Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-12 and 15-20 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kahn (US Application: US 2009/0210828, published: Aug. 20, 2009, filed: Feb. 15, 2008, cited in applicant submitted IDS) in view of Schick et al (US Patent: 10417341, issued: Sep. 17, 2019, filed: Feb, 9, 2018), in view of ASI et al (US Application: 20190362713, published: Nov. 28, 2019, filed: May 25, 2018) in view of Tran (US Application: US 2013/0317994, published: Nov. 28, 2013, filed: Nov. 13, 2012, cited in applicant submitted IDS)
Claim(s) 3 and 13 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kahn (US Application: US 2009/0210828, published: Aug. 20, 2009, filed: Feb. 15, 2008) in view of Schick et al (US Patent: 10417341, issued: Sep. 17, 2019, filed: Feb, 9, 2018), in view of ASI et al (US Application: 20190362713, published: Nov. 28, 2019, filed: May 25, 2018) in view of Tran (US Application: US 2013/0317994, published: Nov. 28, 2013, filed: Nov. 13, 2012, cited in applicant submitted IDS) in view of Reisswig (US Application: US 2021/0383067, published: Dec. 9, 2021, filed: Jun. 3, 2020).
Claim(s) 4 and 14 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kahn (US Application: US 2009/0210828, published: Aug. 20, 2009, filed: Feb. 15, 2008) in view of Schick et al (US Patent: 10417341, issued: Sep. 17, 2019, filed: Feb, 9, 2018), in view of ASI et al (US Application: 20190362713, published: Nov. 28, 2019, filed: May 25, 2018) in view of Tran (US Application: US 2013/0317994, published: Nov. 28, 2013, filed: Nov. 13, 2012, cited in applicant submitted IDS) in view of Priyadarshi et al (US Patent: 10747953, issued: Aug. 18, 2020, filed: Jul. 2, 2018, cited in applicant submitted IDS).
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With regards to claim 1, the claim recites “analyzing the substring of THE text” to generate second NLP tokens. This does not appear to be supported in the specification. Instead the specification specifically says in Fig. 4 and in paragraphs 0066 and 0067 explain that text is generated from common terms of the text, and the generated text is then analyzed by the server to produce a second set of NLP tokens.
With regards to claims 2-10, they do not resolve the deficiencies of claim 1, and thus they are rejected under similar rationale.
With regards to claim 11, it is rejected under similar rationale as claim 1.
With regards to claims 12-20 , they do not resolve the deficiencies of claim 11, and thus they are rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-12 and 15-20 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kahn (US Application: US 2009/0210828, published: Aug. 20, 2009, filed: Feb. 15, 2008, cited in applicant submitted IDS) in view of Schick et al (US Patent: 10417341, issued: Sep. 17, 2019, filed: Feb, 9, 2018), in view of ASI et al (US Application: 20190362713, published: Nov. 28, 2019, filed: May 25, 2018) in view of Tran (US Application: US 2013/0317994, published: Nov. 28, 2013, filed: Nov. 13, 2012, cited in applicant submitted IDS)
With regards to claim 1. Kahn teaches a method (Fig 3, paragraphs 0147-0148: a computer implemented method using a memory and processor is implemented) for generating a document, comprising:
receiving text … (paragraph 0057: a patent application with text is received for editing);
analyzing the text using a natural language processor (NLP) to generate NLP tokens from the text (paragraph 0059: paragraph text is analyzed (interpreted as the claimed ‘text’) using a tokenization function and a plurality of terms are tokenized such as a first instance of ‘manual control device’ (interpreted as a substring of text within the paragraph of text that has other strings/words) or a first instance of the word ‘controller’ in Fig. 3);
identifying at least a portion of the NLP tokens for a subsequent analysis, wherein the portion of the NLP tokens are generated from a substring included in the text (paragraphs 0059, 0062 and 0063: the same paragraph of text is then traversed to look at a range /portion of words/tokens for subsequent analysis to determine matching or variant matching);
analyzing the substring of the text to generate second NLP tokens (paragraphs 0059, 0060, 0062 and 0063: from the portion of candidate tokens other instances of the earlier tokenized word which are substrings of the same paragraph of text in other various locations of the paragraph of text of Fig. 3 are identified as ‘related instances’ to the first instance of ‘manual control device’ (for example, there is another instance of ‘manual control device’ in a sentence of ‘manual control device’s 42 outputs’, while the first instance is in the sentence of ‘the illustrated manual control device 42 …’.). );
merging the second NLP tokens into the NLP tokens (Fig 5, these additional instances are merged/grouped together with the first instance of ‘manual control device’ via a common hypertext link (paragraph 0061)).
However Kahn does not expressly teach receiving text comprising at least one independent claim; generating unique identifiers associated with at least a portion of NLP tokens; identifying a location in the NLP tokens corresponding to the second NLP tokens based on the unique identifiers; merging the second NLP tokens into the NLP tokens based on the location in the NLP tokens corresponding to the second NLP tokens; generating a patent specification, the patent specification including a description of a flowchart that is generated based on the NLP tokens.
However Schick et al teaches receiving text comprising at least one independent claim; generating [positional/ordered metadata] associated with at least a portion of NLP tokens; identifying a location in the NLP tokens corresponding to the second NLP tokens based on the [positional/ordered metadata]; merging the second NLP tokens into the NLP tokens based on the location in the NLP tokens corresponding to the second NLP tokens; generating a patent specification, the patent specification including a description … based on the NLP tokens (column 6, lines 10-21, column 7, lines 35-67, column 12, lines 45-65, Column 20, lines 15-45, column 24, lines 1-12: text having independent and dependent claims are received and processed such that claim position/claim order is identified with respect to token/text. The token text of an independent claim can include main feature(s) and the dependent claims can include token text identified to be sub-feature(s) of the main feature token(s), such that the sub-features token(s) are merged with their corresponding main-feature token(s) in dependence of claim order/positioning. Patent specification is generated based on the data structures having the tokenized text according to the ordered content of the claims (taking into account the grammatical organization of the tokens)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have modified Kahn’s ability to perform text analysis to generate and merge tokens, such that the text analysis would have been for text that includes claim text, the tokens recognized could have been referenced using positional identifier data that is used to reference a location for the merging of tokens, and the merging could have been to merge token content of sub features to a location of their corresponding main feature token(s), as taught by Schick et al. The combination would have allowed Kahn to have generated a data structure that included ordered content derived from patent claims and also to have derived software components described by the patent claim language to create a patent specification .. .without human intervention (Schick et al, column 1, lines 15-23).
However the combination does not expressly teach generating unique identifiers associated with at least a portion of NLP tokens; identifying a location … based on the unique identifiers …; generating a patent specification, the patent specification including a description of a flowchart.
Yet ASI et al teaches generating unique identifiers associated with at least a portion of NLP tokens; identifying a location … based on the unique identifiers … (Fig 3, paragraph 0033 - 0036: a portion of tokens are identified as a specific token set and can be identified/tagged).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have modified Kahn and Schick et al’s ability to generate positional/ordered metadata for NLP tokens, such that the positional/ordered metadata could have been represented using an identifier such as a tag, as taught by ASI et al. The combination would have allowed Kahn and Schick et al to have improved accuracy of document content analysis when determining contextual meaning within the document.
However the combination does not expressly teach generating a patent specification, the patent specification including a description of a flowchart …
Yet Tran teaches generating a patent specification, the patent specification including a description of a flowchart … (paragraphs 0115 and 0116: tokenized text are used to help generate assistive diagram (descriptive flow chart that diagrams links between tokenized nouns) during a process to generate claim text/segments (considered part of patent specification) by displaying linkage information from dependent(s) to elements/terms in parent claim(s) based upon this relationship/structure being recited in a sentence from a patent disclosure /specification (i.e. a phrase ‘spark plug’ modifies the root element of ‘gas engine’)).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have modified Kahn, Schick et al’s and ASI et al’s ability to preprocess, tokenize text and refine tokenization of the text to produce a grouping of at least two types of tokens to generate a patent specification, such that a particular aspect of the patent specification can be generated, as also taught by Tran. The combination would have allowed Kahn to have reduced costs through a cost-effective, high quality process for generating patent application(s) (Tran, paragraph 0009).
With regards to claim 2, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al and Tran teaches wherein each NLP token comprises at least one grammatical relationship to another NLP token (as explained in the rejection of claim 1 (column 12, lines 45-65, Schick et al teaches each NLP token can have a grammatical organization/relationship to other tokens), and is rejected under similar rationale.
With regards to claim 5. The method of claim 1, the combination Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al and Tran teaches wherein the portion of the NLP tokens comprises a phrase that modifies a root object associated with a line of the text, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 1 (Tran was explained to teach that a ‘spark plug’ token is identified to modify the root element ‘the engine’), and is rejected under similar rationale.
With regards to claim 6. The method of claim 1, the combination of Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al and Tran teaches further comprising: generating claim segments for the at least one independent claim from the NLP tokens based on an analysis of the NLP tokens, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 1 (Tran, paragraphs 0115 and 0116: tokenized text are used to help generate assistive diagram (descriptive flow chart that diagrams links between tokenized nouns) during a process to generate claim text/segments by displaying linkage information from dependent(s) to elements/terms in parent claim(s) based upon this relationship/structure being recited in a sentence from a patent disclosure /specification), and is rejected under similar rationale.
With regards to claim 7. The method of claim 6, the combination of Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al and Tran teaches further comprising: displaying information corresponding to the claim segments, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 1 (Tran, paragraphs 0115 and 0116: tokenized text are used to help generate assistive diagram (descriptive flow chart that diagrams links between tokenized nouns) during a process to generate claim text/segments by displaying linkage information from dependent(s) to elements/terms in parent claim(s) based upon this relationship/structure being recited in a sentence from a patent disclosure /specification), and is rejected under similar rationale.
With regards to claim 8. The method of claim 7, the combination of Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al and Tran teaches wherein a claim segment of the claims segments is linked to a structure that is associated with the at least one independent claim, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 1 (Tran, paragraphs 0115 and 0116: tokenized text are used to help generate assistive diagram (descriptive flow chart that diagrams links between tokenized nouns) during a process to generate claim text/segments by displaying linkage information from dependent(s) to elements/terms in parent claim(s) based upon this relationship/structure being recited in a sentence from a patent disclosure /specification), and is rejected under similar rationale.
With regards to claim 9. The method of claim 8, the combination of Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al and Tran teaches wherein the patent specification includes at least one sentence including the structure and text generated based on the claim segment, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 1 (Tran, paragraphs 0115 and 0116: tokenized text are used to help generate assistive diagram (descriptive flow chart that diagrams links between tokenized nouns) during a process to generate claim text/segments by displaying linkage information from dependent(s) to elements/terms in parent claim(s) based upon this relationship/structure being recited in a sentence from a patent disclosure /specification), and is rejected under similar rationale.
With regards to claim 10. The method of claim 1, the combination of Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al and Tran teaches further comprising: displaying a user interface for interacting with the at least one of the text and the NLP tokens, wherein the patent specification is generated based on interactions within the user interface, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 1 (Tran, paragraphs 0115 and 0116: tokenized text are used to help generate assistive diagram (descriptive flow chart that diagrams links between tokenized nouns) during a process to generate claim text/segments (considered part of patent specification) by displaying linkage information from dependent(s) to elements/terms in parent claim(s) based upon this relationship/structure being recited in a sentence from a patent disclosure /specification), and is rejected under similar rationale.
With regards to claim 11, the combination of Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al and Tran teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions, the instructions, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system to: receive text comprising at least one independent claim; analyze the text using a natural language processor (NLP) to generate NLP tokens from the text; generating unique identifiers associated with at least a portion of NLP tokens; identify at least a portion of the NLP tokens for a subsequent analysis, wherein the portion of the NLP tokens are generated from a substring included in the text; analyze the substring of the text to generate second NLP tokens; identify a location in the NLP tokens corresponding to the second NLP tokens based on the unique identifiers; merge the second NLP tokens into the NLP tokens based on the location in the NLP tokens corresponding to the second NLP tokens; and generate a patent specification, the patent specification including a description of a flowchart that is generated based on the NLP tokens, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 1, and is rejected under similar rationale.
With regards to claim 12, which depends on claim 11, the combination of Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al and Tran teaches wherein each NLP token comprises at least one grammatical relationship to another NLP token, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 2, and is rejected under similar rationale.
With regards to claim 15. The computer readable medium of claim 11, the combination of Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al and Tran teaches wherein the portion of the NLP tokens comprises a phrase that modifies a root object associated with a line of the text, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 5, and is rejected under similar rationale.
With regards to claim 16. The computer readable medium of claim 11, the combination of Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al and Tran teaches wherein the computer readable medium further comprises instructions that, when executed by the computing system, cause the computing system to: generate claim segments for the at least one independent claim from the NLP tokens based on an analysis of the NLP tokens, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 6, and is rejected under similar rationale.
With regards to claim 17. The computer readable medium of claim 16, the combination of Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al and Tran teaches wherein the computer readable medium further comprises instructions that, when executed by the computing system, cause the computing system to: display information corresponding to the claim segments, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 7, and is rejected under similar rationale.
With regards to claim 18. The computer readable medium of claim 17, the combination of Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al and Tran teaches wherein a claim segment of the claim segments is linked to a structure that is associated with the at least one independent claim, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 8, and is rejected under similar rationale.
With regards to claim 19. The computer readable medium of claim 18, the combination of Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al and Tran teaches wherein the patent specification includes at least one sentence including the structure and text generated based on the claim segment, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 9, and is rejected under similar rationale.
With regards to claim 20. The computer readable medium of claim 11, the combination of Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al and Tran teaches wherein the computer readable medium further comprises instructions that, when executed by the computing system, cause the computing system to: display a user interface for interacting with the at least one of the text and the NLP tokens, wherein the patent specification is generated based on interactions within the user interface, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 10, and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 3 and 13 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kahn (US Application: US 2009/0210828, published: Aug. 20, 2009, filed: Feb. 15, 2008) in view of Schick et al (US Patent: 10417341, issued: Sep. 17, 2019, filed: Feb, 9, 2018), in view of ASI et al (US Application: 20190362713, published: Nov. 28, 2019, filed: May 25, 2018) in view of Tran (US Application: US 2013/0317994, published: Nov. 28, 2013, filed: Nov. 13, 2012, cited in applicant submitted IDS) in view of Reisswig (US Application: US 2021/0383067, published: Dec. 9, 2021, filed: Jun. 3, 2020).
With regards to claim 3. The method of claim 2, the combination of Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al, and Tran teaches wherein the unique identifier, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 1, and is rejected under similar rationale.
However the combination does not expressly teach … wherein the unique identifier includes at least one of a claim number, a line identifier, and a token position on associated with the line identifier. .
Yet Reisswig teaches wherein the unique identifier includes at least one of a claim number, a line identifier, and a token position on associated with the line identifier (paragraph 0040: a positional identification is generated via positional encoding of a token in a portion of document text , which includes as part of the encoding, a token position associated with a line number).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have modified Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al and Tran ability to process claim text (having lines) and perform merging of the second NLP tokens with respect to relationship(s) to the other tokens using identifiers (identifiers associated with positioned/ordered claim text tokens), such that a type of identifier value such as a line number could have been recognized as a positional reference as taught by Reisswig. The combination would have allowed Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al and Tran to have allowed for structure recognition in a text document to glean value/text associated with tokens.
With regards to claim 13. The computer readable medium of claim 12, the combination of Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al, Tran and Reisswig teaches wherein the unique identifier includes at least one of a claim number, a line identifier, and a token position on associated with the line identifier, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 3 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 4 and 14 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kahn (US Application: US 2009/0210828, published: Aug. 20, 2009, filed: Feb. 15, 2008) in view of Schick et al (US Patent: 10417341, issued: Sep. 17, 2019, filed: Feb, 9, 2018), in view of ASI et al (US Application: 20190362713, published: Nov. 28, 2019, filed: May 25, 2018) in view of Tran (US Application: US 2013/0317994, published: Nov. 28, 2013, filed: Nov. 13, 2012, cited in applicant submitted IDS) in view of Priyadarshi et al (US Patent: 10747953, issued: Aug. 18, 2020, filed: Jul. 2, 2018, cited in applicant submitted IDS).
With regards to claim 4. The method of claim 1, the combination of Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al, and Tran teaches further comprising: analyzing …. The text to form a relationship …. , wherein the patent specification is generated based on the relationship … , as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 1 (claim text was explained to be processed and tokenized , such that second tokens are merged with first tokens based upon a merge relationship), and is rejected under similar rationale.
However the combination of does not expressly teach analyzing whitespace associated with the text to form a relationship between at least two lines of text separated by a line break, wherein the patent specification is generated based on the relationship of the at least two lines.
Yet Priyadarshi et al teaches analyzing whitespace associated with the text to form a relationship between at least two lines of text separated by a line break, wherein the patent specification is generated based on the relationship of the at least two lines (column 3, lines 40-50: white space such as line spacing (interpreted as spacing between two lines/text) is analyzed and identified from the text as a specific formatting relationship).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have modified Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al and Tran’s ability to analyze claim text to help collect/glean patent information and assist in patent specification generation, such that line spacing is taken into account as part of collection of patent information, as taught by Priyadarshi et al. The combination would have allowed Kahn, Tran, and DeVries to have helped automatically and efficiently created a patent application by identifying formatting features and deriving a document plan using the … formatting features (Priyadarshi et al, column 1, lines 45-65).
With regards to claim 14. The computer readable medium of claim 11, the combination of Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al, Tran, Priyadarshi et al teaches wherein the computer readable medium further comprises instructions that, when executed by the computing system, cause the computing system to: analyze whitespace associated with the text to form a relationship between at least two lines of text separated by a line break, wherein the patent specification is generated based on the relationship of the at least two lines, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 4, and is rejected under similar rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to claim 1, the applicant argues the newly amended “NLP tokens are generated from a substring included in the text” and “analyzing the substring of the text to generate second NLP tokens” are sufficient to overcome the Kahn reference. However this argument is not persuasive since as explained above, paragraph 0059 of Kahn explains that paragraph text is analyzed (interpreted as the claimed ‘text’) using a tokenization function and a plurality of terms are tokenized such as a first instance of ‘manual control device’ (interpreted as a substring of text within the paragraph of text that has other strings/words) or a first instance of the word ‘controller’ in Fig. 3). Subsequently, Kahn explains in paragraphs 0059, 0062 and 0063 that the same paragraph of text is then traversed to look at a range /portion of words/tokens for subsequent analysis to determine matching or variant matching. Finally, Kahn explains in paragraphs 0059, 0060, 0062 and 0063: from the portion of candidate tokens other instances of the earlier tokenized word which are substrings of the same paragraph of text in other various locations of the paragraph of text of Fig. 3 are identified as ‘related instances’ to the first instance of ‘manual control device’ (for example, there is another instance of ‘manual control device’ in a sentence of ‘manual control device’s 42 outputs’, while the first instance is in the sentence of ‘the illustrated manual control device 42 …’.). Thus, the amended limitations are still taught by the combination of Kahn, Schick et al’s, ASI et al and Tran.
In the interest of expediting the prosecution, the examiner points out the claimed ‘substring’ is broad in scope and still encompasses any string within the original text including text of first instances of generated NLP tokens. Furthermore the amendments do not indicate how the substring is referenced to generate additional second NLP tokens, while in Fig 4 of the instant application, it appears the substring the applicant is referring to selecting only terms that are identified as ‘common terms’, and then according to paragraph 0066 of the instant application’s specification , “ in response to identifying the common terms, generating segments of text based on the common terms and transmitting the segments of text to the server for a second NLP analysis” PRIOR to receiving a second set of NLP tokens (see paragraph 0067). Thus, the substring of text is not directly analyzed, but rather generated segments of text are analyzed to produce the second set of NLP tokens. The examiner suggests the applicant consider these paragraphs to be consistent with the specification and also for additional areas of clarification concerning the generation of text based on common terms and the generating of second tokens based on the analysis of the generated text.
The applicant argues claim 11 is allowable for reasons explained by the applicant for claim 1. However this argument is not persuasive since claim 1 has been shown/explained to be rejected.
The applicant argues the claims that depend upon independent claims 1 or 11 are allowable due to their dependency upon their corresponding independent claim. However this argument is not persuasive since the independent claims have been shown/explained to be rejected above.
Conclusion
/WILSON W TSUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172