Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges amendments to claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 filed 11/21/2025. They have been entered and considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of previously cited Jiang in view of Strandlund.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (TW M639406) “Jiang”, and further in view of Strandlund (USPGPUB 20190099875) “Strandlund”.
Regarding claim 1, Jiang discloses a gauge plate (Fig. 2; 20) configured to drill at least one accommodation hole (63) in at least one size by using a square reamer (Fig. 8), the gauge plate comprising:
at least one alignment orifice (21) defined on the gauge plate (20) and corresponding to the at least one size so as to accommodate the square reamer (Fig. 8) in the at least one accommodation hole (63);
four L-shaped slots (22) formed on four corners of the gauge plate (20) and corresponding to the at least one alignment orifice (21), the four L-shaped slots (22) being configured to define the at least one size of the at least one accommodation hole (63);
four T-shaped slots (22) defined adjacent to four peripheral sides of the gauge plate, each of the four T-shaped slots (22) being staked by two of the L-shaped slots;
a criss-cross slot (22) formed on a center of the gauge plate (20);
four peripheral sides of the gauge plate; and
a size value portion (25) configured to display at least one size value.
For clarity, a labelled excerpt of Jiang; Figure 8 is provided:
Jiang does not disclose multiple V-shaped notches.
Strandlund teaches multiple V-shaped notches.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add Strandlund’s V-shaped notches on the four peripheral sides of Jiang’s gauge plate, providing exact reference points for placing a mark, resulting in more consistent alignment.
Regarding claim 2, Jiang and Strandlund disclose the gauge plate as claimed in claim 1.
Jiang further discloses the gauge plate (20) is configured to drill multiple accommodation holes (63) in multiple sizes including at least a first square size (25), a second square size (25), and a rectangular size (25).
For clarity, a labelled excerpt of Jiang; Figure 8 is provided:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Jiang’s multiple square and rectangular sized accommodation holes in Jiang and Strandlund’s gauge plate, providing standardized cut geometry that is more easily repeatable and accurate.
Regarding claim 4, Jiang and Strandlund disclose the gauge plate as claimed in claim 1.
Jiang discloses the gauge plate (20), but does not disclose it is made of magnetic metal material.
Strandlund teaches magnetic metal material ([0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Strandlund’s magnetic metal material to form Jiang’s gauge plate, allowing it to adhere to a work surface easier.
Regarding claim 5, Jiang and Strandlund disclose the gauge plate as claimed in claim 1.
Jiang discloses the gauge plate (20) is made of plastic material (Claim 7), and the gauge plate (20) further comprises multiple magnetic attraction elements (37) disposed adjacent to four corners (37 is located on four corners) of the gauge plate (20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Jiang’s multiple magnetic attraction elements on each corner of Jiang’s gauge plate, allowing it to adhere to a magnetic work surface easier.
Regarding claim 6, Jiang and Strandlund disclose the gauge plate as claimed in claim 1.
Jiang further discloses the gauge plate (20), and the four peripheral sides.
Strandlund teaches a ruler scale formed on a side (101).
For clarity, a labelled excerpt of Strandlund; Figure 2 is provided:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Strandlund’s ruler scale on Jiang’s gauge plate, allowing the user to take measurements without using a separate tool, improving functionality and usability.
Claims 3 and 7, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang and Strandlund, and further in view of Bibeau (US Patent 11518021) “Bibeau”.
Regarding claim 3, Jiang and Strandlund disclose the gauge plate as claimed in claim 1.
Jiang further discloses the gauge plate (20) further comprises a level (26) and the second peripheral side (see labelled excerpt of Jiang; Figure 8 in claim 1).
Jiang does not disclose the level is placed at the center of a side.
Bibeau teaches a level placed at the center (130x) of a side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Jiang’s level arranged at the center of the second peripheral side, as taught by Bibeau, improving level accuracy.
Regarding claim 7, Jiang and Strandlund disclose the gauge plate as claimed in claim 1.
Jiang further discloses the gauge plate (20) and the four corners of the gauge, and the level (26).
Jiang does not disclose two L-shaped ribs extending from two corners.
Bibeau teaches two L-shaped ribs (121) extending from two corners (121 extends from two corners).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Bibeau’s two L-shaped ribs extending from two corners of Jiang’s gauge plate, allowing Jiang’s gauge plate to rest against an edge of a work piece, supporting more accurate alignment and leveling.
Conclusion
/ANNA JOSEPHINE SAUNDERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855