utterance).”; Par 77 – “In these implementations, and with respect to the action, the automated assistant can supplant the slot value of “John Roe” for the artist parameter with an alternate slot value of “John Doe”, resulting in an alternate action to be performed by the automated assistant. In some versions of these implementations, the automated assistant can cause the computing device 610 to audibly render a further spoken response 658A of “Right, John Doe” that acknowledges the correction of the misrecognition, and can perform the alternate action as indicated by 660A.”).
REGARDING CLAIM 12, SHARIFI in view of YAMADA discloses an electronic device for processing a voice input of a user, the electronic device comprising: a memory storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the one or more instructions (Par 88 – “processor .. memory …”) to perform the steps of claim 1; thus, it is rejected under the same rationale.
REGARDING CLAIM 13, SHARIFI in view of YAMADA discloses the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to,
based on the similarity between the obtained first audio signal and the obtained second audio signal (Par 41 – “The similarly engine 141 can compare acoustic features of the spoken utterance to additional acoustic features of the additional spoken utterance to identify a portion of the spoken utterance that is similar to an additional portion of the additional spoken utterance. The acoustic features can include, for example, MFCCs, audio waveforms, and/or other acoustic features of audio data that can be compared. Continuing with the above example, the similarity engine 141 can compare acoustic features of the spoken utterance of “send a text message to Ron” to additional acoustic features of the additional spoken utterance of “No, Ron”, and can identify that the portion of the spoken utterance corresponding to “Ron” is acoustically similar to the portion of the additional spoken utterance corresponding to “Ron”.”), identify whether the obtained second audio signal has the at least one vocal characteristic corresponding to pronunciation of at least one syllable included in the second audio signal (Par 41 – “The similarly engine 141 can compare acoustic features of the spoken utterance to additional acoustic features of the additional spoken utterance to identify a portion of the spoken utterance that is similar to an additional portion of the additional spoken utterance. The acoustic features can include, for example, MFCCs, audio waveforms, and/or other acoustic features of audio data that can be compared. Continuing with the above example, the similarity engine 141 can compare acoustic features of the spoken utterance of “send a text message to Ron” to additional acoustic features of the additional spoken utterance of “No, Ron”, and can identify that the portion of the spoken utterance corresponding to “Ron” is acoustically similar to the portion of the additional spoken utterance corresponding to “Ron”.”; Par 14 – “The similarity between the transcriptions can be determined based on, for example, an edit distance between one or more recognized terms included in the transcriptions and/or other textual or phonetic similarities. Continuing with the above examples, a portion of the transcription that corresponds that to the given speech hypothesis (e.g., “Roe”) can be compared to an additional portion of the additional transcription that corresponds to the additional given speech hypothesis (e.g., “Doe” or “Smith”).”; In other words, the vocal characteristic (e.g., MFCCs, mel-filerbank filters, etc.) are identified to determine whether they are phonetically similar to the ones in the first audio signal. And, the vocal characteristic corresponds to a pronunciation of at least one syllable, i.e., the syllable “Doe” in the word “Doe” is phonetically similar to the syllable “Roe” is the word Roe.).
REGARDING CLAIM 14, SHARIFI in view of YAMADA discloses the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
based on the obtained at least one of one or more corrected words or one or more corrected syllables, obtaining the at least one misrecognized word included in the obtained first audio signal (Par 76 – “Further, the automated assistant can process, using the speech recognition model(s), additional audio data corresponding to the additional spoken utterance 656A to generate a plurality of additional speech hypotheses. The plurality of additional speech hypotheses can be restricted to those that overlap with the original plurality of speech hypotheses generated in processing the spoken utterance 652A, and optionally omit the given speech hypothesis, of the plurality of speech hypotheses, that was selected as corresponding to the spoken utterance 652A. … However, since the automated assistant previously selected the term “Roe” as corresponding to “Doe” based on the term hypotheses in table the table 620A and the automated assistant determined the additional spoken utterance 656A is intended to correct a misrecognition, the automated assistant may select the next term hypothesis with the highest confidence level, such as “Doe”.”; Par 31 – “For instance, with such models the predicted phoneme(s) (and/or other representations) are then utilized by the speech recognition engine(s) 120A1 and/or 120A2 to determine the plurality of speech hypotheses that conform to the predicted phoneme(s). In doing so, the speech recognition engine(s) 120A1 and/or 120A2 can optionally employ a decoding graph, a lexicon, and/or other resource(s).”), and correct the obtained at least one misrecognized word, to at least one of the at least one word corresponding to the obtained at least one misrecognized word, or the at least one corrected word (Par 57 – “At block 454, the system identifies, based on comparing the acoustic features to the additional acoustic features, at least a portion of the spoken utterance that is similar to an additional portion of the additional spoken utterance. For instance, assume the original spoken utterance included the term “Doe”, and assume speech recognition misrecognized “Doe” as “Roe”. Further assume the additional spoken utterance included the term “Doe” again. In these instances, the acoustic features indicate that the portion of the original spoken utterance corresponding to “Doe” is similar to the portion of the additional spoken utterance corresponding to “Doe”.”; In other words, because the method/system of SHARIF identifies the corrected word “Doe” that corresponds to the misrecognized word, “Roe” and further correcting the error, the portion of the original spoken utterance is identified and corrected to produce a correction recognition result.).
REGARDING CLAIM 15, SHARIFI in view of YAMADA discloses the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to,
based on the similarity being greater than or equal to a preset second threshold, identify whether the obtained second audio signal has at least one vocal characteristic (Par 14 – “The similarity between the transcriptions can be determined based on, for example, an edit distance between one or more recognized terms included in the transcriptions and/or other textual or phonetic similarities. Continuing with the above examples, a portion of the transcription that corresponds that to the given speech hypothesis (e.g., “Roe”) can be compared to an additional portion of the additional transcription that corresponds to the additional given speech hypothesis (e.g., “Doe” or “Smith”). Based on an edit distance between “Roe” and “Doe” determined based on the comparison, the automated assistant can determine the similarity satisfies a similarity threshold. In this example, the edit distance may be relatively small, and the misrecognition (e.g., selecting “Roe” instead of “Doe”) can be identified. In contrast, based on an edit distance between “Roe” and “Smith” determined based on the comparison, the automated assistant can determine the similarity does not satisfy a similarity threshold. In this example, the edit distance may be relatively larger, and that the additional spoken utterance was not provided due to misrecognition.”; Par 13 – “In this example (and assuming the automated assistant is confident the term hypotheses for “Play”, “a”, “song”, “by”, “John” are correct), the automated assistant compares acoustic features of the spoken utterances, and determines that “Roe” and “Doe” are similar (e.g., phonetically, acoustically, and/or textually).”; In other words, the acoustic similarity is also determined as well as the phonetic similarity. Thus, the vocal characteristic (e.g., MFCCs, mel-filerbank filters, etc.) are identified to determine whether they are similar to the ones in the first audio signal.).
REGARDING CLAIM 16, SHARIFI in view of YAMADA discloses the electronic device of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
obtain second pronunciation information for each of at least one syllable included in the obtained second audio signal (Par 4 – “As one example, the additional spoken utterance can be processed to determine that the “Doe” portion of the additional spoken utterance is similar to the “Doe” portion of the prior spoken utterance (i.e., that was misrecognized as “Roe”). This similarity determination can include, for example, determining the portions are phonetically similar, acoustically similar, and/or have one or more overlapping term hypotheses from speech recognition.”; Par 14 – “The similarity between the transcriptions can be determined based on, for example, an edit distance between one or more recognized terms included in the transcriptions and/or other textual or phonetic similarities.”; In other words, the phonemes of the first and the second audio signals are compared for phonetic similarities. Thus, the pronunciation information is obtained.), and
based on the second pronunciation information, identify whether the at least one syllable included in the obtained second audio signal has the at least one vocal characteristic (Par 12 – “The similarity between the portion of the spoken utterance and the additional portion of the additional spoken utterance can be, for example, phonetic similarity. In some further versions of those implementations, acoustic features of the features of the spoken utterance can be compared to additional acoustic features of the additional spoken utterance. Comparing the acoustic features and the additional acoustic can include, for example, and with respect to the similar portions of the spoken utterance and the additional spoken utterance, comparing an audio waveform of the spoken utterance and the additional spoken utterance, comparing mel-frequency Cepstral coefficients (MFCCs) of the spoken utterance and the additional spoken utterance, comparing mel filterbank features of the spoken utterance and the additional spoken utterance and/or comparing other acoustic features, such as an embedding derived from a machine learning model that processes or recognizes the speech (e.g., a voice activity detector, word detection model(s) 150A, speech recognition model(s) 120A, and/or other machine learning models). Based on comparing the acoustic features and the additional acoustic features, the automated assistant can identify whether at least a portion of the spoken utterance and an additional portion of the additional spoken are similar.”; Par 13 – “In this example (and assuming the automated assistant is confident the term hypotheses for “Play”, “a”, “song”, “by”, “John” are correct), the automated assistant compares acoustic features of the spoken utterances, and determines that “Roe” and “Doe” are similar (e.g., phonetically, acoustically, and/or textually).”; In other words, the acoustic similarity is also determined as well as the phonetic similarity. Thus, the vocal characteristic (e.g., MFCCs, mel-filerbank filters, etc.) are identified to determine whether they are similar to the ones in the first audio signal.).
REGARDING CLAIM 18, SHARIFI in view of YAMADA discloses the electronic device of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
perform an additional analysis of the second audio signal using a natural language processing model (Par 33 – “The action can include, for example, an intent and slot value(s) for parameter(s) associated with the intent. As described below (e.g., with respect to FIGS. 2A and 2B), the automated assistant can process, using a natural language understanding (“NLU”) engine, the given transcription hypothesis to determine the intent. Continuing with the above example, assume the automated assistant 180 selected “send a text message to Don” as the given transcription hypothesis corresponding to the spoken utterance (instead of “Ron” as intended by the user). In this example, the intent of the action may be “send a text message”, and the slot value for a “recipient” parameter may be “Don” (and optionally a slot value for a “text message content” parameter if included in the spoken utterance).”).
REGARDING CLAIM 19, SHARIFI in view of YAMADA discloses the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
based on the at least one of the one or more corrected words or the one or more corrected syllables, obtain at least one of one or more misrecognized words or one or more misrecognized syllables included in the obtained first audio signal (Par 76 – “Further, the automated assistant can process, using the speech recognition model(s), additional audio data corresponding to the additional spoken utterance 656A to generate a plurality of additional speech hypotheses. The plurality of additional speech hypotheses can be restricted to those that overlap with the original plurality of speech hypotheses generated in processing the spoken utterance 652A, and optionally omit the given speech hypothesis, of the plurality of speech hypotheses, that was selected as corresponding to the spoken utterance 652A. … However, since the automated assistant previously selected the term “Roe” as corresponding to “Doe” based on the term hypotheses in table the table 620A and the automated assistant determined the additional spoken utterance 656A is intended to correct a misrecognition, the automated assistant may select the next term hypothesis with the highest confidence level, such as “Doe”.”; Par 31 – “For instance, with such models the predicted phoneme(s) (and/or other representations) are then utilized by the speech recognition engine(s) 120A1 and/or 120A2 to determine the plurality of speech hypotheses that conform to the predicted phoneme(s). In doing so, the speech recognition engine(s) 120A1 and/or 120A2 can optionally employ a decoding graph, a lexicon, and/or other resource(s).”), and
based on the at least one of the one or more corrected words or the one or more corrected syllables, and the at least one of the one or more misrecognized words or the one or more misrecognized syllables included in the obtained first audio signal, identify the at least one corrected audio signal (Par 57 – “At block 454, the system identifies, based on comparing the acoustic features to the additional acoustic features, at least a portion of the spoken utterance that is similar to an additional portion of the additional spoken utterance. For instance, assume the original spoken utterance included the term “Doe”, and assume speech recognition misrecognized “Doe” as “Roe”. Further assume the additional spoken utterance included the term “Doe” again. In these instances, the acoustic features indicate that the portion of the original spoken utterance corresponding to “Doe” is similar to the portion of the additional spoken utterance corresponding to “Doe”.”).
REGARDING CLAIM 20, SHARIFI in view of YAMADA discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon instructions for causing a processor of an electronic device to perform the method of claim 1; thus, it is rejected under the same rationale as explained in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHARIFI in view of YAMADA, and in further view of BEAUFAYS (US 2021/0327410 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 3, SHARIFI in view of YAMADA discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the correcting of the first audio signal comprises:
based on the obtained at least one of one or more corrected words or one or more corrected syllables, obtaining the at least one misrecognized word included in the obtained first audio signal (SHAIRIFI Par 76 – “Further, the automated assistant can process, using the speech recognition model(s), additional audio data corresponding to the additional spoken utterance 656A to generate a plurality of additional speech hypotheses. The plurality of additional speech hypotheses can be restricted to those that overlap with the original plurality of speech hypotheses generated in processing the spoken utterance 652A, and optionally omit the given speech hypothesis, of the plurality of speech hypotheses, that was selected as corresponding to the spoken utterance 652A. … However, since the automated assistant previously selected the term “Roe” as corresponding to “Doe” based on the term hypotheses in table the table 620A and the automated assistant determined the additional spoken utterance 656A is intended to correct a misrecognition, the automated assistant may select the next term hypothesis with the highest confidence level, such as “Doe”.”; Par 31 – “For instance, with such models the predicted phoneme(s) (and/or other representations) are then utilized by the speech recognition engine(s) 120A1 and/or 120A2 to determine the plurality of speech hypotheses that conform to the predicted phoneme(s). In doing so, the speech recognition engine(s) 120A1 and/or 120A2 can optionally employ a decoding graph, a lexicon, and/or other resource(s).”);
obtaining, from among at least one word included in a [named entity (NE)] dictionary, at least one word (SHAIRIFI Par 48 – “The biasing engine 143 can identify term(s) that were misrecognized and/or term(s) that supplant the misrecognized term(s), and can store these term(s) in the biased term(s) database 143A. Continuing with the above example, the biasing engine 143 can cause the term(s) “Ron” and “Don” to be stored in the biased term(s) database. Further assume that the client device 110 receives a subsequent spoken utterance of “call Ron”. In this example, the biasing engine 143 can cause the automated assistant to bias speech recognition of the subsequent spoken utterance towards the term hypothesis of “Ron” and/or away from the term hypothesis of “Don”. In some implementations, the biasing engine 143 can cause the biasing engine 143 to bias the subsequent spoken utterance towards and/or away from the biased term(s) for only the current human-to-computer dialog session. In some additional and/or alternative implementations, the biasing engine 143 can cause the biasing engine 143 to bias the subsequent spoken utterance to and/or away from the biased term(s) for subsequent human-to-computer dialog sessions. For instance, the biasing may be limited to a particular user interaction and/or a particular duration of time. By limiting the biasing, the speech misrecognition system 160 can combat over biasing towards and/or away from the biased term(s).”; Par 81 – “In various implementations, the automated assistant can bias future speech recognition towards the alternate speech hypothesis, and away from the originally selected speech hypothesis when a misrecognition is corrected. For example, in the dialog of FIG. 6A, if a subsequent spoken utterance is received at the client device 610 (e.g., during the current dialog session and/or during a subsequent dialog session) where “Doe” is a term hypothesis and/or “Roe” is a term hypothesis, then the speech recognition can be biased towards the term hypothesis for “Doe” and/or away from the term hypothesis for “Roe”.”), a similarity of which to the one or more corrected words is greater than or equal to a preset first threshold (SHAIRIFI Par 14 – “Based on an edit distance between “Roe” and “Doe” determined based on the comparison, the automated assistant can determine the similarity satisfies a similarity threshold. In this example, the edit distance may be relatively small, and the misrecognition (e.g., selecting “Roe” instead of “Doe”) can be identified.”); and
correcting the obtained at least one misrecognized word, to at least one of the at least one word corresponding to the obtained at least one misrecognized word, or the at least one corrected word (SHAIRIFI Par 57 – “At block 454, the system identifies, based on comparing the acoustic features to the additional acoustic features, at least a portion of the spoken utterance that is similar to an additional portion of the additional spoken utterance. For instance, assume the original spoken utterance included the term “Doe”, and assume speech recognition misrecognized “Doe” as “Roe”. Further assume the additional spoken utterance included the term “Doe” again. In these instances, the acoustic features indicate that the portion of the original spoken utterance corresponding to “Doe” is similar to the portion of the additional spoken utterance corresponding to “Doe”.”; In other words, because the method/system of SHARIF identifies the corrected word “Doe” that corresponds to the misrecognized word, “Roe” and further correcting the error, the portion of the original spoken utterance is identified and corrected to produce a correction recognition result.).
SHARIFI does not explicitly teach the [square-bracketed] limitation. In other words, SHARIFI teaches looking up the biased terms stored in a memory (143A) or a table (630A) for obtaining a word with a high similarity, but does not explicitly teach the biased terms stored in a memory or a table is a [named entity] dictionary.
BEAUFAYS discloses a method/system for correcting misrecognized utterances comprising:
obtaining, from among at least one word included in a [named entity (NE)] dictionary, at least one word (BEAUFAYS Par 29 – “In some implementations, after updating of an on-device speech recognition model according to implementations disclosed herein, biasing of the on-device speech recognition based on textual segment(s) can also be utilized, when the on-device speech recognition model is processing audio data corresponding to spoken utterances to generate corresponding predicted textual segments. For example, the on-device speech recognition can be biased toward one or more textual segments stored on the device, such as contact alias(es), road name(s), media name(s), and/or other textual segment(s). The textual segment(s) to which on-device speech recognition is biased can be the same across multiple iterations of speech recognition and/or can vary amongst iterations.”), a similarity of which to the one or more corrected words is greater than or equal to a preset first threshold (Par 24 – “Determining that a correction is directed to performance of the on-device speech recognition can, in some versions of those implementations, be based on determining a measure of similarity between term(s) of the predicted textual segment(s) and modified and/or replaced term(s) of the alternate textual segment(s), and based on determining the measure of similarity satisfies a threshold.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of SHARIFI in view of YAMADA to include a named entity dictionary, as taught by BEAUFAYS.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include a named entity dictionary, in order to accurately recognized user’s utterance according to the user context.
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHARIFI in view of YAMADA, and in further view of AGARWAL (US 2020/0184956 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 11, SHARIFI in view of YAMADA discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the processing of the at least one corrected audio signal comprises
receiving, from the user, a response signal related to misrecognition (SHAIRIFI Par 49 – “For example, a first word detection model, of the word detection model(s) 150A, may be a hotword or phrase detection model that is trained to detect words and/or phrases that invoke the automated assistant 180 (e.g., “Assistant”, “Hey Assistant”, “Okay Assistant”, and so on). Further, a second word detection model, of the word detection model(s) 140A, may a correction term or phrase model that is trained to detect words and/or phrases that are indicative of an occurrence of a misrecognition (e.g., “no”, “wait”, “I said”, and/or any other term or phrase that is indicative of the misrecognition).”), as search information for the at least one corrected audio signal is output to the user (SHAIRIFI Par 74 – “For example, in response to receiving the spoken utterance 652A, the automated assistant can cause the computing device 610 to audibly render a spoken response 654A of “Okay, playing a song by John Roe”. The automated assistant can optionally cause the computing device to visually render a transcription corresponding to the spoken response 654A via the display 680.”; Par 75 – “As another example, the automated assistant can identify correction terms or phrases included in the spoken utterance (e.g. “No”, “I said”, “What I said is”, and/or other terms that are indicative of the misrecognition). In response to determining that the additional spoken utterance corrects the misrecognition, the automated assistant can cause the original action to be cancelled if initiated and/or being performed (e.g., stop playing the song by John Roe if it had started).”), and
[requesting] the user to perform reutterance according to the response signal (SHAIRIFI Par 75 – “For example, assume the additional spoken utterance 656A is received at the computing device 610 in response to the computing device 610 audibly rendering the spoken response 654A. In this example, the automated assistant can process acoustic features and/or textual features of the additional spoken utterance 656A to determine whether a portion of the additional spoken utterance 656A is intended to correct a portion of the interpretation of the spoken utterance 652A. For instance, the automated assistant can process the additional spoken utterance 656A to determine that “John Doe” from the additional spoken utterance 656A is acoustically similar to “John Doe” from the original spoken utterance 652A.”).
SHARIFI does not explicitly teach the [square-bracketed] limitation. In other words, SHARIFI teaches receiving a correction term or phrase (e.g., wait, no, I said, etc.) and also receiving reutterance from the user (e.g., “John Doe” as shown in Fig. 6A). The Method/system of SHARIF receives the correction term/phrase and the reutterance simultaneously whereas the claim requires the system to request the user to reutter.
AGARWAL discloses the [square-bracketed] limitation. AGARWAL discloses a method/system for voice interaction with a user comprising:
receiving, from the user, a response signal related to misrecognition (ARGAWAL Par 75 – “Assume, instead, that the user says “no” in response to the confirmation prompt. The URFC 624 and SRFC 622 can respond to this event using different environment-specific strategies.”), as search information for the at least one corrected audio signal is output to the user (ARGAWAL Par 43 – “The prediction system 106 terminates the transaction by sending a confirmation prompt to the user which notifies him that it is calling James Smith. The prompt invites the user to cancel this operation if the user did not intend to call James Smith.”; Par 74 – “Another kind of confirmation template notifies the user that the digital assistant 104 is currently acting on, or has already acted on, the predicted response; the template can then invite the user to cancel or reverse the action.”), and
[requesting] the user to perform reutterance according to the response signal (ARGAWAL Par 75 – “Assume, instead, that the user says “no” in response to the confirmation prompt. The URFC 624 and SRFC 622 can respond to this event using different environment-specific strategies. In one approach, the URFC 624 instructs the SRFC 622 to issue the original system prompt, rather than the confirmation prompt. The original prompt reads, “At which theater should I book the tickets?” In another approach, the SRFC 622 can offer another confirmation prompt to the user based on another predicted response provided by the predictor component 610 (e.g., which may correspond to the record entry having the second-best matching score, the user having already rejected the record entry having the best matching score).”; In other words, AGARWAL teaches inviting a user to correct the misrecognition by cancelling the action (e.g., Fig. 2 – “Calling James Smith, cancel if you’d like to stop). Upon receiving the cancel request (e.g., “No”), the method/system further issues original system prompt (e.g., “Which one would you like to call, James Brown, James Smith, or James Johnson” in Fig. 2) to the user to reutter the request.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of SHARIFI in view of YAMADA to include requesting a user to reutter, as taught by ARGAWAL.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include requesting a user to reutter, in order to provide a clear instruction to the user for correcting a speech recognition.
Claims 6-7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHARIFI in view of YAMADA, and in further view of MOSLEY (US 2018/0315415 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 6, SHARIFI discloses the method of claim 5.
SHARIFI does not teach a voice change.
MOSLEY teaches a method/system for correcting misrecognized speech, wherein the identifying of whether the obtained second audio signal has the at least one vocal characteristic (MOSLEY Par 96 – “Some embodiments detect word emphasis, and strengthen the hypothesis of a word sequence error if the second occurrence of the phoneme sequence has significantly greater emphasis.”) comprises:
based on the at least one syllable being included in the obtained second audio signal that has the at least one vocal characteristic, obtaining first pronunciation information for each of at least one syllable included in the obtained first audio signal (MOSLEY Par 99 – “In one scenario, the text string, “gone within WITH THE wind” is a text transcription of the phoneme <G AO N W IH TH IH N W IH N D ##W IH TH DH AH##>, including the emphasized phonemes subsequence ##W IH TH DH AH##. Some embodiments identify that a significant part of the emphasized phoneme subsequence (in this case the first three phonemes) match a recent phoneme subsequence. This indicates a user repeating a portion of an incorrectly transcribed word sequence. Some embodiments therefor hypothesize that the matching previous phoneme sequence (<W IH TH IH N> in this scenario) should be replaced by the emphasized phoneme subsequence (<W IH TH DH AH> in this scenario).”);
obtaining a score for a voice change in the at least one syllable included in the obtained second audio signal, by comparing the obtained first pronunciation information with the obtained second pronunciation information (MOSLEY Par 99 – “In one scenario, the text string, “gone within WITH THE wind” is a text transcription of the phoneme <G AO N W IH TH IH N W IH N D ##W IH TH DH AH##>, including the emphasized phonemes subsequence ##W IH TH DH AH##. Some embodiments identify that a significant part of the emphasized phoneme subsequence (in this case the first three phonemes) match a recent phoneme subsequence. This indicates a user repeating a portion of an incorrectly transcribed word sequence. Some embodiments therefor hypothesize that the matching previous phoneme sequence (<W IH TH IH N> in this scenario) should be replaced by the emphasized phoneme subsequence (<W IH TH DH AH> in this scenario).”); and
identifying at least one syllable, the obtained score of which is [greater than or equal to a preset third threshold] significantly great (MOSLEY Par 96 – “Some embodiments detect word emphasis, and strengthen the hypothesis of a word sequence error if the second occurrence of the phoneme sequence has significantly greater emphasis.”; Par 99 – “In one scenario, the text string, “gone within WITH THE wind” is a text transcription of the phoneme <G AO N W IH TH IH N W IH N D ##W IH TH DH AH##>, including the emphasized phonemes subsequence ##W IH TH DH AH##. Some embodiments identify that a significant part of the emphasized phoneme subsequence (in this case the first three phonemes) match a recent phoneme subsequence. This indicates a user repeating a portion of an incorrectly transcribed word sequence. Some embodiments therefor hypothesize that the matching previous phoneme sequence (<W IH TH IH N> in this scenario) should be replaced by the emphasized phoneme subsequence (<W IH TH DH AH> in this scenario).”), and identifying, as the one or more corrected syllables and the one or more corrected words, the identified at least one syllable and at least one word corresponding to the identified at least one syllable, respectively (MOSLEY Figs. 15A and 15B; Par 99 – “In one scenario, the text string, “gone within WITH THE wind” is a text transcription of the phoneme <G AO N W IH TH IH N W IH N D ##W IH TH DH AH##>, including the emphasized phonemes subsequence ##W IH TH DH AH##. Some embodiments identify that a significant part of the emphasized phoneme subsequence (in this case the first three phonemes) match a recent phoneme subsequence. This indicates a user repeating a portion of an incorrectly transcribed word sequence. Some embodiments therefor hypothesize that the matching previous phoneme sequence (<W IH TH IH N> in this scenario) should be replaced by the emphasized phoneme subsequence (<W IH TH DH AH> in this scenario).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of SHARIFI to include a voice change, as taught by MOSLEY.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include a voice change, in order to strengthen the hypothesis of a word sequence error (Par 96).
MOSLEY does not explicitly teach the [square-bracketed] limitations, and teaches the underlined feature instead.
YAMADA discloses the [square-bracketed] limitations. YAMADA discloses a method/system for voice interaction with a user comprising:
obtaining a score for a voice change in the at least one syllable included in the obtained second audio signal, by comparing the obtained first pronunciation information with the obtained second pronunciation information (YAMADA Fig. 14 – “Voice pitch” and “Voice volume” of “No Emphasis” and “Emphasized Sound”; Par 351 – “In addition, the paralinguistic information extracting unit 58B can encourage the user to sequentially perform the same utterance with the normal sound and with the emphasized sound, compare the pitch, the power, and the utterance speed in the normal sound of the first utterance with the pitch, the power, and the utterance speed in the emphasized sound of the second utterance, respectively, and estimate the section, in which a significant difference (a difference which is equal to or greater than a threshold value) is present in the pitch, the power, or the utterance speed in the comparison, as an emphasized section.”); and
when the obtained score of which is [greater than or equal to a preset third threshold], the score is significantly great (YAMADA Par 351 – “In addition, the paralinguistic information extracting unit 58B can encourage the user to sequentially perform the same utterance with the normal sound and with the emphasized sound, compare the pitch, the power, and the utterance speed in the normal sound of the first utterance with the pitch, the power, and the utterance speed in the emphasized sound of the second utterance, respectively, and estimate the section, in which a significant difference (a difference which is equal to or greater than a threshold value) is present in the pitch, the power, or the utterance speed in the comparison, as an emphasized section.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of SHARIFI in view of MOSLEY to include a threshold, as taught by YAMADA.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include a threshold, in order to accurately determine whether or not the difference between the signals are significant.
REGARDING CLAIM 7, SHARIFI in view of YAMADA and MOSLEY discloses the method of claim 6.
MOSLEY further teaches wherein the first pronunciation information comprises at least one of accent information, amplitude information, or duration information for each of the at least one syllable included in the obtained first audio signal (MOSLEY Par 96 – “Some embodiments detect word emphasis, and strengthen the hypothesis of a word sequence error if the second occurrence of the phoneme sequence has significantly greater emphasis.”; Par 99 – “In one scenario, the text string, “gone within WITH THE wind” is a text transcription of the phoneme <G AO N W IH TH IH N W IH N D ##W IH TH DH AH##>, including the emphasized phonemes subsequence ##W IH TH DH AH##. Some embodiments identify that a significant part of the emphasized phoneme subsequence (in this case the first three phonemes) match a recent phoneme subsequence. This indicates a user repeating a portion of an incorrectly transcribed word sequence. Some embodiments therefor hypothesize that the matching previous phoneme sequence (<W IH TH IH N> in this scenario) should be replaced by the emphasized phoneme subsequence (<W IH TH DH AH> in this scenario).”), and the second pronunciation information comprises at least one of accent information, amplitude information, or duration information for each of the at least one syllable included in the obtained second audio signal (MOSLEY Par 99 – “In one scenario, the text string, “gone within WITH THE wind” is a text transcription of the phoneme <G AO N W IH TH IH N W IH N D ##W IH TH DH AH##>, including the emphasized phonemes subsequence ##W IH TH DH AH##. Some embodiments identify that a significant part of the emphasized phoneme subsequence (in this case the first three phonemes) match a recent phoneme subsequence. This indicates a user repeating a portion of an incorrectly transcribed word sequence. Some embodiments therefor hypothesize that the matching previous phoneme sequence (<W IH TH IH N> in this scenario) should be replaced by the emphasized phoneme subsequence (<W IH TH DH AH> in this scenario).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of SHARIFI to include amplitude/accent information, as taught by MOSLEY.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include amplitude/accent information, in order to strengthen the hypothesis of a word sequence error (Par 96).
REGARDING CLAIM 17, SHARIFI in view of YAMADA discloses the electronic device of claim 16.
SHARIFI does not teach a voice change.
MOSLEY teaches a method/system for correcting misrecognized speech, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to,
based on the at least one syllable included in the obtained second audio signal having the at least one vocal characteristic, obtain first pronunciation information for each of at least one syllable included in the obtained first audio signal (MOSLEY Par 99 – “In one scenario, the text string, “gone within WITH THE wind” is a text transcription of the phoneme <G AO N W IH TH IH N W IH N D ##W IH TH DH AH##>, including the emphasized phonemes subsequence ##W IH TH DH AH##. Some embodiments identify that a significant part of the emphasized phoneme subsequence (in this case the first three phonemes) match a recent phoneme subsequence. This indicates a user repeating a portion of an incorrectly transcribed word sequence. Some embodiments therefor hypothesize that the matching previous phoneme sequence (<W IH TH IH N> in this scenario) should be replaced by the emphasized phoneme subsequence (<W IH TH DH AH> in this scenario).”),
obtain a score for a voice change in the at least one syllable included in the obtained second audio signal by comparing the obtained first pronunciation information with the obtained second pronunciation information (MOSLEY Par 99 – “In one scenario, the text string, “gone within WITH THE wind” is a text transcription of the phoneme <G AO N W IH TH IH N W IH N D ##W IH TH DH AH##>, including the emphasized phonemes subsequence ##W IH TH DH AH##. Some embodiments identify that a significant part of the emphasized phoneme subsequence (in this case the first three phonemes) match a recent phoneme subsequence. This indicates a user repeating a portion of an incorrectly transcribed word sequence. Some embodiments therefor hypothesize that the matching previous phoneme sequence (<W IH TH IH N> in this scenario) should be replaced by the emphasized phoneme subsequence (<W IH TH DH AH> in this scenario).”), and
identify at least one syllable, the obtained score of which is [greater than or equal to a preset third threshold] significantly great (MOSLEY Par 96 – “Some embodiments detect word emphasis, and strengthen the hypothesis of a word sequence error if the second occurrence of the phoneme sequence has significantly greater emphasis.”; Par 99 – “In one scenario, the text string, “gone within WITH THE wind” is a text transcription of the phoneme <G AO N W IH TH IH N W IH N D ##W IH TH DH AH##>, including the emphasized phonemes subsequence ##W IH TH DH AH##. Some embodiments identify that a significant part of the emphasized phoneme subsequence (in this case the first three phonemes) match a recent phoneme subsequence. This indicates a user repeating a portion of an incorrectly transcribed word sequence. Some embodiments therefor hypothesize that the matching previous phoneme sequence (<W IH TH IH N> in this scenario) should be replaced by the emphasized phoneme subsequence (<W IH TH DH AH> in this scenario).”), and identify, as the one or more corrected syllables and the one or more corrected words, the identified at least one syllable and at least one word corresponding to the identified at least one syllable, respectively (MOSLEY Figs. 15A and 15B; Par 99 – “In one scenario, the text string, “gone within WITH THE wind” is a text transcription of the phoneme <G AO N W IH TH IH N W IH N D ##W IH TH DH AH##>, including the emphasized phonemes subsequence ##W IH TH DH AH##. Some embodiments identify that a significant part of the emphasized phoneme subsequence (in this case the first three phonemes) match a recent phoneme subsequence. This indicates a user repeating a portion of an incorrectly transcribed word sequence. Some embodiments therefor hypothesize that the matching previous phoneme sequence (<W IH TH IH N> in this scenario) should be replaced by the emphasized phoneme subsequence (<W IH TH DH AH> in this scenario).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of SHARIFI to include a voice change, as taught by MOSLEY.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include a voice change, in order to strengthen the hypothesis of a word sequence error (Par 96).
MOSLEY does not explicitly teach the [square-bracketed] limitations, and teaches the underlined feature instead.
YAMADA discloses the [square-bracketed] limitations. YAMADA discloses a method/system for voice interaction with a user comprising:
obtain a score for a voice change in the at least one syllable included in the obtained second audio signal, by comparing the obtained first pronunciation information with the obtained second pronunciation information (YAMADA Fig. 14 – “Voice pitch” and “Voice volume” of “No Emphasis” and “Emphasized Sound”; Par 351 – “In addition, the paralinguistic information extracting unit 58B can encourage the user to sequentially perform the same utterance with the normal sound and with the emphasized sound, compare the pitch, the power, and the utterance speed in the normal sound of the first utterance with the pitch, the power, and the utterance speed in the emphasized sound of the second utterance, respectively, and estimate the section, in which a significant difference (a difference which is equal to or greater than a threshold value) is present in the pitch, the power, or the utterance speed in the comparison, as an emphasized section.”); and
when the obtained score of which is [greater than or equal to a preset third threshold], the score is significantly great (YAMADA Par 351 – “In addition, the paralinguistic information extracting unit 58B can encourage the user to sequentially perform the same utterance with the normal sound and with the emphasized sound, compare the pitch, the power, and the utterance speed in the normal sound of the first utterance with the pitch, the power, and the utterance speed in the emphasized sound of the second utterance, respectively, and estimate the section, in which a significant difference (a difference which is equal to or greater than a threshold value) is present in the pitch, the power, or the utterance speed in the comparison, as an emphasized section.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of SHARIFI in view of MOSLEY to include a threshold, as taught by YAMADA.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include a threshold, in order to accurately determine whether or not the difference between the signals are significant.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN C KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655