DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 and 24-25 are currently pending
Claims 14-21 were previously withdrawn from consideration
Claims 22-23 are currently canceled
Claims 24-25 are new
Claims 1-13 and 24-25 are currently rejected
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOEL et al. (U.S. 2021/0322925 A1) (hereinafter “Goel”) in view of Nemser et al. (U.S. 5,051,114) (hereinafter “Nemser”).
Regarding Claim 1:
Goel teaches a method of purifying an organic solvent (Examiner’s note: FIG. 5 of Goel is very similar to FIG. 1 of the current application) (see Goel paragraphs 2, 6-8, 31-34 and 38-40), the method comprising:
introducing the organic solvent as a liquid feed into a membrane distillation system (see Goel paragraphs 2-3, 8, 26, 34, 38-39, 53-56 and 60-64), the membrane distillation system including a membrane (see Goel paragraphs 2-3, 8, 26, 34, 38-39, 53-56 and 60-64); and
performing a distillation technique on the organic solvent with the membrane distillation system using the membrane to treat and purify the organic solvent (see Goel paragraphs 2-3, 8, 26, 34, 38-39, 53-56 and 60-64);
obtaining purified organic solvent from the membrane distillation system (see Goel paragraphs 2-3, 8, 26, 34, 38-39, 53-56 and 60-64).
Although Goel teaches countless membranes, Goel does not explicitly teach a perfluorodioxole membrane, as recited in amended, independent claim 1.
Nemser further teaches a perfluorodioxole membrane (see Nemser col. 1 lines 8-60) (see Nemser col. 4 lines 16-38).
Goel and Nemser are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a membrane treatment system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to substitute the membrane of Goel with a perfluorodioxole membrane of Nemser for optimization purposes and to effectively and efficiently remove unwanted contaminants from the organic solvent (see Nemser col. 1 lines 8-60) (see Nemser col. 4 lines 16-38).
Regarding Claim 2:
The combination of Goel in view of Nemser teaches the method of claim 1, wherein Nemser further teaches the perfluorodioxole membrane has a dioxole content of about 65% to about 87% (see Nemser abstract).
Goel and Nemser are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a membrane treatment system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the membrane distillation system and method of Goel to further include a perfluorodioxole membrane of Nemser in order to effectively and efficiently remove unwanted contaminants from the organic solvent (see Nemser col. 1 lines 8-60) (see Nemser col. 4 lines 16-38).
Regarding Claim 3:
The combination of Goel in view of Nemser teaches the method of claim 1, wherein Nemser further teaches the perfluorodioxole membrane comprises a perfluoropolymer of perfluoro-2,2-dimethyl-1,3-dioxole copolymerized with tetrafluoroethylene membrane (see Nemser abstract) (see Nemser col. 1 lines 8-60) (see Nemser col. 4 lines 16-38).
Goel and Nemser are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a membrane treatment system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the membrane distillation system and method of Goel to further include a perfluorodioxole membrane of Nemser in order to effectively and efficiently remove unwanted contaminants from the organic solvent (see Nemser col. 1 lines 8-60) (see Nemser col. 4 lines 16-38).
Regarding Claim 4:
The combination of Goel in view of Nemser teaches the method of claim 1, wherein Goel further teaches countless membranes (see Goel paragraphs 2-3, 8, 26, 34, 38-39, 53-56 and 60-64) and Nemser also teaches various membranes including a HYFLON® AD perfluoropolymer or a CYTOP® AD perfluoropolymer (see Nemser abstract) (see Nemser col. 1 lines 8-60) (see Nemser col. 4 lines 16-38).
Goel and Nemser are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a membrane treatment system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the membrane distillation system and method of Goel to further include a perfluorodioxole membrane of Nemser in order to effectively and efficiently remove unwanted contaminants from the organic solvent (see Nemser col. 1 lines 8-60) (see Nemser col. 4 lines 16-38).
Regarding Claim 5:
The combination of Goel in view of Nemser teaches the method of claim 3, wherein Goel further teaches the distillation technique comprises a vacuum membrane distillation process (Examiner’s note: Goel teaches membrane distillation for purifying and treating an organic solvent. Furthermore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the specific distillation technique, such as a vacuum membrane distillation process, for optimization purposes and to effectively remove unwanted contaminants) (see Goel paragraphs 2-3, 8, 26, 34, 38-39, 53-56 and 60-64).
Regarding Claim 6:
The combination of Goel in view of Nemser teaches the method of claim 3, wherein Goel further teaches the distillation technique comprises a sweep gas membrane distillation process (Examiner’s note: Goel teaches membrane distillation for purifying and treating an organic solvent. Furthermore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the specific distillation technique, such as a sweep gas membrane distillation process, for optimization purposes and to effectively remove unwanted contaminants) (see Goel paragraphs 2-3, 8, 26, 34, 38-39, 53-56 and 60-64).
Regarding Claim 7:
The combination of Goel in view of Nemser teaches the method of claim 3, wherein Goel further teaches the distillation technique comprises an air gap membrane distillation process (Examiner’s note: Goel teaches membrane distillation for purifying and treating an organic solvent. Furthermore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the specific distillation technique, such as an air gap membrane distillation process, for optimization purposes and to effectively remove unwanted contaminants) (see Goel paragraphs 2-3, 8, 26, 34, 38-39, 53-56 and 60-64).
Regarding Claim 8:
The combination of Goel in view of Nemser teaches the method of claim 3, wherein Goel further teaches the distillation technique comprises a direct contact membrane distillation process (Examiner’s note: Goel teaches membrane distillation for purifying and treating an organic solvent. Furthermore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the specific distillation technique, such as a direct contact membrane distillation process, for optimization purposes and to effectively remove unwanted contaminants) (see Goel paragraphs 2-3, 8, 26, 34, 38-39, 53-56 and 60-64).
Regarding Claim 9:
The combination of Goel in view of Nemser teaches the method of claim 1, wherein Goel further teaches the organic solvent is isopropyl alcohol (see Goel paragraphs 2, 6-8, 31-34 and 38-40).
Regarding Claim 10:
The combination of Goel in view of Nemser teaches the method of claim 1, wherein Goel further teaches the organic solvent is isopropyl alcohol, toluene, ethanol, methanol, or butanol (see Goel paragraphs 2, 6-8, 31-34 and 38-40).
Regarding Claim 11:
The combination of Goel in view of Nemser teaches the method of claim 1, wherein Goel further teaches performance of the distillation technique on the organic solvent results in the organic solvent being free from all non-volatile contaminants (see Goel paragraphs 2-3, 8, 26, 34, 38-39, 53-56 and 60-64).
Regarding Claim 12:
The combination of Goel in view of Nemser teaches the method of claim 1, wherein Nemser further teaches the perfluorodioxole membrane is a perfluorodioxole copolymer membrane (see Nemser abstract) (see Nemser col. 1 lines 8-60) (see Nemser col. 4 lines 16-38).
Goel and Nemser are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a membrane treatment system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the membrane distillation system and method of Goel to further include a perfluorodioxole membrane of Nemser in order to effectively and efficiently remove unwanted contaminants from the organic solvent (see Nemser col. 1 lines 8-60) (see Nemser col. 4 lines 16-38).
Regarding Claim 13:
The combination of Goel in view of Nemser teaches the method of claim 1, wherein Nemser further teaches the perfluorodioxole membrane includes a pore size between about 1 nanometer and about a sub-nanometer (see Nemser abstract) (see Nemser col. 1 lines 8-60) (see Nemser col. 4 lines 16-38).
Goel and Nemser are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a membrane treatment system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the membrane distillation system and method of Goel to further include a perfluorodioxole membrane of Nemser in order to effectively and efficiently remove unwanted contaminants from the organic solvent (see Nemser col. 1 lines 8-60) (see Nemser col. 4 lines 16-38).
Regarding Claim 24:
The combination of Goel in view of Nemser teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the purified organic solvent from the membrane distillation system has at least about 99.36% of original impurities removed (see Goel paragraphs 2-3, 8, 26, 34, 38-39, 53-56 and 60-64 further describing performance of the distillation system being free from all contaminants (hence close to 100% impurities removed)).
Regarding Claim 25:
The combination of Goel in view of Nemser teaches the method of claim 24, wherein the purified organic solvent is isopropyl alcohol (see Goel paragraphs 2, 6-8, 31-34 and 38-40).
Other References Considered
Leverett et al. (U.S. 5,049,241) (hereinafter “Leverett”) teaches an extractive distillation system and method.
Barnicki (U.S. 6,353,121 B1) (hereinafter “Barnicki”) teaches separating an organic solvent from water using an extractive distillation technique.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive and also focus on new claims 24-25, which have been addressed above in the updated rejection (see above).
Conclusion
/AKASH K VARMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773