DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on February 6th 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 9 and 17 have been amended. Claims 1 - 20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. §103
3. Applicant's arguments, see Remarks pp. 7 -11, filed November 2, 2018, with
respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully
considered and they are persuasive.
Applicant argues that none of the cited art whether considered alone and/or in combination, provide a mechanism for enabling a user to manually select at least one blocker of a plurality of blockers, or define a query that comprises instructions for extracting data form the data system and for analyzing the at least one blocker based on the extracted data. Emphasis the Applicant’s representative.
Examiner respectfully agrees
Upon further consideration new grounds of rejection have been necessitated due
to Applicant's amendments and are made in view of Tran et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 2010/0332469) hereinafter Tran
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
obviousness or nonobviousness
Claims 1 - 4, 6 – 12 and 14 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rokky Vilakkumadathil, (United States Patent Number 9,244,809), hereinafter Vilakkumadathil, in view of John Anthony Kline (United States Patent Publication Number 20190340159), hereinafter referred to as Kline in view of Sitrick et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 20140082473) hereinafter Sitrick and in further view of Tran et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 2010/0332469) hereinafter Tran
Regarding claim 1 Vilakkumadathil teaches a computing system (Fig. 1 system Col 43 ln 15) comprising: a memory; (Fig. 6 (604) memory Col 12 ln 34) and a processor (Fig. 6 (602) CPU Col 12 ln 34) define a query (ETL code 106 Coll 4 ln 1) such as “query” that comprises instructions for extracting data (which specifies code and attributes of code that includes jobs and other objects of an ETL project Col. 4 ln 2 – 3) from the data system (Fig. 1, (108) Data Store Col. 4 ln 7) such as “data system and for analyzing (ABS., determining) (Fig. 2, (206) determining Coll 7 ln 5) such as “analyzing” the plurality of blockers (Figs 3 & 5 standard violations Col 3 ln 22 – 25, Col 3 ln 30 – 33, Fig. 4 hard-coding violations Col 3 ln 26 - 29) such as “plurality of blockers” based on the extracted data; (naming standards stored in data store Col. 4 ln 9, performance standards stored in data store Col 4 ln 14, annotations standards stored in data store 108 Col. 4 ln 19, Partitioning-related standards stored in data store 108 Col 4 ln 22 – 23 and other standards stored in 30 data store 108 Col 4 ln 29 – 30) and generate a script (validation script Col 3 ln 46) for executing the defined query (ETL code 106 Coll 4 ln 1) such as “query” based on the schema (Fig. 2 (202) job(s) to job definition file(s) (e.g., dsx file) Col. 6 ln 19) such as “schema” of the data system (Fig. 1, (108) Data Store Col. 4 ln 7) such as “data system” and transmit the script (validation script Col 3 ln 46) to a software application (IBM® DataStage®, which is an ETL tool offered by International Business Machines Corporation Col. 3 ln 51 - 54) such as “software application”
Vilakkumadathil does not fully disclose presenting a user interface to a user, the user interface displaying information for a predetermined list of events; processing a user input , the user input comprising a selection of an event subset from the predetermined list of events, from the event subset, that occur within a process supported by the data from the data system; identify a plurality of blockers, from a predetermined list of blockers, each blocker of the plurality of blockers comprising an event or occurrence that prevents the plurality of events from completing; configured to load a schema of a data system into memory, the schema comprising at least data types, names, and locations or paths to data stored within the data system
Kline teaches configured to load (reading into memory [0028]) a schema (a schema [0026]) of a data system (one or more data stores [0022]) into memory (into memory [0028]) the schema (the schema [0026]) comprising at least data types, (distinct data types [0027]) names, and locations or paths (one or more entries created in a table or database to store a portion of identified data [0032]) such as “names, locations or paths” to data stored (stored data [0022]) within the data system (one or more data stores [0022])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vilakkumadathil to incorporate the teachings of Kline wherein configured to load a schema of a data system into memory, the schema comprising at least data types, names, and locations or paths to data stored within the data system. By doing so a multi-schema data store is provided that includes data that is associated with a plurality of schemas. Kline [0005]
Sitrick teaches present a user interface to a user,( The user input apparatus, the event processor, and the display apparatus comprise a user interface subsystem. The system is further comprised of: a plurality of the user interface subsystems, each for use by a respective user of a plurality of users; [0070]) the user interface displaying information for a predetermined list of events: (each of the user interface subsystems provides an output of its own respective local event content; [0070]) process a user input , (An event processor, provides an output of events responsive to the user input. [0070]) the user input (user input. [0070]) comprising a selection of an event subset from the predetermined list of events; (The selection means selects, for each of the user interface subsystems, from one to a plurality of said events as a respective local selected set of events for its respective said user interface subsystem. The presentation processor and the display generation logic are responsive to the selection means and the event storage, to generate a separate said display output comprised of a local display output for each respective said user interface subsystems. The display apparatus at each of the user interface subsystems provides a respective local said presentation responsive to a respective said local display output. [0071]) identify a plurality of events, (raw events, pulled from systems of record 428, [0073]) from the event subset, (selection from one to a plurality of said events as a respective local selected set of events [0070]) such as “event subset” that occur within a process (analytics service process [0077]) supported by the data (active data [0073]) (microapp data [0074]) from the data system (periodically pull active data from systems of record 428. [0073])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline to incorporate the teachings of Sitrick wherein presenting a user interface to a user, the user interface displaying information for a predetermined list of events; processing a user input , the user input comprising a selection of an event subset from the predetermined list of events; identify a plurality of events, from the event subset, that occur within a process supported by the data from the data system. By doing so less than all the events entered in a sequence can be chosen to be used excluding one of more from the sequence that is selected as the selected set that generates the respective presentation. Sitrick [0094]
Tran teaches identify a plurality of blockers, (ABS., dynamically generated input fields) (Fig. 2 (220) generated on or more input fields evaluated to rules [0037] – [0038]) such as “at least one blocker of the plurality of blockers” from a predetermined list of blockers, (rules associated with one or more input parameters for a database object. [0038]) such as “predetermined list of blockers” each blocker of the plurality of blockers (ABS., dynamically generated input fields) (Fig. 2 (220) generated on or more input fields evaluated to rules [0037] – [0038]) such as “at least one blocker of the plurality of blockers” comprising an event or occurrence that prevents the plurality of events from completing (if a parameter for a database object is an integer parameter, a
determination may be made as to whether received user input for the parameter is an integer value. If it is determined at block 225 that the received user input is not valid, then operations may continue at block 230 and an appropriate message may be generated for display to the user. [0038]) receive a user selection, (ABS., A user selection of a database object may be received.) (Fig. 2 (205) Receive a User Selection of a Database Object [0033]) based on the at least one user input, (ABS., One or more input fields for obtaining user input associated with the selected database object may be dynamically generated and presented to the user. User input associated with the selected database object may be received via the one or more generated input fields) (Fig. 2 (215) Generate One or More Input Fields for Obtaining User Input Associated with the Database Object [0036]) of at least one blocker of the plurality of blockers; (ABS., dynamically generated input fields) (Fig. 2 (220) generated on or more input fields [0037]) such as “at least one blocker of the plurality of blockers” define a query that comprises instructions for extracting data (ABS., database query may then be generated utilizing the received user input, and the database may be queried utilizing the constructed database query.) (Fig. 2, (235) Construct Database Query Utilizing the Received User Input [0039]) from the data system (a database [0044]) and for analyzing (a determination is made as to whether the received user input is valid [0038]) such as “analyzing” the at least one blocker (ABS., dynamically generated input fields) (Fig. 2 (220) generated one or more input fields [0037]) such as “at least one blocker of the plurality of blockers” based on the extracted data; (Fig. 2, (245) result set from database [0040]) such as “extracted data”
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline and Sitrick to incorporate the teachings of Tran whereby identify a plurality of blockers, from a predetermined list of blockers, each blocker of the plurality of blockers comprising an event or occurrence that prevents the plurality of events from completing; receive a user selection, based on the at least one user input, of at least one blocker of the plurality of blockers; define a query that comprises instructions for extracting data from the data system and for analyzing the at least one blocker based on the extracted data. By doing so a determination may be made as to whether the received user input is valid input for the selected database object. For example, received user input may be compared to and/or evaluated in light of rules associated with one or more input parameters for a database object. Tran [0038]
Regarding claim 2 Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline, Sitrick and Tran teaches the computing system of claim 1,
Vilakkumadathil as modified further teaches wherein the processor (Fig. 6 (602) CPU Col 12 ln 34) such as “processor” is further configured to execute the script (validation script Col 3 ln 46) via the software application, (IBM® DataStage®, which is an ETL tool offered by International Business Machines Corporation Col. 3 ln 51 - 54) such as “software application” wherein the processor (Fig. 6 (602) CPU Col 12 ln 34) such as “processor” queries (retrieves Col. 4 ln 4) such as “queries” the data system (Fig. 1, (108) Data Store Col. 4 ln 7) such as “data system” for document data (naming,
coding, and performance standards Col. 4 ln 5 - 6) such as “document data” based on the defined query (ETL code 106 Col 4 ln 1) such as “query” and processes the document data (naming, coding, and performance standards Col. 4 ln 5 - 6) such as “document data” to generate results (Fig. 2, (210) generate validation report identifying violation(s) for each job Col 8 ln 15) based on the plurality of blockers (Figs 3 & 5 standard violations Col 3 ln 22 – 25, Col 3 ln 30 – 33, Fig. 4 hard-coding violations Col 3 ln 26 - 29) such as “plurality of blockers”
Regarding claim 3 Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline, Sitrick and Tran teaches the computing system of claim 2,
Vilakkumadathil as modified further teaches wherein the processor (Fig. 6 (602) CPU Col 12 ln 34) such as “processor is configured to identify an event (Fig. 4 Parallel Job Col 12 ln 2) and one or more blockers (any one of (Figs 3 & 5 standard violations Col 3 ln 22 – 25, Col 3 ln 30 – 33, Fig. 4 hard-coding violations Col 3 ln 26 - 29) such as “plurality of blockers FOR EXAMPLE Fig. 4 “Error Description” – Database HardCoding Col 12 ln 1 – 14) that prevent the event (Fig. 4 Parallel Job Col 12 ln 2) from being completed (aborted Col 7 ln 48, Col 11 ln 6) based on the generated results, (Fig. 2, (210) generate validation report identifying violation(s) for each job Col 8 ln 15) and display an identifier (Fig. 4 DSX Line No. 7192 Col. 12 ln 6 - 7) such as “identifier” of the event (Fig. 4 Parallel Job Col 12 ln 2) and identifiers (includes a red colored background ( or another predetermined visual indicator of a violation of a standard) for the name(s) of object(s) listed in validation report 110 (see FIG. 1) Col 8 ln 31 – 34) of the one or more blockers (any one of (Figs 3 & 5 standard violations Col 3 ln 22 – 25, Col 3 ln 30 – 33, Fig. 4 hard-coding violations Col 3 ln 26 - 29) such as “plurality of blockers FOR EXAMPLE Fig. 4 “Error Description” – Database HardCoding Col 12 ln 1 – 14) via a user interface (Fig. 6, (606) I/O Interface Col. 12 ln 34)
Regarding claim 4 Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline, Sitrick and Tran teaches the computing system of claim 3,
Vilakkumadathil as modified further teaches wherein the processor (Fig. 6 (602) CPU Col 12 ln 34) such as “processor is further configured to identify a most urgent blocker (If the count exceeds the threshold value, validation report 110 includes a red colored background or other indicator for the count to indicate a violation of standards stored in data store 108. Furthermore, if validation tool 104 determines that any count of an item of an object exceeds the corresponding threshold value, then validation report 110 includes a red colored background or other indicator for the name of the object. Col. 5 ln 5 - 14) from among the plurality of blockers (Figs 3 & 5 standard violations Col 3 ln 22 – 25, Col 3 ln 30 – 33, Fig. 4 hard-coding violations Col 3 ln 26 - 29) such as “plurality of blockers” based on a rate of occurrence (any count of an item of an object exceeds the corresponding threshold value, Col. 5 ln 10 - 12) of the most urgent blocker (violation colored red Col. 5 ln 5 – 14) from the document data, (naming, coding, and performance standards Col. 4 ln 5 - 6) such as “document data” and distinguish a display of an identifier of the most urgent blocker from a display of identifiers of other blockers (A reviewer studies validation report 110 to find which objects have and which objects do not have a red colored background or other indication of a standard violation. Col. 5 ln 19 - 22) from among the plurality of blockers (Figs 3 & 5 standard violations Col 3 ln 22 – 25, Col 3 ln 30 – 33, Fig. 4 hard-coding violations Col 3 ln 26 - 29) such as “plurality of blockers” displayed on the user interface (Fig. 6, (606) I/O Interface Col. 12 ln 34)
Regarding claim 6 Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline, Sitrick and Tran teaches the computing system of claim 1,
Vilakkumadathil as modified further teaches wherein the processor is configured to identify a plurality of documents (Figs. 3, 4 & 5 exemplary portions of reports Col 3 ln 22 - 32) such as “plurality of documents” that are used by the process(Fig. 2, (200) validating extract, transform and load code Col 6 ln 11) and locations of table data (object specific information Col 4 ln 48) such as “locations of table data” from the data system (Fig. 1, (108) Data Store Col. 4 ln 7) such as “data system” for filling in fields (Fig. 3, Parallel Jobs, “Job Name”, “Agg. Count’,”Trans. Count”, “Re-Part. count”,”Ann. Count Ratio”, “DB R/W count”, “File R/W Count”, “Hard-coding count”, “Stds. Violation Count”; Sequence Jobs, “Sequence Name”, “Stage Count”, “Param. Count”, “Ann. Count”, “Hard-coding Count”, “Stds. Violation Count” Col 4 ln 43 – 58; Fig. 4, “DSX Line No.”, “Object Type”, “Object Name”, “Stage Name”, “Error Descripting”, “String Looked For”, “DSX Line”, Col. 3 ln 26 – 29; and Fig. 5, “DSX Line No.”, “Object Type”, “Object Name”, “Stage Name”, “Stage Type”, “Violation Type”, “Violation Description” Col 3 ln 30 - 33) of the plurality of documents. (Figs. 3, 4 & 5 exemplary portions of reports Col 3 ln 22 - 32) such as “plurality of documents”
Regarding claim 7 Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline, Sitrick and Tran teaches the computing system of claim 6,
Vilakkumadathil as modified further teaches wherein the processor(Fig. 6 (602) CPU Col 12 ln 34) such as “processor” is configured to identify the plurality of blockers (Figs 3 & 5 standard violations Col 3 ln 22 – 25, Col 3 ln 30 – 33, Fig. 4 hard-coding violations Col 3 ln 26 - 29) such as “plurality of blockers” based on a plurality of blocking events ((i) For example, the first row of data in portion 400 indicates that for a parallel job having the name ATL201FileReceipt, validation tool 104 (see FIG.1) detects a database hardcoding violation because validation tool 104 (see FIG. 1) finds the string SOL2DEV (see the string in the String Looked For column in portion 400) in a DSX line of the parallel job ATL201FileReceipt. A portion of the DSX line that includes "sol2dev" is shown in the DSX Line column in FIG. 4. Regarding the second row of data in portion 400, although the DWH_D string in the String Looked For column is not shown in the portion of the DSX line included in the DSX Line column, validation tool 104 (see FIG. 1) finds the string DWH_D in a search of the entire DSX line, thereby detecting a hardcoding violation. (ii) For example, the first row of data in portion 500 indicates that for the parallel job AIE0Ol WriteSAPFile, validation tool 104 (see FIG. 1) determines an annotation violation because there is no job annotation for AIE0Ol WriteSAPFile .Col. 12 ln 24 - 27) that prevent the plurality of documents (Figs. 3, 4 & 5 exemplary portions of reports Col 3 ln 22 - 32) such as “plurality of documents” from being completed (aborted Col 7 ln 48, Col 11 ln 6) during the process (Fig. 2, (200) validating extract, transform and load code Col 6 ln 11)
Regarding claim 8 Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline, Sitrick and Tran teaches the computing system of claim 7,
Vilakkumadathil as modified further teaches wherein the processor (Fig. 6 (602) CPU Col 12 ln 34) such as “processor” is configured to define a query (Fig. 2, (224) rework code in development area for validation issues identified Col 9 ln 30) for a blocker (FOR EXAMPLE Fig. 4 “Error Description” – Database HardCoding Col 12 ln 1 – 14) based on a document (any one of Figs. 3, 4 & 5 exemplary portions of reports Col 3 ln 22 - 32) such as “plurality of documents” that is associated with the blocker (FOR EXAMPLE Fig. 4 “Error Description” – Database HardCoding Col 12 ln 1 – 14) and a location of table data (object specific information Col 4 ln 48) such as “locations of table data” from the data system (Fig. 1, (108) Data Store Col. 4 ln 7) such as “data system” for filling in fields (Fig. 3, Parallel Jobs, “Job Name”, “Agg. Count’,”Trans. Count”, “Re-Part. count”,”Ann. Count Ratio”, “DB R/W count”, “File R/W Count”, “Hard-coding count”, “Stds. Violation Count”; Sequence Jobs, “Sequence Name”, “Stage Count”, “Param. Count”, “Ann. Count”, “Hard-coding Count”, “Stds. Violation Count” Col 4 ln 43 – 58; Fig. 4, “DSX Line No.”, “Object Type”, “Object Name”, “Stage Name”, “Error Descripting”, “String Looked For”, “DSX Line”, Col. 3 ln 26 – 29; and Fig. 5, “DSX Line No.”, “Object Type”, “Object Name”, “Stage Name”, “Stage Type”, “Violation Type”, “Violation Description” Col 3 ln 30 - 33) of the document (any one of Figs. 3, 4 & 5 exemplary portions of reports Col 3 ln 22 - 32) such as “plurality of documents”
Regarding claim 9 Vilakkumadathil teaches a method (method of validating code Col 12 ln 39) comprising: defining a plurality of queries (Fig. 2, (218) code issues identified Col. 9 ln 26 - 30, (224) rework code in development environment for issues identified Col 9 ln 30 - 34) for the plurality of blockers, (Figs 3 & 5 standard violations Col 3 ln 22 – 25, Col 3 ln 30 – 33, Hard-coding violations Col 3 ln 26 - 29) such as “plurality of blockers” respectively, (Fig 2 steps 200 – 218 iterate till no issues are identified as seen in the final analysis in step 220 Col 9 ln 19 – 22) wherein each query comprises instructions for extracting data for a respective blocker from the data system based on the schema and for executing the process based on the extracted data; (Fig. 2, (218) code issues identified Col. 9 ln 26 - 30, (224) rework code in development environment for issues identified Col 9 ln 30 - 34) (Fig 2 steps 200 – 218 iterate till no issues are identified as seen in the final analysis in step 220 Col 9 ln 19 – 22) and generating a script(validation script Col 3 ln 46) for executing the plurality of queries (rework code in development environment for issues identified Col 9 ln 30 - 34) and transmitting the script (validation script Col 3 ln 46) to a software application. (IBM® DataStage®, which is an ETL tool offered by International Business Machines Corporation Col. 3 ln 51 - 54) such as “software application”
Vilakkumadathil does not fully disclose processing a user input to select an event subset from a predetermined list of events; identifying a plurality of events, from the event subset, that occur within a process supported by the data from the data system; identify a plurality of blockers, from a predetermined list of blockers, each blocker of the plurality of blockers comprising an event or occurrence that prevents the plurality of events from completing; configured to loading a schema of a data system into memory, the schema comprising at least data types, names, and locations or paths to data stored within the data system
Kline teaches configured to loading (reading into memory [0028]) a schema (a schema [0026]) of a data system (one or more data stores [0022]) into memory (into memory [0028]) the schema (the schema [0026]) comprising at least data types, (distinct data types [0027]) names, (item name [0026]) such as “names” and locations or paths (locations [0032]) to data stored (stored data [0022]) within the data system (one or more data stores [0022])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vilakkumadathil to incorporate the teachings of Kline wherein configured to load a schema of a data system into memory, the schema comprising at least data types, names, and locations or paths to data stored within the data system. By doing so a multi-schema data store is provided that includes data that is associated with a plurality of schemas. Kline [0005]
Sitrick teaches present a user interface to a user,( The user input apparatus, the event processor, and the display apparatus comprise a user interface subsystem. The system is further comprised of: a plurality of the user interface subsystems, each for use by a respective user of a plurality of users; [0070]) the user interface displaying information for a predetermined list of events: (each of the user interface subsystems provides an output of its own respective local event content; [0070]) process a user input , (An event processor, provides an output of events responsive to the user input. [0070]) the user input (user input. [0070]) comprising a selection of an event subset from the predetermined list of events; (The selection means selects, for each of the user interface subsystems, from one to a plurality of said events as a respective local selected set of events for its respective said user interface subsystem. The presentation processor and the display generation logic are responsive to the selection means and the event storage, to generate a separate said display output comprised of a local display output for each respective said user interface subsystems. The display apparatus at each of the user interface subsystems provides a respective local said presentation responsive to a respective said local display output. [0071]) identify a plurality of events, (raw events, pulled from systems of record 428, [0073]) from the event subset, (selection from one to a plurality of said events as a respective local selected set of events [0070]) such as “event subset” that occur within a process (analytics service process [0077]) supported by the data (active data [0073]) (microapp data [0074]) from the data system (periodically pull active data from systems of record 428. [0073])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline to incorporate the teachings of Sitrick wherein presenting a user interface to a user, the user interface displaying information for a predetermined list of events; processing a user input , the user input comprising a selection of an event subset from the predetermined list of events; identify a plurality of events, from the event subset, that occur within a process supported by the data from the data system. By doing so less than all the events entered in a sequence can be chosen to be used excluding one of more from the sequence that is selected as the selected set that generates the respective presentation. Sitrick [0094]
Tran teaches identify a plurality of blockers, (ABS., dynamically generated input fields) (Fig. 2 (220) generated on or more input fields evaluated to rules [0037] – [0038]) such as “at least one blocker of the plurality of blockers” from a predetermined list of blockers, (rules associated with one or more input parameters for a database object. [0038]) such as “predetermined list of blockers” each blocker of the plurality of blockers (ABS., dynamically generated input fields) (Fig. 2 (220) generated on or more input fields evaluated to rules [0037] – [0038]) such as “at least one blocker of the plurality of blockers” comprising an event or occurrence that prevents the plurality of events from completing (if a parameter for a database object is an integer parameter, a
determination may be made as to whether received user input for the parameter is an integer value. If it is determined at block 225 that the received user input is not valid, then operations may continue at block 230 and an appropriate message may be generated for display to the user. [0038]) receive a user selection, (ABS., A user selection of a database object may be received.) (Fig. 2 (205) Receive a User Selection of a Database Object [0033]) based on the at least one user input, (ABS., One or more input fields for obtaining user input associated with the selected database object may be dynamically generated and presented to the user. User input associated with the selected database object may be received via the one or more generated input fields) (Fig. 2 (215) Generate One or More Input Fields for Obtaining User Input Associated with the Database Object [0036]) of at least one blocker of the plurality of blockers; (ABS., dynamically generated input fields) (Fig. 2 (220) generated on or more input fields [0037]) such as “at least one blocker of the plurality of blockers” define a query that comprises instructions for extracting data (ABS., database query may then be generated utilizing the received user input, and the database may be queried utilizing the constructed database query.) (Fig. 2, (235) Construct Database Query Utilizing the Received User Input [0039]) from the data system (a database [0044]) and for analyzing (a determination is made as to whether the received user input is valid [0038]) such as “analyzing” the at least one blocker (ABS., dynamically generated input fields) (Fig. 2 (220) generated one or more input fields [0037]) such as “at least one blocker of the plurality of blockers” based on the extracted data; (Fig. 2, (245) result set from database [0040]) such as “extracted data”
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline and Sitrick to incorporate the teachings of Tran whereby identify a plurality of blockers, from a predetermined list of blockers, each blocker of the plurality of blockers comprising an event or occurrence that prevents the plurality of events from completing; receive a user selection, based on the at least one user input, of at least one blocker of the plurality of blockers; define a query that comprises instructions for extracting data from the data system and for analyzing the at least one blocker based on the extracted data. By doing so a determination may be made as to whether the received user input is valid input for the selected database object. For example, received user input may be compared to and/or evaluated in light of rules associated with one or more input parameters for a database object. Tran [0038]
Regarding claim 10 Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline, Sitrick and Tran teaches the method (method of validating code Col 12 ln 39) of claim 9,
Vilakkumadathil as modified further teaches wherein the method (method of validating code Col 12 ln 39) further comprises executing the script(validation script Col 3 ln 46) via the software application, (IBM® DataStage®, which is an ETL tool offered by International Business Machines Corporation Col. 3 ln 51 - 54) such as “software application” wherein the executing comprises querying (Validation tool 104 retrieves naming, coding, and performance standards which are stored in a data store 108Col 4 ln 5 - 7) the data system (Fig. 1, (108) Data Store Col. 4 ln 7) such as “data system” for document data (naming, coding, and performance standards Col. 4 ln 5 - 6) such as “document data” based on the plurality of defined queries (Fig. 2 (202) job definition files Col 6 ln 19 - 24) such as “defined queries” via the software application, (IBM® DataStage®, which is an ETL tool offered by International Business Machines Corporation Col. 3 ln 51 - 54) such as “software application” and executing the process (Fig. 2, (200) validating extract, transform and load code Col 6 ln 11) based on the document data (naming, coding, and performance standards Col. 4 ln 5 - 6) such as “document data” to generate process results (Fig. 2, (210) generate validation report identifying violation(s) for each job Col 8 ln 15) based on the plurality of blockers. (Figs 3 & 5 standard violations Col 3 ln 22 – 25, Col 3 ln 30 – 33, Fig. 4 hard-coding violations Col 3 ln 26 - 29) such as “plurality of blockers”
Regarding claim 11 Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline, Sitrick and Tran teaches the method (method of validating code Col 12 ln 39) of claim 10,
Vilakkumadathil as modified further teaches wherein the method (method of validating code Col 12 ln 39) further comprises identifying an event (Fig. 4 Parallel Job Col 12 ln 2) and a plurality of blockers(any one of (Figs 3 & 5 standard violations Col 3 ln 22 – 25, Col 3 ln 30 – 33, Fig. 4 hard-coding violations Col 3 ln 26 - 29) such as “plurality of blockers FOR EXAMPLE Fig. 4 “Error Description” – Database HardCoding Col 12 ln 1 – 14) that prevent the event (Fig. 4 Parallel Job Col 12 ln 2) from being completed(aborted Col 7 ln 48, Col 11 ln 6) based on the generated process results, (Fig. 2, (210) generate validation report identifying violation(s) for each job Col 8 ln 15) and displaying an identifier (Fig. 4 DSX Line No. 7192 Col. 12 ln 6 - 7) such as “identifier” of the event (Fig. 4 Parallel Job Col 12 ln 2) and identifiers (includes a red colored background ( or another predetermined visual indicator of a violation of a standard) for the name(s) of object(s) listed in validation report 110 (see FIG. 1) Col 8 ln 31 – 34) of the plurality of blockers (any one of (Figs 3 & 5 standard violations Col 3 ln 22 – 25, Col 3 ln 30 – 33, Fig. 4 hard-coding violations Col 3 ln 26 - 29) such as “plurality of blockers FOR EXAMPLE Fig. 4 “Error Description” – Database HardCoding Col 12 ln 1 – 14) via a user interface (Fig. 6, (606) I/O Interface Col. 12 ln 34)
Regarding claim 12 Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline, Sitrick and Tran teaches the method (method of validating code Col 12 ln 39) of claim 11,
Vilakkumadathil as modified further teaches wherein the method (method of validating code Col 12 ln 39) further comprises identifying a most urgent blocker (If the
count exceeds the threshold value, validation report 110 includes a red colored background or other indicator for the count to indicate a violation of standards stored in data store 108. Furthermore, if validation tool 104 determines that any count of an item of an object exceeds the corresponding threshold value, then validation report 110 includes a red colored background or other indicator for the name of the object. Col. 5 ln 5 - 14) from among the plurality of blockers (Figs 3 & 5 standard violations Col 3 ln 22 – 25, Col 3 ln 30 – 33, Fig. 4 hard-coding violations Col 3 ln 26 - 29) such as “plurality of blockers” based on a rate of occurrence (any count of an item of an object exceeds the corresponding threshold value, Col. 5 ln 10 - 12) of the most urgent blocker (violation colored red Col. 5 ln 5 – 14) from the generated process results, (Fig. 2, (210) generate validation report identifying violation(s) for each job Col 8 ln 15) and distinguishing a display of an identifier of the most urgent blocker from a display of identifiers of other blockers (A reviewer studies validation report 110 to find which objects have and
which objects do not have a red colored background or other indication of a standard violation. Col. 5 ln 19 - 22) from among the plurality of blockers (Figs 3 & 5 standard violations Col 3 ln 22 – 25, Col 3 ln 30 – 33, Fig. 4 hard-coding violations Col 3 ln 26 - 29) such as “plurality of blockers” from among the plurality of blockers (Figs 3 & 5 standard violations Col 3 ln 22 – 25, Col 3 ln 30 – 33, Fig. 4 hard-coding violations Col 3 ln 26 - 29) such as “plurality of blockers” displayed on the user interface. (Fig. 6, (606) I/O Interface Col. 12 ln 34)
Regarding claim 14 Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline, Sitrick and Tran teaches the method (method of validating code Col 12 ln 39) of claim 9,
Vilakkumadathil as modified further teaches wherein the identifying the plurality of events (Figs. 3, 4 & 5, Parallel Jobs, Sequence Jobs, Routine Functions and Shared Container Col. 4 ln 45 – 48) such as “plurality of events” comprises identifying a plurality of documents (Figs. 3, 4 & 5 exemplary portions of reports Col 3 ln 22 - 32) such as “plurality of documents” that are used by the process (Fig. 2, (200) validating extract, transform and load code Col 6 ln 11) and locations of table data (object specific information Col 4 ln 48) such as “locations of table data” from the data system (Fig. 1, (108) Data Store Col. 4 ln 7) such as “data system” for filling in fields (Fig. 3, Parallel Jobs, “Job Name”, “Agg. Count’,”Trans. Count”, “Re-Part. count”,”Ann. Count Ratio”, “DB R/W count”, “File R/W Count”, “Hard-coding count”, “Stds. Violation Count”; Sequence Jobs, “Sequence Name”, “Stage Count”, “Param. Count”, “Ann. Count”, “Hard-coding Count”, “Stds. Violation Count” Col 4 ln 43 – 58; Fig. 4, “DSX Line No.”, “Object Type”, “Object Name”, “Stage Name”, “Error Descripting”, “String Looked For”, “DSX Line”, Col. 3 ln 26 – 29; and Fig. 5, “DSX Line No.”, “Object Type”, “Object Name”, “Stage Name”, “Stage Type”, “Violation Type”, “Violation Description” Col 3 ln 30 - 33) of the plurality of documents (Figs. 3, 4 & 5 exemplary portions of reports Col 3 ln 22 - 32) such as “plurality of documents”
Regarding claim 15 Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline, Sitrick and Tran teaches the method (method of validating code Col 12 ln 39) of claim 14,
Vilakkumadathil as modified further teaches wherein the identifying the plurality of blockers (Figs 3 & 5 standard violations Col 3 ln 22 – 25, Col 3 ln 30 – 33, Fig. 4 hard-coding violations Col 3 ln 26 - 29) such as “plurality of blockers” comprises identifying a plurality of blocking events ((i) For example, the first row of data in portion 400 indicates that for a parallel job having the name ATL201FileReceipt, validation tool 104 (see FIG.1) detects a database hardcoding violation because validation tool 104 (see FIG. 1) finds the string SOL2DEV (see the string in the String Looked For column in portion 400) in a DSX line of the parallel job ATL201FileReceipt. A portion of the DSX line that includes "sol2dev" is shown in the DSX Line column in FIG. 4. Regarding the second row of data in portion 400, although the DWH_D string in the String Looked For column is not shown in the portion of the DSX line included in the DSX Line column, validation tool 104 (see FIG. 1) finds the string DWH_D in a search of the entire DSX line, thereby detecting a hardcoding violation. (ii) For example, the first row of data in portion 500 indicates that for the parallel job AIE0Ol WriteSAPFile, validation tool 104 (see FIG. 1) determines an annotation violation because there is no job annotation for AIE0Ol WriteSAPFile .Col. 12 ln 24 - 27) that prevent the plurality of documents(Figs. 3, 4 & 5 exemplary portions of reports Col 3 ln 22 - 32) such as “plurality of documents” from being completed (aborted Col 7 ln 48, Col 11 ln 6) during the process. (Fig. 2, (200) validating extract, transform and load code Col 6 ln 11)
Regarding claim 16 Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline, Sitrick and Tran teaches the method (method of validating code Col 12 ln 39) of claim 15,
Vilakkumadathil as modified further teaches wherein the defining comprises defining a query (Fig. 2, (224) rework code in development area for validation issues identified Col 9 ln 30) for a blocker based (FOR EXAMPLE Fig. 4 “Error Description” – Database HardCoding Col 12 ln 1 – 14) on a document (any one of Figs. 3, 4 & 5 exemplary portions of reports Col 3 ln 22 - 32) such as “plurality of documents” that is associated with the blocker (FOR EXAMPLE Fig. 4 “Error Description” – Database HardCoding Col 12 ln 1 – 14) and a location of table data(object specific information Col 4 ln 48) such as “locations of table data” from the data system(Fig. 1, (108) Data Store Col. 4 ln 7) such as “data system” for filling in fields (Fig. 3, Parallel Jobs, “Job Name”, “Agg. Count’,”Trans. Count”, “Re-Part. count”,”Ann. Count Ratio”, “DB R/W count”, “File R/W Count”, “Hard-coding count”, “Stds. Violation Count”; Sequence Jobs, “Sequence Name”, “Stage Count”, “Param. Count”, “Ann. Count”, “Hard-coding Count”, “Stds. Violation Count” Col 4 ln 43 – 58; Fig. 4, “DSX Line No.”, “Object Type”, “Object Name”, “Stage Name”, “Error Descripting”, “String Looked For”, “DSX Line”, Col. 3 ln 26 – 29; and Fig. 5, “DSX Line No.”, “Object Type”, “Object Name”, “Stage Name”, “Stage Type”, “Violation Type”, “Violation Description” Col 3 ln 30 - 33) of the document. (any one of Figs. 3, 4 & 5 exemplary portions of reports Col 3 ln 22 - 32) such as “plurality of documents”
Regarding claim 17 Vilakkumadathil teaches a computer-readable medium ( computer readable storage medium, Col. 12 ln 45 – 46) comprising instructions (program code Col 12 ln43) which when executed by a processor (Fig. 6 (602) CPU Col 12 ln 34) cause a computer (computer 102 Col 12 ln 32)to perform a method (method of validating code Col 12 ln 39) comprising defining a query(ETL code 106 Coll 4 ln 1) such as “query” that comprises instructions for extracting data (which specifies code and attributes of code that includes jobs and other objects of an ETL project Col. 4 ln 2 – 3) of the plurality of blockers (Figs 3 & 5 standard violations Col 3 ln 22 – 25, Col 3 ln 30 – 33, Fig. 4 hard-coding violations Col 3 ln 26 - 29) such as “plurality of blockers” from the data system (Fig. 1, (108) Data Store Col. 4 ln 7) such as “data system” and for analyzing (ABS., determining) (Fig. 2, (206) determining Coll 7 ln 5) such as “analyzing” the process (method of validating code Col 12 ln 39) based on the extracted data (naming standards stored in data store Col. 4 ln 9, performance standards stored in data store Col 4 ln 14, annotations standards stored in data store 108 Col. 4 ln 19, Partitioning-related standards stored in data store 108 Col 4 ln 22 – 23 and other standards stored in 30 data store 108 Col 4 ln 29 – 30) and the plurality of blockers; (Figs 3 & 5 standard violations Col 3 ln 22 – 25, Col 3 ln 30 – 33, Fig. 4 hard-coding violations Col 3 ln 26 - 29) such as “plurality of blockers” and generating a script (validation script Col 3 ln 46) for executing the defined query (ETL code 106 Coll 4 ln 1) such as “query” based on the schema(Fig. 2 (202) job(s) to job definition file(s) (e.g., dsx file) Col. 6 ln 19) such as “schema” of the data system(Fig. 1, (108) Data Store Col. 4 ln 7) such as “data system” and transmit the script (validation script Col 3 ln 46) to a software application. (IBM® DataStage®, which is an ETL tool offered by International Business Machines Corporation Col. 3 ln 51 - 54) such as “software application”
Vilakkumadathil does not fully disclose processing a user input to select an event subset from a predetermined list of events; identifying a plurality of events, from the event subset that prevents the plurality of events from completing; configured to load a schema of a data system into memory, the schema comprising at least data types, names, and locations or paths to data stored within the data system
Kline teaches configured to loading (reading into memory [0028]) a schema (a schema [0026]) of a data system (one or more data stores [0022]) into memory (into memory [0028]) the schema (the schema [0026]) comprising at least data types, (distinct data types [0027]) names, (item name [0026]) such as “names” and locations or paths (locations [0032]) to data stored (stored data [0022]) within the data system (one or more data stores [0022])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vilakkumadathil to incorporate the teachings of Kline wherein configured to load a schema of a data system into memory, the schema comprising at least data types, names, and locations or paths to data stored within the data system. By doing so a multi-schema data store is provided that includes data that is associated with a plurality of schemas. Kline [0005]
Sitrick teaches present a user interface to a user,( The user input apparatus, the event processor, and the display apparatus comprise a user interface subsystem. The system is further comprised of: a plurality of the user interface subsystems, each for use by a respective user of a plurality of users; [0070]) the user interface displaying information for a predetermined list of events: (each of the user interface subsystems provides an output of its own respective local event content; [0070]) process a user input , (An event processor, provides an output of events responsive to the user input. [0070]) the user input (user input. [0070]) comprising a selection of an event subset from the predetermined list of events; (The selection means selects, for each of the user interface subsystems, from one to a plurality of said events as a respective local selected set of events for its respective said user interface subsystem. The presentation processor and the display generation logic are responsive to the selection means and the event storage, to generate a separate said display output comprised of a local display output for each respective said user interface subsystems. The display apparatus at each of the user interface subsystems provides a respective local said presentation responsive to a respective said local display output. [0071]) identify a plurality of events, (raw events, pulled from systems of record 428, [0073]) from the event subset, (selection from one to a plurality of said events as a respective local selected set of events [0070]) such as “event subset” that occur within a process (analytics service process [0077]) supported by the data (active data [0073]) (microapp data [0074]) from the data system (periodically pull active data from systems of record 428. [0073])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline to incorporate the teachings of Sitrick wherein presenting a user interface to a user, the user interface displaying information for a predetermined list of events; processing a user input , the user input comprising a selection of an event subset from the predetermined list of events; identify a plurality of events, from the event subset, that occur within a process supported by the data from the data system. By doing so less than all the events entered in a sequence can be chosen to be used excluding one of more from the sequence that is selected as the selected set that generates the respective presentation. Sitrick [0094]
Tran teaches identify a plurality of blockers, (ABS., dynamically generated input fields) (Fig. 2 (220) generated on or more input fields evaluated to rules [0037] – [0038]) such as “at least one blocker of the plurality of blockers” from a predetermined list of blockers, (rules associated with one or more input parameters for a database object. [0038]) such as “predetermined list of blockers” each blocker of the plurality of blockers (ABS., dynamically generated input fields) (Fig. 2 (220) generated on or more input fields evaluated to rules [0037] – [0038]) such as “at least one blocker of the plurality of blockers” comprising an event or occurrence that prevents the plurality of events from completing (if a parameter for a database object is an integer parameter, a
determination may be made as to whether received user input for the parameter is an integer value. If it is determined at block 225 that the received user input is not valid, then operations may continue at block 230 and an appropriate message may be generated for display to the user. [0038]) receive a user selection, (ABS., A user selection of a database object may be received.) (Fig. 2 (205) Receive a User Selection of a Database Object [0033]) based on the at least one user input, (ABS., One or more input fields for obtaining user input associated with the selected database object may be dynamically generated and presented to the user. User input associated with the selected database object may be received via the one or more generated input fields) (Fig. 2 (215) Generate One or More Input Fields for Obtaining User Input Associated with the Database Object [0036]) of at least one blocker of the plurality of blockers; (ABS., dynamically generated input fields) (Fig. 2 (220) generated on or more input fields [0037]) such as “at least one blocker of the plurality of blockers” define a query that comprises instructions for extracting data (ABS., database query may then be generated utilizing the received user input, and the database may be queried utilizing the constructed database query.) (Fig. 2, (235) Construct Database Query Utilizing the Received User Input [0039]) from the data system (a database [0044]) and for analyzing (a determination is made as to whether the received user input is valid [0038]) such as “analyzing” the at least one blocker (ABS., dynamically generated input fields) (Fig. 2 (220) generated one or more input fields [0037]) such as “at least one blocker of the plurality of blockers” based on the extracted data; (Fig. 2, (245) result set from database [0040]) such as “extracted data”
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline and Sitrick to incorporate the teachings of Tran whereby identify a plurality of blockers, from a predetermined list of blockers, each blocker of the plurality of blockers comprising an event or occurrence that prevents the plurality of events from completing; receive a user selection, based on the at least one user input, of at least one blocker of the plurality of blockers; define a query that comprises instructions for extracting data from the data system and for analyzing the at least one blocker based on the extracted data. By doing so a determination may be made as to whether the received user input is valid input for the selected database object. For example, received user input may be compared to and/or evaluated in light of rules associated with one or more input parameters for a database object. Tran [0038]
Regarding claim 18 Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline, Sitrick and Tran teaches the computer-readable medium ( computer readable storage medium, Col. 12 ln 45 – 46) of claim 17,
Vilakkumadathil as modified further teaches wherein the method (method of validating code Col 12 ln 39) further comprises executing the script (validation script Col 3 ln 46) via the software application, (IBM® DataStage®, which is an ETL tool offered by International Business Machines Corporation Col. 3 ln 51 - 54) such as “software application” wherein the executing comprises querying (Validation tool 104 retrieves naming, coding, and performance standards which are stored in a data store 108Col 4 ln 5 - 7) the data system(Fig. 1, (108) Data Store Col. 4 ln 7) such as “data system” for document data (naming, coding, and performance standards Col. 4 ln 5 - 6) such as “document data” based on the defined query (ETL code 106 Coll 4 ln 1) such as “query and processing the document data (naming, coding, and performance standards Col. 4 ln 5 - 6) such as “document data” to generate results. (Fig. 2, (210) generate validation report identifying violation(s) for each job Col 8 ln 15)
Regarding claim 19 Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline, Sitrick and Tran teaches the computer-readable medium ( computer readable storage medium, Col. 12 ln 45 – 46) of claim 18,
Vilakkumadathil as modified further teaches wherein the executing further comprises identifying an event (Fig. 4 Parallel Job Col 12 ln 2) and a blocker (any one of (Figs 3 & 5 standard violations Col 3 ln 22 – 25, Col 3 ln 30 – 33, Fig. 4 hard-coding violations Col 3 ln 26 - 29) such as “plurality of blockers FOR EXAMPLE Fig. 4 “Error Description” – Database HardCoding Col 12 ln 1 – 14) that prevents the event (Fig. 4 Parallel Job Col 12 ln 2) from being completed (aborted Col 7 ln 48, Col 11 ln 6) from being completed (aborted Col 7 ln 48, Col 11 ln 6) based on the generated results, (Fig. 2, (210) generate validation report identifying violation(s) for each job Col 8 ln 15) and displaying an identifier (Fig. 4 DSX Line No. 7192 Col. 12 ln 6 - 7) such as “identifier” of the event (Fig. 4 Parallel Job Col 12 ln 2) and an identifier (includes a red colored background ( or another predetermined visual indicator of a violation of a standard) for the name(s) of object(s) listed in validation report 110 (see FIG. 1) Col 8 ln 31 – 34) of the blocker (any one of (Figs 3 & 5 standard violations Col 3 ln 22 – 25, Col 3 ln 30 – 33, Fig. 4 hard-coding violations Col 3 ln 26 - 29) such as “plurality of blockers FOR EXAMPLE Fig. 4 “Error Description” – Database HardCoding Col 12 ln 1 – 14) via a user interface (Fig. 6, (606) I/O Interface Col. 12 ln 34)
Regarding claim 20 Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline, Sitrick and Tran teaches the computer-readable medium ( computer readable storage medium, Col. 12 ln 45 – 46) of claim 18,
Vilakkumadathil as modified further teaches wherein the identifying the plurality of blockers (Figs 3 & 5 standard violations Col 3 ln 22 – 25, Col 3 ln 30 – 33, Fig. 4 hard-coding violations Col 3 ln 26 - 29) such as “plurality of blockers” comprises identifying a plurality of blocking events ((i) For example, the first row of data in portion 400 indicates that for a parallel job having the name ATL201FileReceipt, validation tool 104 (see FIG.1) detects a database hardcoding violation because validation tool 104 (see FIG. 1) finds the string SOL2DEV (see the string in the String Looked For column in portion 400) in a DSX line of the parallel job ATL201FileReceipt. A portion of the DSX line that includes "sol2dev" is shown in the DSX Line column in FIG. 4. Regarding the second row of data in portion 400, although the DWH_D string in the String Looked For column is not shown in the portion of the DSX line included in the DSX Line column, validation tool 104 (see FIG. 1) finds the string DWH_D in a search of the entire DSX line, thereby detecting a hardcoding violation. (ii) For example, the first row of data in portion 500 indicates that for the parallel job AIE0Ol WriteSAPFile, validation tool 104 (see FIG. 1) determines an annotation violation because there is no job annotation for AIE0Ol WriteSAPFile .Col. 12 ln 24 - 27) that prevent a plurality of documents(Figs. 3, 4 & 5 exemplary portions of reports Col 3 ln 22 - 32) such as “plurality of documents” from being completed (aborted Col 7 ln 48, Col 11 ln 6) during the process (Fig. 2, (200) validating extract, transform and load code Col 6 ln 11) based on the generated results. (Fig. 2, (210) generate validation report identifying violation(s) for each job Col 8 ln 15)
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rokky Vilakkumadathil, (United States Patent Number 9,244,809), hereinafter Vilakkumadathil, in view of in view of John Anthony Kline (United States Patent Publication Number 20190340159), hereinafter referred to as Kline, in view of Sitrick et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 20140082473) hereinafter Sitrick in view of Tran et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 2010/0332469) hereinafter Tran
and in further view of in view of Zhou et al. (United States Patent Publication Number 20050138073 ), hereinafter referred to as Zhou
Regarding claim 5 Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline, Sitrick and Tran teaches the computing system of claim 1,
Vilakkumadathil as modified does not fully disclose wherein the processor is configured to define a structured query language (SQL) query for accessing table data of the process from the data system, and generate a script for executing the SQL query which includes a union of a plurality of SQL queries.
Zhou teaches wherein the processor (Fig. 12, (1210) CPU [0076]) such as “processor” is configured to define a structured query language (SQL) query (process versions of the Structure Query Language (SQL). [0082]) for accessing table data (selects the "ID,""buyer," and "seller" columns from the table "po." [0030]) of the process (steps 1 and 2 [0023]) such as “process” from the data system, (Fig. 1 hierarchical data structures [001]) such as “data system” and generate a script (external scripts [0023]) for executing the SQL query (Fig. 5 parameterized SQL query [0015]) which includes a union (outer-union operation [0025]) of a plurality of SQL queries (These SQL SELECT queries [0028] such as the first query 140 and second query 142, [0074]
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline, Sitrick and Tran to incorporate the teachings of Zhou wherein the processor is configured to define a structured query language (SQL) query for accessing table data of the process from the data system, and generate a script for executing the SQL query which includes a union of a plurality of SQL queries. By doings go the outer-union query 900 as used by exemplary embodiments of the present invention advantageously combines
multiple data queries to an RDBMS, such as the first query 140 and second query 142, into a single data query. Zhou [0074].
Regarding claim 13 Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline, Sitrick and Tran teaches the method of claim 9,
Vilakkumadathil as modified does not fully disclose wherein the defining comprises defining a plurality of structured query language (SQL) queries for accessing table data of the process from the data system, and the generating comprises generating a script for executing a single SQL query which includes a union of the plurality of SQL queries.
Zhou teaches wherein the defining comprises defining a plurality of structured query language (SQL) queries (process versions of the Structure Query Language (SQL). [0082]) for accessing table data (selects the "ID,""buyer," and "seller" columns from the table "po." [0030]) of the process (steps 1 and 2 [0023]) such as “process” from the data system, (Fig. 1 hierarchical data structures [001]) such as “data system” and generate a script (external scripts [0023]) for executing a single SQL query (Fig. 6 single outer-union SQL query [0016]) which includes a union (outer-union operation [0025]) of a plurality of SQL queries (These SQL SELECT queries [0028] such as the first query 140 and second query 142, [0074]
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vilakkumadathil in view of Kline, Sitrick and Tran to incorporate the teachings of Zhou wherein the processor is configured to define a structured query language (SQL) query for accessing table data of the process from the data system, and generate a script for executing the SQL query which includes a union of a plurality of SQL queries. By doings go the outer-union query 900 as used by exemplary embodiments of the present invention advantageously combines multiple data queries to an RDBMS, such as the first query 140 and second query 142, into a single data query. Zhou [0074].
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is
filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action
is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory
period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory
action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be
calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will
the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this
final action.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
examiner should be directed to Kweku Halm whose telephone number is (469)295-
9144. The examiner can normally be reached on 9:00AM - 5:30PM Mon - Thur. If
attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's
supervisor, Sanjiv Shah can be reached on (571) 272 - 4098. The fax phone
number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-
8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information
for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more
information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have
questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-
9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KWEKU WILLIAM HALM/Examiner, Art Unit 2166
/SANJIV SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2166