DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are hereby under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US20170367633A1 (Samadani, Uzma), hereto referred as Samadani.
As to claims 1, 8, and 15, Samadani teaches recording, by a camera, one or more videos of at least a portion of a subject's face; identifying one or more biomarkers associated with the subject within each of the one or more videos; measuring involuntary micromotions or fixational eye movements associated with the identified one or more biomarkers within each of the one or more videos([0332], “Video oculography is a relatively newer technique that use infrared cameras mounted in goggles to track the center of the pupil's position as the eye moves.”; the biomarker is interpreted as eye movement);
determining that a divergence exists with respect to a measurement associated with at least one of the one or more videos and a measurement associated with a dataset ([0058], “c) Comparing eye movement of at least one eye of the subject to a normal or mean eye movement…d) Calculating a standard deviation or p value for eye movement of at least one eye of the subject”); and
based, at least in part, on the divergence, providing a notification indicating that a brain injury is likely ([0063], “In some instances, the normal or mean eye movement of c) may be obtained from or observed in a subject suffering from a brain injury. The brain injury may be, for instance, a structural or a non-structural traumatic brain injury such as, for instance, a concussion, a subconcussion or a blast injury”).
As to claims 2, 9, and 16, Samadani teaches the one or more videos of at least a portion of the subject's face comprises at least a first video of at least a portion of one side of the subject's face and at least a second video of at least a portion of the opposite side of the subject's face (Fig. 8, [0240], “B. Represents eye movement tracking box plots 2 days after triage… C. Represent eye movement tracking box plots 13 days after triage.”; the examiner notes, left eye was recorded for video B and right eye was recorded for video C, meeting the recited limitation above.)
As to claims 3, 10, and 17, Samadani teaches the measurement associated with the at least one of the one or more videos is a measurement derived from the first video, and the measurement associated with the dataset is a measurement derived from the second video (Fig. 8, measurements are included on the right side of the box plots).
As to claims 4, 11, and 18, Samadani teaches determining that the divergence exists includes determining that a difference between the measurement associated with the at least one of the one or more videos and the measurement associated with the dataset exceeds a predetermined threshold ([0286], “According to the methods described, identifying the subject as having eye movement significantly different from the control, or identifying the subject as having eye movement of a first eye that is significantly different from eye movement of a second eye, may be performed using a z-score. Because 95% of all values in a normal distribution lie within two standard deviations of the mean, a z-score of 2 may be used as a significance threshold.”).
As to claims 5, 12, and 19, Samadani teaches the dataset comprises one or more biomarker measurements associated with a population group ([0235], “Thus in our subject population ranging in age from 7 to 75, there was no change in conjugacy of eye movements with age”).
As to claims 6, 13, and 20, Samadani teaches the dataset comprises historical measurements collected from the subject and collected prior to the brain injury (Fig. 2, Binocular tracking of a normal subject; Fig. 8, [0240], “B. Represents eye movement tracking box plots 2 days after triage… C. Represent eye movement tracking box plots 13 days after triage.”)
As to claims 7 and 14, Samadani teaches measuring the involuntary micromotions or fixational eye movements includes determining an amount of motion associated with the identified one or more biomarkers that is attributable to motion of the subject's head and taking the subject's head motion into account in determining the involuntary micromotions or fixational eye movements of the subject ([0279], “In some instances, the subject's head may be stabilized, such as, for instance by using a chinrest or similar stabilizing mechanism.”).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 8, 13, 15 and 19 of copending Application No. 18119159 in view of Samadani.
The copending application teaches recording, by a camera, one or more videos of at least a portion of a subject's face; identifying one or more biomarkers associated with the subject within each of the one or more videos; measuring involuntary micromotions or fixational eye movements associated with the identified one or more biomarkers within each of the one or more videos; determining that a divergence exists with respect to a measurement associated with at least one of the one or more videos (comparing the measured involuntary micromotions or fixational eye movements) and a measurement associated with a dataset (from claims 6, 13, and 19 of the copending application); and based, at least in part, on the divergence, providing a notification. However, the copending application teaches that the notification indicates that sedation is likely. Samadani teaches notification to brain injury ([0063], “In some instances, the normal or mean eye movement of c) may be obtained from or observed in a subject suffering from a brain injury. The brain injury may be, for instance, a structural or a non-structural traumatic brain injury such as, for instance, a concussion, a subconcussion or a blast injury”). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the copending application to include Samadani’s teaching of notifying brain injury because the methods used to detect sedation in the copending application can also be used to detect and notify brain injury, as taught by Samadani.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/ELINA SOHYUN JANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791