DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III. Claims 3-8, and species of the “ammonium salt of 2,3-bis((5-methoxy-5-oxopentanoyl)oxy)succinic acid” in Example 1 in the reply filed on 10/20/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-2 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/20/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipation by CN 102977767 A to Xiao et al. (hereinafter Xiao).
Regarding claims 3-8, Xiao teaches a metal antirust paint containing a modified nano-sized titanium dioxide having a composition of polytetrafluoroethylene and octadecylsuccinic acid (See abstract, para 8). The polytetrafluoroethylene meets the claimed fluoropolymer and the octadecylsuccinic acid has the formula
, which meets the claimed surfactant formula (1), wherein R2 is X-A, the X is a direct bond, A is -COOM, and M is H, R3 is -Y-R6 wherein Y is a direct bond, and R6 is an 18C alkyl chain, and R1, R4 and R5 are hydrogens, and meets claims 3-6. Xiao further teaches the modified nano-sized titanium dioxide is pulverized into a powder (para 14) and is used to form a paint film. (para 16), which meets claims 7 and 8.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 7, and 8, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipation by JP 2007-045970 A to Nakai et al. (hereinafter Nakai).
Regarding claims 3, 4, 7, and 8, Nakai teaches a polymerized fluoroelastomer obtained by adding a surfactant to an aqueous dispersion of a fluoroelastomer by emulsion polymerization to coagulate the fluoroelastomer (para 8-15), wherein the surfactant is Pelex OT-P which has the formula
(para 60 and example 11, para 93), which meets the formula (1), wherein X is a direct bond, A is -SO3M, and M is an Na metal, wherein R1 and R5 are -Y-R6, wherein Y is -COO-, and R6 is an alkyl group, and R1, R3, and R4 are hydrogens. Nakai further teaches the coagulated fluoroelastomer is in the form of crumbs with uniform particle size (para 84) and is used in automobile or semiconductor industry as sealing materials (para 2).
Claim(s) 3-8, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipation by US 2015/0337157 A1 to Iida et al. (hereinafter Iida).
Regarding claims 3-8, Iida teaches an aqueous dispersion of polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) obtained by emulsion polymerization of vinylidene fluoride in the presence of a surfactant (See abstract), wherein the surfactant has the formula (1)
, wherein R1 and R2 are a C1-14 alkyl group, and R3 is an H or
, and R4 is -SO3M2 or
, and M1 and M2 is H or an alkali metal (para 14-19). A PVDF fine powder can be obtained from the above PVDF aqueous dispersion and used for coatings and molded articles. (para 61-63). Examples 6 and 9 are to compositions with no fluorine-containing surfactants. (para 112 and 121).
Conclusion
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766