DETAILED ACTION
Y The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
This office action is made in response to Applicant’s remarks filed on 8/6/2025. Claims 1-11 have been amended. Claims 1-11 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments regarding Examiner's rejections under 35 USC 112 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph have been considered, however, Applicant's amendments are not fully responsive to the issues raised in the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) made in the previous action. These rejections regarding non-responsive amendments are accordingly maintained as discussed in further detail below.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Examiner's rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes (US 2021/0261032 A1) in view of Ikegami (US 2015/0299986 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hayes discloses an apparatus for combining vehicle operational status and control in a single interactive sensing (see e.g. at least Abstract, Fig. 9, and related text), control and display unit comprising:
said vehicle being a truck with dump body or a truck with attached dump trailer (see e.g. at least ¶ 6-10, Fig. 1, and related text);
an interactive visual display having one or more screens for displaying for an operator vehicle parametric information including both truck and dump body or dump trailer operational status, selectable control functions for various operable equipment on the dump body or dump trailer, and selectable camera views of an area immediately adjacent to and surrounding the vehicle and the dump body or dump trailer (e.g. human machine interface 62, 64, see e.g. at least ¶ 11-20, 44, 46, Fig. 8, and related text);
a special purpose computer (e.g. at least ECU 60, see e.g. at least ¶ 47, Fig. 9, and related text) configured for: collecting a plurality of sensor information from said vehicle including operating parameters of said truck and operating parameters of said dump body or dump trailer (id.) and displaying the sensor information and operating parameter status of the vehicle and the dump body or the dump trailer on the interactive visual display screen (id., see also e.g. at least ¶ 15-18, 50-53); and controlling selectable functions of various operable equipment on the dump body or dump trailer from visual controls displayed on one or more screens of said interactive visual display (id., see also e.g. at least ¶ 12, 19-20, 41, 44, 50, 57, Fig. 8, and related text).
Additionally, Ikegami teaches limitations not expressly disclosed by Hayes including namely: [an interactive visual display having] a primary and one or more alternate screens, each alternate screen being selectable by the operator (see e.g. at least ¶ 114-128, Fig. 14.1 - 14.10, and related text).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Hayes by configuring an interactive visual display having a primary and one or more alternate screens, each alternate screen being selectable by the operator, for displaying for an operator vehicle parametric information including both truck and dump body or dump trailer operational status, selectable control functions for various operable equipment on the dump body or dump trailer, and selectable camera views of an area immediately adjacent to and surrounding the vehicle and the dump body or dump trailer as taught by Ikagami in order to facilitate a work implement operation, diagnosis, and calibration by displaying on successive display screens, work implement operation data, status, instructions, and feedback (Ikegami: ¶ 114-128).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Hayes teaches that the operator can select for viewing one of the one or more screens of the interactive visual display to monitor vehicle parameters and sensor information, control dump body or dump trailer functions, and select camera views (see also e.g. at least ¶ 12, 19-20, 41, 44, 50, 57, Fig. 8, and related text).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Hayes teaches that the one or more screens available for viewing may be arranged to display vehicle parameter and sensor information and dump body or dump trailer control functions on a single screen of the interactive visual display (see also e.g. at least ¶ 12, 19-20, 41, 44, 50, 57, Fig. 8, and related text).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Hayes teaches that the one or more screens available for viewing may be arranged to display vehicle parameter and sensor information, dump body or dump trailer control functions, and one or more camera views on a single screen of the interactive visual display (see also e.g. at least ¶ 12, 19-20, 41, 44, 50, 57, Fig. 8, and related text).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Hayes teaches that the plurality of sensor information collected from said vehicle including operating parameters of said truck is selected from the group consisting of body angle sensor, air suspension pressure sensor, air supply pressure sensor, and hydraulic pressure sensor (see e.g. at least ¶ 15-18, 50-53, Fig. 9, and related text).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Hayes teaches that the plurality of sensor information from said vehicle including operating parameters of said dump body or dump trailer of is selected from the group consisting of dump body or trailer angle sensor, air suspension pressure sensor, air supply pressure sensor, hydraulic pressure sensor, tailgate pressure sensor, high lift tailgate sensor, tailgate lock position sensor, dump body position sensor, load cover position sensor, and one or more axle position sensors (see e.g. at least ¶ 15-18, 50-53, Fig. 9, and related text).
Regarding claim 7, Hayes discloses an apparatus for combining vehicle operational status and control in a single interactive sensing (see e.g. at least Abstract, Fig. 9, and related text), control and display unit comprising:
said vehicle being a truck with dump body or a truck with attached dump trailer (see e.g. at least ¶ 6-10, Fig. 1, and related text);
an interactive visual display having one or more screens for displaying for an operator vehicle parametric information including both truck and dump body or dump trailer operational status, selectable control functions for various operable equipment on the dump body or dump trailer, and selectable camera views of an area adjacent to and immediately surrounding the vehicle and the dump body or dump trailer, said operator can select for viewing one of the one or more screens of the interactive visual display to monitor vehicle parameters and sensor information, control dump body or dump trailer functions, and select camera views (see e.g. at least ¶ 11-20, 44, Fig. 8, and related text);
a special purpose computer (e.g. at least ECU 60, see e.g. at least ¶ 47, Fig. 9, and related text) configured for collecting a plurality of sensor information from said vehicle including operating parameters of said truck and operating parameters of said dump body or dump trailer (id.) and displaying sensor information and operating parameter status of the vehicle and dump body or dump trailer on the interactive visual display (id., see also e.g. at least ¶ 15-18, 50-53); and controlling selectable functions of various operable equipment on the dump body or dump trailer from visual controls displayed on one or more screens of said interactive visual display (id., see also e.g. at least ¶ 12, 19-20, 41, 44, 50, 57, Fig. 8, and related text).
Additionally, Ikegami teaches limitations not expressly disclosed by Hayes including namely: [an interactive visual display having] a primary and one or more alternate screens, each alternate screen being selectable by the operator (see e.g. at least ¶ 114-128, Fig. 14.1 - 14.10, and related text).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Hayes by configuring an interactive visual display having a primary and one or more alternate screens, each alternate screen being selectable by the operator, for displaying for an operator vehicle parametric information including both truck and dump body or dump trailer operational status, selectable control functions for various operable equipment on the dump body or dump trailer, and selectable camera views of an area immediately adjacent to and surrounding the vehicle and the dump body or dump trailer as taught by Ikagami in order to facilitate a work implement operation, diagnosis, and calibration by displaying on successive display screens, work implement operation data, status, instructions, and feedback (Ikegami: ¶ 114-128).
Claims 8-11 are directed to substantially similar subject matter as described in claims 2-6. These claims are accordingly further rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claims 2-6 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES J HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662