DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 10/08/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/08/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in line 1 of Claim 1, insert --UV light-- before “system”;
in line 4 of Claim 1, insert --and-- after “side;”;
in line 5 of Claim 1, insert --transparent-- before “housing”;
in line 6 of Claim 1,
insert --light-- before “sources”,
insert --system-- before “contact”;
in line 7 of Claim 1, insert --system-- before “contact”;
in line 1 of Claim 6, insert --system-- before “contact”;
in line 1 of Claim 7, insert --transparent-- before “housing”;
in line 1 of Claim 8, insert --UV light-- before “system”;
in line 4 of Claim 8, insert --transparent-- before “housing”;
in line 5 of Claim 8, insert --transparent-- before “housing”;
in line 6 of Claim 8, insert --and-- after “surface;”;
in line 7 of Claim 8, insert --transparent-- before “housing”;
in line 8 of Claim 8, insert --light-- before “sources”;
in line 1 of Claim 9,
insert --UV light-- before “system”,
insert --the-- before “second”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-7 recites the limitation "The housing" in line 1. It is not clear whether it is the transparent housing or the UV light system that is being further limited by these claims particularly in view of the features (i.e. components of the UV light system) being limited within the claims.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the door" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the lights" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the contact surface" in lines 8 and 9-10. It is not clear to which of the contact surface, either the existing contact surface or the system contact surface, the limitations are referring to.
Claim 9 is rejected based on its dependence on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung (WO2018226057).
As to Claim 1, Jung (‘057) discloses a UV light system (300; 400; 500; 600; 700; 800) for a contact item, the UV light system (300; 400; 500; 600; 700; 800) comprising:
a power source (130);
a transparent housing (210, 610) defining a system contact surface (211, 212) having a contact side (i.e. outer/external surface of 211 and/or 212) and an inner side (i.e. inner/interior surface of 211 where 120 is attached) (see Figure 8; see English translation, p. 4 lines 19-20); and
a plurality of UV light sources (120; 510 – 511, 512, 513) positioned on the inner side (i.e. inner/interior surface of 211 where 120 is attached) of the transparent housing (210 – 211, 212) (see Figures 5 and 7-9), wherein the plurality of UV light sources (120; 510 – 511, 512, 513) are configured to illuminate the system contact surface with UV light rays sufficient to provide at least a 2-log reduction in the number of microorganisms on the system contact surface (211, 212) (see English translation, p. 4 lines 19-20, p. 8 lines 9-10 and 13, p. 17 - Claim 5).
As to Claim 6, the contact surface is capable of being a door handle, a door push plate, a pen, a drinking fountain guard, a drinking fountain push bar, or a condiment pump handle in the UV light system of Jung (‘057).
As to Claim 7, Jung (‘057) discloses that the transparent housing (210) conforms to an existing contact surface (i.e. skin surface to be treated) of a contact item (i.e. user/patient) such that the system contact surface (211, 212) replaces the existing contact surface (i.e. skin surface to be treated).
As to Claim 8, Jung (‘057) discloses a UV light system (300; 1300; 1400; 1600; 1700) for a contact item (see Figures 4, 22-24 and 26-28), the UV light system (1300; 1400; 1600; 1700) comprising:
a power source (130);
a transparent housing (210) defining a system contact surface (211, 212) having a contact side (i.e. outer/external surface of 211 and/or 212) and an inner side (i.e. inner/interior surface of 211 where 120 is attached) (see Figures 22-24 and 26-28; see English translation, p. 4 lines 19-20), wherein the transparent housing (210) is comprised of a first section (210) and a second section (130/121; 1310) detachably coupled to the first section (210) and wherein the transparent housing (210) conforms to an existing contact surface (i.e. skin surface to be treated) of a contact item (i.e. user/patient) such that the system contact surface (211, 212) replaces the existing contact surface (i.e. skin surface to be treated); and
a plurality of UV light sources (120; 510) positioned on the inner side (i.e. inner/interior surface of 211 where 120 is attached) (see Figures 22-24 and 26-28) of the transparent housing (210), wherein the plurality of UV light sources (120; 510) are configured to illuminate the contact surface (i.e. outer/external surface of 211 and/or 212) with UV light rays sufficient to provide at least a 2-log reduction in the number of microorganisms on the contact surface (i.e. outer/external surface of 211 and/or 212) (see English translation, p. 4 lines 19-20, p. 8 lines 9-10 and 13, p. 17 - Claim 5).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jones (20190167825).
As to Claim 1, Jones (‘825) discloses a UV light system (100) for a contact item (see Figures 1-13), the UV light system (100) comprising:
a power source (see entire document, particularly p. 5 [0063]);
a transparent housing (114) defining a system contact surface (120) having a contact side (120) and an inner side (i.e. inner/interior surface of 114, opposite 120 where 110 is attached) (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-6, p. 3 [0050] – line 7 and [0051]); and
a plurality of UV light sources (118) positioned on the inner side (i.e. inner/interior surface of 114, opposite 120 where 110 is attached) of the transparent housing (114) (see Figure 2), wherein the plurality of UV light sources (118) are configured to illuminate the system contact surface (120) with UV light rays sufficient to provide at least a 2-log reduction in the number of microorganisms on the system contact surface (120) (see entire document, particularly p. 3 [0050] – last 4 lines and [0052]-[0053]).
As to Claim 2, Jones (‘825) discloses that the power source is a rechargeable battery (see entire document, particularly p. 5 [0063] – lines 1-2).
As to Claim 4, Jones (‘825) discloses that the plurality of lights (118) are connected to a power grid (see entire document, particularly p. 5 [0063] – lines 4 and 6-8).
As to Claim 5, Jones (‘825) discloses that the power source is at least one photovoltaic panel (see entire document, particularly p. 5 [0063] – lines 4-5).
As to Claim 6, the contact surface is capable of being a door handle, a door push plate, a pen, a drinking fountain guard, a drinking fountain push bar, or a condiment pump handle in the UV light system of Jones (‘825) (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-22, p. 4 [0058]).
As to Claim 7, Jones (‘825) discloses that the transparent housing (114) conforms to an existing contact surface of a contact item such that the system contact surface (114) replaces the existing contact surface (see entire document, particularly Figures 3A-22, p. 4 [0058]).
As to Claim 8, Jones (‘825) discloses a UV light system (2400) for a contact item (see Figures 24-32), the UV light system (2400) comprising:
a power source (see entire document, particularly p. 8 [0086]);
a transparent housing (2410, 2450) defining a system contact surface (2416) having a contact side (2416 - i.e. outer/external surface of 2450) and an inner side (i.e. inner/interior surface of 2450 where 2450 arrow is pointing to) (see Figure 27), wherein the transparent housing (2410, 2450) is comprised of a first section (2472) and a second section (2474) detachably coupled to the first section (2472) (see entire document, particularly Figure 32, p. 8 [0084]) and wherein the transparent housing (2140, 2450) conforms to an existing contact surface (2414) of a contact item (2415) such that the system contact surface (2416) replaces the existing contact surface (2414) (see entire document, particularly Figures 24-32, p. 8 [0084]); and
a plurality of UV light sources (2420, 2430) positioned on the inner side (i.e. inner/interior surface of 2450 where 2450 arrow is pointing to) (see Figures 24 and 27) of the transparent housing (2410, 2450), wherein the plurality of UV light sources (2420, 2430) are configured to illuminate the system contact surface (2416) with UV light rays sufficient to provide at least a 2-log reduction in the number of microorganisms on the system contact surface (2416) (see entire document, particularly p. 7 [0079], pp. 7-8 [0083]).
As to Claim 9, Jones (‘825) discloses that the first section (2472) and the second section (2474) are mirror images of each other (see entire document, particularly Figure 32, p. 8 [0084]).
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hughes (WO2022086669).
As to Claim 1, Hughes (‘669) discloses a UV light system (400) for a contact item, the UV light system (400) comprising:
a power source (see entire document, particularly p. 15 lines 1-5);
a transparent housing (401) defining a system contact surface (404) having a contact side (i.e. outer/external surface of 404) and an inner side (i.e. inner/interior surface of 401/404 where 406 is attached) (see entire document, particularly Figure 4, p. 13 lines 25-27); and
a plurality of UV light sources (406) positioned on the inner side (i.e. inner/interior surface of 404/401 where 406 is attached) of the transparent housing (401) (see Figure 4), wherein the plurality of UV light sources (406) are configured to illuminate the system contact surface (404) with UV light rays sufficient to provide at least a 2-log reduction in the number of microorganisms on the system contact surface (404) (see entire document, particularly Figure 4, p. 13 lines 25-27).
As to Claim 4, Hughes (‘669) discloses that the plurality of light sources (406) are connected to a power grid (see entire document, particularly p. 7 line 12, p. 15 lines 1-4).
As to Claim 6, the contact surface is capable of being a door handle, a door push plate, a pen, a drinking fountain guard, a drinking fountain push bar, or a condiment pump handle in the UV light system of Hughes (‘669) (see entire document, particularly p. 6 line 30 to p. 7 line 2, p. 15 lines 6-13).
As to Claim 7, Hughes (‘669) discloses that the transparent housing (401) conforms to an existing contact surface of a contact item such that the system contact surface (404) replaces the existing contact surface (see entire document, particularly p. 13 lines 28-30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (WO2018226057).
Jung (‘057) is relied upon for disclosure described in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
While Jung (‘057) does not appear to specifically teach that the power source (130) is a rechargeable battery, it would have been well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a rechargeable battery as the form of power source in the UV light system of Jung as a known alternate form of power supply in order to allow reuse/continued use of the UV light system rather than being configured as a single-use item. Only the expected results would be attained.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes (WO2022086669).
Hughes (‘669) is relied upon for disclosure described in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
While Hughes (‘669) discloses that the power source is a battery (see entire document, particularly p. 7 lines 11-12, p. 15 lines 1-5), Hughes (‘669) does not appear to specifically teach that the power source is a rechargeable battery, it would have been well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a rechargeable battery as the form of power source in the UV light system of Hughes as a known alternate form of power supply in order to allow reuse/continued use of the UV light system rather than being configured as a single-use item. Only the expected results would be attained.
In the event that Jung (WO2018226057) is deemed to not disclose a plurality of UV light sources in combination with a transparent housing comprised of a first section and a second section detachably coupled, the following rejection will apply.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (WO2018226057).
Jung (‘057) discloses a UV light system (1300; 1400; 1600; 1700) for a contact item (see Figures 4, 22-24 and 26-28), the UV light system (1300; 1400; 1600; 1700) comprising:
a power source (130);
a transparent housing (210) defining a system contact surface (211, 212) having a contact side (i.e. outer/external surface of 211 and/or 212) and an inner side (i.e. inner/interior surface of 211 where 120 is attached) (see Figures 22-24 and 26-28; see English translation, p. 4 lines 19-20), wherein the transparent housing (210) is comprised of a first section (210) and a second section (130/121; 1310) detachably coupled to the first section (210) and wherein the transparent housing (210) conforms to an existing contact surface (i.e. skin surface to be treated) of a contact item (i.e. user/patient) such that the system contact surface (211, 212) replaces the existing contact surface (i.e. skin surface to be treated); and
a UV light source (120, 122) positioned on the inner side (i.e. inner/interior surface of 211 where 120 is attached) (see Figures 22-24 and 26-28) of the transparent housing (210), wherein the UV light source (120, 122) is configured to illuminate the contact surface (i.e. outer/external surface of 211 and/or 212) with UV light rays sufficient to provide at least a 2-log reduction in the number of microorganisms on the contact surface (i.e. outer/external surface of 211 and/or 212) (see English translation, p. 4 lines 19-20, p. 8 lines 9-10 and 13, p. 17 - Claim 5).
While Jung (‘057) does not appear to specifically teach that the UV light source (120, 122) includes a plurality of UV light sources (see Figures 23-24 and 27-28), as Jung (‘057) also discloses an embodiment where the transparent hosing (210) can include a plurality of UV light sources (510 – 511, 512, 513) (see Figure 7) in order to sterilize as well as to treat a surface (see English translation, p. 8 lines 7-27 particularly lines 24-27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of UV light sources (510 – 511, 512, 513) in the UV light system (1300; 1400; 1600; 1700) of the Jung as a known alternate configuration in order to provide multitude of treatment options for a surface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references relate either to the field of the invention or subject matter of the invention, but are not relied upon in the rejection of record: 9649398, 20010048891, 20100193709, 20180153367, 20200254121, 20210404210, KR101896461, WO2021188396, WO2021188434, WO2022261129.
/REGINA M YOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758