DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendments filed 03/16/2026. Claims 9-15, 20-22 are pending in this application. As directed, claims 9, 10, 12 have been amended; claims 1-8, 16-19 cancelled; claims 20-22 have been newly added.
With respect to Claim Objections: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the Claim Objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 12/17/2025.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 112 Claim Rejections: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 12/17/2025. However, the Applicant’s amendments to the Claims filed on 03/16/2026 have created another 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections, see details in the 35 U.S.C. 112 Claim Rejections section below.
Response to Arguments
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 & 103 Claim Rejections: Applicant(s)’ arguments filed 03/16/2026 have been fully considered but are moot based on new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendments. Specifically, the newly cited prior art Trant et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0220378 A1, newly cited) has been applied to teach the newly added limitations recited in the independent claim 9, see the detailed rejections in the 35 U.S.C. 103 Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites “The method of claim 1” in line 1. However, claim 1 has been cancelled. Therefore, it is unclear from which claim claim 20 depends. For examination purposes, claim 20 will be interpreted as depending from independent claim 9.
Claim 21 is rejected by virtue of its dependence on claim 20.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “the height” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no height of the portable heating system recited previously.
Claim 22 recites “The method of claim 1” in line 1. However, claim 1 has been cancelled. Therefore, it is unclear from which claim claim 22 depends. For examination purposes, claim 22 will be interpreted as depending from independent claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12, 14-15, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenkins et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0051078 A1, previously cited) in view of Trant et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0220378 A1, newly cited).
Regarding claim 9, Jenkins discloses a method (Jenkins Figs.1-4B) comprising:
receiving a profile (“Receiving instruction and/or information”, block 405 as shown in Jenkins Fig.4A) by a controller (Automated Cooking Control system 240, Jenkins Fig.2) (Jenkins Par.0065 discloses: “FIGS. 4A-4B are a flow diagram of an example embodiment of a Cooking Control routine 400. The routine may be provided by, for example, execution of an embodiment of the module 243 of the ACC system 240 of FIG. 2 and/or as part of the ACC system 190 of FIG. 1, such as to perform various types of automated operations related to controlling cooking-related equipment as part of related cooking episodes.”) of a heating system (“food preparation system”, Jenkins Abstract or as shown in Jenkins Fig.6, food preparation system 600), the profile (“instruction and/or information”, Jenkins Fig.4A & Par.0066) comprising an initial designated temperature and an initial duration for a designated machine (“stove top” or “oven”, Jenkins Par.0032 because Jenkins Par.0032 discloses: “control activation and heating (or other temperature modification) for one or more cooking locations (e.g., one or more cooking surfaces or other pieces of cooking equipment, such as a stove top heating element, an oven, etc.)”) (Jenkins Par.0066 discloses the instructions and/or information includes recipes, and recipe includes temperate and time for heating the stove top or oven, specifically, Jenkins Par.0066 discloses: “The illustrated embodiment of the routine 400 begins at block 405, where instructions and/or information are received. The routine then continues to block 410 to determine whether the instructions or information received in block 405 indicate to determine one or more automated control recipes to use based on user input … In addition, in at least some embodiments, the user may further be provided with a GUI that enables the user to modify a particular automated control recipe in one or more manners (e.g., to adjust times, temperatures, portion sizes, etc.), to select metadata about the automated control recipe (e.g., desired doneness level, such as rare, medium rare, etc.; thickness, size, or weight of a particular instance of food to be cooked, such as a 1″ thick steak, etc.), and/or to indicate to integrate or otherwise coordinate multiple automated control recipes in various manners, and if so the routine may further store any such user instructions for current or later use.”);
measuring an ambient temperature (Jenkins discloses the step of measuring ambient temperature because Jenkins Par.0067 discloses: “Such adjustments may include adjusting times, temperatures, or other aspects of the automated control recipes for one or more reasons, such as to reflect user preferences, an amount/size/shape of food being prepared, environmental conditions (e.g., altitude, humidity, external temperature, etc.), etc. The factors used for the adjustments may further be determined in various manners, such as based on input from the user and/or based on automated readings or other determinations of the ACC system.”);
measuring an ambient humidity (Jenkins discloses the step of measuring ambient humidity because Jenkins Par.0067 discloses: “Such adjustments may include adjusting times, temperatures, or other aspects of the automated control recipes for one or more reasons, such as to reflect user preferences, an amount/size/shape of food being prepared, environmental conditions (e.g., altitude, humidity, external temperature, etc.), etc. The factors used for the adjustments may further be determined in various manners, such as based on input from the user and/or based on automated readings or other determinations of the ACC system.”);
determining an adjusted temperature and an adjusted duration based upon the ambient temperature, the ambient humidity, and the initial duration (Jenkins discloses the step of determining an adjusted temperature and an adjusted duration based upon the ambient temperature, the ambient humidity, and the initial duration because Jenkins Par.0067 discloses: “Such adjustments may include adjusting times, temperatures, or other aspects of the automated control recipes for one or more reasons, such as to reflect user preferences, an amount/size/shape of food being prepared, environmental conditions (e.g., altitude, humidity, external temperature, etc.), etc. The factors used for the adjustments may further be determined in various manners, such as based on input from the user and/or based on automated readings or other determinations of the ACC system.”, this step is shown in Jenkins Fig.4A – block 430; it is further noted that the initial duration is included because Jenkins Par.0066 discloses the instructions and/or information includes recipes, and recipe includes temperate and time for heating the stove top or oven, specifically, Jenkins Par.0066 discloses: “The illustrated embodiment of the routine 400 begins at block 405, where instructions and/or information are received. The routine then continues to block 410 to determine whether the instructions or information received in block 405 indicate to determine one or more automated control recipes to use based on user input … In addition, in at least some embodiments, the user may further be provided with a GUI that enables the user to modify a particular automated control recipe in one or more manners (e.g., to adjust times, temperatures, portion sizes, etc.), to select metadata about the automated control recipe (e.g., desired doneness level, such as rare, medium rare, etc.; thickness, size, or weight of a particular instance of food to be cooked, such as a 1″ thick steak, etc.), and/or to indicate to integrate or otherwise coordinate multiple automated control recipes in various manners, and if so the routine may further store any such user instructions for current or later use.”);
producing a current within a heating element (“heating element”, Jenkins Par.0032) of the heating system (“food preparation system”, Jenkins Abstract or as shown in Jenkins Fig.6, food preparation system 600) responsive to the adjusted temperature and the adjusted duration (Jenkins Figs.4A-4B show a flow diagram of a Cooking Control routine for heating the stove top or oven at adjusted recipe with adjusted temperature and adjusted duration via heating element as explained in Jenkins Pars.0032, 0067; therefore, current is produced within the heating element responsive to the adjusted temperature and the adjusted duration), the heating element (“heating element”, Jenkins Par.0032) electrically coupled to the controller (Automated Cooking Control system 240, Jenkins Fig.2) (Jenkins discloses the heating element electrically coupled to the controller because the controller is configured to activate the heating element to perform heating operation, specifically, Jenkins Par.0032 discloses: “Among other things, techniques are described herein for automated control of at least some parts of a food cooking process, such as to control activation and heating (or other temperature modification) for one or more cooking locations (e.g., one or more cooking surfaces or other pieces of cooking equipment, such as a stove top heating element, an oven, etc.). In at least some such embodiments, such automated control includes using an automated control recipe that has defined instructions used to automatically control at least some aspects (e.g., surface temperature) of one or more cooking equipment pieces (e.g., a pan on a stove cooking surface) as part of a cooking episode that involves cooking or otherwise preparing one or more food dishes or other pieces of food, as discussed in greater detail below and elsewhere herein. Use of such an automated control recipe for a particular cooking episode may further include coordinating actions of a human user who is participating in the cooking episode, including to display or otherwise provide instructions or other information to the user, such as to manipulate a particular cooking equipment piece in a particular manner (e.g., to place a particular pan on a particular stove cooking surface), to manipulate food being prepared in a particular manner (e.g., to place indicated food in the pan, to stir or flip the food already in the pan, etc.), as is also discussed in greater detail below and elsewhere herein.”);
heating the designated machine (“stove top” or “oven”, Jenkins Par.0032) at the adjusted temperature for the adjusted duration via the heating element (“heating element”, Jenkins Par.0032) (Jenkins Figs.4A-4B show a flow diagram of a Cooking Control routine for heating the stove top or oven at adjusted recipe with adjusted temperature and adjusted duration via heating element as explained in Jenkins Pars.0032, 0067); and
recording a completion of heating the designated machine (“stove top” or “oven”, Jenkins Par.0032) for the adjusted duration at the adjusted temperature (Jenkins Figs.4A-4B show a flow diagram of a Cooking Control routine for heating the stove top or oven at adjusted recipe with adjusted temperature and adjusted duration as explained in Jenkins Par.0067; and Jenkins discloses recording the completion of heating the stove top or oven at adjusted recipe with adjusted temperature and adjusted duration because Jenkins Par.0033 discloses: “the automated operations of the ACC system may in some embodiments include assisting a user in creating a new automated control recipe (e.g., by recording at least some cooking-related actions taken by the user during a cooking episode)”, Jenkins Par.0071 discloses: “In particular, if the indicated cooking episode includes a user performing manual manipulations of some or all of the control equipment to enable recording a new automated control recipe based on the user actions, the routine continues to block 468 to identify the beginning of the control equipment usage by the user (e.g., based on a user indication, or by detecting initial manipulation of one or more such control equipment pieces), and begins recording the control equipment usage actions taken by the user.”, and Jenkins Par.0076 discloses: “After block 474, if the cooking mode is to record a new automated control recipe, the routine continues to block 478 to continue recording the control equipment usage and corresponding measurements from any measurement equipment involved in the cooking episode, as well as to monitor in block 480 for any problems that occur during the cooking episode and to take appropriate actions if detected, with blocks 478 and 480 being repeated until the user indicates to stop recording or otherwise indicates the end of the cooking episode (e.g., by turning off all of the control equipment).”)
Jenkins does not explicitly disclose:
the heating system is portable heating system comprising a battery and a solar panel electrically coupled to the battery and configured to convert solar energy to electricity to charge the battery;
a thermal sensor of the portable heating system, the thermal sensor electrically coupled to the controller and configured to produce a temperature stream indicative of the detected ambient temperature;
a humidity sensor of the portable heating system, the humidity sensor electrically coupled to the controller and configured to produce a humidity stream indicative of the detected ambient humidity;
the heating element electrically coupled to the battery
Trant teaches a method (Trant Abstract & Fig.1A) comprising:
the heating system (appliance 170, Trant Fig.1A) is portable heating system (Trant Par.0036 teaches the appliance 170 is a portable oven) comprising a battery (“battery”, Trant Par.0047) and a solar panel (“photovoltaic power system”, Trant Par.0047; it is known that a photovoltaic (PV) system is a solar power system) electrically coupled to the battery (“battery”, Trant Par.0047) and configured to convert solar energy to electricity to charge the battery (“battery”, Trant Par.0047) (Trant Par.0047 teaches: “the power supply 140 can include a battery, a localized photovoltaic power system, or some other source of independent power”; it is known that a photovoltaic (PV) system is a solar power system configured to convert solar energy to electricity to charge battery);
a thermal sensor (temperature sensor is one sensor of the plurality of sensors 151, Trant Fig.1 & Par.0041; specifically, Trant Par.0041 teaches: “The one or more sensors 151 can be any type of sensing device that measures one or more parameters. Examples of types of sensors 151 can include, but are not limited to, a passive infrared sensor, a photocell, a differential pressure sensor, a humidity sensor, a pressure sensor, a flow meter, a gas detector, and a resistance temperature detector. Parameters that can be measured by a sensor 151 can include, but are not limited to, flow rate, movement, pressure, ambient light, infrared light, temperature, humidity, and ambient temperature.”) of the portable heating system (appliance 170, Trant Fig.1A), the thermal sensor (temperature sensor is one sensor of the plurality of sensors 151, Trant Fig.1 & Par.0041) electrically coupled to the controller (controller 104, Trant Fig.1B) (Trant Par.0041 teaches: “The parameters measured by the sensors 151 can be used by the controller 104 of the appliance system 135 to operate the appliance system 135.”; it is noted that the appliance 170 includes the appliance system 135, as indicated by Trant Par.0026) and configured to produce a temperature stream indicative of the detected ambient temperature (Trant Par.0041 teaches: “The one or more sensors 151 can be any type of sensing device that measures one or more parameters. Examples of types of sensors 151 can include, but are not limited to, a passive infrared sensor, a photocell, a differential pressure sensor, a humidity sensor, a pressure sensor, a flow meter, a gas detector, and a resistance temperature detector. Parameters that can be measured by a sensor 151 can include, but are not limited to, flow rate, movement, pressure, ambient light, infrared light, temperature, humidity, and ambient temperature. The parameters measured by the sensors 151 can be used by the controller 104 of the appliance system 135 to operate the appliance system 135.”);
a humidity sensor (humidity sensor is one sensor of the plurality of sensors 151, Trant Fig.1 & Par.0041; specifically, Trant Par.0041 teaches: “The one or more sensors 151 can be any type of sensing device that measures one or more parameters. Examples of types of sensors 151 can include, but are not limited to, a passive infrared sensor, a photocell, a differential pressure sensor, a humidity sensor, a pressure sensor, a flow meter, a gas detector, and a resistance temperature detector. Parameters that can be measured by a sensor 151 can include, but are not limited to, flow rate, movement, pressure, ambient light, infrared light, temperature, humidity, and ambient temperature.”) of the portable heating system (appliance 170, Trant Fig.1A), the humidity sensor (humidity sensor is one sensor of the plurality of sensors 151, Trant Fig.1 & Par.0041) electrically coupled to the controller (controller 104, Trant Fig.1B) (Trant Par.0041 teaches: “The parameters measured by the sensors 151 can be used by the controller 104 of the appliance system 135 to operate the appliance system 135.”; it is noted that the appliance 170 includes the appliance system 135, as indicated by Trant Par.0026) and configured to produce a humidity stream indicative of the detected ambient humidity (Trant Par.0041 teaches: “The one or more sensors 151 can be any type of sensing device that measures one or more parameters. Examples of types of sensors 151 can include, but are not limited to, a passive infrared sensor, a photocell, a differential pressure sensor, a humidity sensor, a pressure sensor, a flow meter, a gas detector, and a resistance temperature detector. Parameters that can be measured by a sensor 151 can include, but are not limited to, flow rate, movement, pressure, ambient light, infrared light, temperature, humidity, and ambient temperature. The parameters measured by the sensors 151 can be used by the controller 104 of the appliance system 135 to operate the appliance system 135.”);
the heating element (heating element of the appliance 170 because the appliance 170 is portable oven, as indicated by Trant Par.0036) electrically coupled to the battery (“battery”, Trant Par.0047) (Trant Par.0047 teaches: “the power supply 140 can include a battery, a localized photovoltaic power system, or some other source of independent power”; see the power supply 140 in Trant Fig.1A. It is noted that the power supply 140 of the appliance 170 provides power for the appliance 170, thus, the heating element of the appliance 170 electrically coupled to the power source of the power supply 140 (i.e., the battery).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify Jenkins, by adding the teachings of the heating system is portable heating system comprising a battery and a solar panel electrically coupled to the battery and configured to convert solar energy to electricity to charge the battery; a thermal sensor of the portable heating system, the thermal sensor electrically coupled to the controller and configured to produce a temperature stream indicative of the detected ambient temperature; a humidity sensor of the portable heating system, the humidity sensor electrically coupled to the controller and configured to produce a humidity stream indicative of the detected ambient humidity; and the heating element electrically coupled to the battery, as taught by Trant, in order to enable the heating system to be used in remote and mobile environments without reliance on wall power, improve energy efficiency and operational duration through solar-assisted battery charging, allow the controller to dynamically adjust heating parameters based on detected ambient temperature and humidity conditions obtained from the sensors; therefore, improve heating consistency, temperature regulation accuracy and cooking performance under varying environmental conditions.
Regarding claim 10, Jenkins in view of Trant teaches the method set forth in claim 9, Jenkins also discloses
wherein the initial designated temperature is different from the adjusted temperature (Jenkins discloses adjusting temperature from initial temperature because Jenkins Par.0067 discloses: “Such adjustments may include adjusting times, temperatures, or other aspects of the automated control recipes for one or more reasons, such as to reflect user preferences, an amount/size/shape of food being prepared, environmental conditions (e.g., altitude, humidity, external temperature, etc.), etc. The factors used for the adjustments may further be determined in various manners, such as based on input from the user and/or based on automated readings or other determinations of the ACC system.”, this step is shown in Jenkins Fig.4A – block 430; therefore, Jenkins discloses the initial designated temperature is different from the adjusted temperature).
Regarding claim 11, Jenkins in view of Trant teaches the method set forth in claim 9, and Jenkins also discloses
wherein the adjusted duration is different from the initial duration (Jenkins discloses adjusting duration from initial duration because Jenkins Par.0067 discloses: “Such adjustments may include adjusting times, temperatures, or other aspects of the automated control recipes for one or more reasons, such as to reflect user preferences, an amount/size/shape of food being prepared, environmental conditions (e.g., altitude, humidity, external temperature, etc.), etc. The factors used for the adjustments may further be determined in various manners, such as based on input from the user and/or based on automated readings or other determinations of the ACC system.”, this step is shown in Jenkins Fig.4A – block 430; therefore, Jenkins discloses the adjusted duration is different from the initial duration).
Regarding claim 12, Jenkins in view of Trant teaches the method set forth in claim 9, and Jenkins also discloses further comprising,
after recording the completion of the heating, updating information in a database (database includes recipes and information 221-227 & 229 stored in the storage 220 [Jenkins Fig.2] and information “on one or more external storage devices (not shown)” [Jenkins Par.0052]) (Jenkins discloses after recording the completion of the heating, updating information in database because Jenkins Par.0076 discloses: “After block 474, if the cooking mode is to record a new automated control recipe, the routine continues to block 478 to continue recording the control equipment usage and corresponding measurements from any measurement equipment involved in the cooking episode, as well as to monitor in block 480 for any problems that occur during the cooking episode and to take appropriate actions if detected, with blocks 478 and 480 being repeated until the user indicates to stop recording or otherwise indicates the end of the cooking episode (e.g., by turning off all of the control equipment).”, Jenkins Par.0078 discloses: “After block 482, if the cooking mode is the record mode, the routine continues to block 486 to store the new automated control recipe based on the recorded control usage actions, optionally along with corresponding measurements or other information available (e.g., images of the final results and/or intermediate steps of the cooking episode, such as may be supplied by the user throughout the cooking episode or at the end), such as in accordance with any user instructions.”, and Jenkins Par.0052 discloses: “various types of information may be stored and used by the system 240 during operation, such as on storage 220 and/or on one or more external storage devices (not shown). Such information includes, for example, automated control recipes 221, information about cooking-related equipment that includes cooking equipment information 222 and control equipment information 223 and measurement equipment information 224, information about particular user cooking episodes 225, profile information for one or more users 226, security information 227 for use in controlling access to some or all operations of the system 240 and/or controlled cooking-related equipment, and optionally other information 229”), by the controller (Automated Cooking Control system 240, Jenkins Fig.2) (Jenkins discloses the storing and updating of new recorded recipe is performed by Automated Cooking Control system 240 because Jenkins Par.0054 discloses: “As part of such automated operations, the module 243 may use various information including automated control recipes 221, cooking-related equipment information 222-224, user profile information 226, and security information 227, including to retrieve stored information and/or to store new information. The module 243 may further record and store information 225 about particular cooking episodes, as well as to provide such information to other computing devices 280”).
Regarding claim 14, Jenkins in view of Trant teaches the method set forth in claim 12, and Jenkins also discloses
wherein updating the information in the database (database includes recipes and information 221-227 & 229 stored in the storage 220 [Jenkins Fig.2] and information “on one or more external storage devices (not shown)” [Jenkins Par.0052]) by the controller (Automated Cooking Control system 240, Jenkins Fig.2) comprises updating the database (database includes recipes and information 221-227 & 229 stored in the storage 220 [Jenkins Fig.2] and information “on one or more external storage devices (not shown)” [Jenkins Par.0052]) by a wireless network (Jenkins Par.0057 discloses: “The systems, modules and data structures may also be transmitted as generated data signals (e.g., by being encoded as part of a carrier wave or other analog or digital propagated signal) on a variety of computer-readable transmission mediums, including wireless-based and wired/cable-based mediums, and may take a variety of forms (e.g., as part of a single or multiplexed analog signal, or as multiple discrete digital packets or frames).”).
Regarding claim 15, Jenkins in view of Trant teaches the method set forth in claim 12, and Jenkins also discloses
wherein updating the information in the database (database includes recipes and information 221-227 & 229 stored in the storage 220 [Jenkins Fig.2] and information “on one or more external storage devices (not shown)” [Jenkins Par.0052]) by the controller (Automated Cooking Control system 240, Jenkins Fig.2) comprises updating the database (database includes recipes and information 221-227 & 229 stored in the storage 220 [Jenkins Fig.2] and information “on one or more external storage devices (not shown)” [Jenkins Par.0052]) by a wired connection (Jenkins Par.0057 discloses: “The systems, modules and data structures may also be transmitted as generated data signals (e.g., by being encoded as part of a carrier wave or other analog or digital propagated signal) on a variety of computer-readable transmission mediums, including wireless-based and wired/cable-based mediums, and may take a variety of forms (e.g., as part of a single or multiplexed analog signal, or as multiple discrete digital packets or frames).”).
Regarding claim 22, Jenkins in view of Trant teaches the method set forth in claim 9 [see the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections above for this claim 22], Jenkins does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the portable heating system further comprises a DC-AC inverter.
Trant teaches (Trant Fig.1A):
wherein the portable heating system (appliance 170, Trant Fig.1A) (Trant Par.0036 teaches the appliance 170 is a portable oven) further comprises a DC-AC inverter (“inverter”, Trant Par.0047) (Trant Par.0047 teaches: “The power supply 140 can include one or more components (e.g., a transformer, a diode bridge, an inverter, a converter)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify Jenkins in view of Trant, by adding the teaching of the portable heating system further comprises a DC-AC inverter, as taught by Trant, in order to convert DC power stored in the battery and/or generated by the solar panel into AC power suitable for operating heating system that requires AC power. The modification improves versatility of the portable heating system by permitting operation of different types of loads requiring AC input, and improves energy management by allowing energy harvested from the solar panel and stored in the batter to be utilized by AC-based control or heating circuitry.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenkins et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0051078 A1, previously cited) in view of Trant et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0220378 A1, newly cited), and further in view of Doi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0235729 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 13, Jenkins in view of Trant teaches the method set forth in claim 12, and Jenkins also discloses wherein the information comprises:
the designated machine (“stove top” or “oven”, Jenkins Par.0032) that has been heated (Jenkins discloses the information comprises the stove top or oven that has been heated because Jenkins Par.0071 discloses: “if the indicated cooking episode includes a user performing manual manipulations of some or all of the control equipment to enable recording a new automated control recipe based on the user actions, the routine continues to block 468 to identify the beginning of the control equipment usage by the user (e.g., based on a user indication, or by detecting initial manipulation of one or more such control equipment pieces), and begins recording the control equipment usage actions taken by the user. The user may further specify information about particular cooking equipment pieces and food and other cooking-related materials being used, or the ACC system may be able to automatically determine at least some such information.”, and Jenkins Par.0074 discloses: “After blocks 464 or 466, the routine continues to block 470 to initiate use of the control equipment for the automated control recipe being played or as otherwise instructed by the remote control from the one or more remote computing systems. As discussed in greater elsewhere, such control equipment usage may include activating and setting a particular amount of heat to be supplied to one or more cooking surfaces or other cooking locations, or using other types of control equipment.”);
the adjusted temperature and the adjusted duration of the heating (it is noted that Jenkins discloses the adjusted recipe including adjusted temperature and adjusted duration [as cited and explained in the rejection of the independent claim 9 above], thus, Jenkins discloses the information comprises the adjusted temperature and the adjusted duration of the heating because Jenkins Par.0033 discloses: “the automated operations of the ACC system may in some embodiments include assisting a user in creating a new automated control recipe (e.g., by recording at least some cooking-related actions taken by the user during a cooking episode)”, Jenkins Par.0071 discloses: “In particular, if the indicated cooking episode includes a user performing manual manipulations of some or all of the control equipment to enable recording a new automated control recipe based on the user actions, the routine continues to block 468 to identify the beginning of the control equipment usage by the user (e.g., based on a user indication, or by detecting initial manipulation of one or more such control equipment pieces), and begins recording the control equipment usage actions taken by the user.”, and Jenkins Par.0076 discloses: “After block 474, if the cooking mode is to record a new automated control recipe, the routine continues to block 478 to continue recording the control equipment usage and corresponding measurements from any measurement equipment involved in the cooking episode, as well as to monitor in block 480 for any problems that occur during the cooking episode and to take appropriate actions if detected, with blocks 478 and 480 being repeated until the user indicates to stop recording or otherwise indicates the end of the cooking episode (e.g., by turning off all of the control equipment).”)
Jenkins in view of Trant does not explicitly teach the information comprises:
a date of the heating.
Doi teaches a method comprising recording and updating heating information in database (Doi Par.0177), wherein the information comprises:
a date of the heating (Doi Par.0177 teaches: “The cooking-process recording unit 453 obtains the current date and time from the date-and-time measuring unit 27 at the time of reproducing the cooking method by the cooking-process reproducing unit 451, and adds the date and time to the corresponding cooking method in the cooking-process storage unit 174 in a tag format (data tag, stime tag, and etime tag) as the cooking date and time. When the cooking date and time can be obtained from the cooking unit (not shown), the cooking date and time can be added to the corresponding cooking method stored in the cooking-process storage unit 174.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify Jenkins in view of Trant, by adding the teaching of the information comprises a date of the heating, as taught by Doi, in order to monitor performance and efficiency. Specifically, by tracking heating performance data over time, user can analyze patterns that affect energy efficiency and make data-driven decisions about updates or optimization. Furthermore, the date of recipe allows for effective consume management and adherence to “use by” dates, ensuring that products are consumed when they are of the best quality and still safe. This helps prevent food waste by providing clarity on a product’s freshness timeline.
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenkins et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0051078 A1, previously cited) in view of Trant et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0220378 A1, newly cited), and further in view of Assenbrunner et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0166219 A1, newly cited).
Regarding claim 20, Jenkins in view of Trant teaches the method set forth in claim 9 [see the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections above for this claim 20], Jenkins in view of Trant does not teach:
wherein the portable heating system further comprises a height-adjustable base.
Assenbrunner teaches (Assenbrunner Fig.1):
wherein the portable heating system (cooking appliance 10, Assenbrunner Fig.1) further comprises a height-adjustable base (appliance base frame 8, Assenbrunner Fig.1) (Assenbrunner Par.0043 teaches: “The cooking appliance base frame 8 is height-adjustable by motor and comprises a floor-side part 22 and an upper part 24 which is vertically adjustable in relation to the floor-side part and is firmly connected to the cooking appliance 10 or forms part of it.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify Jenkins in view of Trant, by adding the height-adjustable base, as taught by Assenbrunner, in order to improve accessibility, operational flexibility and user safety during cooking operations. The modification allows the cooking surface height to be adjusted to accommodate users of different heights, allows the cooking appliance to be raised or lowered depending on the particular cooking task, loading/unloading operation, or cleaning operation, and also compensates for uneven floor surfaces and improves stability of the heating system.
Regarding claim 21, Jenkins in view of Trant and Assenbrunner teaches the method set forth in claim 20, Assenbrunner also teaches further comprising
adjusting the height of the portable heating system (cooking appliance 10, Assenbrunner Fig.1) by the height-adjustable base (appliance base frame 8, Assenbrunner Fig.1) via the controller (controller 18, Assenbrunner Fig.1) (Assenbrunner teaches adjusting the height of the cooking appliance 10 by the appliance base frame 8 via the controller 18 because Assenbrunner Par.0043 teaches: “The cooking appliance base frame 8 is height-adjustable by motor and comprises a floor-side part 22 and an upper part 24 which is vertically adjustable in relation to the floor-side part and is firmly connected to the cooking appliance 10 or forms part of it.”, Assenbrunner Par.0044 teaches: “The height adjustment is effected by means of a lifting system 26, which is accommodated in the interior of the base frame 8 and comprises, for example, a plurality of electric-motor, hydraulic and/or pneumatic drives 28, which are attached to the floor-side part 22, on the one hand, and to the upper part 24, on the other hand.”, and Assenbrunner Par.0049 teaches: “The controller 18 is coupled to the drives 28 to activate or deactivate them in a controlled manner.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify Jenkins in view of Trant and Assenbrunner, by adding the teaching of adjusting the height of the portable heating system by the height-adjustable base via the controller, as taught by Assenbrunner, in order to provide automated, precise, and repeatable height adjustment of the heating system during different operating conditions. Thus, improves accessibility, convenience, ease of handling, and safety; thereby improving overall usability and operational efficiency.
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Peterson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,067,715 B2) discloses a heated construction box includes a heater constructed for generating heat within the construction box when connected to a power source; wherein the heated construction box includes a temperature sensor and a humidity sensor electrically connected to a controller.
Maxbauer et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0284022 A1) discloses a portable heating system including a rechargeable power source and a heating element electrically connected to the rechargeable power source. The portable heating system includes a temperature sensor configured to measure the ambient temperature proximate the portable heating system.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 05/26/2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761