DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment/Request for Reconsideration, received on 06/24/2026. Claims 1, 22, and 28 have been amended. Claims 1-13 and 22-28 are pending and have been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/24/2026, see pgs. 11-12, with respect to “35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s representative asserts, “In rejecting claim 1, the Office Action appears to equate MP of Fig. lA and the ‘Off-head mic’ of Fig. 7 of Jensen with claim l's ‘second computing device.’ Office Action, p. 9. However, the cited aspects of Jensen fail to disclose a ‘second computing device’ and a digital representation’ that is ‘generated by [the] second computing device.’ The cited portions of Jensen fail to at least render obvious the limitation of newly amended claim 1, that the ‘digital representations’ are ‘generated by’ the first and second devices. Rather, Jensen discloses ‘a controller... configured to process the first plurality of input signals and the second input signal to generate one or more driver signals’ and that ‘one or more acoustic transducers are configured to be driven by the one or more driver signals.’ Para. [0004].
The Office Action appears to equate ‘the frequency domain representation of the second input signal comprises a first complex vector representing a spectrogram’ of Jensen with ‘a second digital representation of second audio data as second input’ as set forth in claim 1. Office Action, p. 8. However, the ‘vector representing a spectrogram’ set forth in the cited portion of Jensen fails to disclose that the ‘vector’ is ‘generated by [the] second computing device.’ Amended claim 1 requires two disparate ‘computing devices.’
For at least similar reasons as claim 1 as set forth in the arguments against the 103 rejection, the Applicant's attorney respectfully submits that the cited references fail to render obvious independent claims 22 and 28, and any claim depending therefrom. Thus, the Applicant's attorney respectfully requests that the 103 rejections be withdrawn.”
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertion that “Jensen fails to disclose that the ‘vector’ is ‘generated by [the] second computing device’”. The examiner asserts that, in order to satisfy this claim element, a mapping must disclose generating a “digital representation of second audio” by a “second computing device”. [0088] of Jensen discloses a data processing apparatus which may contain one or more computing devices. This is taken in view of the multiple arrangements of microphones disclosed in Jensen: Fig. 7 discloses an on-head and off-head microphone, and Fig. 1A discloses an environment with a microphone array Mp and worn microphones ML/R. The examiner asserts that speech/noise data is audio data to be processed. [0062] of Jensen states “Once the time domain signals have been converted into the frequency domain, we can calculate a magnitude spectral mask (812) based on the on-head and off-head frequency domain signals…if s is a complex vector representing a spectrogram of one frame of the off-head frequency domain signal, y is a complex vector representing a spectrogram of one frame of the on-head frequency domain signal”. This indicates two distinct vectors (before magnitude spectral mask calculation) which are generated by distinct computing devices via time-frequency conversion and/or feature extraction, wherein the off- and on-head devices track to two distinct computing devices (as previously mapped to Jensen and not argued against by Applicant) which are used to process said audio to generate vectors. The examiner asserts that vectors which represent spectrograms and/or any data in the frequency domain tracks to digital representations of audio to be taken in view of the “spectrogram information” of Zou. Further, consider the flow of Fig. 7 of Jensen. Steps 710 disclose performing STFTs for both off- and on-head microphone audio data. Considering Jensen discloses using a plurality of devices to process data, it is reasonable to assume that each microphone has its own associated computing device for generating said frequency domain representations, i.e. digital representations, via STFT transform of data.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an "automatic speech recognition (ASR) engine" used for “processing” in claims 2, 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-13, 22-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (CN-111754983-A), hereinafter Zou, in view of Jensen et al. (US-20210084407-A1), hereinafter Jensen, further in view of Sharma et al. (US-20210350804-A1), hereinafter Sharma.
Regarding claim 1, Zou discloses: a computer-implemented method ([pg. 3, last para] a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, and when the processor executes the computer program, the steps of the speech denoising method according to the first aspect are implemented), comprising:
processing, using a trained neural network model ([pg. 5, para 7] neural network model is obtained by training based on sample spectrogram information of sample voice data), a first digital representation of first audio data as first input ([pg. 5, para 6] S130, inputting the spectrogram information into a pre-trained neural network model), to generate as output a first signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) value ([pg. 5, para 6] to obtain a signal-to-noise ratio corresponding to the spectrogram information),
wherein the first digital representation is generated by a first computing device ([pg. 5, para. 1] after the voice data to be denoised is obtained, spectrogram information of the voice data to be denoised can be extracted, wherein the spectrogram information can include the amplitude of the voice data to be denoised, the phase of the voice data to be denoised, and the like, [pg. 9, para. 7] As will be appreciated by one skilled in the art, embodiments of the present application may be provided as a method, apparatus, or computer program product, [pg. 9, para. 9] These computer program instructions may also be stored in a computer-readable memory that can direct a computer or other programmable data processing terminal to function in a particular manner, such that the instructions stored in the computer-readable memory produce an article of manufacture including instruction means which implement the function specified in the flowchart, [Disclosure that the previously cited portions of Zou can be performed using computer program instructions indicates generating the first digital representation, i.e. spectrogram information, using a first computing device]),
wherein the first SNR is a prediction of the trained neural network model ([Inputting a spectrogram into a neural network to obtain a signal-to-noise ratio indicates the SNR is a prediction of the trained neural network as seen with the previously cited sections of Zou]), for the first audio data ([Voice data is first audio data]),
wherein the first audio data captures a spoken utterance of a user ([pg. 5, para 1] after the voice data to be denoised is obtained, spectrogram information of the voice data to be denoised can be extracted, [Voice data tracks to a spoken utterance]).
Zou does not disclose:
wherein the first audio data is collected by one or more first microphones of the first computing device within an environment of a user; and,
processing, using the trained neural network model, the second digital representation of the second audio data as second input, to generate as output a second SNR value, wherein the second digital representation is generated by a second computing device, wherein the second SNR is a prediction of the trained neural network model, for the second audio data, wherein the second audio data captures the spoken utterance of the user and is collected by one or more second microphones of the second computing device within the environment, and wherein the first and second computing devices are distinct from each other; and,
merging the first audio data and the second audio data to generate merged audio data for the spoken utterance.
Jensen discloses:
wherein the first audio data is collected by one or more first microphones of the first computing device within an environment of a user ([Fig. 1A, ML, MR in the environment of user 106], [0030] The listener 106 has microphones, M.sub.L (108) and M.sub.R (110), respectively positioned near the left ear and right ear of the listener 106… disposed on a head-worn device (e.g., headsets, glasses, earbuds, etc.), [The examiner asserts that a worn microphone must necessarily be connected to a computing device in order for the sound picked up by the microphone to be analyzed as disclosed in Jensen, i.e. smart glasses, in view of the previously disclosed computing device of Zou for performing the cited operations of Zou]); and,
processing, using the trained neural network model ([In view of the previously disclosed trained neural network model of Zou]), a second digital representation of second audio data as second input ([0075] the frequency domain representation of the second input signal comprises a first complex vector representing a spectrogram, [A representation comprising a vector which represents a spectrogram indicates the vector could be converted to a spectrogram using the spectrogram analysis of Zou, i.e. resulting in a second digital representation of second audio data]), to generate as output a second SNR value ([0073] The second input signal can be characterized by a second SNR),
wherein the second digital representation is generated by a second computing device ([0088] The term “data processing apparatus” refers to data processing hardware and encompasses all kinds of apparatus, devices, and machines for processing data, including by way of example a programmable processor, a computer, or multiple processors or computers, [In view of the previously cited section of Zou which discloses generating digital representations using computing devices, it would be obvious to extend the generating of Zou to the multiple input signals/computing devices of Jensen (previously claimed and not argued against by applicant, see “wherein the first and second computing devices…” element). The examiner asserts that the spectrogram information of Zou and the complex vectors representing spectrograms of Jensen are synonymous; therefore, it would be obvious to extend the method of Zou to multiple signals/devices as seen in Jensen as the vectors of Jensen could be used as the spectrogram information of Zou without a change in functionality to Zou]),
wherein the second SNR is a prediction of the trained neural network model ([The examiner asserts that it would have been obvious to apply the SNR predicting of Zou (previously cited, see [pg. 5, para 6]) to the multiple signals to be denoised of Jensen, resulting in a second SNR which is a prediction of a trained neural network model for second audio data in view of the second audio data of Jensen, wherein Jensen explicitly discloses receiving first and second input signals characterized by SNRs as the first step of their method ([0065], Fig. 9) which could be gathered using the method of Zou without a change in functionality to Jensen]), for the second audio data ([In view of the previously disclosed training model of Zou which can determine SNRs of spectrograms, i.e. input signals]);
wherein the second audio data captures the spoken utterance of the user ([Fig. 10, 1004], [Receiving a second input signal representative of the audio, in view of the first receiving step 1002 which receives a signal representative of audio indicates the audio received by the second input signal representation is the same as the first, in view of the voice data of Zou]) and is collected by one or more second microphones of the second computing device within the environment ([Fig. 1A, MP], [All representing microphones wherein MP is on a second computing device in the environment compared to the worn ML and MR]), wherein the first and second computing devices are distinct from each other ([Fig. 7, 702, 704], [Disclosing on-head mics and off-head mics indicates one worn device and one external device]); and,
merging the first audio data and the second audio data to generate merged audio data for the spoken utterance ([Fig. 9, Combining first input signal and second input signal 906], [In view of the voice data of Zou]).
Zou are considered analogous art within speech signal enhancement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Zou to incorporate the teachings of Jensen, because of the novel way to consider both directionality and SNR of received audio sources from a plurality of devices, improving the naturalness of reproduced sounds in terms of SNR and spatial perception (Jensen, [0010]).
Zou in view of Jensen does not disclose:
wherein the merging comprises using a first weight value for the first audio data in the merging and using a second weight value for the second audio data in the merging, and wherein the first weight value and the second weight value are determined based on the first and second SNR values that are predictions of the trained neural network; and,
providing the merged audio data for further processing by one or more additional components.
Sharma discloses:
wherein the merging comprises using a first weight value for the first audio data in the merging and using a second weight value for the second audio data in the merging ([0167] combining 1720 the first speech processing output with the second speech processing output based upon, at least in part, the first audio stream weight and the second audio stream weight, [In view of the first audio output of Zou, further in view of the second audio output of Jensen]), wherein the first weight value and the second weight value are determined based on the first and second SNR values that are predictions of the trained neural network ([0164] weighting 1712 the first audio stream and the second audio stream based upon, at least in part, a signal-to-noise ratio for the first audio stream and a signal-to-noise ratio for the second audio stream, [In view of the trained neural network determining SNRs of Zou, further in view of the multiple input audio signals of Jensen indicating a weighting operation based on first and second SNRs which are predictions of the trained neural network. Further, consider the previously cited “combining” two input signal operation of Jensen ([Fig. 9, 906]) using the SNRs of Zou]); and,
providing the merged audio data for further processing by one or more additional components ([0058] configured to provide visual information 110 and audio information 114… [0067] automated clinical documentation process 10 may provide the information associated with an acoustic environment (e.g., via the user interface) [Providing audio information, in view of the merged signal generated in Sharma, to a user device, i.e. component, via an interface indicates presentation to a user, wherein that user could perform any number of additional processing steps, i.e. listening, transcribing, volume adjustment, etc.]).
Zou are considered analogous art within speech signal processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Zou to incorporate the teachings of Sharma, because of the novel way to apply multi-channel noise reduction and de-reverberation methods which account for user location (Sharma, [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, Zou in view of Jensen, further in view of Sharma discloses: the method of claim 1.
Sharma further discloses:
wherein the one or more additional components include an automatic speech recognition (ASR) engine ([0063] speech processing system 418 may be an automated speech recognition (ASR) system), and the method further comprising:
processing the merged audio data, using the ASR engine ([In view of the previously disclosed speech processing engine of Sharma]), to generate a recognition of the spoken utterance of the user ([Fig. 4, 418], [Fig. 16, 1716], [0167] process 1716 the first audio stream (e.g., represented as a solid line between device selection weighting module 410 and speech processing system 418) with a first speech processing system to generate a first speech processing output [Speech processing output from a speech processing, i.e. recognition, system 418, wherein the input is a weighted signal from two sources, see Fig. 4, 410 inputs, indicates the output is a recognition of the spoken utterance]).
Regarding claim 3, Zou in view of Jensen, further in view of Sharma discloses: the method of claim 1.
Sharma further discloses:
wherein the first and second computing devices have different orientations and/or distances with respect to the user ([Fig. 3, directional microphone array 200], [0087] Based on the orientation of each microphone, the properties of each microphone, the properties of the audio signals, etc., each microphone may receive a different version of the signal, [Disclosing different orientations for microphones in view of the microphone array 200 indicates the devices, i.e. microphones, have different orientations and distances with respect to the users 106. Further, consider the microphone array 200 in view of the smartphone held by user 226 indicating two device with different orientation/distances]).
Regarding claim 4, Zou in view of Jensen, further in view of Sharma discloses: the method of claim 1.
Sharma further discloses:
wherein a ratio of the first weight value with respect to the second weight value is the same as a ratio of the predicted SNR for the first audio data with respect to the predicted SNR for the second audio data ([0128] weight multiple audio streams (e.g., from different microphone systems) based upon, at least in part, a signal-to-noise ratio for each audio stream… [0167] combining 1720 the first speech processing output with the second speech processing output based upon, at least in part, the first audio stream weight and the second audio stream weight, [Combining two audio signals based on respective weights tracks to a method of generating a ratio, i.e. the final output signal will be a ratio of the two input signals, e.g. as they both contribute to the final output, wherein the weights are based on their respective SNRs indicating the combination, i.e. ratio, of the weights is the same as the combination, i.e. ratio, of the SNRs would be]).
Regarding claim 5, Zou in view of Jensen, further in view of Sharma discloses: the method of claim 1.
Sharma further discloses:
storing the first weight value in association with the first computing device ([Fig. 1, 12, 16], [0128] weighting module 410 of ACD computer system 12, [0034] storage device 16 coupled to ACD computer system 12 [Performing weighting on a device which is connected to a memory indicates the weight values determined in computer system 12 could be sent to storage device 16 without a change in functionality]); and,
storing the second weight value in association with the second computing device ([Performing weighting on a device which is connected to a memory indicates the weight values determined in computer system 12 could be sent to storage device 16 without a change in functionality. Applying this to a second weight associated with a second computing device does not change the functionality of Sharma in view of the plurality of computing devices in Fig. 1, i.e. 30, 32, 34, 36]).
Regarding claim 6, Zou in view of Jensen, further in view of Sharma discloses: the method of claim 5.
Sharma further discloses:
receiving first additional audio data ([0155] receive 1700 audio encounter information from a first microphone system), from the first computing device ([In view of the plurality of computing devices 30-36 of Sharma, any of which are substitutable for that disclosed in Jensen to be used in Zou without a change in functionality]), that captures an additional spoken utterance ([In view of the previously disclosed spoken utterance of Zou, indicating the audio encounter information of Sharma to be an additional utterance. Further, in view of the portion/frame basis for analysis of Sharma indicating one input signal could be comprised of additional audio data as compared to a first portion/frame]);
receiving second additional audio data ([0155] Audio encounter information may be received 1702 from a second microphone system), from the second computing device ([In view of the second audio device of Jensen, further in view of the plurality of computing devices 30-36 of Sharma, any of which are substitutable for that disclosed in Jensen to be used in Zou without a change in functionality]), that captures the additional spoken utterance ([Fig. 8, 808], [In view of the previously disclosed second spoken utterance of Jensen, indicating the second audio encounter information of Sharma to be a second utterance. Further, in view of the portion/frame basis for analysis of Sharma indicating one input signal could be comprised of additional audio data as compared to a first portion/frame. Further, determining time of difference of arrival between microphone for the same received audio encounter information 800 indicates the same audio is received between those microphones, i.e. the additional spoken utterance is the same between the two devices]);
merging the first additional audio data and the second additional audio data to generate additional merged audio data ([0167] combining 1720 the first speech processing output with the second speech processing output, [In view of the first and second additional audio outputs of Sharma]), wherein the merging to generate the additional merged audio data comprises using the stored first weight value and the stored second weight value without using the trained neural network to re-compute the first and second weight values ([0128] In some implementations, device selection and weighting module 410 may provide a previously processed or weighted portion of the audio encounter information to define weighting for each audio stream from multiple microphone systems [Using a previously processed portion of audio for weighting, in view of the portion/frame first and second audio data of Sharma, indicates weight could be gathered for first and second audio data to be used for further portions/frames of first and second audio streams]); and,
processing the additional merged audio data to recognize the additional spoken utterance ([Fig. 4, 418], [Fig. 16, 1716], [0167] process 1716 the first audio stream (e.g., represented as a solid line between device selection weighting module 410 and speech processing system 418) with a first speech processing system to generate a first speech processing output [Speech processing output from a speech processing, i.e. recognition, system 418, wherein the input is a weighted signal from two sources, see Fig. 4, 410 inputs, indicates the output is a recognition of the additional spoken utterance]).
Regarding claim 10, Zou in view of Jensen, further in view of Sharma discloses: the method of claim 1.
Sharma further discloses:
detecting a change in location and/or orientation of the first computing device ([0125] machine vision system 100 may detect and track location estimates for particular speaker representations by tracking the humanoid shapes within the acoustic environment [Tracking humanoid shapes, wherein those humanoid shapes are generally associated with devices, see Fig. 1 and also speaker 226 holding a smartphone in Fig. 3, indicates the tracking will detect positional changes of devices associated with the humanoid shapes as the humans move]);
subsequent to detecting the change in the location and/or the orientation of the first computing device:
receiving further first audio data ([0155] receive 1700 audio encounter information from a first microphone system), from the first computing device ([In view of the first/second audio devices of Jensen, further in view of the plurality of computing devices 30-36 of Sharma, any of which are substitutable for that disclosed in Jensen to be used in Zou without a change in functionality]), that captures a further spoken utterance ([In view of the previously disclosed spoken utterance of Zou, indicating the audio encounter information of Sharma to be a further utterance. Further, in view of the portion/frame based signal analysis of Sharma (see Fig. 17, 1704) indicating later portions of signals represent further spoken utterances. Also consider [0164] which discloses weighting on a portion/frame basis indicating further audio from further portions/frames]);
receiving further second audio data ([0155] Audio encounter information may be received 1702 from a second microphone system), from the second computing device ([In view of the second audio device of Jensen, further in view of the plurality of computing devices 30-36 of Sharma, any of which are substitutable for that disclosed in Jensen to be used in Zou without a change in functionality]), that captures the further spoken utterance ([Fig. 8, 808], [In view of the previously disclosed second spoken utterance of Jensen, indicating the second audio encounter information of Sharma to be a second, further utterance. Further, in view of the portion-based signal analysis of Sharma (see Fig. 17, 1706) indicating portions of signals represent further spoken utterances. Also consider [0164] which discloses weighting on a portion/frame basis indicating further audio from further portions/frames. Further, determining time of difference of arrival between microphone for the same received audio encounter information 800 indicates the same audio is received between those microphones, i.e. the further spoken utterance is the same between the two devices.]).
Zou further discloses:
processing the further first audio data to determine a further first digital representation of the further first audio data ([pg. 5, para 1] after the voice data to be denoised is obtained, spectrogram information of the voice data to be denoised can be extracted, wherein the spectrogram information can include the amplitude of the voice data to be denoised, the phase of the voice data to be denoised, and the like, [Wherein “further” first audio can be a different temporal portion of the same signal, indicating the same operations applied as disclosed in Zou using the portions defined in Sharma]); and,
processing, using the trained neural network ([In view of the previously disclosed trained neural network of Zou]), the further first digital representation of the further first audio data as input ([The examiner asserts that extending the operations of Zou to multiple distinct signals does not change the functionality of Zou in view of the multiple signals of Jensen, any of which could be “further”. Further, consider the temporal analysis of Sharma indicating the signals of Zou can be split into “further” portions]), to generate a further first output indicating an updated first SNR predicted for the further first audio data ([pg. 5, para 6] S130, inputting the spectrogram information into a pre-trained neural network model to obtain a signal-to-noise ratio corresponding to the spectrogram information).
Jensen further discloses:
processing the further second audio data to determine a further second digital representation of the further second audio data ([0075] in some implementations, the frequency domain representation of the second input signal comprises a first complex vector representing a spectrogram of a frame of the second input signal, [In view of the further second audio data of Sharma, further in view of the spectrogram generation based on signals of Zou, indicating the vector of Jensen representing a second audio spectrogram frame could be transformed using the spectrogram generation of Zou without a change in functionality]); and,
processing, using the trained neural network ([In view of the previously disclosed trained neural network of Zou]), the further second digital representation of the further second audio data as input ([In view of the spectrogram of Zou based upon a second input signal of Jensen, wherein that second input signal could be further second audio data as disclosed through the portion-based analysis of audio signals disclosed in Sharma, i.e. analyzing different portions/frames of audio indicates each portion/frame is “further” audio]), to generate a further second output indicating an updated second SNR predicted for the further second audio data ([0073] The second input signal can be characterized by a second SNR, [In view of the SNR determination based on spectrogram analysis of Zou. Further, in view of the further second audio data of Sharma]).
Sharma further discloses:
merging the further first audio data and the second audio data using an updated first weight value and an updated second weight value ([0167] combining 1720 the first speech processing output with the second speech processing output based upon, at least in part, the first audio stream weight and the second audio stream weight), [In view of the further first audio output of Sharma, further in view of the further second audio output of Sharma. Wherein the weights are calculated based on the SNRs of the signals received, indicating a further, i.e. different, signal will have a different SNR, indicating it will also have a different, i.e. updated, associated weight]), to generate further merged audio data ([Fig. 17, 1720], [Combining first and second speech outputs based on their associated weights indicates the resultant combination is “merged audio data”]), wherein the updated first and second weight values are determined based on the further first output indicating the updated first SNR and based on the further second output indicating the updated second SNR ([0164] weighting 1712 the first audio stream and the second audio stream based upon, at least in part, a signal-to-noise ratio for the first audio stream and a signal-to-noise ratio for the second audio stream, [In view of the further first and second audio streams, i.e. portions, of Sharma indicating the SNR calculation could be applied to all portions individually as further audio]).
Regarding claim 11, Zou in view of Jensen, further in view of Sharma discloses: the method of claim 1.
Zou further discloses:
wherein the first digital representation of the first audio data is a first spectrogram showing variation of frequency along time for the first audio data ([pg. 5, para 1] after the voice data to be denoised is obtained, spectrogram information of the voice data to be denoised can be extracted, wherein the spectrogram information can include the amplitude of the voice data to be denoised, the phase of the voice data to be denoised, and the like, [Gathering spectrogram information for generating a spectrogram indicates the spectrogram to be frequency along time as is traditionally how spectrograms are presented]), and
the second digital representation of the second audio data is a second spectrogram showing variation of frequency along time for the second audio data ([The examiner asserts that the process described above for determining a SNR for one spectrogram of audio data could be extended to a second spectrogram using the multiple input signals of Jensen without a change in functionality to Zou as the two representations are generated separately, indicating two steps in time of repeated operations of Zou using the signals of Jensen]).
Regarding claim 12, Zou in view of Jensen, further in view of Sharma discloses: the method of claim 1.
Sharma further discloses:
wherein: the first weight value is greater than the second weight value, indicating that the first audio data contains less noise than does the second audio data ([Fig. 3, Users 240, 230/242, Microphones 210, 218], [0164] weighting 1712 the first audio stream and the second audio stream based upon, at least in part, a signal-to-noise ratio for the first audio stream and a signal-to-noise ratio for the second audio stream, [Determining SNRs and associated weights based on signal SNRs indicates that if a first signal has a higher SNR compared to a second signal, it will inherently have a greater weight as compared to the second audio which means it will contain less noise. Nothing is disclosed in Sharma to prevent the first signal from having a higher SNR as compared to a second signal. Choosing first and second signals so that the first weight is larger than the second weight is an arbitrary decision/labelling of signals. Further, consider the environment and microphone array of Fig. 3. If user 226 speaks signal 220, microphones 210 and 218 will both received the audio; however, the SNR of a signal 220 received by a microphone 210 directly in front of a speaker will be higher than that facing a different direction 218, containing audio from other speakers 224, etc. Further, the signal would arrive at 210 earlier as it is closer to the speaker, indicating a first audio with a higher SNR received at microphone 210 compared to a second audio with a lower SNR received at 218, wherein the SNRs are used to determine weights, indicating that the first audio data (with a higher SNR) will contain less noise as compared to second audio data received at microphone 218]).
Regarding claim 13, Zou in view of Jensen, further in view of Sharma discloses: the method of claim 1.
Sharma further discloses:
wherein merging the first audio data and the second audio data comprises: merging the first audio data weighted with the first weight value with the second audio data weighted with the second weight value, to generate the merged audio data for the spoken utterance ([Fig. 17, 1720], [Combining first and second speeches based upon weight values of streams indicates the combining is a merging operation, in view of the previously disclosed weight values for first and second audio]).
Regarding claim 22, Zou discloses: a system comprising:
one or more processors ([pg. 9, para 2] a processor); and,
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one or more processors ([pg. 9, para 2] computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, where the processor implements the steps of the speech denoising method according to the first aspect when executing the program), cause the at least one processor or more processors to:
process, using a trained neural network model ([pg. 5, para 7] neural network model is obtained by training based on sample spectrogram information of sample voice data), a first digital representation of first audio data as first input ([pg. 5, para 6] S130, inputting the spectrogram information into a pre-trained neural network model), to generate as output a first signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) value ([pg. 5, para 6] to obtain a signal-to-noise ratio corresponding to the spectrogram information),
wherein the first digital representation is generated by a first computing device ([pg. 5, para. 1] after the voice data to be denoised is obtained, spectrogram information of the voice data to be denoised can be extracted, wherein the spectrogram information can include the amplitude of the voice data to be denoised, the phase of the voice data to be denoised, and the like, [pg. 9, para. 7] As will be appreciated by one skilled in the art, embodiments of the present application may be provided as a method, apparatus, or computer program product, [pg. 9, para. 9] These computer program instructions may also be stored in a computer-readable memory that can direct a computer or other programmable data processing terminal to function in a particular manner, such that the instructions stored in the computer-readable memory produce an article of manufacture including instruction means which implement the function specified in the flowchart, [Disclosure that the previously cited portions of Zou can be performed using computer program instructions indicates generating the first digital representation, i.e. spectrogram information, using a first computing device]),
wherein the first SNR is a prediction of the trained neural network model ([Inputting a spectrogram into a neural network to obtain a signal-to-noise ratio indicates the SNR is a prediction of the trained neural network as seen with the previously cited sections of Zou]), for the first audio data ([Voice data is first audio data]),
wherein the first audio data captures a spoken utterance of a user ([pg. 5, para 1] after the voice data to be denoised is obtained, spectrogram information of the voice data to be denoised can be extracted, [Voice data tracks to a spoken utterance]).
Zou does not disclose:
wherein the first audio data is collected by one or more first microphones of the first computing device within an environment of a user; and,
process, using the trained neural network model, the second digital representation of the second audio data as second input, to generate as output a second SNR value, wherein the second digital representation is generated by a second computing device, wherein the second SNR is a prediction of the trained neural network model, for the second audio data, wherein the second audio data captures the spoken utterance of the user and is collected by one or more second microphones of the second computing device within the environment, and wherein the first and second computing devices are distinct from each other; and,
merge the first audio data and the second audio data to generate merged audio data for the spoken utterance.
Jensen discloses:
wherein the first audio data is collected by one or more first microphones of the first computing device within an environment of a user ([Fig. 1A, ML, MR in the environment of user 106], [0030] The listener 106 has microphones, M.sub.L (108) and M.sub.R (110), respectively positioned near the left ear and right ear of the listener 106… disposed on a head-worn device (e.g., headsets, glasses, earbuds, etc.), [The examiner asserts that a worn microphone must necessarily be connected to a computing device in order for the sound picked up by the microphone to be analyzed as disclosed in Jensen, i.e. smart glasses, in view of the previously disclosed computing device of Zou for performing the cited operations of Zou]); and,
process, using the trained neural network model ([In view of the previously disclosed trained neural network model of Zou]), a second digital representation of second audio data as second input ([0075] the frequency domain representation of the second input signal comprises a first complex vector representing a spectrogram, [A representation comprising a vector which represents a spectrogram indicates the vector could be converted to a spectrogram using the spectrogram analysis of Zou, i.e. resulting in a second digital representation of second audio data]), to generate as output a second SNR value ([0073] The second input signal can be characterized by a second SNR),
wherein the second digital representation is generated by a second computing device ([0088] The term “data processing apparatus” refers to data processing hardware and encompasses all kinds of apparatus, devices, and machines for processing data, including by way of example a programmable processor, a computer, or multiple processors or computers, [In view of the previously cited section of Zou which discloses generating digital representations using computing devices, it would be obvious to extend the generating of Zou to the multiple input signals/computing devices of Jensen (previously claimed and not argued against by applicant, see “wherein the first and second computing devices…” element). The examiner asserts that the spectrogram information of Zou and the complex vectors representing spectrograms of Jensen are synonymous; therefore, it would be obvious to extend the method of Zou to multiple signals/devices as seen in Jensen as the vectors of Jensen could be used as the spectrogram information of Zou without a change in functionality to Zou]),
wherein the second SNR is a prediction of the trained neural network model ([The examiner asserts that it would have been obvious to apply the SNR predicting of Zou (previously cited, see [pg. 5, para 6]) to the multiple signals to be denoised of Jensen, resulting in a second SNR which is a prediction of a trained neural network model for second audio data in view of the second audio data of Jensen, wherein Jensen explicitly discloses receiving first and second input signals characterized by SNRs as the first step of their method ([0065], Fig. 9) which could be gathered using the method of Zou without a change in functionality to Jensen]), for the second audio data ([In view of the previously disclosed training model of Zou which can determine SNRs of spectrograms, i.e. input signals]);
wherein the second audio data captures the spoken utterance of the user ([Fig. 10, 1004], [Receiving a second input signal representative of the audio, in view of the first receiving step 1002 which receives a signal representative of audio indicates the audio received by the second input signal representation is the same as the first, in view of the voice data of Zou]) and is collected by one or more second microphones of the second computing device within the environment ([Fig. 1A, MP], [All representing microphones wherein MP is on a second computing device in the environment compared to the worn ML and MR]), wherein the first and second computing devices are distinct from each other ([Fig. 7, 702, 704], [Disclosing on-head mics and off-head mics indicates one worn device and one external device]); and,
merge the first audio data and the second audio data to generate merged audio data for the spoken utterance ([Fig. 9, Combining first input signal and second input signal 906], [In view of the voice data of Zou]).
Zou are considered analogous art within speech signal enhancement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Zou to incorporate the teachings of Jensen, because of the novel way to consider both directionality and SNR of received audio sources from a plurality of devices, improving the naturalness of reproduced sounds in terms of SNR and spatial perception (Jensen, [0010]).
Zou in view of Jensen does not disclose:
wherein the one or more of the processors are to use a first weight value for the first audio data in the merging and use a second weight value for the second audio data in the merging, and wherein the first weight value and the second weight value are determined based on the first and second SNR values that are predictions of the trained neural network; and,
provide the merged audio data for further processing by one or more additional components.
Sharma discloses:
wherein the one or more of the processors are to use a first weight value for the first audio data in the merging and use a second weight value for the second audio data in the merging ([0167] combining 1720 the first speech processing output with the second speech processing output based upon, at least in part, the first audio stream weight and the second audio stream weight, [In view of the first audio output of Zou, further in view of the second audio output of Jensen]), wherein the first weight value and the second weight value are determined based on the first and second SNR values that are predictions of the trained neural network ([0164] weighting 1712 the first audio stream and the second audio stream based upon, at least in part, a signal-to-noise ratio for the first audio stream and a signal-to-noise ratio for the second audio stream, [In view of the trained neural network determining SNRs of Zou, further in view of the multiple input audio signals of Jensen indicating a weighting operation based on first and second SNRs which are predictions of the trained neural network. Further, consider the previously cited “combining” two input signal operation of Jensen ([Fig. 9, 906]) using the SNRs of Zou]); and,
provide the merged audio data for further processing by one or more additional components ([0058] configured to provide visual information 110 and audio information 114… [0067] automated clinical documentation process 10 may provide the information associated with an acoustic environment (e.g., via the user interface) [Providing audio information, in view of the merged signal generated in Sharma, to a user device, i.e. component, via an interface indicates presentation to a user, wherein that user could perform any number of additional processing steps, i.e. listening, transcribing, volume adjustment, etc.]).
Zou are considered analogous art within speech signal processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Zou to incorporate the teachings of Sharma, because of the novel way to apply multi-channel noise reduction and de-reverberation methods which account for user location (Sharma, [0003]).
Regarding claim 23, Zou in view of Jensen, further in view of Sharma discloses: the system of claim 22.
Sharma further discloses:
wherein the one or more additional components include an automatic speech recognition (ASR) engine ([0063] speech processing system 418 may be an automated speech recognition (ASR) system), and the processors are further operable to:
process the merged audio data, using the ASR engine ([In view of the previously disclosed speech processing engine of Sharma]), to generate a recognition of the spoken utterance of the user ([Fig. 4, 418], [Fig. 16, 1716], [0167] process 1716 the first audio stream (e.g., represented as a solid line between device selection weighting module 410 and speech processing system 418) with a first speech processing system to generate a first speech processing output [Speech processing output from a speech processing, i.e. recognition, system 418, wherein the input is a weighted signal from two sources, see Fig. 4, 410 inputs, indicates the output is a recognition of the spoken utterance]).
Regarding claim 24, Zou in view of Jensen, further in view of Sharma discloses: the system of claim 22.
Sharma further discloses:
wherein a ratio of the first weight value with respect to the second weight value is the same as a ratio of the predicted SNR for the first audio data with respect to the predicted SNR for the second audio data ([0128] weight multiple audio streams (e.g., from different microphone systems) based upon, at least in part, a signal-to-noise ratio for each audio stream… [0167] combining 1720 the first speech processing output with the second speech processing output based upon, at least in part, the first audio stream weight and the second audio stream weight, [Combining two audio signals based on respective weights tracks to a method of generating a ratio, i.e. the final output signal will be a ratio of the two input signals, e.g. as they both contribute to the final output, wherein the weights are based on their respective SNRs indicating the combination, i.e. ratio, of the weights is the same as the combination, i.e. ratio, of the SNRs would be]).
Regarding claim 25, Zou in view of Jensen, further in view of Sharma discloses: the system of claim 22.
Sharma further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further operable to:
store the first weight value in association with the first computing device ([Fig. 1, 12, 16], [0128] weighting module 410 of ACD computer system 12, [0034] storage device 16 coupled to ACD computer system 12 [Performing weighting on a device which is connected to a memory indicates the weight values determined in computer system 12 could be sent to storage device 16 without a change in functionality]); and,
store the second weight value in association with the second computing device ([Performing weighting on a device which is connected to a memory indicates the weight values determined in computer system 12 could be sent to storage device 16 without a change in functionality. Applying this to a second weight associated with a second computing device does not change the functionality of Sharma in view of the plurality of computing devices in Fig. 1, i.e. 30, 32, 34, 36]).
Regarding claim 26, Zou in view of Jensen, further in view of Sharma discloses: the system of claim 25.
Sharma further discloses:
wherein one or more of the processors are further operable to:
receive first additional audio data ([0155] receive 1700 audio encounter information from a first microphone system), from the first computing device ([In view of the plurality of computing devices 30-36 of Sharma, any of which are substitutable for that disclosed in Jensen to be used in Zou without a change in functionality]), that captures an additional spoken utterance ([In view of the previously disclosed spoken utterance of Zou, indicating the audio encounter information of Sharma to be an additional utterance. Further, in view of the portion/frame basis for analysis of Sharma indicating one input signal could be comprised of additional audio data as compared to a first portion/frame]);
receive second additional audio data ([0155] Audio encounter information may be received 1702 from a second microphone system), from the second computing device ([In view of the plurality of computing devices 30-36 of Sharma, any of which are substitutable for that disclosed in Jensen to be used in Zou without a change in functionality]), that captures the additional spoken utterance ([Fig. 8, 808], [In view of the previously disclosed second spoken utterance of Jensen, indicating the second audio encounter information of Sharma to be a second utterance. Further, in view of the portion/frame basis for analysis of Sharma indicating one input signal could be comprised of additional audio data as compared to a first portion/frame. Further, determining time of difference of arrival between microphone for the same received audio encounter information 800 indicates the same audio is received between those microphones, i.e. the additional spoken utterance is the same between the two devices]);
merge the first additional audio data and the second additional audio data to generate additional merged audio data ([0167] combining 1720 the first speech processing output with the second speech processing output, [In view of the first and second additional audio outputs of Sharma]), wherein in merging to generate the additional merged audio data one or more of the processors are to use the stored first weight value and the stored second weight value without using the trained neural network to re-compute the first and second weight values ([0128] In some implementations, device selection and weighting module 410 may provide a previously processed or weighted portion of the audio encounter information to define weighting for each audio stream from multiple microphone systems [Using a previously processed portion of audio for weighting, in view of the portion/frame first and second audio data of Sharma, indicates weight could be gathered for first and second audio data to be used for further portions/frames of first and second audio streams]); and,
process the additional merged audio data to recognize the additional spoken utterance ([Fig. 4, 418], [Fig. 16, 1716], [0167] process 1716 the first audio stream (e.g., represented as a solid line between device selection weighting module 410 and speech processing system 418) with a first speech processing system to generate a first speech processing output [Speech processing output from a speech processing, i.e. recognition, system 418, wherein the input is a weighted signal from two sources, see Fig. 4, 410 inputs, indicates the output is a recognition of the additional spoken utterance]).
Regarding claim 27, Zou in view of Jensen, further in view of Sharma discloses: the system of claim 22.
Sharma further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further operable to:
detect a change in location and/or orientation of the first computing device ([0125] machine vision system 100 may detect and track location estimates for particular speaker representations by tracking the humanoid shapes within the acoustic environment [Tracking humanoid shapes, wherein those humanoid shapes are generally associated with devices, see Fig. 1 and also speaker 226 holding a smartphone in Fig. 3, indicates the tracking will detect positional changes of devices associated with the humanoid shapes as the humans move]);
subsequent to detecting the change in the location and/or the orientation of the first computing device:
receive further first audio data ([0155] receive 1700 audio encounter information from a first microphone system), from the first computing device ([In view of the plurality of computing devices 30-36 of Sharma, any of which are substitutable for that disclosed in Jensen to be used in Zou without a change in functionality]), that captures a further spoken utterance ([In view of the previously disclosed spoken utterance of Zou, indicating the audio encounter information of Sharma to be a further utterance. Further, in view of the portion/frame based signal analysis of Sharma (see Fig. 17, 1704) indicating later portions of signals represent further spoken utterances. Also consider [0164] which discloses weighting on a portion/frame basis indicating further audio from further portions/frames]);
receive further second audio data ([0155] Audio encounter information may be received 1702 from a second microphone system), from the second computing device ([In view of the second audio device of Jensen, further in view of the plurality of computing devices 30-36 of Sharma, any of which are substitutable for that disclosed in Jensen to be used in Zou without a change in functionality]), that captures the further spoken utterance ([Fig. 8, 808], [In view of the previously disclosed second spoken utterance of Jensen, indicating the second audio encounter information of Sharma to be a second, further utterance. Further, in view of the portion-based signal analysis of Sharma (see Fig. 17, 1706) indicating portions of signals represent further spoken utterances. Also consider [0164] which discloses weighting on a portion/frame basis indicating further audio from further portions/frames. Further, determining time of difference of arrival between microphone for the same received audio encounter information 800 indicates the same audio is received between those microphones, i.e. the further spoken utterance is the same between the two devices.]).
Zou further discloses:
process the further first audio data to determine a further first digital representation of the further first audio data ([pg. 5, para 1] after the voice data to be denoised is obtained, spectrogram information of the voice data to be denoised can be extracted, wherein the spectrogram information can include the amplitude of the voice data to be denoised, the phase of the voice data to be denoised, and the like, [Wherein “further” first audio can be a different temporal portion of the same signal, indicating the same operations applied as disclosed in Zou using the portions defined in Sharma]); and,
process, using the trained neural network ([In view of the previously disclosed trained neural network of Zou]), the further first digital representation of the further first audio data as input ([The examiner asserts that extending the operations of Zou to multiple distinct signals does not change the functionality of Zou in view of the multiple signals of Jensen, any of which could be “further”. Further, consider the temporal analysis of Sharma indicating the signals of Zou can be split into “further” portions]), to generate a further first output indicating an updated first SNR predicted for the further first audio data ([pg. 5, para 6] S130, inputting the spectrogram information into a pre-trained neural network model to obtain a signal-to-noise ratio corresponding to the spectrogram information).
Jensen further discloses:
process the further second audio data to determine a further second digital representation of the further second audio data ([0075] in some implementations, the frequency domain representation of the second input signal comprises a first complex vector representing a spectrogram of a frame of the second input signal, [In view of the further second audio data of Sharma, further in view of the spectrogram generation based on signals of Zou, indicating the vector of Jensen representing a second audio spectrogram frame could be transformed using the spectrogram generation of Zou without a change in functionality]); and,
process, using the trained neural network ([In view of the previously disclosed trained neural network of Zou]), the further second digital representation of the further second audio data as input ([In view of the spectrogram of Zou based upon a second input signal of Jensen, wherein that second input signal could be further second audio data as disclosed through the portion-based analysis of audio signals disclosed in Sharma, i.e. analyzing different portions/frames of audio indicates each portion/frame is “further” audio]), to generate a further second output indicating an updated second SNR predicted for the further second audio data ([0073] The second input signal can be characterized by a second SNR, [In view of the SNR determination based on spectrogram analysis of Zou. Further, in view of the further second audio data of Sharma]).
Sharma further discloses:
merge the further first audio data and the second audio data using an updated first weight value and an updated second weight value ([0167] combining 1720 the first speech processing output with the second speech processing output based upon, at least in part, the first audio stream weight and the second audio stream weight), [In view of the further first audio output of Sharma, further in view of the further second audio output of Sharma. Wherein the weights are calculated based on the SNRs of the signals received, indicating a further, i.e. different, signal will have a different SNR, indicating it will also have a different, i.e. updated, associated weight]), to generate further merged audio data ([Fig. 17, 1720], [Combining first and second speech outputs based on their associated weights indicates the resultant combination is “merged audio data”]), wherein the updated first and second weight values are determined based on the further first output indicating the updated first SNR and based on the further second output indicating the updated second SNR ([0164] weighting 1712 the first audio stream and the second audio stream based upon, at least in part, a signal-to-noise ratio for the first audio stream and a signal-to-noise ratio for the second audio stream, [In view of the further first and second audio streams, i.e. portions, of Sharma indicating the SNR calculation could be applied to all portions individually as further audio]).
Regarding claim 28, Zou discloses: a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations ([pg. 9, para 4] a computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon a computer program, which when executed by a processor), the operations comprising:
processing, using a trained neural network model ([pg. 5, para 7] neural network model is obtained by training based on sample spectrogram information of sample voice data), a first digital representation of first audio data as first input ([pg. 5, para 6] S130, inputting the spectrogram information into a pre-trained neural network model), to generate as output a first signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) value ([pg. 5, para 6] to obtain a signal-to-noise ratio corresponding to the spectrogram information),
wherein the first digital representation is generated by a first computing device ([pg. 5, para. 1] after the voice data to be denoised is obtained, spectrogram information of the voice data to be denoised can be extracted, wherein the spectrogram information can include the amplitude of the voice data to be denoised, the phase of the voice data to be denoised, and the like, [pg. 9, para. 7] As will be appreciated by one skilled in the art, embodiments of the present application may be provided as a method, apparatus, or computer program product, [pg. 9, para. 9] These computer program instructions may also be stored in a computer-readable memory that can direct a computer or other programmable data processing terminal to function in a particular manner, such that the instructions stored in the computer-readable memory produce an article of manufacture including instruction means which implement the function specified in the flowchart, [Disclosure that the previously cited portions of Zou can be performed using computer program instructions indicates generating the first digital representation, i.e. spectrogram information, using a first computing device]),
wherein the first SNR is a prediction of the trained neural network model ([Inputting a spectrogram into a neural network to obtain a signal-to-noise ratio indicates the SNR is a prediction of the trained neural network as seen with the previously cited sections of Zou]), for the first audio data ([Voice data is first audio data]),
wherein the first audio data captures a spoken utterance of a user ([pg. 5, para 1] after the voice data to be denoised is obtained, spectrogram information of the voice data to be denoised can be extracted, [Voice data tracks to a spoken utterance]).
Zou does not disclose:
wherein the first audio data is collected by one or more first microphones of the first computing device within an environment of a user; and,
processing, using the trained neural network model, the second digital representation of the second audio data as second input, to generate as output a second SNR value, wherein the second digital representation is generated by a second computing device, wherein the second SNR is a prediction of the trained neural network model, for the second audio data, wherein the second audio data captures the spoken utterance of the user and is collected by one or more second microphones of the second computing device within the environment, and wherein the first and second computing devices are distinct from each other; and,
merging the first audio data and the second audio data to generate merged audio data for the spoken utterance.
Jensen discloses:
wherein the first audio data is collected by one or more first microphones of the first computing device within an environment of a user ([Fig. 1A, ML, MR in the environment of user 106], [0030] The listener 106 has microphones, M.sub.L (108) and M.sub.R (110), respectively positioned near the left ear and right ear of the listener 106… disposed on a head-worn device (e.g., headsets, glasses, earbuds, etc.), [The examiner asserts that a worn microphone must necessarily be connected to a computing device in order for the sound picked up by the microphone to be analyzed as disclosed in Jensen, i.e. smart glasses, in view of the previously disclosed computing device of Zou for performing the cited operations of Zou]); and,
processing, using the trained neural network model ([In view of the previously disclosed trained neural network model of Zou]), a second digital representation of second audio data as second input ([0075] the frequency domain representation of the second input signal comprises a first complex vector representing a spectrogram, [A representation comprising a vector which represents a spectrogram indicates the vector could be converted to a spectrogram using the spectrogram analysis of Zou, i.e. resulting in a second digital representation of second audio data]), to generate as output a second SNR value ([0073] The second input signal can be characterized by a second SNR),
wherein the second digital representation is generated by a second computing device ([0088] The term “data processing apparatus” refers to data processing hardware and encompasses all kinds of apparatus, devices, and machines for processing data, including by way of example a programmable processor, a computer, or multiple processors or computers, [In view of the previously cited section of Zou which discloses generating digital representations using computing devices, it would be obvious to extend the generating of Zou to the multiple input signals/computing devices of Jensen (previously claimed and not argued against by applicant, see “wherein the first and second computing devices…” element). The examiner asserts that the spectrogram information of Zou and the complex vectors representing spectrograms of Jensen are synonymous; therefore, it would be obvious to extend the method of Zou to multiple signals/devices as seen in Jensen as the vectors of Jensen could be used as the spectrogram information of Zou without a change in functionality to Zou]),
wherein the second SNR is a prediction of the trained neural network model ([The examiner asserts that it would have been obvious to apply the SNR predicting of Zou (previously cited, see [pg. 5, para 6]) to the multiple signals to be denoised of Jensen, resulting in a second SNR which is a prediction of a trained neural network model for second audio data in view of the second audio data of Jensen, wherein Jensen explicitly discloses receiving first and second input signals characterized by SNRs as the first step of their method ([0065], Fig. 9) which could be gathered using the method of Zou without a change in functionality to Jensen]), for the second audio data ([In view of the previously disclosed training model of Zou which can determine SNRs of spectrograms, i.e. input signals]);
wherein the second audio data captures the spoken utterance of the user ([Fig. 10, 1004], [Receiving a second input signal representative of the audio, in view of the first receiving step 1002 which receives a signal representative of audio indicates the audio received by the second input signal representation is the same as the first, in view of the voice data of Zou]) and is collected by one or more second microphones of the second computing device within the environment ([Fig. 1A, MP], [All representing microphones wherein MP is on a second computing device in the environment compared to the worn ML and MR]), wherein the first and second computing devices are distinct from each other ([Fig. 7, 702, 704], [Disclosing on-head mics and off-head mics indicates one worn device and one external device]); and,
merging the first audio data and the second audio data to generate merged audio data for the spoken utterance ([Fig. 9, Combining first input signal and second input signal 906], [In view of the voice data of Zou]).
Zou are considered analogous art within speech signal enhancement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Zou to incorporate the teachings of Jensen, because of the novel way to consider both directionality and SNR of received audio sources from a plurality of devices, improving the naturalness of reproduced sounds in terms of SNR and spatial perception (Jensen, [0010]).
Zou in view of Jensen does not disclose:
wherein the merging comprises using a first weight value for the first audio data in the merging and using a second weight value for the second audio data in the merging, and wherein the first weight value and the second weight value are determined based on the first and second SNR values that are predictions of the trained neural network; and,
providing the merged audio data for further processing by one or more additional components.
Sharma discloses:
wherein the merging comprises using a first weight value for the first audio data in the merging and using a second weight value for the second audio data in the merging ([0167] combining 1720 the first speech processing output with the second speech processing output based upon, at least in part, the first audio stream weight and the second audio stream weight, [In view of the first audio output of Zou, further in view of the second audio output of Jensen]), wherein the first weight value and the second weight value are determined based on the first and second SNR values that are predictions of the trained neural network ([0164] weighting 1712 the first audio stream and the second audio stream based upon, at least in part, a signal-to-noise ratio for the first audio stream and a signal-to-noise ratio for the second audio stream, [In view of the trained neural network determining SNRs of Zou, further in view of the multiple input audio signals of Jensen indicating a weighting operation based on first and second SNRs which are predictions of the trained neural network. Further, consider the previously cited “combining” two input signal operation of Jensen ([Fig. 9, 906]) using the SNRs of Zou]); and,
providing the merged audio data for further processing by one or more additional components ([0058] configured to provide visual information 110 and audio information 114… [0067] automated clinical documentation process 10 may provide the information associated with an acoustic environment (e.g., via the user interface) [Providing audio information, in view of the merged signal generated in Sharma, to a user device, i.e. component, via an interface indicates presentation to a user, wherein that user could perform any number of additional processing steps, i.e. listening, transcribing, volume adjustment, etc.]).
Zou are considered analogous art within speech signal processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Zou to incorporate the teachings of Sharma, because of the novel way to apply multi-channel noise reduction and de-reverberation methods which account for user location (Sharma, [0003]).
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou in view of Jensen, further in view of Sharma, further in view of Gunawan et al. (US-20190045312-A1), hereinafter Gunawan.
Regarding claim 7, Zou in view of Jensen, further in view of Sharma discloses: the method of claim 6.
Zou in view of Jensen, further in view of Sharma does not disclose:
prior to receiving the first additional audio data and the second additional audio data:
determining that, relative to generating the merged audio data, no change in location and orientation has been detected for the first computing device and no change in location and orientation has been detected for the second computing device;
Gunawan discloses:
determining that, relative to generating the merged audio data ([In view of the merged audio data of Sharma]), no change in location and orientation has been detected for the first computing device and no change in location and orientation has been detected for the second computing device ([0106] An audio capture system according to any one of the preceding EEEs wherein the mixing control signal includes input from one or more accelerometers mounted to a corresponding microphone and adapted to detect movement of that corresponding microphone [Detecting movement of a microphone, i.e. location and/or orientation, in view of the plurality of microphones/devices of Sharma, indicates there is also a determination that no movement is detected for first and second devices, i.e. when the accelerometer reads 0]).
Zou are considered analogous art within speech signal processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Zou to incorporate the teachings of Gunawan, because of the novel way to consider location of microphone inputs when mixing multiple audio channels together, improving SNR balancing between the channels (Gunawan, [0008]).
Sharma further discloses:
wherein using the stored first weight value and the stored second weight value ([In view of the previously disclosed first and second weight values of Sharma]), in the merging to generate the additional merged audio data ([In view of the previously disclosed merging of Sharma]), is based on determining that no change in the location and the orientation has been detected for the first computing device and no change in the location and the orientation has been detected for the second computing device ([0128] In some implementations, device selection and weighting module 410 may provide a previously processed or weighted portion of the audio encounter information to define weighting for each audio stream from multiple microphone systems [Using a previously processed portion of audio for weighting, in view of the SNR weighting ([0122]) of Gunawan which controls mixing, i.e. merging, indicates weights could be gathered for first and second audio data to be used for further portions of first and second audio streams based on an associated location, i.e. based on what location parameters (accelerometer data) are within the mixing control signal. Further, consider the time difference of arrival calculation of Sharma, Fig. 8, 808. If the time difference of arrival between microphones for two portions of audio information remains the same, this indicates no movement detected, allowing the system of Sharma to use the same weights as those from previous portions of audio with the same location, in view of the location determinations of Gunawan]).
Regarding claim 8, Zou in view of Jensen, further in view of Sharma, further in view of Gunawan discloses: the method of claim 7.
Jensen further discloses:
wherein the location and orientation associated with the first computing device are relative to the user ([Fig. 1A, 104], [0030] a microphone array M.sub.P (104)), and the location and orientation associated with the second computing device are also relative to the user ([Fig. 1A, 108, 110], [0030] The listener 106 has microphones, M.sub.L (108) and M.sub.R (110), respectively positioned near the left ear and right ear of the listener 106, [Where Fig. 1A clearly discloses the devices to be relative to a user 106]).
Regarding claim 9, Zou in view of Jensen, further in view of Sharma, further in view of Gunawan discloses: the method of claim 7.
Gunawan further discloses:
wherein:
the first computing device includes a first motion sensor ([Fig. 3, devices 4-6 with microphones 9-11 and vibration sensors 13-15], [An accelerometer tracks to a motion sensor and/or a vibration sensor (see [0047] of Gunawan)]), the second computing device includes a second motion sensor ([In view of the plurality of devices of Sharma and Jensen, the accelerometer in a microphone of Gunawan could be applied to the multiple devices containing microphones of Sharma and Jensen. Further, consider the devices 4, 5, and 6 of Fig. 3 of Gunawan which contain motion sensors 13, 14, 15]); and,
determining that no change in location and orientation has been detected for the first computing device and for the second computing device comprises:
detecting, based on first sensor data from the first motion sensor ([In view of the first motion sensor of Gunawan]), no change in the location and orientation for the first computing device ([0106] the mixing control signal includes input from one or more accelerometers mounted to a corresponding microphone and adapted to detect movement of that corresponding microphone, [The ability to detect movements also indicates when there isn’t movement, i.e. when the accelerometer reads 0]); and,
detecting, based on second sensor data from the second motion sensor ([In view of the first motion sensor of Gunawan]), no change in the location and orientation for the second computing device ([Applying the movement detection for a first device as disclosed in [0106] of Gunawan, in view of the plurality of devices 4-6 of Gunawan, indicating a movement detection could also be applied to a second device without a change in functionality of Gunawan’s system]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Borgstrom et al. (US-20210074282-A1) discloses “Systems and methods improving the performance of statistical model-based single-channel speech enhancement systems using a deep neural network (DNN) are disclosed. Embodiments include a DNN-trained system to predict speech presence in the input signal, and this information can be used to create frameworks for tracking noise and conducting a priori signal to-noise ratio estimation. Example frameworks provide increased flexibility for various aspects of system design, such as gain estimation. Examples include training a DNN to detect speech in the presence of both noise and reverberation, enabling joint suppression of additive noise and reverberation. Example frameworks provide significant improvements in objective speech quality metrics relative to baseline systems.” (abstract). See entire document, emphasis to [0043]-[0045].
Yang et al. (US-20240046946-A1) discloses “A method includes obtaining, using at least one processing device, noisy speech signals and extracting, using the at least one processing device, acoustic features from the noisy speech signals. The method also includes receiving, using the at least one processing device, a predicted speech mask from a speech mask prediction model based on a first acoustic feature subset and receiving, using the at least one processing device, a predicted noise mask from a noise mask prediction model based on a second acoustic feature subset. The method further includes providing, using the at least one processing device, predicted speech features determined using the predicted speech mask and predicted noise features determined using the predicted noise mask to a filtering mask prediction model. In addition, the method includes generating, using the at least one processing device, a clean speech signal using a predicted filtering mask output by the filtering mask prediction model.” (abstract). See entire document, emphasis to [0062].
/THEODORE WITHEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2655
/ANDREW C FLANDERS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2655