DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to arguments filed on 11/3/2025.
Claims 1-16 are pending for examination with Claims 1, 7, and 12 being independent.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic benefit/national stage under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) for parent Application Nos
PCT/CN2021/095019 filed on 5/21/2021
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s remarks pg. 2-3, filed 11/3/2025, with respect to Claim(s) 1-16 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that the prior art of record, Choi et al. (KR10-2020-0173288) claiming an earliest foreign priority of December 11, 2020, does not qualify as prior art, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant’s petition to add a foreign priority was denied (see PET.DEC.OIPE filed on 3/24/2026), so the applicant’s claim to a priority date of 9/8/2020 is not acknowledged.
Therefore, the prior art of record still discloses the claimed invention of the independent claims, and the prior art rejection is maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2020/0260322 A1; hereinafter Chen; Figures can be seen more clearly in US Patent No 10,959,128 B2) in view of Choi et al. (US 2024/0049116 A1; hereinafter Choi) and further in view of Hariharan et al. (US 2019/0104424 A1; hereinafter Hariharan).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses:
A method for BLE audio data transmission, comprising:
determining one or more data packets in a continuous burst data to be transmitted, wherein each data packet has a packet [Chen discloses Bluetooth low energy (BLE) connected isochronous stream (CIS) (¶1) which supports variable size packets and transmissions of one or more packets (i.e. a burst of packets denoted by a burst number (BN) parameter) in an isochronous interval (¶43-45; Fig. 1) where the content of the data structure includes a burst number and a sub-event counter (¶30)]
transmitting continuously the data packets in the continuous burst data within an isochronous interval to a receiving device when the indication is configured for indicating the continuous transmission mode; [Chen discloses Bluetooth low energy (BLE) connected isochronous stream (CIS) (¶1) which supports variable size packets and transmissions of one or more packets (i.e. a burst of packets denoted by a burst number (BN) parameter) in an isochronous interval (¶43-45; Fig. 1; Fig. 7) where the content of the data structure includes a burst number and a sub-event counter (¶30)]
receiving an acknowledgement packet from the receiving device, [Chen discloses a packet acknowledgement protocol (¶ 44; ¶ 51-54; Fig. 6-10)]
determining the data packets being not correctly received in the continuous burst data based on the reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device. [Chen discloses a non-acknowledgement in the case that data packets are not received correctly (¶ 54; Fig. 10)]
Chen fails to explicitly disclose:
determining one or more data packets in a continuous burst data to be transmitted, wherein each data packet has a packet header comprising an indication for indicating a transmission mode thereof, and the transmission mode comprises a continuous burst mode;
receiving an acknowledgement packet from the receiving device, wherein the acknowledgement packet has a packet header comprising an extended acknowledgement configured to indicate a reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device in batches when the indication is configured to indicate the continuous transmission mode; and
However Choi, analogous art also disclosing BLE audio transmissions and acknowledgement protocol, does disclose:
determining one or more data packets in a continuous burst data to be transmitted, wherein each data packet has a packet header comprising an indication for indicating a transmission mode thereof, and the transmission mode comprises a continuous burst mode; [Choi discloses a data packet format with a packet header which includes logical transport and link identifiers which also include connection parameters such as burst number (¶20; ¶286;¶ 291-307; Fig. 7; Fig. 13)]
Choi further discloses:
transmitting continuously the data packets in the continuous burst data within an isochronous interval to a receiving device when the indication is configured for indicating the continuous transmission mode;[Choi discloses connected isochronous stream (CIS) multiple data transmissions in an isochronous interval (¶264-266; ¶ 270-275; ¶280) where CIS parameters may include the number of bursts in the transmission (¶ 20; ¶ 292-295)]
receiving an acknowledgement packet from the receiving device, [Choi discloses an ACK transmission (¶290; Fig. 10; Fig. 14)]
determining the data packets being not correctly received in the continuous burst data based on the reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device.[Choi discloses an ACK transmission (¶290; Fig. 10; Fig. 14)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Chen with that of Choi to include transmission mode indicators such as burst mode in the header so as to keep isochronous connection updated, as per Choi (¶292), with reasonable expectation of success.
Chen and Choi fail to explicitly disclose:
receiving an acknowledgement packet from the receiving device, wherein the acknowledgement packet has a packet header comprising an extended acknowledgement configured to indicate a reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device in batches when the indication is configured to indicate the continuous transmission mode;
However Hariharan, analogous art also disclosing BLE audio transmissions and acknowledgement protocol, does disclose:
receiving an acknowledgement packet from the receiving device, wherein the acknowledgement packet has a packet header comprising an extended acknowledgement configured to indicate a reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device in batches when the indication is configured to indicate the continuous transmission mode; [Hariharan discloses an acknowledgement (ACK) packet which indicates a request for retransmission and is formatted in accordance with Bluetooth low energy wireless communication protocol which may include a block acknowledgement for a set of two or more audio packets and may also include control data and has a packet header which may be used for higher layer protocol and packet type identification and may also include an ACK field which indicates positive acknowledgement of a reception by respective devices (¶57-59; ¶63-64; ¶75-79; Fig. 4)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Chen and Choi with that of Hariharan to include an acknowledgement packet with extended acknowledgement in order to communicate positive/negative acknowledgements of multiple devices with a single packet, as per Hariharan (¶59), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 2, Chen, Choi, and Hariharan disclose:
The method according to claim 1, wherein after the receiving an acknowledgement packet from the receiving device, the method further comprises:
determining the reception, comprising whether the data packets have not been correctly received and/or have been correctly received at the receiving device, of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device based on the extended acknowledgement; [Chen discloses an acknowledgement protocol and that the master wireless communications device and slave wireless communications device may use subsequent subevents for transmission or retransmission of packets where multiple subevents within an isochronous interval(¶44-46). Chen also discloses that payloads may be re-transmitted until it is flushed crossing multiple Isochronous intervals as well as new packets being transmitted in a following interval (¶48-54; Fig. 7-9)]
after the determining the data packets being not correctly received in the continuous burst data based on the reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device, the method further comprises:
retransmitting the data packets being not correctly received in the continuous burst data in a remaining time of the isochronous interval; and/or, transmitting the data packets being not correctly received in the continuous burst data in a subsequent isochronous interval. [Chen discloses an acknowledgement protocol and that the master wireless communications device and slave wireless communications device may use subsequent subevents for transmission or retransmission of packets where multiple subevents within an isochronous interval(¶44-46). Chen also discloses that payloads may be re-transmitted until it is flushed crossing multiple Isochronous intervals as well as new packets being transmitted in a following interval (¶48-54; Fig. 7-9)]
Regarding Claim 3, Chen, Choi, and Hariharan disclose:
The method according to claim 2, wherein the determining the data packets being not correctly received in the continuous burst data based on the reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device, comprises:
determining the data packets being not correctly received in the continuous burst data based on the data packets being not correctly received and/or being correctly received in the continuous burst data at the receiving device, wherein the data packets being not correctly received in the continuous burst data comprises the data packets that have not been correctly received and/or cannot be confirmed as correctly received in the continuous burst data; [Chen discloses an acknowledgement protocol and that the master wireless communications device and slave wireless communications device may use subsequent subevents for transmission or retransmission of packets where multiple subevents within an isochronous interval(¶44-46). Chen also discloses that payloads may be re-transmitted until it is flushed crossing multiple Isochronous intervals as well as new packets being transmitted in a following interval (¶48-54; Fig. 7-9)]
the retransmitting the data packets being not correctly received in the continuous burst data in a remaining time of the isochronous interval, comprises:
determining whether there is the remaining time within the isochronous interval; and [Chen discloses an acknowledgement protocol and that the master wireless communications device and slave wireless communications device may use subsequent subevents for transmission or retransmission of packets where multiple subevents within an isochronous interval(¶44-46; Fig. 3).]
retransmitting the data packets being not correctly received in the remaining time of the isochronous interval if there is the remaining time within the isochronous interval. [Chen discloses an acknowledgement protocol and that the master wireless communications device and slave wireless communications device may use subsequent subevents for transmission or retransmission of packets where multiple subevents within an isochronous interval (¶44-46; Fig. 3).]
Regarding Claim 4, Chen, Choi, and Hariharan disclose:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the data packets in the continuous burst data to be transmitted comprise: the data packets being not correctly received at the receiving device during a previous isochronous interval and being needed to be retransmitted during a current isochronous interval, and/or one or more new data packets being needed to be transmitted during the current isochronous interval. [Chen discloses an acknowledgement protocol and that the master wireless communications device and slave wireless communications device may use subsequent subevents for transmission or retransmission of packets where multiple subevents within an isochronous interval(¶44-46). Chen also discloses that payloads may be re-transmitted until it is flushed crossing multiple Isochronous intervals as well as new packets being transmitted in a following interval (¶51-52; Fig. 7-8)]
Regarding Claim 5, Chen, Choi, and Hariharan disclose:
The method according to claim 1, wherein
when the indication of the packet header of one data packet is configured to indicate the continuous transmission mode, a first field is added into the packet header of the one data packet, wherein the first field comprise a continuous burst number contained in the continuous burst data where the one data packet is located, and a continuous burst sequence number of the one data packet in the continuous burst data during transmission; [Chen discloses Bluetooth low energy (BLE) connected isochronous stream (CIS) (¶1) which supports variable size packets and transmissions of one or more packets (i.e. a burst of packets denoted by a burst number (BN) parameter) in an isochronous interval (¶43-45; Fig. 1; Fig. 7) where the content of the data structure includes a burst number and a sub-event counter (¶30). Choi discloses a data packet format with a packet header which includes logical transport and link identifiers which also include connection parameters such as burst number (¶20; ¶286;¶ 291-307; Fig. 7; Fig. 13). Hariharan discloses audio sequence numbering for audio packets and that the ULLA header format includes an audio sequence type which indicates whether the ULLA payload includes a retransmission along with new audio or just new audio and an audio sequence field which increments for each newly sent audio packet (¶57-59; Fig. 3D; Fig. 6)]
when the indication of the packet header of one data packet is configured to indicate a non-continuous transmission mode, the first field is not added into the packet header of the one data packet.[Chen discloses Bluetooth low energy (BLE) connected isochronous stream (CIS) (¶1) which supports variable size packets and transmissions of one or more packets (i.e. a burst of packets denoted by a burst number (BN) parameter) in an isochronous interval (¶43-45; Fig. 1; Fig. 7) where the content of the data structure includes a burst number and a sub-event counter (¶30). This would indicate that if a single packet is transmitted, a burst number would not be necessary.]
Regarding Claim 6, Chen, Choi, and Hariharan discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein
when the extended acknowledgement is configured to indicate the reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device in batches, a second field containing a mapping table of the extended acknowledgement is obtained from the packet header of the acknowledgement packet, and is configured to indicate whether each data packet in the continuous burst data have been correctly received and/or not correctly received, [Hariharan discloses an acknowledgement (ACK) packet which indicates a request for retransmission and is formatted in accordance with Bluetooth low energy wireless communication protocol which may include a block acknowledgement for a set of two or more audio packets and may also include control data and has a packet header which may be used for higher layer protocol and packet type identification and may also include an ACK field as well as a reverse acknowledgement payload with variable length which indicates positive acknowledgement of a reception by respective devices (¶ 34; ¶51; ¶59; ¶75-79; Fig. 4)]
when the extended acknowledgement is configured to not indicate the reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device in batches, the second field containing a mapping table of the extended acknowledgement cannot be obtained from the packet header of the acknowledgement packet. [Hariharan discloses an acknowledgement (ACK) packet which indicates a request for retransmission and is formatted in accordance with Bluetooth low energy wireless communication protocol which may include a block acknowledgement for a set of two or more audio packets and may also include control data and has a packet header which may be used for higher layer protocol and packet type identification and may also include an ACK field as well as a reverse acknowledgement payload with variable length which indicates positive acknowledgement of a reception by respective devices (¶51; ¶59; ¶75-79; Fig. 4)]
Regarding Claim 7, Chen discloses:
A method for BLE audio data transmission, comprising:
receiving one or more data packets in a continuous burst data transmitted continuously by a transmitting device within an isochronous interval, wherein each data packet has a packet [Chen discloses Bluetooth low energy (BLE) connected isochronous stream (CIS) (¶1) which supports variable size packets and transmissions of one or more packets (i.e. a burst of packets denoted by a burst number (BN) parameter) in an isochronous interval (¶43-45; Fig. 1; Fig. 7) where the content of the data structure includes a burst number and a sub-event counter (¶30)]
determining a reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data based on the indication; and [Chen discloses a non-acknowledgement in the case that data packets are not received correctly (¶ 54; Fig. 10) and a packet acknowledgement protocol (¶ 44; ¶ 51-54; Fig. 6-10)]
transmitting an acknowledgement packet to the transmitting device, [Chen discloses a packet acknowledgement protocol (¶ 44; ¶ 51-54; Fig. 6-10)]
Chen fails to explicitly disclose:
receiving one or more data packets in a continuous burst data transmitted continuously by a transmitting device within an isochronous interval, wherein each data packet has a packet header comprising an indication for indicating a transmission mode thereof, and the transmission mode comprises a continuous burst mode;
transmitting an acknowledgement packet to the transmitting device, wherein the acknowledgement packet has a packet header comprising an extended acknowledgement configured to indicate the reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device in batches when the indication is configured to indicate the continuous transmission mode.
However Choi, analogous art also disclosing BLE audio transmissions and acknowledgement protocol, does disclose:
receiving one or more data packets in a continuous burst data transmitted continuously by a transmitting device within an isochronous interval, wherein each data packet has a packet header comprising an indication for indicating a transmission mode thereof, and the transmission mode comprises a continuous burst mode; [Choi discloses a data packet format with a packet header which includes logical transport and link identifiers which also include connection parameters such as burst number (¶20; ¶286;¶ 291-307; Fig. 7; Fig. 13)]
Choi further discloses:
determining a reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data based on the indication; and [Choi discloses an ACK transmission (¶290; Fig. 10; Fig. 14)]
transmitting an acknowledgement packet to the transmitting device, [Choi discloses an ACK transmission (¶290; Fig. 10; Fig. 14)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Chen with that of Choi to include transmission mode indicators such as burst mode in the header so as to keep isochronous connection updated, as per Choi (¶292), with reasonable expectation of success.
Chen and Choi fail to explicitly disclose:
transmitting an acknowledgement packet to the transmitting device, wherein the acknowledgement packet has a packet header comprising an extended acknowledgement configured to indicate the reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device in batches when the indication is configured to indicate the continuous transmission mode.
However Hariharan, analogous art also disclosing BLE audio transmissions and acknowledgement protocol, does disclose:
transmitting an acknowledgement packet to the transmitting device, wherein the acknowledgement packet has a packet header comprising an extended acknowledgement configured to indicate the reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device in batches when the indication is configured to indicate the continuous transmission mode. [Hariharan discloses an acknowledgement (ACK) packet which indicates a request for retransmission and is formatted in accordance with Bluetooth low energy wireless communication protocol which may include a block acknowledgement for a set of two or more audio packets and may also include control data and has a packet header which may be used for higher layer protocol and packet type identification and may also include an ACK field which indicates positive acknowledgement of a reception by respective devices (¶57-59; ¶63-64; ¶75-79; Fig. 4)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Chen and Choi with that of Hariharan to include an acknowledgement packet with extended acknowledgement in order to communicate positive/negative acknowledgements of multiple devices with a single packet, as per Hariharan (¶59), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 8, Chen, Choi, and Hariharan discloses:
The method according to claim 7, wherein the determining a reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data based on the indication, comprises:
obtaining the indication from the packet header of each data packet that has been correctly received, and a first field added in the packet header of the each data packet that has been correctly received when the indication is configured to indicate the continuous transmission mode, wherein the first field comprises a continuous burst number contained in the continuous burst data where the each data packet is located, and a continuous burst sequence number of the each data packet; [Chen discloses Bluetooth low energy (BLE) connected isochronous stream (CIS) (¶1) which supports variable size packets and transmissions of one or more packets (i.e. a burst of packets denoted by a burst number (BN) parameter) in an isochronous interval (¶43-45; Fig. 1; Fig. 7) where the content of the data structure includes a burst number and a sub-event counter (¶30). Choi discloses a data packet format with a packet header which includes logical transport and link identifiers which also include connection parameters such as burst number (¶20; ¶286;¶ 291-307; Fig. 7; Fig. 13). Hariharan discloses audio sequence numbering for audio packets and that the ULLA header format includes an audio sequence type which indicates whether the ULLA payload includes a retransmission along with new audio or just new audio and an audio sequence field which increments for each newly sent audio packet (¶57-59; Fig. 3D; Fig. 6)]
determining the reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data based on the continuous burst number contained in the continuous burst data, and the continuous burst sequence number of the each data packet that has been correctly received, wherein the reception comprises whether each data packet in the continuous burst data have been correctly received and/or not correctly received. [Chen discloses Bluetooth low energy (BLE) connected isochronous stream (CIS) (¶1) which supports variable size packets and transmissions of one or more packets (i.e. a burst of packets denoted by a burst number (BN) parameter) in an isochronous interval (¶43-45; Fig. 1; Fig. 7) where the content of the data structure includes a burst number and a sub-event counter (¶30). This would indicate that if a single packet is transmitted, a burst number would not be necessary.]
Regarding Claim 9, Chen, Choi, and Hariharan discloses:
The method according to claim 8, further comprising:
generating an acknowledgement packet based on the determined reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data before the transmitting an acknowledgement packet to the transmitting device; wherein [Hariharan discloses an acknowledgement (ACK) packet which indicates a request for retransmission and is formatted in accordance with Bluetooth low energy wireless communication protocol which may include a block acknowledgement for a set of two or more audio packets and may also include control data and has a packet header which may be used for higher layer protocol and packet type identification and may also include an ACK field which indicates positive acknowledgement of a reception by respective devices (¶59; ¶75-79; Fig. 4)]
when the extended acknowledgement is configured to indicate the reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device in batches, a second field containing a mapping table of the extended acknowledgement is added into the packet header of the acknowledgement packet, and is configured to indicate whether each data packet in the continuous burst data have been correctly received and/or not correctly received, [Hariharan discloses an acknowledgement (ACK) packet which indicates a request for retransmission and is formatted in accordance with Bluetooth low energy wireless communication protocol which may include a block acknowledgement for a set of two or more audio packets and may also include control data and has a packet header which may be used for higher layer protocol and packet type identification and may also include an ACK field as well as a reverse acknowledgement payload with variable length which indicates positive acknowledgement of a reception by respective devices (¶ 34; ¶51; ¶59; ¶75-79; Fig. 4)]
when the extended acknowledgement is configured to not indicate the reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device in batches, the second field containing a mapping table of the extended acknowledgement is not added into the packet header of the acknowledgement packet. [Hariharan discloses an acknowledgement (ACK) packet which indicates a request for retransmission and is formatted in accordance with Bluetooth low energy wireless communication protocol which may include a block acknowledgement for a set of two or more audio packets and may also include control data and has a packet header which may be used for higher layer protocol and packet type identification and may also include an ACK field as well as a reverse acknowledgement payload with variable length which indicates positive acknowledgement of a reception by respective devices (¶51; ¶59; ¶75-79; Fig. 4)]
Regarding Claim 10, Chen, Choi, and Hariharan discloses:
The method according to claim 7, further comprising: continuing to receive the data packets being not correctly received in the continuous burst data in a remaining time of the isochronous interval; and/or, continuing to receive the data packets being not correctly received in the continuous burst data in a subsequent isochronous interval after the transmitting an acknowledgement packet to the transmitting device. [Chen discloses an acknowledgement protocol and that the master wireless communications device and slave wireless communications device may use subsequent subevents for transmission or retransmission of packets where multiple subevents within an isochronous interval(¶44-46). Chen also discloses that payloads may be re-transmitted until it is flushed crossing multiple Isochronous intervals as well as new packets being transmitted in a following interval (¶48-54; Fig. 7-9)]
Regarding Claim 11, Chen, Choi, and Hariharan discloses:
The method according to claim 10, wherein the continuing to receive the data packets being not correctly received in the continuous burst data in a remaining time of the isochronous interval comprises:
determining whether there is a remaining time within the isochronous interval; [Chen discloses an acknowledgement protocol and that the master wireless communications device and slave wireless communications device may use subsequent subevents for transmission or retransmission of packets where multiple subevents within an isochronous interval(¶44-46; Fig. 3).]
continuing to receive the data packets being not correctly received in the continuous burst data in the remaining time of the isochronous interval if it is determined that there is the remaining time within the isochronous interval; [Chen discloses an acknowledgement protocol and that the master wireless communications device and slave wireless communications device may use subsequent subevents for transmission or retransmission of packets where multiple subevents within an isochronous interval (¶44-46; Fig. 3).]
stopping receiving the data packets being not correctly received in the continuous burst data if it is determined that there is no remaining time within the isochronous interval or all the data packets have been correctly received. [Chen discloses retransmitting an unacknowledged packet until it is flushed, which indicates that the packet will not be retransmitted if it has been acknowledged (¶51-54; Fig. 7-10). Ravindran discloses that there can be a set threshold on number of retransmissions per frame cycle (¶54)]
Regarding Claim 12, Chen discloses:
A device for BLE audio data transmission, comprising: a first determination module configured for determining one or more data packets in a continuous burst data to be transmitted, wherein each data packet has a packet [Chen discloses a master wireless communications device and slave wireless communication device (Abstract; ¶43-45) and Bluetooth low energy (BLE) connected isochronous stream (CIS) (¶1) which supports variable size packets and transmissions of one or more packets (i.e. a burst of packets denoted by a burst number (BN) parameter) in an isochronous interval (¶43-45; Fig. 1) where the content of the data structure includes a burst number and a sub-event counter (¶30)]
a continuous transmitting module configured for transmitting continuously the data packets in the continuous burst data within an isochronous interval to a receiving device when the indication is configured for indicating the continuous transmission mode; [Chen discloses a master wireless communications device and slave wireless communication device (Abstract; ¶43-45) and Bluetooth low energy (BLE) connected isochronous stream (CIS) (¶1) which supports variable size packets and transmissions of one or more packets (i.e. a burst of packets denoted by a burst number (BN) parameter) in an isochronous interval (¶43-45; Fig. 1; Fig. 7) where the content of the data structure includes a burst number and a sub-event counter (¶30)]
a receiving module configured for receiving an acknowledgement packet from the receiving device, [Chen discloses a master wireless communications device and slave wireless communication device (Abstract; ¶43-45) and a packet acknowledgement protocol (¶ 44; ¶ 51-54; Fig. 6-10)]
wherein the first determination module is further configured for determining the data packets being not correctly received in the continuous burst data based on the reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device. [Chen discloses a master wireless communications device and slave wireless communication device (Abstract; ¶43-45) and a non-acknowledgement in the case that data packets are not received correctly (¶ 54; Fig. 10)]
Chen fails to explicitly disclose:
A device for BLE audio data transmission, comprising: a first determination module configured for determining one or more data packets in a continuous burst data to be transmitted, wherein each data packet has a packet header comprising an indication for indicating a transmission mode thereof, and the transmission mode comprises a continuous burst mode;
a receiving module configured for receiving an acknowledgement packet from the receiving device, wherein the acknowledgement packet has a packet header comprising an extended acknowledgement configured to indicate a reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device in batches when the indication is configured to indicate the continuous transmission mode,
However Choi, analogous art also disclosing BLE audio transmissions and acknowledgement protocol, does disclose:
A device for BLE audio data transmission, comprising: a first determination module configured for determining one or more data packets in a continuous burst data to be transmitted, wherein each data packet has a packet header comprising an indication for indicating a transmission mode thereof, and the transmission mode comprises a continuous burst mode; [Choi discloses a data packet format with a packet header which includes logical transport and link identifiers which also include connection parameters such as burst number (¶20; ¶286;¶ 291-307; Fig. 7; Fig. 13)]
Choi further discloses:
a continuous transmitting module configured for transmitting continuously the data packets in the continuous burst data within an isochronous interval to a receiving device when the indication is configured for indicating the continuous transmission mode; [Choi discloses connected isochronous stream (CIS) multiple data transmissions in an isochronous interval (¶264-266; ¶ 270-275; ¶280) where CIS parameters may include the number of bursts in the transmission (¶ 20; ¶ 292-295)]
wherein the first determination module is further configured for determining the data packets being not correctly received in the continuous burst data based on the reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device. [Choi discloses an ACK transmission (¶290; Fig. 10; Fig. 14)]
a receiving module configured for receiving an acknowledgement packet from the receiving device, [Choi discloses an ACK transmission (¶290; Fig. 10; Fig. 14)]
wherein the first determination module is further configured for determining the data packets being not correctly received in the continuous burst data based on the reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device. [Choi discloses connected isochronous stream (CIS) multiple data transmissions in an isochronous interval (¶264-266; ¶ 270-275; ¶280) where CIS parameters may include the number of bursts in the transmission (¶ 20; ¶ 292-295)]
Chen and Choi fail to explicitly disclose:
a receiving module configured for receiving an acknowledgement packet from the receiving device, wherein the acknowledgement packet has a packet header comprising an extended acknowledgement configured to indicate a reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device in batches when the indication is configured to indicate the continuous transmission mode
However Hariharan, analogous art also disclosing BLE audio transmissions and acknowledgement protocol, does disclose:
a receiving module configured for receiving an acknowledgement packet from the receiving device, wherein the acknowledgement packet has a packet header comprising an extended acknowledgement configured to indicate a reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device in batches when the indication is configured to indicate the continuous transmission mode [Hariharan discloses an acknowledgement (ACK) packet which indicates a request for retransmission and is formatted in accordance with Bluetooth low energy wireless communication protocol which may include a block acknowledgement for a set of two or more audio packets and may also include control data and has a packet header which may be used for higher layer protocol and packet type identification and may also include an ACK field which indicates positive acknowledgement of a reception by respective devices (¶57-59; ¶63-64; ¶75-79; Fig. 4)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Chen and Choi with that of Hariharan to include an acknowledgement packet with extended acknowledgement in order to communicate positive/negative acknowledgements of multiple devices with a single packet, as per Hariharan (¶59), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 13, Chen, Choi, and Hariharan discloses:
The device according to claim 12, wherein the continuous transmitting module is further configured for retransmitting the data packets being not correctly received in the continuous burst data in a remaining time of the isochronous interval; and/or, transmitting the data packets being not correctly received in the continuous burst data in a subsequent isochronous interval. [Chen discloses an acknowledgement protocol and that the master wireless communications device and slave wireless communications device may use subsequent subevents for transmission or retransmission of packets where multiple subevents within an isochronous interval(¶44-46). Chen also discloses that payloads may be re-transmitted until it is flushed crossing multiple Isochronous intervals as well as new packets being transmitted in a following interval (¶48-54; Fig. 7-9)]
Regarding Claim 14, Chen, Choi, and Hariharan discloses:
The device according to claim 12, wherein the data packets in the continuous burst data to be transmitted comprise: the data packets being not correctly received at the receiving device during a previous isochronous interval and being needed to be retransmitted during a current isochronous interval, and/or one or more new data packets being needed to be transmitted during the current isochronous interval. [Chen discloses an acknowledgement protocol and that the master wireless communications device and slave wireless communications device may use subsequent subevents for transmission or retransmission of packets where multiple subevents within an isochronous interval(¶44-46). Chen also discloses that payloads may be re-transmitted until it is flushed crossing multiple Isochronous intervals as well as new packets being transmitted in a following interval (¶51-52; Fig. 7-8)]
Regarding Claim 15, Chen, Choi, and Hariharan discloses:
The device according to claim 12, wherein when the indication of the packet header of one data packet is configured to indicate the continuous transmission mode, a first field is added into the packet header of the one data packet, wherein the first field comprise a continuous burst number contained in the continuous burst data where the one data packet is located, and a continuous burst sequence number of the one data packet; [Chen discloses Bluetooth low energy (BLE) connected isochronous stream (CIS) (¶1) which supports variable size packets and transmissions of one or more packets (i.e. a burst of packets denoted by a burst number (BN) parameter) in an isochronous interval (¶43-45; Fig. 1; Fig. 7) where the content of the data structure includes a burst number and a sub-event counter (¶30). Choi discloses a data packet format with a packet header which includes logical transport and link identifiers which also include connection parameters such as burst number (¶20; ¶286;¶ 291-307; Fig. 7; Fig. 13). Hariharan discloses audio sequence numbering for audio packets and that the ULLA header format includes an audio sequence type which indicates whether the ULLA payload includes a retransmission along with new audio or just new audio and an audio sequence field which increments for each newly sent audio packet (¶57-59; Fig. 3D; Fig. 6)]
when the indication of the packet header of one data packet is configured to indicate a non-continuous transmission mode, the first field is not added into the packet header of the one data packet. [Chen discloses Bluetooth low energy (BLE) connected isochronous stream (CIS) (¶1) which supports variable size packets and transmissions of one or more packets (i.e. a burst of packets denoted by a burst number (BN) parameter) in an isochronous interval (¶43-45; Fig. 1; Fig. 7) where the content of the data structure includes a burst number and a sub-event counter (¶30). This would indicate that if a single packet is transmitted, a burst number would not be necessary.]
Regarding Claim 16, Chen, Choi, and Hariharan discloses:
The device according to claim 12, wherein when the extended acknowledgement is configured to indicate the reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device in batches, a second field containing a mapping table of the extended acknowledgement is obtained from the packet header of the acknowledgement packet, and is configured to indicate whether each data packet in the continuous burst data have been correctly received and/or not correctly received, [Hariharan discloses an acknowledgement (ACK) packet which indicates a request for retransmission and is formatted in accordance with Bluetooth low energy wireless communication protocol which may include a block acknowledgement for a set of two or more audio packets and may also include control data and has a packet header which may be used for higher layer protocol and packet type identification and may also include an ACK field as well as a reverse acknowledgement payload with variable length which indicates positive acknowledgement of a reception by respective devices (¶ 34; ¶51; ¶59; ¶75-79; Fig. 4)]
when the extended acknowledgement is configured to not indicate the reception of the data packets in the continuous burst data at the receiving device in batches, the second field containing a mapping table of the extended acknowledgement cannot be obtained from the packet header of the acknowledgement packet. [Hariharan discloses an acknowledgement (ACK) packet which indicates a request for retransmission and is formatted in accordance with Bluetooth low energy wireless communication protocol which may include a block acknowledgement for a set of two or more audio packets and may also include control data and has a packet header which may be used for higher layer protocol and packet type identification and may also include an ACK field as well as a reverse acknowledgement payload with variable length which indicates positive acknowledgement of a reception by respective devices (¶51; ¶59; ¶75-79; Fig. 4)]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu et al. (CN 106559739 A) – ¶15-31
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RKF/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468