DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application, U.S. Provisional App. No. 63/433,721 filed 19 Dec. 2022, under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Accordingly, the effective filing date of the claimed invention is 19 Dec. 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07 March 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the list of cited references was considered in full by the examiner.
Drawings
The replacement drawing sheets received 24 March 2023 have been entered.
The drawings received 24 March 2023 are objected to because:
the drawings fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1), which states view numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation "FIG.". The view numbers for figures 1-6 should be capitalized to recite “FIG. 1”, “FIG. 2”, etc.
Claim Objection- Warning
Applicant is advised that should claims15-17 be found allowable, claims 18-20 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Independent claim 15 recites “One or more non-transitory computer readable storage media embodying instructions and coupled to one or more processors that are operable to execute the instructions to:…”, and independent claim 18 recite “A system comprising: one or more non-transitory computer readable media embodying instructions; and one or more processors coupled to the non-transitory computer readable storage media, the one or more processors being operable to execute the instructions to…”. Therefore, both claims 15 and 18 are a system with one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media embodying instructions and coupled to one or more processors that carry out the instructions to perform the same steps. Claims 16-17 are identical to claims 19-20 respectively.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 2, 16, and 19 recite “wherein the first portion of a user's body comprises a limb and the second portion of the user's body comprises a trunk or a head”. Claims 1, 15, and 18 recite “accessing/access first sensor data from a first sensor worn on a first portion of a user’s body; accessing/access second sensor data from a second sensor worn on a second portion of the user’s body”. Therefore, claims 1, 15, and 18 involve accessing/receiving already generated first and second sensor data. As a result, the wherein clause of claims 2, 16, and 19 are interpreted to define the process in which the first and second sensor data was previously generated (i.e. from a sensor on a limb and from a sensor on a trunk or head). See MPEP 2113.
Claims 3-5, 8, 13, 17, and 20 also further limit what the first and second sensor are (e.g. calibrated sensors in claim 13). Therefore, these limitations are similarity interpreted to be part of the product by process limitation identified above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 12 is indefinite for recitation of “the set of features” in line 4. Claim 1, from which claim 12 depends, recites “one or more first features” and “one or more second features”. Therefore, it is not clear if “the set of features” is referring to the “one or more first features” and/or the “one or more second features”. Furthermore, given claim 1 only requires determining “one or more …features”, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the set of features” (i.e. multiple features) in embodiments in which there is only one first feature and/or one second feature. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The Supreme Court has established a two-step framework for this analysis, wherein a claim does not satisfy § 101 if (1) it is “directed to” a patent-ineligible concept, i.e., a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract idea, and (2), if so, the particular elements of the claim, considered “both individually and as an ordered combination,” do not add enough to “transform the nature of the claim into a patent-eligible application.” Elec. Power Grp., LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (quoting Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2355). Applicant is also directed to MPEP 2106.
Step 1: The instantly claimed invention (claims 1, 15, and 18 being representative) is directed a method and system. Therefore, the instantly claimed invention falls into one of the four statutory categories. [Step 1: YES]
Step 2A: First it is determined in Prong One whether a claim recites a judicial exception, and if so, then it is determined in in Prong Two if the recited judicial exception is integrated into a practical application of that exception.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Under the MPEP § 2106.04, the Step 2A (Prong 1) analysis requires determining whether a claim recites an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon.
Claims 1, 15, and 18 recite the following steps which fall under the mental processes groupings of abstract ideas:
determining/determine, based on both the first sensor data and the second sensor data, one or more first features related to the user's activity;
determining/determine, based on the one or more first features, an initial classification of the user's activity;
determining/determine whether the initial classification indicates a class that includes one or more subclasses that are more distinguishable by one of the sensors relative to the other sensor; and
when the initial classification indicates a class that includes one or more subclasses that are more distinguishable by one of the sensors relative to the other sensor, then: determining/determine one or more second features based solely on sensor data from the one sensor; and determining/determine, based on the second features, a specific subclassification of the user's activity; or
when the initial classification does not indicate a class that includes one or more subclasses that are more distinguishable by one of the sensors relative to the other sensor, then determining/determine a final classification of the user's activity based on the one or more first features.
The identified claim limitations falls into the group of abstract ideas of mental processes, for the following reasons. In this case, determining one or more first features from already collected first and second sensor data amounts to a mere analysis of information, such as analyzing heart rate data (e.g. from a wrist sensor) and temperature data (from a body sensor) to determine a level of exertion. Determining an initial classification based on the first features encompasses determining a user is running or standing of the level of exertion is high (e.g. which is more distinguishable by a heart rate sensor). Determining one or more second features from the one sensor encompasses analyzing the heart rate sensor data to determine the user was sprinting (i.e. a subclassification). Determining a final classification of the user’s activity based on the one or more first features if the initial classification does not indicate a class that includes one or more subclasses, encompasses determining the user is standing. That is, other than reciting the limitations are carried out by a processor in claims 15 and 18, nothing in the claims precludes the steps from being practically performed in the mind. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III.
Dependent claims 6-7, 9-12, and 14 further recite an abstract idea and/or are part of the abstract idea of claim 1 above. Dependent claims 6-7 further limits the mental process of determining the initial classification to be a user motion, user non-motion, or user posture indicating a class that includes standing, sitting, and lying down subclasses. Dependent claims 9-10 further recite the mental process of changing a classification of a portion of the classified user-activity data based on one or more characteristics of the stream of classified user-activity data by changing a classification of a portion of the stream when that portion is less than a size threshold. Dependent claim 11 further recites the mental process of determining that a segment of the first or second sensor data is unreliable based on a comparison of the segment with a threshold or with a data signature (i.e. data comparisons), and excluding that segment from sensor data that is accessed (i.e. filtering information). Dependent claim 12 further recites the mental process of determining, based on features and on a set of class weights, the initial classification of the user’s activity. Dependent claim 14 further recites the mental process of adding to a user activity log an identification of the subclassification or final classification and a length of time, which encompasses mentally identifying the subclassification or final classification, a duration associated with the classification, and writing via pen and paper the information in a log. Therefore, claims 1-20 recite an abstract idea. [Step 2A, Prong 1: YES]
Step 2A: Prong 2: Under the MPEP § 2106.04, the Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis requires identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s), and evaluating those additional elements to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application for the following reasons.
Dependent claims 6-7, 10-11, and 14 do not recite any elements in addition to the judicial exception, and thus are part of the judicial exception.
The additional elements of independent claims 1, 15, and 18 include:
one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media (claims 15 and 18 only);
one or more processors (claims 15 and 18 only);
accessing/access first sensor data from a first sensor worn on a first portion of a user's body (i.e. receiving data); and
accessing/access second sensor data from a second sensor worn on a second portion of the user's body (i.e. receiving data);
The additional elements of dependent claims 2-5, 8-9, 12-13, 16-17, and 19-20 include:
wherein the first portion of a user's body comprises a limb and the second portion of the user's body comprises a trunk or a head (claims 2, 16, and 19);
wherein the first portion of the user's body comprise an arm and the second portion of the user's body comprises the head (claims 3, 17, and 20);
wherein the first sensor is part of a wrist-worn device (claim 4);
wherein the wrist-worn device comprises a watch and the second sensor comprises a pair of earbuds (claim 5);
wherein: the first sensor is more able to distinguish between the standing and sitting subclasses than is the second sensor; and the second sensor is more able to distinguish between the sitting and lying down subclasses than is the first sensor (claim 8);
accessing a stream of classified user-activity data (i.e. receiving data) (claim 9);
accessing information identifying a context associated with the user during a time associated with the first sensor data and the second sensor data (claim 12); and
wherein either or both of the first sensor and the second sensor are initially calibrated to the user (claim 13).
The additional elements of a non-transitory computer readable media (i.e. memory), one or processors, and accessing/receiving data are generic computer components and/or functions. The courts have found the use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The additional elements of claims 2-5, 8, 13, 16-17, and 19-20 include limitations that further limit the first and/or second sensor. These limitations only serve to further define the first sensor data and second sensor data being received/accessed in independent claims 1, 15, and 18, and thus are part of the additional element of accessing data. Therefore these additional elements do not provide integration for the same reasons discussed above regarding the “accessing” in the independent claims.
Further regarding the limitations pertaining to accessing first and second sensor information, these limitations only serve to collect data necessary for the abstract idea, which amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity which does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Therefore, the additionally recited elements amount to insignificant extra-solution activity and/or merely invoke computers as a tool, and as such, the claims as a whole do no integrate the abstract idea into practical application. Thus, claims 1-20 are directed to an abstract idea. [Step 2A, Prong 2: NO]
Step 2B: In the second step it is determined whether the claimed subject matter includes additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05.
The claims do not include any additional steps appended to the judicial exception that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the following reasons.
Dependent claims 6-7, 10-11, and 14 do not recite any elements in addition to the judicial exception, and thus are part of the judicial exception. The additional elements of claims 1-5, 8-9, 12-13, and 15-20 are outlined above under step 2A, Prong 2.
The additional elements of a non-transitory computer readable media (i.e. memory), one or processors, and accessing/receiving data are conventional computer components and/or functions. The additional elements of claims 2-5, 8, 13, 16-17, and 19-20 include limitations that further limit the first and/or second sensor, which only serve to further define the first sensor data and second sensor data being received/accessed in independent claims 1, 15, and 18. The courts have found the use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit).
Therefore, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception(s). Even when viewed as a combination, the additional elements fail to transform the exception into a patent-eligible application of that exception. Thus, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself. [Step 2B: NO]
Therefore, the instantly rejected claims are not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea (and/or natural correlation) without significantly more. For additional guidance, applicant is directed generally to applicant is directed generally to the MPEP § 2106.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kamali (2015).
Cited reference: Kamali et al., US 2016/0051168 A1, effectively filed 18 Aug. 2015.
Regarding claims 1, 15, and 18, Kamali discloses a method for determining an activity of a user (Abstract; [0011]) and a system for carrying out the method comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing software instructions and a processor configured to execute the software instructions ([044]; [0047]; FIG. 1), wherein the method comprises the following steps.
Kamali discloses accessing data from a plurality tracking devices each having a plurality of sensors, including a first tracking device of a watch (i.e. a first sensor on a first portion of a user’s body) and a second tracking device of a hat (i.e. a second sensor worn on a second portion of the user’s body) ([0047]-[0048], e.g. sensor information accessed and translated; FIG. 1, sensors #114 and 116; FIG. 3, e.g. collect sensor input data from various sensors; [0074] and FIG. 13, e.g. various sensor collecting data))
Kamali comparing the sensor inputs to activity signatures, thus determining features of the sensor inputs that match activity signatures (i.e. one or more first features related to the user’s activity) ([0057]).
Kamali discloses determining, based on the comparisons of the sensor inputs to known activity signatures, a classification of an activity of the user ([0017]; [0074], e.g. determination of running).
In the embodiment in which the initial classification does not indicate a class that includes one or more subclasses that are more distinguishable by one of the sensors relative to the other sensor, Kamali discloses determining a final classification, including an average speed of running, of the user’s activity based on the activity signature ([0058]; [0074]).
Regarding claims 2-3, 16-17, and 19-20, Kamali discloses the first sensor is a watch on the wrist of the user (i.e. the first portion of the user’s body is an arm) and the second sensor is a hat on the user’s head (i.e. the second portion of the user’s body comprises the head) (FIG. 1; [0011]-[0012], e.g. tracking device on wrist; [0047], e.g. watch and hat tracking devices; [0056], e.g. tracking device on head)
Regarding claim 4, Kamali discloses the first sensor is a watch on the wrist of the user (FIG. 1; [0047]).
Regarding claim 5, Kamali discloses the first sensor is a watch on the wrist of the user (FIG. 1; [0047]). Regardless, the limitations further limiting what the first sensor and second sensor are only serve to define the process in which the first sensor data and second sensor data was previously generated. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted). See MPEP 2113 I. In the instant case, the second sensor data from a hat on a head of the user, as discussed above, is considered the same product as sensor data determined from a pair of earbuds on a head of the user, and therefore Kamali reads on the claim. The claims do not require any particular type of second sensor that would serve to differentiate the second sensor data of Kamali with the second sensor data of the claims.
Regarding claim 6, Kamali discloses the initial classification is of running (i.e. motion) ([0017]).
Regarding claim 7, the embodiment in which the initial classification is user posture is not required by the claim and is instead presented as an alternative embodiment in claim 6. As discussed above for claim 6, Kamali discloses the initial classification is of running (i.e. motion) ([0017]), which reads on claim 7.
Regrading claim 8, Kamali discloses the first sensor is a watch on the wrist of a user and the second sensor is a hat on the head of the user, and the sensors include a gyroscope and accelerometer (i.e. an orientation sensor) (Figure 1; [0047]). The ability of the first sensor (e.g. the watch) to be able to better distinguish between the standing and sitting subclasses relative to the second sensor and of the second sensor to be able to better distinguish between the sitting and lying down position is inherent based on the first and second sensors having an orientation sensor, the positioning of the watch on a wrist of the user’s body, and the position of the hat sensor on the head of user. This is evidenced by Applicant’s own specification at para. [0012], which discloses a watch (e.g. the watch sensor in Kamali) is in a same spatial orientation when the user is sitting or lying down and thus an orientation sensor in the watch is unable to accurately determine the user’s orientation, and that an orientation sensor in a head-worn device (e.g. the hat sensor in Kamali) may not be able to distinguish between sitting and standing as the user’s head may be in the same orientation when sitting or standing. There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP 2112 II.
Regarding claim 9, Kamali discloses accessing activity data and raw sensor information over time, indicating a user is first walking at 5 miles per hour at a first time (i.e. a stream of classified-user activity data) ([0017]).
Kamali discloses changing a classification of the classified user-activity data to be jogging at 5 miles per hour at a second time (i.e. a characteristic of the stream of classified user activity data) ([0017]).
Regarding claim 10, the step of changing a classification of the portion of the stream of classified user-activity data is not required under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, because the condition precedent of that portion being less than a threshold size is not required by the claim See MPEP 2111.04. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons discussed above for claim 9.
Regarding claim 13, the process in which the first and second sensors were previously calibrated is a product by process limitation, but a step of calibrating the sensors is not required by the claim See MPEP 2113 I. Because the first and second sensor data of Kamali is the same product as disclosed in the claims, as applied to claim 1 above, Kamali discloses this limitation.
Regarding claim 14, Kamali discloses generating a log of activity detail records, which is a log of activities over time that the activity tracker device has detected through sensors ([0048]). Kamali discloses the activity log includes a second time period labelled with “running” or running with an average speed (i.e. the final classification and a length of time associated with the final classification) ([0058]).
Therefore, Kamali anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamali (2015) in view of Seo (2018).
Cited references:
Kamali et al., US 2016/0051168 A1, effectively filed 18 Aug. 2015; and
Seo et al., US 2018/0132031 A1
Regarding claim 11, Kamali discloses a method for determining an activity of a user (Abstract; [0011]) and a system for carrying out the method comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing software instructions and a processor configured to execute the software instructions ([044]; [0047]; FIG. 1), wherein the method comprises the following steps.
Kamali discloses accessing data from a plurality tracking devices each having a plurality of sensors, including a first tracking device of a watch (i.e. a first sensor on a first portion of a user’s body) and a second tracking device of a hat (i.e. a second sensor worn on a second portion of the user’s body) ([0047]-[0048], e.g. sensor information accessed and translated; FIG. 1, sensors #114 and 116; FIG. 3, e.g. collect sensor input data from various sensors; [0074] and FIG. 13, e.g. various sensor collecting data))
Kamali comparing the sensor inputs to activity signatures, thus determining features of the sensor inputs that match activity signatures (i.e. one or more first features related to the user’s activity) ([0057]).
Kamali discloses determining, based on the comparisons of the sensor inputs to known activity signatures, a classification of an activity of the user ([0017]; [0074], e.g. determination of running).
In the embodiment in which the initial classification does not indicate a class that includes one or more subclasses that are more distinguishable by one of the sensors relative to the other sensor, Kamali discloses determining a final classification, including an average speed of running, of the user’s activity based on the activity signature ([0058]; [0074]).
Further regarding claim 11, Kamali does not disclose the following limitations:
Kamali does not disclose determining that a segment of the first sensor data or a segment of the second sensor data is unreliable, based on a comparison of the segment with a threshold or with a data signature indicating how a device that includes the sensor generating the segment is worn on the user's body; and in response to the determination that the segment of sensor data is unreliable, then excluding that segment from sensor data that is accessed.
However, Seo discloses a method for determining an activity state of a user based on sensor data (Abstract; [0046]), which includes determining whether a sensor is normally worn or not based on obtained sensor data ([0092]; FIG. 5). Seo discloses comparing the obtained sensor data to a reference range indicating a range and a pattern (i.e. a signature) corresponding to the user’s activity stored in memory, and determining an abnormal wearing state (i.e. unreliable data) when the obtained sensor data is out of range ([0092]; FIG. 5). Seo discloses determining an activity state of the user using sensor data obtained in a wearing state (i.e. not the abnormal wearing state) ([0046]), demonstrating the sensor data of the abnormal wearing state is excluded from sensor data that is accessed. Seo further discloses body-fittable sensors may acquire inaccurate sensor data due to abnormal wearing of the electronic device ([0005]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Kamali to have determined a segment of the sensor data is unreliable as claimed, and then excluded the unreliable sensor data from data that is accessed according to the method of Seo, discussed above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the methods of Kamali in view of Seo in order to avoid using inaccurate sensor data in classifying user activity, as shown by Seo ([0005]), thus resulting in more accurate activity classifications in Kamali. This modification would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Kamali uses sensor information from body-fittable sensors to classify user activity, and thus the method of detecting abnormal sensor wear of Seo is applicable to the method of Kamali.
Therefore, the invention is prima facie obvious.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamali (2015) in view of Banos (2013).
Cited references:
Kamali et al., US 2016/0051168 A1, effectively filed 18 Aug. 2015; and
Banos et al., Human activity recognition based on a sensor weighting hierarchical classifier, 2013, Soft Comput, 17, pg. 333-343.
Regarding claim 12, Kamali discloses a method for determining an activity of a user (Abstract; [0011]) and a system for carrying out the method comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing software instructions and a processor configured to execute the software instructions ([044]; [0047]; FIG. 1), wherein the method comprises the following steps.
Kamali discloses accessing data from a plurality tracking devices each having a plurality of sensors, including a first tracking device of a watch (i.e. a first sensor on a first portion of a user’s body) and a second tracking device of a hat (i.e. a second sensor worn on a second portion of the user’s body) ([0047]-[0048], e.g. sensor information accessed and translated; FIG. 1, sensors #114 and 116; FIG. 3, e.g. collect sensor input data from various sensors; [0074] and FIG. 13, e.g. various sensor collecting data))
Kamali comparing the sensor inputs to activity signatures, thus determining features of the sensor inputs that match activity signatures (i.e. one or more first features related to the user’s activity) ([0057]).
Kamali discloses determining, based on the comparisons of the sensor inputs to known activity signatures, a classification of an activity of the user ([0017]; [0074], e.g. determination of running).
In the embodiment in which the initial classification does not indicate a class that includes one or more subclasses that are more distinguishable by one of the sensors relative to the other sensor, Kamali discloses determining a final classification, including an average speed of running, of the user’s activity based on the activity signature ([0058]; [0074]).
Further regarding claim 12, Kamali discloses identifying a body area context for how the user is using the sensors over time ([0052]-[0053]). Kamali discloses the user activity is determined as a function of the sensor inputs as they related to the identified context ([0057]), in addition to features of the sensor data that match activity signatures (i.e. the one or more first features related to the user’s activity) ([0057]).
Further regarding claim 12, Kamali does not disclose the following limitation:
Kamali does not disclose determining the initial classification is based on a set of class weights associated with the identified user context.
However, Banos discloses a hierarchical classifier (HWC) based on sensor weighting for human activity recognition (Abstract), wherein the hierarchical classifier combines sensor data from multiple sensors/data sources to make a human activity prediction such as running, cycling, sitting, or lying down (Fig. 1 and pg. 335, col. 1, e.g. M sources, para. 2; Fig. 2 and pg. 337, col. 2, para. 3; pg. 338, col. 2, para. 3, e.g. classified activities). Banos discloses that even with an activity recognition chain (ARC) in the classifier is optimized, some sensors may be more specialized in the recognition of some activities based on the location of the sensors on the body, and therefore decisions for each individual ARC are fused together in the classifier to output the final decision (Abstract; pg. 336, col. 1, para. 3; Figure 1, e.g. see ARCs). Banos discloses that to solve this problem, each data source/sensor M has a set of N class classifiers in the hierarchical classifier, and that each class classifier is assigned a weight β (i.e. class weights associated with an identified context/source) representing the importance that the respective class classifier will have on the decision scheme for the respective data source used to make the final activity prediction (pg. 337, col. 2, para. 2-5; Figure 2, e.g. see each Data source 1-M has class level classifiers 1-N, with class weights β). Banos discloses multiple hierarchical weighted classifier for different numbers of sensors, demonstrating sensors at different body locations are better at predicting particular activity classes (pg. 341, col. 1, para. 2 to col. 2, para. 1; Abstract). Banos discloses the above methodology accounts for context-related factors (e.g. subject carrying items, unstable floor) of the subject (pg. 335, col. 1, para. 1 to col. 2, para. 2) and systematically outperforms results obtained by traditional multi-class models (Abstract).
It would have been prima facie face obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Kamali to have determined the initial classification based on a set of class weights associated with the user context according to the method of Banos discussed above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the methods of Kamali and Banos in order to account for parts of the body that are specifically informative for the recognition of each particular activity and account for context-related factors of the subject, thus resulting in better activity classification as shown by Banos (Abstract; pg. 335, col. 1, para. 1-2; pg. 341, col. 2, para. 2). This modification would have had a reasonable expectation of success given both Kamali and Banos make activity predictions using data from multiple sensors, and furthermore, Banos explains using the classifier with different combinations of sensors only requires including or removing the associated knowledge-inference entities without requiring re-training (pg. 341, col. 2, para. 2). Therefore, the classifier of Banos is applicable to the method of Kamali.
Therefore, the invention is prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KAITLYN L MINCHELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1685