DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s amendment filed on October 2, 2025 is acknowledged. Currently Claims 1-25 and 28-29 are pending. Claims 28-29 are new.
Applicant's arguments with respect independent claims 1, 10 and 21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Amended claims 1, 10 and 21 results in a different scope than that of the originally presented Claims 1, 10 and 21 respectively.
On page 17 of the applicant’s remarks, the applicant states, “The Office Action cites paragraph [0017] of Desai as teaching a plurality of supporting evidence from one or more evidence sources. Paragraph [0017] of Desai describes capturing one or more aerial images. The aerial images of Desai are not supplemental to image data; rather, they are images themselves. Desai only describes analyzing the aerial images and does not disclose any data sources that are supplemental to the aerial images”
The examiner asserts that the claims do not differentiate that the supporting evidence cannot be the images itself. Paragraph [0067] in the applicant’s published application states, “The supporting evidence can include one or more photographs and/or satellite images from a public or commercial source, as discussed above” Therefore the examiner’s interpretation is consistent with the applicant’s definition.
The newly amended claim limitation “wherein the one or more evidence sources are supplemental to the image data” The examiner interprets that the evidence sources is where the source of the image is from as in an evidence source is a camera that generates the image.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 10 and 21 contain the limitation, “receiving a plurality of supporting evidence from one or more evidence sources, wherein the one or more evidence sources are supplemental to the image data.” Support was provided by the applicant in the published application, Paragraph [0063]. However, the paragraph cited only provided examples of what the supporting evidence could be “In one or more examples, the supporting evidence can include, in addition to or alternatively, supplemental data from one or more alternative data sources” It implies that the image data is supplemental to evidence sources but does not imply that evidence sources are supplemental to the image data. Appropriate corrections are required. The dependent claims do not alleviate the issues and are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desai et al. US2022/0366167 hereinafter referred to as Desai in view of Lin et al. US2021/0271707 hereinafter referred to as Lin.
As per Claim 1, Desai teaches the method for identifying objects of interest from image data, the method comprising:
receiving a plurality of supporting evidence from one or more evidence sources; wherein the one or more evidence sources are supplemental to the image data; (Desai, Paragraph [0017], “The aerial imaging device 110 captures one or more aerial images of the geographic area 115. For example, the aerial imaging device 110 may capture a static image at a particular time or capture a sequence of images over a period of time” The imaging device is supplemental to the image data that it captured.)
segmenting one or more potential objects of interest from the one or more selected candidate images, wherein segmenting the one or more potential objects of interest from the one or more selected candidate images comprises applying one or more segmentation analytics to the one or more selected candidate images to identify the one or more potential objects of interest; (Desai, Paragraph [0062], “The aircraft classification system 120 receives 510 an aerial image of a geographic area that includes one or more aircrafts. The aerial image may be received from an aerial imaging device (e.g., the aerial imaging device 110). The aircraft classification system 120 inputs 520 the aerial image into a machine learning model (e.g., the machine learning model 210). For example, the aerial image may be provided (e.g., via the bus 408) to the machine learning model from the aerial image data store 130. The aircraft classification system 120 receives 530 an output for each aircraft (e.g., the output image 330 with a bounding polygon corresponding to each aircraft, a classification for each aircraft, and a plurality of keypoints for each aircraft) from the machine learning model”)
selecting at least one classifier from a plurality of classifiers based on the segmentation of the one or more potential objects of interest; determining, using the at least one classifier, determining whether each of the one or more segmented potential objects of interest is an object of interest; determining an object type for each identified object of interest; and determining whether each identified object of interest is a specific known object of interest. (Desai, Paragraph [0031], [0063], “The aircraft classification system 120 identifies 560, based on the comparison, a known set of geometric measurements from the plurality of known sets of geometric measurements. The sub-classification determination engine 230 may identify the known set of geometric measurements due to the geometric measurements of the known set being within a predetermined threshold of the geometric measurements of the set of geometric measurements. The identified known set is mapped by a database (e.g., the aircraft data store 150) to a sub-classification. The aircraft classification system 120 outputs 570 the sub-classification. The sub-classification may be displayed (e.g., via a graphics display 410) to a user of the aircraft classification system 120”)
particular geolocation at a particular time; (Desai, [0022], “In addition to transmitting the captured aerial image(s), the aerial imaging device 110 transmits the location information for the geographic area 115 captured in the aerial image(s) to the aircraft classification system 120 for storage in the aerial image data store 130. In some embodiments, the aerial imaging device 110 may transmit metadata regarding itself to the aerial image data store 130, such as a time of image captured (e.g., local time or universal time/GMT), a geospatial and/or geographical location of device 110”)
Desai does not explicitly teach identifying an indicator from the plurality of supporting evidence that indicates an object of interest may be located in a particular geolocation;
selecting one or more candidate images from a plurality of digital images based on the indicator;
Lin teaches identifying an indicator from the plurality of supporting evidence that indicates an object of interest may be located in a particular geolocation;
selecting one or more candidate images from a plurality of digital images based on the indicator; (Lin, Paragraph [0078], “identifies a subset of the set of images (e.g., candidate image results) associated with the text input of the search query. For instance, the joint embedding model 112 can use the text input to determine textual information associated with the search query. In this example, the joint embedding model 112 obtains textual information that provides contextual information used to retrieve candidate images, including images 510-528 based on the contextual information… In addition, the joint embedding model 112 may utilized the geotag to generate more accurate search results. For instance, the joint embedding model 112 may select a subset of a subset of candidate image results (e.g., image results or images 510-528) based on a presence of the geotag”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Lin into Desai because by utilizing means to select subset of images to process will reduce the number of images for the algorithm need to process and provide the user with relevant images for object identification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine the two references to obtain the invention in Claim 1.
As per Claim 2, Desai in view of Lin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining whether each of the one or more segmented potential objects of interest is an object of interest comprises applying one or more object detection analytics comprising one or more object detection classifiers to the one or more selected candidate images. (Desai, Paragraph [0062]-[0063], [0031], “For example, the aerial image may be provided (e.g., via the bus 408) to the machine learning model from the aerial image data store 130. The aircraft classification system 120 receives 530 an output for each aircraft (e.g., the output image 330 with a bounding polygon corresponding to each aircraft, a classification for each aircraft, and a plurality of keypoints for each aircraft) from the machine learning model” and “The identified known set is mapped by a database (e.g., the aircraft data store 150) to a sub-classification. The aircraft classification system 120 outputs 570 the sub-classification”)
The rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein.
As per Claim 3, Desai in view of Lin teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the one or more object detection analytics identify one or more environmental characteristics in the one or more selected candidate images, and determining whether each of the one or more segmented potential objects of interest is an object of interest comprises: selecting one or more scene classifiers from a plurality of scene classifiers based on the identified one or more environmental characteristics; and applying one or more scene analytics comprising the one or more selected scene classifiers to the one or more selected candidate images. (Lin, Paragraph [0078], “For instance, the joint embedding model 112 can determine contextual information from the textual information that provides a geospatial relationship associated with more relevant candidate image results that include content tags or image feature vectors associate with Prague, Czech Republic. For instance, the on the contextual information. For instance, the joint may retrieve candidate image results based on a specific geolocation associated with the astronomical clock tower in Prague, Czech Republic (e.g., a geotag corresponding to the location of the astronomical clock tower in Prague, Czech Republic). In addition, the joint embedding model 112 may utilized the geotag to generate more accurate search results. For instance, the joint embedding model 112 may select a subset of a subset of candidate image results (e.g., image results or images 510-528) based on a presence of the geotag” and Desai, Figure 5, S530-S570, Paragraph [0062]-[0063])
The rationale applied to the rejection of claim 2 has been incorporated herein.
As per Claim 4, Desai in view of Lin teaches the method of claim 2, wherein determining the object type for each identified object of interest comprises: selecting one or more object type classifiers from a plurality of object type classifiers; and applying one or more object type analytics comprising the one or more selected object type classifiers to the one or more selected candidate images. (Desai, Figure 5, S530-S570, Paragraph [0062]-[0063], [0031], “For example, the aerial image may be provided (e.g., via the bus 408) to the machine learning model from the aerial image data store 130. The aircraft classification system 120 receives 530 an output for each aircraft (e.g., the output image 330 with a bounding polygon corresponding to each aircraft, a classification for each aircraft, and a plurality of keypoints for each aircraft) from the machine learning model” and “The identified known set is mapped by a database (e.g., the aircraft data store 150) to a sub-classification. The aircraft classification system 120 outputs 570 the sub-classification”)
The rationale applied to the rejection of claim 2 has been incorporated herein.
As per Claim 5, Desai in view of Lin teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the one or more object type classifiers are selected based on the results of applying the one or more object detection analytics. (Desai, Figure 5, S530-S570, Paragraph [0062]-[0063], [0031], “For example, the aerial image may be provided (e.g., via the bus 408) to the machine learning model from the aerial image data store 130. The aircraft classification system 120 receives 530 an output for each aircraft (e.g., the output image 330 with a bounding polygon corresponding to each aircraft, a classification for each aircraft, and a plurality of keypoints for each aircraft) from the machine learning model” and “The identified known set is mapped by a database (e.g., the aircraft data store 150) to a sub-classification. The aircraft classification system 120 outputs 570 the sub-classification”)
The rationale applied to the rejection of claim 4 has been incorporated herein.
As per Claim 6, Desai in view of Lin teaches the method of claim 4, wherein determining whether each identified object of interest is a specific known object of interest comprises: selecting one or more known object classifiers from a plurality of known object classifiers; and applying one or more known object analytics comprising the one or more selected known object classifiers to the one or more selected candidate images. (Desai, Figure 5, S530-S570, Paragraph [0062]-[0063], [0031], “For example, the aerial image may be provided (e.g., via the bus 408) to the machine learning model from the aerial image data store 130. The aircraft classification system 120 receives 530 an output for each aircraft (e.g., the output image 330 with a bounding polygon corresponding to each aircraft, a classification for each aircraft, and a plurality of keypoints for each aircraft) from the machine learning model” and “The identified known set is mapped by a database (e.g., the aircraft data store 150) to a sub-classification. The aircraft classification system 120 outputs 570 the sub-classification”)
The rationale applied to the rejection of claim 4 has been incorporated herein.
As per Claim 7, Desai in view of Lin teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the one or more known object classifiers are selected based on the results of applying the one or more object type analytics. (Desai, Figure 5, S530-S570, Paragraph [0062]-[0063], [0031], “For example, the aerial image may be provided (e.g., via the bus 408) to the machine learning model from the aerial image data store 130. The aircraft classification system 120 receives 530 an output for each aircraft (e.g., the output image 330 with a bounding polygon corresponding to each aircraft, a classification for each aircraft, and a plurality of keypoints for each aircraft) from the machine learning model” and “The identified known set is mapped by a database (e.g., the aircraft data store 150) to a sub-classification. The aircraft classification system 120 outputs 570 the sub-classification”)
The rationale applied to the rejection of claim 6 has been incorporated herein.
As per Claim 8, Desai in view of Lin teaches the method of claim 1, comprising generating assessment data based on the indicator and embedding the assessment data as metadata in one or more selected candidate images. (Lin, Paragraph [0078], “identifies a subset of the set of images (e.g., candidate image results) associated with the text input of the search query. For instance, the joint embedding model 112 can use the text input to determine textual information associated with the search query. In this example, the joint embedding model 112 obtains textual information that provides contextual information used to retrieve candidate images, including images 510-528 based on the contextual information… In addition, the joint embedding model 112 may utilized the geotag to generate more accurate search results. For instance, the joint embedding model 112 may select a subset of a subset of candidate image results (e.g., image results or images 510-528) based on a presence of the geotag” and Desai, paragraph [0022], use of metadata. )
The rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein.
As per Claim 9, Desai in view of Lin teaches the method of claim 1, comprising determining one or more status indicators about the one or more identified objects of interest and embedding the one or more status indicators as metadata that accompanies the one or more selected candidate images. (Desai, [0022], “In addition to transmitting the captured aerial image(s), the aerial imaging device 110 transmits the location information for the geographic area 115 captured in the aerial image(s) to the aircraft classification system 120 for storage in the aerial image data store 130. In some embodiments, the aerial imaging device 110 may transmit metadata regarding itself to the aerial image data store 130, such as a time of image captured (e.g., local time or universal time/GMT), a geospatial and/or geographical location of device 110”)
The rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein.
As per Claim 10, Claim 10 claims a system for performing the method as claimed in Claim 1. Claim 10 additionally claims a memory; one or more processors (Desai, Paragraph [0006]) Therefore the rejection and rationale are analogous to that made in Claim 1.
As per Claim 11-18, Claims 11-18 claims the same limitation as Claims 2-9 and are dependent on a similarly rejected independent claim. Therefore the rejection and rationale are analogous to that made in Claims 2-9.
As per Claim 19, Claim 19 claims a non-transitory computer readable medium storing one or more programs(Desai, Paragraph [0006]) for executing the method of Claim 1. Therefore the rejection and rationale are analogous to that made in Claim 1.
As per Claim 20-25, Claims 20-25 claims the same limitation as Claims 2-7 and are dependent on a similarly rejected independent claim. Therefore the rejection and rationale are analogous to that made in Claims 2-7.
Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desai et al. US2022/0366167 hereinafter referred to as Desai in view of Lin et al. US2021/0271707 hereinafter referred to as Lin as applied to Claims 1 and 10 respectively and further in view of Choi et al. US2021/0117774 hereinafter referred to as Choi.
As per Claim 28, Desai in view of Lin teaches the method of claim 1, comprising, prior to selecting the one or more candidate images from the plurality of digital images,
Desai in view of Lin does not explicitly teach controlling, based on the indicator, at least one surveillance system to obtain the plurality of digital images.
Choi teaches controlling, based on the indicator, at least one surveillance system to obtain the plurality of digital images. (Choi, Paragraph [0038], “aircraft such as unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) or other remotely piloted vehicles, autonomous airborne vehicles or the like, may carry cameras for capturing aerial images for inspection, survey and surveillance in which the ANN classifier may be applied to detect and classify objects depicted in the images”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Choi into Desai in view of Lin because by utilizing the aerial device of Desai for use of surveillance as disclosed in Choi will provide additional application/uses for the aerial device of Desai.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine the three references to obtain the invention in Claim 28.
As per Claim 29, Claim 29 claims the same limitation as Claim 28 and are dependent on a similarly rejected independent claim. Therefore the rejection and rationale are analogous to that made in Claim 28.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MING Y HON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666