DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 3/8/2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 were pending for examination in previous Office Action mailed 7/24/2025.
Independent Claims 1, 16, and 20 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 remain pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s remarks pg. 9-11, filed 10/22/2025, with respect to amended Claims 1, 16, and 20 under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the references as applied in the prior rejection of record. In view of amendments, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Guo et al. (US 2018/0007577; hereinafter Guo) and further in view of newly found Kim et al. (US 2016/0344489 A1; hereinafter Kim). See rejection below.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s remarks pg. 9-11, filed 10/22/2025, with respect to Claim(s) 1, 16, and 20 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that in substance the prior art of record does not disclose “measuring an SFN reference signal,” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Here, Guo was relied upon to disclose previously presented independent claims 1, 16, and 20. As provided in the previous office action Guo discloses a measurement report provided from a UE to network including UE’s measurement results about its serving cell and neighbor cells(¶ 62; Table 1-2; Fig. 16, 19, 21, 23), which may include SFN results and that reference signals may include cell-specific reference signals, multi-broadcast single-frequency network (MBSFN) MBSFN, etc. (¶74; ¶242-246; Tables 1-2).
Therefore, the prior art of record still discloses the claimed invention of the independent claims, and the prior art rejection is maintained below and altered as required by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Guo and further in view of Kim.
Regarding Claim 1, Guo disclose(s):
A cell selection and reselection method, applied to a terminal and comprising:
measuring a first reference signal or measuring a first reference signal and a second reference signal; and [Guo discloses a measurement report provided from a UE to network including UE’s measurement result about its serving cell and neighbor cells including reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) (¶ 62; Table 1-2; Fig. 16, 19, 21, 23)]
choosing to camp on a first cell or a second cell based on a measurement result, wherein [Guo discloses cell selection and cell reselection based on measurements (¶62-74 Table 1-2). Guo also teaches: FIG. 22 is a flow chart 2200 according to one exemplary embodiment from the perspective of a UE. In step 2205, the UE measures a signal of a cell to derive information related to beamforming. In step 2210, the UE determines whether to select or reselect the cell to camp on based on at least the information, wherein the information comprises at least an average or a summation of measurement results for a number of qualified beams of the cell, and wherein the number of qualified beams to derive the average or the summation is limited by a first threshold.]
the first reference signal is a single-frequency network (SFN) specific reference signal, the second reference signal is a cell/transmission reception point (cell/TRP) specific reference signal, the first cell is an SFN specific cell, and the second cell is a cell/TRP specific cell or TRP, a SFN covers a plurality of cells, [Guo discloses that when camped on a cell, the UE shall regularly search for a better cell according to cell reselection criteria and if a better cell is found that cell is selected and the change of cell may imply a change of radio access technology (RAT) and measurement results may include SFN results and that reference signals may include cell-specific reference signals, multi-broadcast single-frequency network (MBSFN) MBSFN, etc. (¶74; ¶242-246; Tables 1-2). Guo also discloses a plurality of cells (¶127; Fig. 8-11)]
Guo does not explicitly disclose:
a SFN covers a plurality of cells, and the plurality of cells within the SFN sends the same SFN specific reference signal.
However Kim, analogous art also teaching camping, does disclose(s):
a SFN covers a plurality of cells, and the plurality of cells within the SFN sends the same SFN specific reference signal. [ (See Kim ¶96-113; Fig. 7)
[0096] MBMS is described. It may be referred to Section 15 of 3GPP TS 36.300 V11.7.0 (2013 September) and Section 5.8 of 3GPP TS 36.331 V11.5.0 (2013 September).
[0097] FIG. 7 shows MBMS definitions. For MBMS, the following definitions may be introduced. [0098] Multicast-broadcast single-frequency network (MBSFN) synchronization area: This is an area of the network where all eNBs can be synchronized and perform MBSFN transmissions. MBSFN synchronization areas are capable of supporting one or more MBSFN areas. On a given frequency layer, an eNB can only belong to one MBSFN synchronization area. MBSFN synchronization areas are independent from the definition of MBMS service areas. [0099] MBSFN transmission or a transmission in MBSFN mode: This is a simulcast transmission technique realized by transmission of identical waveforms at the same time from multiple cells. An MBSFN transmission from multiple cells within the MBSFN area is seen as a single transmission by a UE. [0100] MBSFN area: an MBSFN area consists of a group of cells within an MBSFN synchronization area of a network, which are coordinated to achieve an MBSFN transmission. Except for the MBSFN area reserved cells, all cells within an MBSFN area contribute to the MBSFN transmission and advertise its availability. The UE may only need to consider a subset of the MBSFN areas that are configured, i.e., when it knows which MBSFN area applies for the service(s) it is interested to receive. [0101] MBSFN area reserved cell: This is a cell within a MBSFN area which does not contribute to the MBSFN transmission. The cell may be allowed to transmit for other services but at restricted power on the resource allocated for the MBSFN transmission. [0102] Synchronization sequence: Each synchronization protocol data unit (SYNC PDU) contains a time stamp which indicates the start time of the synchronization sequence. For an MBMS service, each synchronization sequence has the same duration which is configured in the broadcast and multicast service center (BM-SC) and the multi-cell/multicast coordination entity (MCE). [0103] Synchronization period: The synchronization period provides the time reference for the indication of the start time of each synchronization sequence. The time stamp which is provided in each SYNC PDU is a relative value which refers to the start time of the synchronization period. The duration of the synchronization period is configurable.
]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Guo with that of Kim to include SFN cells sending identical signals to follow the 3GPP standard, as per Kim (¶ 96-103), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 2, Guo and Kim disclose(s):
The method according to claim 1, wherein
a related parameter of the first reference signal is indicated by an SFN specific system message or a cell/TRP specific system message; or a related parameter of the second reference signal is indicated by a cell/TRP specific system message. [Guo discloses that for normal service a UE camps on a suitable cell and tunes to that cell’s control channel to receive registration information from the public land mobile network (PLMN) such as tracking area information, receive other Access Stratum (AS) and Non-Access stratum (NAS) information, and if registered receive paging and notification messages from the PLMN to initiate transfer to connected mode (¶74-80; Fig. 16). Guo also discloses RRCConnectionRelease messages (¶82)]
Regarding Claim 3, Guo and Kim disclose(s):
The method according to claim 1, wherein the choosing to camp on a first cell or a second cell based on a measurement result comprises:
determining cell quality of the first cell and the second cell based on the measurement result; and [Guo discloses a measurement report provided from a UE to network including UE’s measurement result about its serving cell and neighbor cells including reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) (¶ 62; Table 1-2; Fig. 16, 19, 21, 23). Guo also discloses that when camped on a cell, the UE shall regularly search for a better cell according to cell reselection criteria and if a better cell is found that cell is selected and the change of cell may imply a change of radio access technology (RAT) (¶74-85; Tables 1-4).]
choosing to camp on the first cell or the second cell based on the cell quality of the first cell and the second cell. [Guo discloses a measurement report provided from a UE to network including UE’s measurement result about its serving cell and neighbor cells including reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) (¶ 62; Table 1-2; Fig. 16, 19, 21, 23). Guo also discloses that when camped on a cell, the UE shall regularly search for a better cell according to cell reselection criteria and if a better cell is found that cell is selected and the change of cell may imply a change of radio access technology (RAT) (¶74-85; Tables 1-4).]
Regarding Claim 4, Guo and Kim disclose(s):
The method according to claim 3, wherein the determining cell quality of the first cell based on the measurement result comprises at least one of the following:
determining the cell quality of the first cell based on an average value of beam measurement results; [Guo discloses a measurement report which may include average RSRP of beams whose RSRP are greater than a threshold (¶ 184-200; Fig. 19)]
determining the cell quality of the first cell based on an average value of a preset quantity of beam measurement results; [Guo discloses a measurement report which may include average RSRP of N-best beams (¶ 184-200; Fig. 19)]
determining the cell quality of the first cell based on an average value of the beam measurement results higher than a preset measurement threshold; [Guo discloses a measurement report which may include average RSRP of beams whose RSRP are greater than a threshold (¶ 184-200; Fig. 19)]
determining the cell quality of the first cell based on the highest beam measurement result; [Guo discloses measurement report which may include RSRP of the best beam (¶ 184-200; Fig. 19)]
determining the cell quality of the first cell based on an average value of beam measurement results of N beams higher than the preset measurement threshold; and [Guo discloses a measurement report which may include average RSRP of beams whose RSRP are greater than a threshold (¶ 184-200; Fig. 19)]
determining the cell quality of the first cell based on a quantity of beams whose beam measurement results are higher than the preset measurement threshold. [Guo discloses a measurement report which may include average RSRP of beams whose RSRP are greater than a threshold (¶ 184-200; Fig. 19)]
Regarding Claim 5, Guo and Kim disclose(s):
The method according to claim 3, wherein in a case that a reference signal received by the terminal comprises the first reference signal and the second reference signal, the choosing to camp on the first cell or the second cell comprises at least one of the following:
based on a preset priority, preferentially choosing to camp on the first cell, wherein the preset priority is configured by a network side or agreed by a protocol; [Guo discloses cell section criteria determined by parameters such as Q_rxlevminoffset and Q_qualminoffset which are offsets taken into account as a result of search for a higher priority PLMN as well as cellReselectionPriority which may be provided in the system information and/or RRCConnectionRelease messages (¶64-74; ¶81-82; ¶ 104-109; Table 3)]
based on the preset priority, preferentially choosing to camp on the second cell, wherein the preset priority is configured by the network side or agreed by the protocol; [Guo discloses cell section criteria determined by parameters such as Q_rxlevminoffset and Q_qualminoffset which are offsets taken into account as a result of search for a higher priority PLMN as well as cellReselectionPriority which may be provided in the system information and/or RRCConnectionRelease messages (¶64-74; ¶ 81-82; ¶ 104-109; Table 3)]
in a case that the cell quality of the first cell is higher than a first preset threshold, choosing to camp on the first cell; or in a case that the cell quality of the first cell is lower than a second preset threshold, choosing to camp on the second cell whose cell quality is higher than a third preset threshold, wherein the first preset threshold, the second preset threshold, and the third preset threshold are configured by the network side; [Guo discloses cell reselection parameters which are broadcast in system information and read from the serving cells including multiple thresholds used in determining cell-ranking criterion used to rank cells in order to choose the better cell (¶ 83-86; ¶104-109; Fig. 16-17; Fig. 19). Guo also discloses a measurement report in which include average RSRP of beams whose RSRP are greater than a threshold and selecting the cell with the better results (¶184-200)]
in a case that the cell quality of the second cell is higher than a fourth preset threshold, choosing to camp on the second cell; or in a case that the cell quality of the second cell is lower than a fifth preset threshold, choosing to camp on the first cell whose cell quality is higher than a sixth preset threshold, wherein the fourth preset threshold, the fifth preset threshold, and the sixth preset threshold are configured by the network side; [Guo discloses cell reselection parameters which are broadcast in system information and read from the serving cells including multiple thresholds used in determining cell-ranking criterion used to rank cells in order to choose the better cell (¶ 83-86; ¶104-109; Fig. 16-17; Fig. 19). Guo also discloses a measurement report in which include average RSRP of beams whose RSRP are greater than a threshold and selecting the cell with the better results (¶184-200)]
the cell quality of the first cell being higher than the cell quality of the second cell by a first value, and choosing to camp on the first cell, wherein the first value is configured by the network side or agreed by the protocol; [Guo discloses cell reselection parameters which are broadcast in system information and read from the serving cells including multiple thresholds used in determining cell-ranking criterion used to rank cells in order to choose the better cell (¶ 83-86; ¶104-109; Fig. 16-17; Fig. 19). Guo also discloses a measurement report in which include average RSRP of beams whose RSRP are greater than a threshold and selecting the cell with the better results (¶184-200)]
the cell quality of the first cell being lower than the cell quality of the second cell by a second value, and choosing to camp on the second cell, wherein the second value is configured by the network side or agreed by the protocol; and [Guo discloses cell reselection parameters which are broadcast in system information and read from the serving cells including multiple thresholds used in determining cell-ranking criterion used to rank cells in order to choose the better cell (¶ 83-86; ¶104-109; Fig. 16-17; Fig. 19). Guo also discloses a measurement report in which include average RSRP of beams whose RSRP are greater than a threshold and selecting the cell with the better results (¶184-216)]
choosing to camp on the first cell or the second cell, whichever has higher cell quality. [Guo discloses a measurement report provided from a UE to network including UE’s measurement result about its serving cell and neighbor cells including reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) (¶ 62; Table 1-2; Fig. 16, 19, 21, 23). Guo also discloses that when camped on a cell, the UE shall regularly search for a better cell according to cell reselection criteria and if a better cell is found that cell is selected (¶74-84; Tables 1-3)]
Regarding Claim 6, Guo and Kim disclose(s):
The method according to claim 5, wherein when choosing to camp on the first cell or the second cell, whichever has higher cell quality, the method further comprises:
adding a first compensation for the cell quality of the first cell, wherein the first compensation is configured by the network side or agreed by the protocol; [Guo discloses selection criteria which includes P_compensation which if present are in system information blocks (SIBs) (¶ 81-86; ¶ 153; Table 3; Fig. 12)]
or adding a first compensation for the cell quality of the first cell, and adding a second compensation for the cell quality of the second cell, wherein the first compensation and the second compensation are configured by the network side or agreed by the protocol. [Guo discloses selection criteria which includes P_compensation which if present are in system information blocks (SIBs) (¶ 81-86; ¶ 153; Table 3; Fig. 12)]
Regarding Claim 7, Guo and Kim disclose(s):
The method according to claim 5, further comprising:
in a case that the first cell and the second cell are deployed at different frequencies, determining a priority of the first cell and a priority of the second cell based on a frequency priority configured by the network side. [Guo discloses intra-frequency and equal priority inter-frequency cell reselection criteria where priorities may be provided in system information(¶ 82-86; Table 4)]
Regarding Claim 8, Guo and Kim disclose(s):
The method according to claim 3, wherein in a case that all reference signals received by the terminal are the first reference signals, the choosing to camp on the first cell or the second cell comprises at least one of the following:
based on a preset priority, preferentially choosing to camp on the first cell, wherein the preset priority is configured by a network side or agreed by a protocol; [Guo discloses cell section criteria determined by parameters such as Q_rxlevminoffset and Q_qualminoffset which are offsets taken into account as a result of search for a higher priority PLMN as well as cellReselectionPriority which may be provided in the system information and/or RRCConnectionRelease messages (¶ 81-82; ¶ 104-109; Table 3)]
in a case that the cell quality of the first cell is higher than a first preset threshold, choosing to camp on the first cell; or in a case that the cell quality of the first cell is lower than a second preset threshold, entering any cell camp mode, wherein the first preset threshold and the second preset threshold are configured by the network side or agreed by the protocol; and [Guo discloses cell reselection parameters which are broadcast in system information and read from the serving cells including multiple thresholds used in determining cell-ranking criterion used to rank cells in order to choose the better cell (¶ 83-86; ¶104-109; Fig. 16-17; Fig. 19). Guo also discloses a measurement report in which include average RSRP of beams whose RSRP are greater than a threshold and selecting the cell with the better results (¶184-200)]
choosing to camp on the first cell with the highest cell quality. [Guo discloses a measurement report provided from a UE to network including UE’s measurement result about its serving cell and neighbor cells including reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) (¶ 62; Table 1-2; Fig. 16, 19, 21, 23). Guo also discloses that when camped on a cell, the UE shall regularly search for a better cell according to cell reselection criteria and if a better cell is found that cell is selected (¶74-84; Tables 1-3)]
Regarding Claim 9, Guo and Kim disclose(s):
The method according to claim 8, wherein when choosing to camp on the first cell with the highest cell quality, the method further comprises:
adding a first compensation for the cell quality of the first cell, wherein the first compensation is configured by the network side or agreed by the protocol. [Guo discloses selection criteria which includes P_compensation which if present are in system information blocks (SIBs) (¶ 81-86; ¶ 153; Table 3; Fig. 12)]
Regarding Claim 10, Guo and Kim disclose(s):
The method according to claim 1, further comprising: before cell selection or reselection is performed, receiving first indication information from a network side, wherein the first indication information comprises at least one of the following:
an SFN identity or an SFN index;
an SFN group or an SFN range;
a cell/TRP comprised in an SFN;
whether the cell supports an SFN layer; and
an SFN to which a cell belongs.
[Guo discloses that a suitable cell is a cell on which the UE may camp on to obtain normal service and the cell is part of either the selected PLMN the registered PLMN, a PLMN of the Equivalent PLMN list, or for a CSG cell the cell is a CSG member cell for the UE (¶63-69). UE shall camp on a suitable cell, tune to that cell's control channel(s) so that the UE can: Receive system information from the PLMN; and receive registration area information from the PLMN, e.g., tracking area (TA) information; and receive other AS and NAS Information; furthermore if more than one PLMN identity is broadcast in the cell the cell is considered to be part of all TAs with tracking area identifiers (TAIs) constructed from the PLMN identities and the TAC broadcast in the cell (¶70-80). Guo also discloses that for initial access, the network could request the UE to initiate a connection establishment to the network via paging in order to transmit downlink data to the UE such as cell search to find a cell as well as broadcasted system information where the UE acquires necessary parameters related to cell selection from the broadcast system information (¶ 158-166). Guo also discloses single-frequency networks and measurement results may include SFN results and that reference signals may include cell-specific reference signals, multi-broadcast single-frequency network (MBSFN) MBSFN, etc. (¶74; ¶242-246; Tables 1-2)]
Regarding Claim 11, Guo and Kim disclose(s):
The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
by performing a cell reselection or cell selection operation, transferring from camping on the second cell to camping on the first cell. [Guo discloses a measurement report provided from a UE to network including UE’s measurement result about its serving cell and neighbor cells including reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) (¶ 62; Table 1-2; Fig. 16, 19, 21, 23). Guo also discloses that when camped on a cell, the UE shall regularly search for a better cell according to cell reselection criteria and if a better cell is found that cell is selected (¶74-84; Tables 1-3)]
Regarding Claim 13, Guo and Kim disclose(s):
The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
after camping on the first cell or the second cell, initiating a random access RACH or connection establishment in the second cell. Guo also discloses that when camped on a cell, the UE shall regularly search for a better cell according to cell reselection criteria and if a better cell is found that cell is selected and then connection establishment procedure occurs (¶74-84; ¶158-165; Tables 1-3; Fig. 16)]
Regarding Claim 14, Guo and Kim disclose(s):
The method according to claim 5, wherein the choosing to camp on the first cell or the second cell further comprises:
in a case that the terminal supports the first cell, preferentially choosing to camp in the first cell; [Guo discloses cell section criteria determined by parameters such as Q_rxlevminoffset and Q_qualminoffset which are offsets taken into account as a result of search for a higher priority PLMN as well as cellReselectionPriority which may be provided in the system information and/or RRCConnectionRelease messages (¶64-74; ¶ 81-82; ¶ 104-109; Table 3)]
or in a case that the network side indicates that the first cell is supported, preferentially choosing to camp on the first cell; [Guo discloses cell section criteria determined by parameters such as Q_rxlevminoffset and Q_qualminoffset which are offsets taken into account as a result of search for a higher priority PLMN as well as cellReselectionPriority which may be provided in the system information and/or RRCConnectionRelease messages (¶64-74; ¶ 81-82; ¶ 104-109; Table 3)]
or in a case that the network side indicates that the terminal camps on the first cell or preferentially camps on the first cell, preferentially choosing to camp on the first cell. [Guo discloses cell section criteria determined by parameters such as Q_rxlevminoffset and Q_qualminoffset which are offsets taken into account as a result of search for a higher priority PLMN as well as cellReselectionPriority which may be provided in the system information and/or RRCConnectionRelease messages (¶64-74; ¶ 81-82; ¶ 104-109; Table 3)]
Regarding Claim 15, Guo and Kim disclose(s):
The method according to claim 14, wherein
the network side indicates the terminal through a system message or a dedicated RRC message, wherein the dedicated RRC message comprises at least one of the following: an RRC release message and an RRC suspend message. [ Guo discloses RRCConnectionRelease and RRCConnectionReject messages (¶82)]
Regarding Claim 16, Guo disclose(s):
A terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, the following steps are implemented: [Guo discloses a communication device with memory, program code in the memory, and a CPU connected to the memory which may execute the code (¶ 45; Fig. 3)]
measuring a first reference signal or measuring a first reference signal and a second reference signal; and [Guo discloses a measurement report provided from a UE to network including UE’s measurement result about its serving cell and neighbor cells including reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) (¶ 62; Table 1-2; Fig. 16, 19, 21, 23)]
choosing to camp on a first cell or a second cell based on a measurement result, wherein [Guo discloses cell selection and cell reselection based on measurements (¶62-74 Table 1-2). Guo also teaches: FIG. 22 is a flow chart 2200 according to one exemplary embodiment from the perspective of a UE. In step 2205, the UE measures a signal of a cell to derive information related to beamforming. In step 2210, the UE determines whether to select or reselect the cell to camp on based on at least the information, wherein the information comprises at least an average or a summation of measurement results for a number of qualified beams of the cell, and wherein the number of qualified beams to derive the average or the summation is limited by a first threshold.]
the first reference signal is a single-frequency network (SFN) specific reference signal, the second reference signal is a cell/transmission reception point (cell/TRP) specific reference signal, the first cell is an SFN specific cell, and the second cell is a cell/TRP specific cell or TRP, a SFN covers a plurality of cells, [Guo discloses that when camped on a cell, the UE shall regularly search for a better cell according to cell reselection criteria and if a better cell is found that cell is selected and the change of cell may imply a change of radio access technology (RAT) and measurement results may include SFN results and that reference signals may include cell-specific reference signals, multi-broadcast single-frequency network (MBSFN) MBSFN, etc. (¶74; ¶242-246; Tables 1-2). Guo also discloses a plurality of cells (¶127; Fig. 8-11)]
Guo does not explicitly disclose:
a SFN covers a plurality of cells, and the plurality of cells within the SFN sends the same SFN specific reference signal.
However Kim, analogous art also teaching camping, does disclose(s):
a SFN covers a plurality of cells, and the plurality of cells within the SFN sends the same SFN specific reference signal. [ (See Kim ¶96-113; Fig. 7)
[0096] MBMS is described. It may be referred to Section 15 of 3GPP TS 36.300 V11.7.0 (2013 September) and Section 5.8 of 3GPP TS 36.331 V11.5.0 (2013 September).
[0097] FIG. 7 shows MBMS definitions. For MBMS, the following definitions may be introduced. [0098] Multicast-broadcast single-frequency network (MBSFN) synchronization area: This is an area of the network where all eNBs can be synchronized and perform MBSFN transmissions. MBSFN synchronization areas are capable of supporting one or more MBSFN areas. On a given frequency layer, an eNB can only belong to one MBSFN synchronization area. MBSFN synchronization areas are independent from the definition of MBMS service areas. [0099] MBSFN transmission or a transmission in MBSFN mode: This is a simulcast transmission technique realized by transmission of identical waveforms at the same time from multiple cells. An MBSFN transmission from multiple cells within the MBSFN area is seen as a single transmission by a UE. [0100] MBSFN area: an MBSFN area consists of a group of cells within an MBSFN synchronization area of a network, which are coordinated to achieve an MBSFN transmission. Except for the MBSFN area reserved cells, all cells within an MBSFN area contribute to the MBSFN transmission and advertise its availability. The UE may only need to consider a subset of the MBSFN areas that are configured, i.e., when it knows which MBSFN area applies for the service(s) it is interested to receive. [0101] MBSFN area reserved cell: This is a cell within a MBSFN area which does not contribute to the MBSFN transmission. The cell may be allowed to transmit for other services but at restricted power on the resource allocated for the MBSFN transmission. [0102] Synchronization sequence: Each synchronization protocol data unit (SYNC PDU) contains a time stamp which indicates the start time of the synchronization sequence. For an MBMS service, each synchronization sequence has the same duration which is configured in the broadcast and multicast service center (BM-SC) and the multi-cell/multicast coordination entity (MCE). [0103] Synchronization period: The synchronization period provides the time reference for the indication of the start time of each synchronization sequence. The time stamp which is provided in each SYNC PDU is a relative value which refers to the start time of the synchronization period. The duration of the synchronization period is configurable.
]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Guo with that of Kim to include SFN cells sending identical signals to follow the 3GPP standard, as per Kim (¶ 96-103), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 17, Guo and Kim disclose(s):
The terminal according to claim 16, wherein
a related parameter of the first reference signal is indicated by an SFN specific system message or a cell/TRP specific system message; or a related parameter of the second reference signal is indicated by a cell/TRP specific system message. [Guo discloses that for normal service a UE camps on a suitable cell and tunes to that cell’s control channel to receive registration information from the public land mobile network (PLMN) such as tracking area information, receive other Access Stratum (AS) and Non-Access stratum (NAS) information, and if registered receive paging and notification messages from the PLMN to initiate transfer to connected mode (¶74-80; Fig. 16). Guo also discloses RRCConnectionRelease messages (¶82)]
Regarding Claim 18, Guo and Kim disclose(s):
The terminal according to claim 16, wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, the following steps are further implemented:
determining cell quality of the first cell and the second cell based on the measurement result; and [Guo discloses a measurement report provided from a UE to network including UE’s measurement result about its serving cell and neighbor cells including reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) (¶ 62; Table 1-2; Fig. 16, 19, 21, 23). Guo also discloses that when camped on a cell, the UE shall regularly search for a better cell according to cell reselection criteria and if a better cell is found that cell is selected and the change of cell may imply a change of radio access technology (RAT) (¶74-85; Tables 1-4).]
choosing to camp on the first cell or the second cell based on the cell quality of the first cell and the second cell. [Guo discloses a measurement report provided from a UE to network including UE’s measurement result about its serving cell and neighbor cells including reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) (¶ 62; Table 1-2; Fig. 16, 19, 21, 23). Guo also discloses that when camped on a cell, the UE shall regularly search for a better cell according to cell reselection criteria and if a better cell is found that cell is selected and the change of cell may imply a change of radio access technology (RAT) (¶74-85; Tables 1-4).]
Regarding Claim 19, Guo and Kim disclose(s):
The terminal according to claim 18, wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, at least one of the following are further implemented:
determining the cell quality of the first cell based on an average value of beam measurement results; [Guo discloses a measurement report which may include average RSRP of beams whose RSRP are greater than a threshold (¶ 184-200; Fig. 19)]
determining the cell quality of the first cell based on an average value of a preset quantity of beam measurement results; [Guo discloses a measurement report which may include average RSRP of N-best beams (¶ 184-200; Fig. 19)]
determining the cell quality of the first cell based on an average value of the beam measurement results higher than a preset measurement threshold; [Guo discloses a measurement report which may include average RSRP of beams whose RSRP are greater than a threshold (¶ 184-200; Fig. 19)]
determining the cell quality of the first cell based on the highest beam measurement result; [Guo discloses measurement report which may include RSRP of the best beam (¶ 184-200; Fig. 19)]
determining the cell quality of the first cell based on an average value of beam measurement results of N beams higher than the preset measurement threshold; and [Guo discloses a measurement report which may include average RSRP of beams whose RSRP are greater than a threshold (¶ 184-200; Fig. 19)]
determining the cell quality of the first cell based on a quantity of beams whose beam measurement results are higher than the preset measurement threshold. [Guo discloses a measurement report which may include average RSRP of beams whose RSRP are greater than a threshold (¶ 184-200; Fig. 19)]
Regarding Claim 20, Guo and Kim disclose(s):
A readable storage medium, wherein the readable storage medium stores a program or an instruction, and when the program or the instruction is executed by a processor, the following steps are implemented: [Guo discloses a communication device with memory, program code in the memory, and a CPU connected to the memory which may execute the code (¶ 45; Fig. 3)]
measuring a first reference signal or measuring a first reference signal and a second reference signal; and [Guo discloses a measurement report provided from a UE to network including UE’s measurement result about its serving cell and neighbor cells including reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) (¶ 62; Table 1-2; Fig. 16, 19, 21, 23)]
choosing to camp on a first cell or a second cell based on a measurement result, wherein [Guo discloses cell selection and cell reselection based on measurements (¶62-74 Table 1-2). Guo also teaches: FIG. 22 is a flow chart 2200 according to one exemplary embodiment from the perspective of a UE. In step 2205, the UE measures a signal of a cell to derive information related to beamforming. In step 2210, the UE determines whether to select or reselect the cell to camp on based on at least the information, wherein the information comprises at least an average or a summation of measurement results for a number of qualified beams of the cell, and wherein the number of qualified beams to derive the average or the summation is limited by a first threshold.]
the first reference signal is a single-frequency network SFN specific reference signal, the second reference signal is a cell/transmission reception point cell/TRP specific reference signal, the first cell is an SFN specific cell, and the second cell is a cell/TRP specific cell or TRP, a SFN covers a plurality of cells [Guo discloses that when camped on a cell, the UE shall regularly search for a better cell according to cell reselection criteria and if a better cell is found that cell is selected and the change of cell may imply a change of radio access technology (RAT) and measurement results may include SFN results and that reference signals may include cell-specific reference signals, multi-broadcast single-frequency network (MBSFN) MBSFN, etc. (¶74; ¶242-246; Tables 1-2). Guo also discloses a plurality of cells (¶127; Fig. 8-11)]
Guo does not explicitly disclose:
a SFN covers a plurality of cells, and the plurality of cells within the SFN sends the same SFN specific reference signal.
However Kim, analogous art also teaching camping, does disclose(s):
a SFN covers a plurality of cells, and the plurality of cells within the SFN sends the same SFN specific reference signal. [ (See Kim ¶96-113; Fig. 7)
[0096] MBMS is described. It may be referred to Section 15 of 3GPP TS 36.300 V11.7.0 (2013 September) and Section 5.8 of 3GPP TS 36.331 V11.5.0 (2013 September).
[0097] FIG. 7 shows MBMS definitions. For MBMS, the following definitions may be introduced. [0098] Multicast-broadcast single-frequency network (MBSFN) synchronization area: This is an area of the network where all eNBs can be synchronized and perform MBSFN transmissions. MBSFN synchronization areas are capable of supporting one or more MBSFN areas. On a given frequency layer, an eNB can only belong to one MBSFN synchronization area. MBSFN synchronization areas are independent from the definition of MBMS service areas. [0099] MBSFN transmission or a transmission in MBSFN mode: This is a simulcast transmission technique realized by transmission of identical waveforms at the same time from multiple cells. An MBSFN transmission from multiple cells within the MBSFN area is seen as a single transmission by a UE. [0100] MBSFN area: an MBSFN area consists of a group of cells within an MBSFN synchronization area of a network, which are coordinated to achieve an MBSFN transmission. Except for the MBSFN area reserved cells, all cells within an MBSFN area contribute to the MBSFN transmission and advertise its availability. The UE may only need to consider a subset of the MBSFN areas that are configured, i.e., when it knows which MBSFN area applies for the service(s) it is interested to receive. [0101] MBSFN area reserved cell: This is a cell within a MBSFN area which does not contribute to the MBSFN transmission. The cell may be allowed to transmit for other services but at restricted power on the resource allocated for the MBSFN transmission. [0102] Synchronization sequence: Each synchronization protocol data unit (SYNC PDU) contains a time stamp which indicates the start time of the synchronization sequence. For an MBMS service, each synchronization sequence has the same duration which is configured in the broadcast and multicast service center (BM-SC) and the multi-cell/multicast coordination entity (MCE). [0103] Synchronization period: The synchronization period provides the time reference for the indication of the start time of each synchronization sequence. The time stamp which is provided in each SYNC PDU is a relative value which refers to the start time of the synchronization period. The duration of the synchronization period is configurable.
]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Guo with that of Kim to include SFN cells sending identical signals to follow the 3GPP standard, as per Kim (¶ 96-103), with reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 12 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Guo and Kim and further in view of Parkvall et al. (US 2017/0331577 A1; hereinafter Parkvall).
Regarding Claim 12, Guo and Kim disclose(s):
The method according to claim 1,
in a case that a network is deployed with high frequency and low frequency within the high frequency [Guo discloses various kinds of network/cell options including systems based on code division multiple access (CDMA), time division multiple access (TDMA), orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA), 3GPP LTE (Long Term Evolution) wireless access, etc. as well as these system devices being capable of supporting multiple standards such as high frequency new radio (NR) (¶ 29-30). Guo also discloses various frequency accommodations such as in 3GPP supporting carrier frequencies at least up to 100GHz and that cell coverage may include wide sector beams on lower frequencies and high gain beams for cell coverage of higher frequencies (¶ 47-53) as well as when camped on a cell, the UE shall regularly search for a better cell according to cell reselection criteria and if a better cell is found that cell is selected (¶63-74).]
or in a case that a network comprises a satellite communications network, the first cell comprises a high-altitude platform station HAPS cell or a high orbit satellite cell, and the second cell comprises a low orbit satellite cell or a cell covered by a ground base station.
Guo does not explicitly disclose:
in a case that a network is deployed with high frequency and low frequency layers, the first cell comprises a cell within the low frequency layer, and the second cell comprises a cell within the high frequency layer;
However Parkvall, analogous art also teaching camping, disclose(s):
in a case that a network is deployed with high frequency and low frequency layers, the first cell comprises a cell within the low frequency layer, and the second cell comprises a cell within the high frequency layer; [Parkvall discloses that an NX carrier access which is a component of several connection establishment procedures may include access to an NC carrier that could be in low or high frequency layer (¶ 1104-1107)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Guo with that of Parkvall to include cells being within low or high frequency layers in order to deal with the massive growth in traffic volume wider frequency bands, and new spectrum, as per Parkvall (¶ 2-6), with reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RKF/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468